Program and Funding Guidelines

Goal

The Ontario-Québec Langues des Signes Québécoise Program for the Université du Québec à Montréal’s Visual Interpretation Program (“The Ontario-Québec LSQ Program”), is designed to increase the number of Langues des Signes Québécoise (LSQ) community interpreters in Ontario, as well as to increase training opportunities for Ontarians interested in pursuing LSQ interpretation as a career.

Definition

Each year up to five positions are available for Ontario residents to participate in the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program while attending the Université du Québec à Montréal’s (UQAM) Visual Interpretation Program. Not every applicant who applies to the Ontario-Quebec LSQ Program will be accepted and receive funding under the program. Candidates who are accepted to the program must agree to return to Ontario within six months of completion of the program of study to work for twenty-four consecutive months as a community LSQ interpreter in a part of the province considered by the Ministry of Community and Social Services (‘the Ministry”) to be underserved.

All participants in the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program are eligible to receive grant assistance from the Ministry to partially offset the cost of tuition, textbooks, travel and accommodation up to the maximum amounts set out in these Program and Funding Guidelines.

Eligibility

To be eligible to be considered for admission to the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program, applicants must:

  1. Be at least 21 years of age;
  2. Be a permanent resident of Ontario (resided in Ontario for at least the past twelve consecutive months, not including residence in the province for the purpose of attending an Ontario postsecondary educational institution);
  3. Provide valid proof of citizenship or permanent resident status;
  4. Meet all of the admission requirements of UQAM’s Visual Interpretation Program; and,
  5. Agree to enter into a return-of-service agreement with the Province of Ontario upon admission to UQAM. In signing the return-of-service agreement, a participant in the program is committed to return to Ontario within six months of completion of the program of study to work consecutively for twenty-four months as a community LSQ interpreter in a part of the province considered by the Ministry to be underserved.

Application Procedure

To be considered for admission to the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program, applicants must follow two separate application procedures:

  1. Application to the Visual Interpretation Program at UQAM:

    Applicants must apply directly to UQAM in order to be considered for the positions set aside for participants in the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program. UQAM is solely responsible for setting requirements for admission and selecting the applicants who will be offered positions. Applicants should consult the UQAM website for program entry requirements, application procedures and deadlines.


  2. Application to the Ontario-Québec LSQ Program:

    Applicants must complete a Notice of Application form and submit it to the Ministry, together with any supporting documentation, at the address listed on page 5 of this document by the specified deadline. For the Notice of Application to be considered complete, proof of permanent residency in Ontario (e.g., Ontario driver's license, OHIP card, residential lease or purchase contract, vehicle registration), as well as valid proof of citizenship or permanent resident status must be included with the Notice of Application. Photocopies of relevant documents are acceptable.

    The Ministry will provide UQAM with a list of applicants that the Ministry considers eligible to participate in the Ontario-Québec LSQ program. UQAM is responsible for reviewing applications and inviting eligible applicants to write the entrance exam. Upon review of exam results, UQAM will send letters of admission to successful applicants.

Grant Assistance

Grant assistance is available to offset tuition, textbook, travel and accommodation expenses for all students accepted to The Ontario-Québec LSQ Program up to the maximum amounts set out in these Program and Funding Guidelines.

To qualify for program grants, students must be accepted to UQAM’s Visual Interpretation program and sign a return-of service agreement acknowledging their commitment to return to Ontario within six months of completion of the program to work as a community LSQ interpreter for two consecutive years in a part of the province considered by the Ministry to be underserved.

Grant assistance for the Ontario-Quebec LSQ Program is subject to funding being authorized by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario for the fiscal year in which the disbursement is to be made.

Taxation

Depending on the amount of funding received, grant assistance may be taxable. Grant recipients will be issued a T4A slip at the end of every calendar year in which they received payment.

Grant Conditions

No grant monies will be provided to students in advance of entering the program. At the end of each semester successfully completed, the Ministry will reimburse students for the tuition, textbook, travel and accommodation expenses properly paid during the semester, up to the maximum amounts set out in these Program and Funding Guidelines.

