Lois Corbett, Business Manager, Best Pack: Best Pack is a stand-alone business. It’s owned by Community Living Oakville.

There wasn’t a lot of opportunity in the community for people with disabilities at that time, so we decided to have our own business, get the packaging in-house. And we have an integrated workforce – so some people with disabilities working alongside people who are non-disabled.

We’re a co-packer, and we take contracts on from different companies who might need our services in building a display and filling a display, collating, done gluing, assembly, all kinds of things, shrink wrap, blister film.

Just like any other business, we would go out and seek out opportunities in the business community for different projects that we felt that we could handle. And we would do a quote and compete with other co-packers.

The reason we originally got this contract from Ford, was because they were doing it in-house and they were having a lot of difficulties.

Jan MacDonald, Best Pack Employee: I’m Jan MacDonald and I’ve been busy with Ford since it started in ’87.

As they’re producing the vehicle on the line, that’s the numbers that Jan’s getting. So that’s why it’s so important that each package goes in the correct order. Jan will file them all, she’ll pull them according to what Ford is telling them how they’re going to be produced on the line, and then there’s a triple-check system. So either myself or Rosanna, who’s in charge, or one of the other ladies will do another check.

Some of our customers are not even aware that they’re working with an organization that services people with developmental disabilities. So, it’s really our goal to have them see us as any co-packer.

They’re here, they want their work done, they want quality work done, they want good service, and that’s what we provide for them. So the fact that they’re helping out the community is kind of a bonus when they come to contract work out to us.

Sharpie’s promoting it. And they’ve got the David Beckhem … let’s just say the girls were just a little bit “ooh baby”!

Lois Corbett, Directrice commerciale, Best Pack : Best Pack est une entreprise autonome. Community Living Oakville en est propriétaire.

Il n’y avait pas beaucoup de possibilités dans la collectivité pour les personnes handicapées à l’époque, alors nous avons décidé de fonder notre propre entreprise, d’offrir des services d’emballage sur les lieux. Nous avons une main-d’œuvre intégrée, c’est-à-dire que des personnes handicapées et des personnes sans handicap travaillent côte à côte.

Best Pack est ce qu’on appelle un conditionneur à forfait. Nous passons des contrats avec différentes compagnies qui ont besoin de nos services pour monter et remplir des présentoirs, pour de la collationnure, du collage, de l’assemblage, toutes sortes de choses, de l’emballage moulant, de la pellicule blister.

Comme n’importe quelle autre entreprise, nous cherchons des possibilités de travail dans le milieu des affaires, des projets que nous pensons pouvoir réaliser. Nous présentons une soumission, et nous sommes en concurrence avec d’autres conditionneurs à forfait.

Si nous avons eu ce contrat de Ford, c’est qu’à l’époque, ils le faisaient à l’interne et ils avaient beaucoup de problèmes.

Jan MacDonald, Employée de Best Pack : Je m’appelle Jan MacDonald et je m’occupe du contrat de Ford depuis le début, en 1987.

Les chiffres que Jan reçoit correspondent à l’ordre d’assemblage du véhicule sur la chaîne de montage. C’est pourquoi il est si important que les pièces soient emballées dans le bon ordre. Jan les enregistre toutes et les sort dans l’ordre où Ford dit qu’elles doivent arriver sur la chaîne de montage. Et nous avons un système de triple vérification. Donc, tout est vérifié une autre fois par moi, ou par Rosanna, la responsable, ou par une autre employée.

Certains de nos clients ne savent même pas qu’ils font affaire avec un organisme qui offre des services aux personnes qui ont une déficience intellectuelle. En fait, nous voulons être vus comme n’importe quel autre conditionneur à forfait.

Le client veut qu’on fasse le travail, il veut un produit de qualité, il veut un bon service, et c’est ce que nous lui donnons. Alors, en prime, les clients qui nous offrent des contrats aident aussi la collectivité.

C’est Sharpie qui fait cett e promotion. Ils ont David Beckham … Disons seulement que les filles étaient un peu … « oh la la »!