Tim Laughlin, Employee, Spikes Indoor Sports, London, Ontario

Tim is an Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) Employment Supports client who has Central Auditory Processing Disorder, Attention deficit Disorder and Dyslexia.

With help from ODSP service provider LEADS, Tim has retained a successful job at Spike's Indoor Sports since 2005.

Tim: Three years ago, I was literally fresh out of high school and I needed a job so I asked my LEADS counsellor at that point if he could start looking for a new job.

Janet Neeb: Manager, LEADS Employment Services: LEADS is a Employment and Skills Development Service, assisting people with disabilities and community employers to make a match with regard to jobs.

Well, when Tim first started we were here pretty much full-time with Tim while he was learning the job. So a staff member from LEADS came along with Tim while he was learning the routine of the job, helping him learn the technical aspects of the job until he was able do those things independently, start his routine, keep on tasks and meet the timelines that that the employer had for him and we were able to phase out those support and provided follow-up to make sure that things still going okay for Tim and getting feedback from Earl, his employer.

Earl Misener, Owner, Spike's Indoor Sports: I was introduced to LEADS in my early days that time having some issues with some staffing related items with respect to my grooming in my courts, my dishes, my recycling, things like that. I found it very tough, high turnover, I you know I wasn't reluctant at all to giving him a try. I gave him a try. I have had numerous LEADS employees throughout the years but we always had at least three on staff at all times.

Janet: The employer benefits from getting an employee who can meet the job requirement. LEADS provided assistance to Spike, in bringing Spike qualified candidates from the position that they had available. So making that fit for Tim and Spike would be a win/win situation from both the employer and for Tim.

Tim: My LEADS counselor comes in probably every two weeks to check up on me and make sure there is nothing wrong. If there are extra training needs to be done, she will come in to coach me through it. Also, I have taken extra training programs, so I was able to do that and help out quite a bit.

Earl: In my opinion once you are hired on to do the job you do, disabilities gets kind of out of the equation. They not here because of they have disabilities, they are here because they can do the job. They are always on time, they are punctual, they are always in a good mood and they do the job at hand. So why wouldn't you want that person working for you?

Learn more

About the Ontario Disability Support Program

Tim Laughlin, Employé, Spike's Indoor Sports - London, Ontario

Tim est un client du Soutien de l’emploi du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées qui a de la dyslexie, un trouble du processus auditif central et us trouble déficitaire de l’attention.

Grâce à LEADS, fournisseur de services du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées, Tim a réussi à conserver un emploi à Spike’s Indoor Sports depuis 2005.

Tim : Il y a trois ans, je venais tout juste de finir l’école secondaire et j’avais besoin d’un emploi. J’ai donc demandé à ma conseillère de LEADS s’il pouvait m’aider à trouver un emploi.

Janet Neeb, Directrice, LEADS Employment Services : LEADS est un service d'emploi et de développement des compétences qui aide les personnes handicapés et les employeurs de la collectivité à faire des jumelages d'emploi.

Et bien, lorsque Tim a commencé ici, nous avions quelqu’un pratiquement tous les jours avec lui, pour l’aider à apprendre ses fonctions. Un membre du personnel de LEADS a accompagné Tim pendant qu’il apprenait les rouages de son emploi, en l’aidant à saisir les aspects techniques de son travail, jusqu’à ce qu’il ait été capable d’exercer ses fonctions de façon indépendante. … commencer sa routine de travail, maintenir le cap et observer les délais imposés par l’employeur. Nous avons ensuite pu réduire progressivement notre présence, en effectuant un suivi pour nous assurer que tout se passait bien pour Tim et en vérifiant si Earl, son employeur, était satisfait. 

Earl Misener, Propriétaire, Spike's Indoor Sports : J’ai eu connaissance des services LEADS dès mes débuts dans les affaires, à une époque où j’avais quelques problèmes relatifs à l’entretien des terrains, mes plats, mon recyclage – des choses de ce genre. La situation était difficile parce que mon personnel changeait tout le temps. Je n’ai pas du tout hésité à essayer Tim. J’ai eu de nombreux employés de LEADS au fil des années, j’en ai toujours eu au moins trois dans mon personnel.

Janet : Il est dans l’intérêt de l’employeur d’avoir un employé qui peut remplir les exigences de l’emploi. LEADS aide Spike en lui fournissant des candidats qualifiés pour les postes vacants Si le poste convient à Tim et si Tim convient à Spike, tout le monde y gagne, autant l’employeur que Tim. 

Tim : Ma conseillère LEADS vient probablement chaque deux semaines pour vérifier si je vais bien  et si tout se passe bien. Si j’ai besoin d’une formation supplémentaire, elle viendra pour m’aider à la suivre. J’ai aussi suivi tous les programmes de formation  ce qui m’a beaucoup aidé.

Earl : À mon avis, une fois qu’on est embauché pour un emploi, les handicaps n’entrent plus en jeu.  Les employés ne sont pas là parce qu’ils ont des handicaps, ils sont là parce qu’ils sont capables de faire le travail.   Ils sont toujours à temps, ponctuels, de bonne humeur et motivés Dans ces conditions, qui ne voudrait pas un employé pareil? 

Pour en savoir plus

Au suject du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées