Frequently Asked Questions

What is LSQ and what do LSQ Interpreters do?

Langue des Signes Québécoise (LSQ) is a form of sign language used to communicate by many Francophone Canadians who are Deaf, deafened or hard of hearing.

LSQ interpreters enhance communication between Francophone individuals who are Deaf, deafened, or hard of hearing and their communities.

There is currently no accredited LSQ training body in Ontario. However, as of 2012 the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) has set aside up to five seats per year for Ontario students.

When and where do UQAM classes take place?

Classes are offered part-time at the main UQAM campus in Montreal, on evenings and weekends. Classes typically begin on Friday evening and run throughout Saturday, ending on Sunday afternoon. Occasionally courses are offered midweek in the evenings as well. A full course schedule is available on the UQAM website.

Is there grant assistance available to me to take this program?

Yes. All participants in the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program are eligible to receive grant assistance to offset the costs of tuition, textbooks, travel and accommodation up to the maximum amounts set out in the Program and Funding Guidelines.

Is this grant assistance available to residents of other provinces?

No. Only Ontario residents over age 21 are eligible to apply to take part in the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program, including seeking grant assistance.

Do I need to know LSQ to be admitted to the program?

Yes. A basic knowledge of LSQ is required. Once UQAM has reviewed your application, eligible students will be invited to write a test on basic French and LSQ comprehension.

Will I have to complete a field placement?

Yes, all students must complete a field placement in their final semester. This placement is different from your two year return of service, which is completed upon graduation.

Students negotiate their own placements with the assistance of UQAM Visual Interpretation Program staff. Ontario students are allowed and encouraged to complete their placements in Ontario.

Grant assistance is available to support students during their field placements. Should travel and living arrangements change as a result, the Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form should reflect these changes.

Can I claim grant assistance if I live with family who already reside in Montreal?

No. You will not receive any grant assistance to help offset costs related to residing in a family member’s home in Montreal (i.e., parents, grandparents, etc.). You must be able to present an original and itemized receipt for your accommodation costs.

Where will I be placed to complete my return of service?

When you sign the Return of Service Agreement, you give your consent to allow the government to determine the location of your two-year return of service.

Placements will be based on areas of Ontario where, in the opinion of the ministry, there are shortages of LSQ interpreters. This could include Toronto, Ottawa or Sudbury.

What if I decide not to return to Ontario after graduation?

Should you not complete any of your return of service, you will be responsible for reimbursing the Government of Ontario for all grant assistance paid to you. If you chose not to complete your full twenty-four months of employment, you will be responsible for repaying the Ministry a portion of the total grant assistance you received, commensurate with the amount of time spent completing your return of service.

When do I receive my grant assistance?

At the end of each semester that you successfully complete, the ministry will reimburse you for the tuition, textbook, travel and accommodation expenses you have properly paid during the semester, up to the maximum amounts set out in the Program and Funding Guidelines. Reimbursement is subject to a review of your transcript by the ministry to ensure that all courses from the previous semester have been successfully completed, as well as review of your Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form.

In order to receive grant assistance, you must also provide original and itemized receipts for your travel and accommodation costs and a copy of your tuition receipt. All documents must be completed to the ministry’s satisfaction.

All documents must be submitted to the ministry within two months of completing a semester.

Can I qualify for OSAP in addition to receiving the grant assistance provided through the program?

Yes. Any loans received through OSAP do not affect your ability to receive grant assistance through this program. It is your responsibility to inform an OSAP program administrator of the grants you will receive as a part of this program and your OSAP funding may be adjusted accordingly.

Can I live in Ontario and still take part in the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program?

Yes. Many students who attend UQAM‘s Visual Interpretation program continue to work part time. Should you be accepted into the program and wish to work in Ontario and travel to Montreal, the government will help offset your travel and accommodation costs in accordance with the Program and Funding Guidelines.

When are program applications due?

Both your signed Notice of Application and your UQAM program application must be submitted by March 1 of the year in which you intend to begin the program. Late applications will not be accepted.

Is it possible to begin the UQAM LSQ program mid way through the year?

No. The program begins in September, with no option for a January enrolment.

How will I find my return of service job placement?

You are not responsible for finding your own return of service placement after graduating. By signing the Return of Service Agreement, you consent to allow the government to determine the location of your job placement for twenty-four months upon graduating from the program.

Am I able to receive grant assistance during my return of service?

No. During your 24-month return of service you will receive a salary from the organization with which you are employed and will not be eligible to receive accommodation or travel grants from this program.

How many students are enrolled in the program?

In 2010, 25 students enrolled in the first year of UQAM’s Visual Interpretation program. As of 2012, UQAM has set aside up to five seats per year for Ontario students.

What happens if I fail a course?

If you fail a course, you will not be eligible to receive grant assistance for the semester in which the failing grade occurred. Once you have retaken the course and provided a transcript with proof of the passing grade, the Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form which you submitted from the semester in which the course was failed will be reviewed and funding for eligible costs may be remitted.

What happens if I drop a course?

Students must complete all courses in order to graduate from UQAM’s Visual Interpretation Program. Should you drop a course and retake it in a subsequent semester, the same process outlined for failing a course will apply.

What if I am required to take an upgrade course as a condition of my acceptance to the program?

If you are required to take an upgrade course as a condition of your acceptance to the program, you are eligible to receive grant assistance for your travel, accommodation, text books and tuition costs, only if this course cannot be taken during the regular academic year (i.e. September to April). If the course is offered during the academic year, you may apply for grant assistance to offset tuition costs.

A Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form should be submitted within two months of completing the upgrade course. Grant assistance will be remitted to you upon proof of completion of your first semester of the official program (fall semester), along with your first semester’s grant assistance.

How do I determine the kilometre distance from my home to the UQAM downtown campus?

The ministry considers Google Maps a valid tool for determining the road distance from your home to the UQAM downtown campus. By entering your home address as the starting point on your map, and UQAM’s downtown campus address as your destination, you will determine your one-way kilometre distance. By doubling this number you will determine your total round trip distance. If you multiply the total roundtrip distance by $0.41, you will determine the amount of travel grant assistance you may be eligible for each trip to Montreal, unless your transportation costs (i.e., train or bus ticket) are less costly than this amount.

Any additional questions can be directed to:

The Ontario-Québec LSQ Program
Community and Developmental Services Branch
Ministry of Community and Social Services

Hepburn Block, 4th Floor
80 Grosvenor Street
Toronto, ON M7A 1E9
Telephone: 416 327-4971
Fax: 416 325-5554
Email: lsq@ontario.ca

Learn more

Visit the website of the Université du Québec à Montréal to learn more about the Visual Interpretation Program and how to apply.

Foire aux questions

Qu’est-ce que la LSQ et que font les interprètes en LSQ?

La langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) est une forme de langage gestuel qu’utilisent de nombreux Canadiens francophones* qui sont sourds, devenus sourds ou malentendants, pour communiquer.

Les interprètes en LSQ améliorent les communications entre les francophones qui sont sourds, devenus sourds ou malentendants et leurs communautés.

Il n’existe actuellement aucun organisme de formation à la LSQ agréé en Ontario, mais, depuis septembre 2012, l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) réserve cinq places par année aux étudiants de l’Ontario.

* L'utilisation du masculin a pour seul but d'alléger le texte et s'applique sans discrimination aux personnes des deux sexes.

Quand et où l’UQAM donne-t-elle ses cours?

Les cours sont offerts à temps partiel au campus principal de l’UQAM, à Montréal, en soirée et en fin de semaine. Les cours commencent en général le vendredi soir, se poursuivent pendant toute la journée du samedi pour se terminer le dimanche après-midi. Les cours sont parfois aussi offerts le soir en milieu de semaine. Le calendrier détaillé des cours est affiché sur le site Web de l’UQAM.

Puis-je obtenir une subvention pour participer à ce programme?

Oui, tous les participants au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec sont admissibles à une subvention pour couvrir une partie de leurs frais de scolarité, d’achat de manuels, de déplacement et de logement, jusqu’à concurrence des montants maxima figurant dans les Lignes directives régissant le programme et le financement.

Les résidents d’autres provinces peuvent-ils obtenir cette subvention?

Non, seuls les résidents de l’Ontario ayant 21 ans révolus peuvent demander à participer au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec, et à obtenir une subvention.

Dois-je connaître la LSQ pour être admis au programme?

Oui, il faut avoir une connaissance de base de la LSQ. L’UQAM examinera les demandes et invitera les étudiants admissibles à passer un examen de compréhension de base du français et de la LSQ.

Devrai-je faire un stage pratique?

Oui, tous les étudiants doivent faire un stage pratique au cours de leur dernier semestre. Ce stage n’a rien à voir avec le service obligatoire de deux ans que vous devrez effectuer après l’obtention de votre diplôme.

Les étudiants négocient eux-mêmes leur stage avec l’aide du personnel du programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM. Les étudiants de l’Ontario peuvent faire leur stage dans leur province et y sont encouragés.

Il est possible d’obtenir une subvention pendant le stage pratique. Si vos frais de déplacement et de logement changent pendant le stage, indiquez-le sur le Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention.

Puis-je demander une subvention si je vis chez des membres de ma famille qui habitent Montréal?

Non, vous ne recevrez pas de subvention pour couvrir vos frais si vous habitez chez un membre de votre famille à Montréal (p. ex., parents, grands-parents, etc.). Vous devez être en mesure de présenter un reçu original et détaillé de vos frais de logement.

Où m’enverra-t-on faire mon service obligatoire?

Quand vous signez l’Entente d’obligation de service, vous consentez à ce que le gouvernement choisisse le lieu où vous ferez vos deux années de service obligatoire.

Les stages seront assignés dans des régions de la province où, selon le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires, il a une pénurie d’interprètes en LSQ. Ce pourrait être Toronto, Ottawa ou Sudbury.

Et si je décide de ne pas revenir en Ontario après avoir obtenu mon diplôme?

Si vous n’effectuez aucune partie de votre service obligatoire, vous devrez rembourser au gouvernement de l’Ontario la totalité de la subvention qui vous a été versée. Si vous décidez d’arrêter avant d’avoir effectué au complet le service obligatoire de 24 mois, vous devrez rembourser au ministère la partie de la subvention totale reçue correspondant à la durée du service non effectué.

Quand recevrai-je ma subvention?

À la fin de chaque semestre terminé avec succès, le ministère vous remboursera les frais de scolarité, d’achat de manuels, de déplacement et de logement dûment engagés pendant le semestre, jusqu’à concurrence des montants maxima figurant dans les Lignes directives régissant le programme et le financement. Avant de vous rembourser, le ministère examinera votre relevé de notes pour vérifier que vous avez terminé avec succès tous les cours du semestre précédent, ainsi que le Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention que vous avez présenté.

Pour recevoir une subvention, vous devez également fournir les reçus originaux et détaillés de vos frais de déplacement et de logement, ainsi qu’une copie de votre reçu de frais de scolarité. Tous ces documents doivent être remplis à la satisfaction du ministère.

Tous les documents doivent être adressés au ministère dans les deux mois suivant la fin du semestre.

Ai-je droit au RAFEO si je touche une subvention dans le cadre du programme?

Oui, les prêts consentis dans le cadre du RAFEO ne vous empêchent pas de recevoir une subvention pour participer à ce programme. Vous devez informer l’administrateur du RAFEO des subventions que vous recevrez dans le cadre du programme.

Puis-je vivre en Ontario et suivre tout de même le Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec?

Oui, de nombreux étudiants inscrits au programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM continuent de travailler à temps partiel. Si vous êtes admis au programme et souhaitez travailler en Ontario et vous rendre à vos cours à Montréal, le gouvernement couvrira une partie de vos frais de déplacement et de logement conformément aux Lignes directives régissant le programme et le financement.

Quelle est la date limite pour présenter une demande au programme?

L’Avis de demande, dûment signé, et votre demande d’inscription au programme de l’UQAM doivent nous parvenir au plus tard le 1er mars de l’année où vous comptez commencer le programme. Nous n’accepterons pas les demandes tardives.

Est-il possible de commencer le Programme de formation à la LSQ de l’UQAM en cours d’année?

Non, le programme commence en septembre, il n’est pas possible de s’inscrire en janvier.

Comment trouverai-je un stage où effectuer mon service obligatoire?

Vous n’avez pas à trouver de stage où effectuer mon service obligatoire après avoir obtenu votre diplôme. En signant l’Entente d’obligation de service, vous consentez à ce que le gouvernement choisisse le lieu où vous ferez vos deux années de service obligatoire une fois votre diplôme en poche.

Puis-je recevoir une subvention pendant que j’effectue mon service obligatoire?

Non, pendant les 24 mois où vous effectuez votre service obligatoire vous recevrez un salaire de l’organisation qui vous emploie, et vous n’aurez droit à aucune subvention dans le cadre du programme pour vos frais de logement ou de déplacement.

Combien d’étudiants sont-ils inscrits au programme?

En 2010, 25 étudiants étaient inscrits à la première année du programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM. Depuis septembre 2012, l’UQAM réserve un maximum de cinq places par année aux étudiants de l’Ontario.

Et si j’échoue à un cours?

Si vous échouez à un cours, vous n’aurez pas droit à une subvention pour le semestre où vous avez obtenu une note éliminatoire. Quand vous aurez repris le cours et que vous nous aurez fourni un relevé de notes portant une note de passage, nous examinerons le Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention que vous nous avez adressé pour le semestre où vous avez échoué et nous vous rembourserons éventuellement les frais admissibles.

Et si j’abandonne un cours?

Les étudiants doivent mener à bien tous les cours pour être diplômés du programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM. Si vous abandonnez un cours et le reprenez un autre semestre, nous suivrons le même processus que si vous aviez échoué au cours.

Et si je dois suivre un cours de perfectionnement pour être admis au programme?

Si vous devez suivre un cours de perfectionnement pour être admis au programme, vous pourrez recevoir une subvention pour vos frais de déplacement, de logement, de scolarité et d’achat de manuels, mais uniquement si ce cours n’est pas offert pendant l’année universitaire normale (c.-à-d., de septembre à avril). Si le cours est offert pendant l’année universitaire, vous pourrez demander une subvention pour couvrir une partie de vos frais de scolarité.

Vous devez nous envoyer le Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention dans les deux mois suivant la fin du cours de perfectionnement. Sur présentation d’une preuve que vous avez terminé le premier semestre du programme officiel (semestre d’automne), vous recevrez la subvention ainsi que la subvention pour le premier semestre.

Comment puis-je calculer la distance en kilomètres de mon domicile au campus de l’UQAM au centre-ville?

Le ministère considère Google Maps comme un outil valide pour calculer la distance en kilomètres de votre domicile au campus de l’UQAM au centre-ville. En inscrivant votre adresse domiciliaire comme point de départ et l’adresse du campus de l’UQAM au centre-ville comme destination, vous obtiendrez la distance aller en kilomètres entre les deux points, multipliez ce chiffre par deux et vous obtiendrez la distance totale aller-retour. Multipliez ce chiffre par 0,41 $ et vous obtiendrez le montant de la subvention à laquelle vous aurez droit pour chacun de vos déplacements à Montréal, à moins que vos frais de transport (p. ex., train ou autobus) ne soient inférieurs.

Si vous avez d’autres questions, voici les coordonnées du programme :

Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec
Direction des services communautaires et des politiques en matière de déficience intellectuelle
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires
Édifice Hepburn, 4e étage
80, rue Grosvenor
Toronto ON M7A 1E9

Téléphone : 416 327-4971
Téléc. : 416 325-5554
Courriel : lsq@ontario.ca

Pour en savoir plus

Visitez le site Web de l'Université du Québec à Montréal pour en savoir davantage sur le programme d'interprétation visuelle et sur les modalités de candidature.