James Duncan, Executive Director, Central West Specialized Developmental Services, Oakville, Ontario: We’re a resource for specialized services to people. We look at individuals who live in the community, live with their families, they may live with service agencies, they may live together among peers, friends.

And those individuals may, in their life, or at an ongoing time in their life, have specialized needs. And what we provide is a team and a group of resources that involve interdisciplinary specialists, occupational therapy, psychology, social work, psychiatric services, nursing services, medical services. There’s an interdisciplinary group, but there are also what is called dual diagnosis resource workers.

[ Central West Specialized Developmental Services

  • Occupational Therapy
  • Psychological Services
  • Social Work
  • Psychiatric Services
  • Nursing Services
  • Medical Services ]

With dual diagnosis, you are an individual who has an intellectual disability; coupled with that disability, you have challenges of mental illness.

Primary target is that you help people with their needs to continue to live their life in their community, with their friends, with their families, with the people that they know, so that you can provide the support there. You build the capacity in their family, you build capacity in their support providers, that people can continue to live where they’ve always lived, where they want to live.

Our strategic plan calls for us to continue to open smaller, more integrated settings in the community so that people can truly live within their community and flourish within that. And it’s certainly our hope that over the next two years, we can open at least another two homes, and the number of people actually living here will have been significantly reduced.

First people moved in May, with another group moving in September. By all accounts, it's been a resounding success.

James Duncan, Directeur général, Central West Specialized Developmental Services, Oakville, Ontario : Nous offrons des services spécialisés aux gens. Il peut s’agir de gens qui vivent dans la collectivité, avec leur famille ou qui sont logés par un organisme de services. Ils peuvent vivre entre pairs, avec des amis.

Et ces personnes peuvent, à un moment de leur vie, ou pendant une période prolongée, avoir des besoins particuliers. Nous leur offrons une équipe et des ressources qui comprennent des spécialistes interdisciplinaires, des services d’ergothérapie, de psychologie et de travail social, des services de psychiatrie, des soins infirmiers et des soins médicaux. En plus de l’équipe interdisciplinaire, nous avons des intervenants-ressources auprès des personnes qui ont reçu un diagnostic mixte.

[ Central West Specialized Developmental Services

  • Ergothérapie
  • Psychologie
  • Travail social
  • Psychiatrie
  • Soins infirmiers Services
  • Soins médicaux ]

Avec un diagnostic mixte, la personne a des problèmes de santé mentale en plus d’une déficience intellectuelle.

Le but premier, c’est de répondre aux besoins des gens pour les aider à vivre leur vie dans la collectivité, avec leurs amis, leur famille et leurs autres connaissances. On leur apporte du soutien là où ils en ont besoin. On renforce les capacités de leur famille, de leurs fournisseurs de services, pour que ces personnes puissent continuer de vivre où elles ont toujours vécu, où elles veulent vivre.

Notre plan stratégique prévoit que nous allons continuer d’ouvrir des foyers plus petits et plus intégrés au sein de la collectivité, pour permettre aux gens de vivre pleinement et de s’épanouir dans leur milieu. Chose certaine, nous espérons pouvoir ouvrir au moins deux autres foyers d’ici deux ans, et réduire ainsi de beaucoup le nombre de personnes qui vivent ici.

Un premier groupe a quitté l’établissement en mai, et un deuxième groupe déménagera en septembre. Au dire de tous, c’est un franc succès.