Reimbursement is subject to submission of the following documents by the student to the satisfaction of the Ministry:

  • Official UQAM transcript verifying that all courses have been successfully completed for the semester.
  • Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form, including original and itemized receipts for travel, accommodation and textbooks for the semester.
  • Copy of tuition receipt, identifying that courses have been paid in full.

All documents must be submitted to the Ministry within two months of completing a semester.

Education Assistance

Students will be reimbursed in full for the cost of tuition to attend UQAM’s Visual Interpretation Program, pending submission of the aforementioned documents, and in accordance with the Grant Conditions listed above.

With the submission of original receipts, students may also obtain grant assistance to offset the price of textbooks required as part of the program.

Accommodation Assistance

Students are eligible to be reimbursed for accommodation expenses of up to $5000 per semester, to offset the costs of temporarily residing in Montreal. This is based on an average accommodation cost of $100/night. All accommodation claims must be reasonable and will be reviewed by the Ministry for reasonableness.

The Ministry allows students to determine accommodations that best meet their needs while enrolled in the program (i.e., short term rental, hotel, etc.).

Students must submit original and itemized receipts for lodging in order to receive reimbursement for accommodation expenses. If accommodation is shared with another student in the program (i.e., double occupancy hotel room), only one student may claim the expense.

Only those lodging expenses incurred in Montreal, taking place during the academic term, will be considered for reimbursement (with the exception of relocation caused by field placements in the final semester of study).

Travel Assistance

Students are eligible to receive the lesser of $0.41 per kilometre for the round trip distance of traveling from their home residence to Montreal to attend weekly classes at UQAM, or, the cost of a roundtrip ticket.

For example, the round trip distance from Ottawa to Montreal is approximately 400km, making the total available funding per trip $164. 400km x $0.41= $164

If a student traveled by bus from Ottawa to Montreal for $100, they would only be eligible to receive reimbursement for $100, as that is the lesser of the two costs ($164 versus $100).

Students may determine their preferred mode of travel (e.g., car, bus, train, etc.); however students must use the most practical and economical means of travel. Students must submit original and itemized receipts for transportation in order to receive reimbursement (e.g., train or bus ticket, etc.). Should students carpool, only one student may submit an original and itemized receipt for reimbursement. There is no reimbursement for gas or car maintenance.

Upon the completion of each semester, grant assistance for travel can be claimed for each weekly roundtrip to Montreal for classes.

Other Grants and Awards

If other grants or student awards are received, including scholarships and bursaries, for the same purposes as grant assistance offered through this program (travel, accommodation and education), the student must provide this information on the Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients claim form. The total amount of grant assistance for which the student is eligible will be adjusted accordingly to reflect other grant assistance sources.

Loans under the Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP) do not need to be declared.

It is the student’s responsibility to inform an OSAP program administrator of the grants received as a part of this program.

Return of Service Period

As students will receive a salary throughout the twenty-four months in which they complete their return of service, no program grants are provided during this period.

Each student’s salary will be determined by the organization with which their return of service is completed. The Ministry is not involved in determining student salaries during the return of service period.

Payment

  1. Upon the successful completion of each semester, students seeking grant assistance shall submit a Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form, outlining costs incurred for travel, accommodation, textbooks, and tuition, up to the maximum amount allowed within each grant category. All documents must be submitted to the Ministry within two months of completing a semester. In addition, students must submit supporting documents (i.e., original and itemized receipts and transcripts) in order for their claim to be validated.

    The Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form and supporting documents are to be submitted to the Ministry at the address listed on page 5. All documents must be completed to the satisfaction of the Ministry.


  2. Upon approval of the Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form, the Ministry will remit payment to the student by direct deposit for approved costs.


  3. Students must complete steps one and two upon the successful completion of each semester in which students are seeking grant assistance.

Other Terms and Conditions

Resignation or Dismissal

If a grant recipient resigns or is dismissed from the program of study, no further payment under the Grant Assistance Program will be made. Students are responsible for repaying to the Ministry in full all grant assistance received prior to their resignation or dismissal in accordance with the terms set out in the Return of Service Agreement.

If a grant recipient terminates their return of service prior to completing their full twenty-four months of employment, they will be responsible for repaying the Ministry a portion of the total grant monies received, commensurate with the amount of time spent completing their return of service.

Interruption of Studies

If a grant recipient decides to interrupt the scheduled completion of the program and resume the program at a later date, the Ministry must be notified in writing as soon as possible. Payments may resume once the student resumes the program.

General Information

It generally takes between four and six weeks to process a satisfactory Statement of Expenses for Grant Recipients Claim Form after the student has provided all of the necessary documents.

For more information, please contact the Ministry of Community and Social Services at the following address:

The Ontario-Québec LSQ Program
Community and Developmental Services Branch
Ministry of Community and Social Services
Hepburn Block, 4th Floor
80 Grosvenor Street
Toronto, ON M7A 1E9

Telephone: 416 327-4971
Fax: 416 325-5554
Email: lsq@ontario.ca

Lignes directives régissant le programme et le financement

Objectif

L’objectif du Programme de formation à la langue des signes québécoise Ontario-Québec (« Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec ») offert dans le cadre du programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’Université du Québec à Montréal est d’augmenter le nombre d’interprètes communautaires en langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) en Ontario, et de multiplier les possibilités de formation des Ontariens* qui souhaitent faire carrière comme interprètes en LSQ.

* L'utilisation du masculin a pour seul but d'alléger le texte et s'applique sans discrimination aux personnes des deux sexes.

Définition

Chaque année, cinq places au maximum sont ouvertes aux résidents de l’Ontario pour leur permettre de participer au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec offert dans le cadre du programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Toutes les personnes qui présentent une demande au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec ne seront pas acceptées ni ne recevront de subvention aux termes du programme. Les candidats retenus doivent s’engager à revenir en Ontario dans les six mois suivant la fin du programme d’études pour travailler comme interprètes communautaires en LSQ pendant 24 mois consécutifs dans une région jugée insuffisamment desservie par le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires (« le ministère »).

Tous les participants au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec sont admissibles à une subvention du ministère pour couvrir une partie de leurs frais de scolarité, d’achat de manuels, de déplacement et de logement, jusqu’à concurrence des montants maxima figurant dans les Lignes directives régissant le programme et le financement.

Admissibilité

Pour être admissibles au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec, les auteurs de demande doivent :

  1. avoir au moins 21 ans;
  2. être résidents permanents de l’Ontario (c.-à-d., résider en Ontario depuis au moins 12 mois sans interruption - le fait de résider dans la province pour faire des études postsecondaires dans un établissement ontarien ne sera pas pris en compte);
  3. fournir une preuve valide de leur statut de résident permanent;
  4. satisfaire aux exigences d’admission au programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM;
  5. accepter de signer une Entente d’obligation de service avec la province de l’Ontario une fois admis à l’UQAM. Les participants au programme qui signent l’Entente d’obligation de service s’engagent à revenir en Ontario dans les six mois suivant la fin du programme pour travailler comme interprètes communautaires en LSQ pendant 24 mois consécutifs dans une région jugée insuffisamment desservie par le ministère.

Procédure de demande

Pour que leur candidature au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec soit envisagée, les candidats doivent suivre deux procédures de demande distinctes :

  1. Demande au programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM :

    Les candidats doivent présenter leur demande directement à l’UQAM qui examinera leur admissibilité aux places réservées aux participants au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec. L’UQAM fixe les conditions d’admission et choisit les candidats à qui elle proposera une place. Les candidats trouveront sur le site Web de l’UQAM les conditions d’admission au programme, les procédures de demande et les dates limites.


