Joel Carlton, Administrative Assistant (Township Hilliard / Thornloe): I have a spinal cord injury from a fall in September 1993. I fell out of a barn and I broke my neck at the C6-7 vertebrae.

Janet Gore, Clerk-Treasurer (Township Hilliard / Thornloe): He does a lot of the work, and he takes more and more of the load all the time. We have gradually been able to provide him with more full time employment. Because we're a small municipality, the budget is not that great — so we would never have been able to do what we've been able to do with Joel if it weren't for government money.

Joel Carlton: And around here, this is my work station area. Now, this is where employment supports has helped a lot. They've helped with this desk — so that it's been custom made.

This is my van. I have a remote control that's mounted on my wheelchair. Over on this side here, there's a handle — and this here controls the gas and the brake. Right here.

I appreciate everything that the Ontario Disability Supports Program is doing to help me, but my long-term goal is to get off the program altogether. And being employed here is helping me to develop the training and skills I need to eventually get there.

You have a lot of independence, you know, when you're able to get out there and work and do things and you feel a sense of accomplishment. At the end of the day, it's a change in lifestyle, and you know, it's much more normal now, when you can go and work and do things.

Learn more

About the Ontario Disability Support Program

Joel Carlton, Adjoint administratif (Canton de Hilliard et de Thornloe) : J’ai une lésion de la moelle épinière due à une chute subie en septembre 1993. Je suis tombé dans une grange et je me suis cassé le cou au niveau de la vertèbre C6-7.

Janet Gore, Secrétaire trésorier (Canton de Hilliard et de Thornloe) : Il fait déjà beaucoup de travail et il en fait tous les jours davantage. Nous sommes parvenus à lui donner de plus en plus de travail, à tel point qu’il travaille maintenant à temps plein. Vu la taille de notre municipalité, notre budget n’est pas très important. Nous n’aurions jamais pu faire tout ce que nous avons accompli pour Joel sans ce programme de soutien gouvernemental.

Joel Carlton : Voici mon poste de travail. C’est ici qu’on peut voir à quoi sert le programme de soutien à l’emploi. Ce programme a permis de financer la fabrication de ce bureau sur mesure.

Voici ma camionnette. Mon fauteuil roulant est équipé d’une télécommande. De ce côté, il y a une poignée et de ce côté-ci, il y a les manettes pour l’essence et les freins. Juste ici, à ma portée.

Je suis reconnaissant de toute l’aide qui m’est offerte dans le cadre du POSPH, mais mon objectif à long terme, c’est de ne plus avoir besoin du tout du programme. L’emploi que j’occupe actuellement m’aide à acquérir la formation et les compétences qui m’aideront à réaliser mon objectif.

Le fait de pouvoir travailler et de s’adonner à certaines activités m’aide à me sentir autonome et à me réaliser. C’est une question de changement de mode de vie. Quand on peut se déplacer, aller au travail et vivre normalement, on arrive certains jours à oublier son handicap.

Pour en savoir plus

Au suject du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées