Corey Henderson, RMT, ShoreWest Massage Therapy, Oakville: I opened my business, ShoreWest Massage Therapy, last October 2008. I was diagnosed with epilepsy when I was 16 years old. I was having 20 seizures a day. It got to a point where I was not able to leave my home.

[In 2002, Corey enrolled in the Ontario Disability Support Program’s (ODSP) Employment Supports to help him find and secure a career path.]

Corey Henderson: When I got on ODSP, they helped me to find a path. They did an aptitude test and found out a couple things that I was suited for. And through them I was able to go to school and become a massage therapist. And I wouldn’t have been able to do it without them.

Bernice Lawlor, Corey’s former ODSP Employment Supports caseworker, Hamilton: In Corey’s case, we were able to cover daycare costs, we provided transportation costs, supplies, he needed uniforms. With other people, the services range from basic job readiness skills — so we can do their resumes, we can do mock interviews with them, we teach them how to job search. I think it’s important for people to see that the employment supports program works.

Corey Henderson: I won the best massage therapist for Oakville — the Readers’ Choice Award. I have a very strong clientele that I really enjoy working with. I love it, I couldn’t imagine doing anything else.

Corey Henderson, massothérapeute autorisé, ShoreWest Massage Therapy, Oakville : J’ai ouvert mon entreprise, ShoreWest Massage Therapy, en octobre 2008. On m’a diagnostiqué de l’épilepsie lorsque j’avais 16 ans. J’avais 20 crises pas jour. J’en suis arrivé au point où je ne pouvais plus quitter la maison.

[En 2002, Corey s’est inscrit au volet Soutien de l'emploi du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) pour qu’il l’aide à trouver un emploi et à choisir une voie de carrière.]

Corey Henderson : Le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées m’a aidé à trouver ma voie. J’ai subi un test d’aptitudes, qui a révélé quelques domaines pour lesquels j’avais des aptitudes. Grâce au programme, j’ai pu suivre des cours et devenir massothérapeute. Je n’aurais jamais pu le faire sans eux.

Bernice Lawlor, ancienne chargée de dossiers de Corey au volet POSPH Hamilton : Dans le cas de Corey, nous avons pu prendre en charge les coûts de garde d’enfants, les coûts de transport, des fournitures et des uniformes. Avec d’autres personnes, les services offerts sont de l’ordre des aptitudes de base à la préparation à l’emploi – par exemple, préparer leur curriculum vitæ, mener des entrevues fictives, leur apprendre à chercher un emploi. Je pense qu’il est important que les gens sachent que le programme d’aide à l’emploi est efficace.

Corey Henderson : J’ai remporté le prix du meilleur massothérapeute à Oakville – le prix Readers’ Choice Award. J’ai une clientèle très fidèle avec qui j’aime travailler. J’adore ce que je fais, je ne me vois pas faire autre chose.