  2. Demande au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec :

    Les candidats doivent remplir un Avis de demande et l’adresser au ministère, accompagné des documents à l’appui, à l’adresse figurant en page 5 du présent document d’ici la date limite indiquée. Pour être jugé complet, l’Avis de demande doit être accompagné d’une preuve de résidence permanente en Ontario (p. ex., permis de conduire de l’Ontario, carte d’assurance-santé de l’Ontario, bail d’habitation ou contrat d’achat, immatriculation du véhicule), ainsi que d’une preuve valide de citoyenneté ou du statut de résident permanent. Le ministère acceptera photocopie de ces documents.

    Le ministère fournira à l’UQAM la liste des candidats qu’il juge admissibles au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec. L’UQAM examinera les demandes et invitera les candidats admissibles à passer un examen d’entrée. Une fois les résultats de l’examen connus, l’UQAM enverra une lettre d’admission aux candidats retenus.

Subventions

Le ministère accordera des subventions à tous les étudiants acceptés au Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec pour couvrir une partie de leurs frais de scolarité, d’achat des manuels, de déplacement et de logement, jusqu’à concurrence des montants maxima figurant dans les présentes Lignes directives régissant le programme et le financement.

Pour obtenir une subvention, les étudiants doivent être acceptés au programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM et signer en Entente d’obligation de service dans laquelle ils s’engagent à revenir en Ontario dans les six mois suivant la fin du programme pour travailler comme interprètes communautaires en LSQ pendant deux ans consécutifs dans une région jugée insuffisamment desservie par le ministère.

Les subventions accordées dans le cadre du Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec sont sujettes à l’approbation de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario pour l’exercice au cours duquel elles seront versées.

Imposition

Les subventions peuvent être imposables, cela dépendra du montant reçu. Les bénéficiaires de subvention recevront un feuillet T4A à la fin de chaque année civile au cours de laquelle ils auront reçu des fonds.

Conditions d’octroi de la subvention

Les étudiants ne recevront aucune subvention avant de s’inscrire au programme. À la fin de chaque semestre terminé avec succès, le ministère remboursera les frais de scolarité, d’achat des manuels, de déplacement et de logement engagés au cours du semestre, jusqu’à concurrence des montants maxima figurant dans les Lignes directives régissant le programme et le financement.

Avant d’obtenir un remboursement, vous devrez fournir au ministère les documents suivants :

  • Un relevé de notes officiel de l’UQAM confirmant que vous avez terminé avec succès tous les cours figurant au programme du semestre.
  • Le Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention, accompagné des reçus originaux et détaillés des frais de déplacement, de logement et d’achat des manuels engagés pour le semestre.
  • Une copie de votre reçu de frais de scolarité confirmant que les cours ont été payés en totalité.

Tous les documents doivent être adressés au ministère dans les deux mois suivant la fin du semestre.

Aide aux études

Les étudiants seront remboursés de la totalité des frais de scolarité engagés pour suivre le programme d’interprétation visuelle de l’UQAM, sous réserve de produire les documents susmentionnés, et conformément aux conditions d’octroi de la subvention décrites plus tôt.

Sur réception des reçus originaux, les étudiants pourront aussi obtenir une subvention pour couvrir une partie des frais d’achat des manuels nécessaires pour participer au programme.

Aide au logement

Les étudiants ont droit au remboursement de leurs fais de logement jusqu’à concurrence de 5 000 $ par semestre pour couvrir une partie de leur frais de résidence temporaire à Montréal. Ce chiffre est calculé sur la base de frais de logement moyens de 100 $/nuit. Toutes les demandes de remboursement de frais de logement doivent être raisonnables et seront examinées par le ministère en fonction de ce critère.

Le ministère permet aux étudiants de choisir le logement répondant le mieux à leurs besoins pendant qu’ils sont inscrits au programme (c.-à-d., location à court terme, hôtel, etc.).

Pour pouvoir être remboursés, les étudiants doivent joindre les reçus originaux et détaillés de leurs frais de logement. Si un étudiant partage un logement avec un autre étudiant inscrit au programme (p. ex., chambre pour deux personnes dans un hôtel), un seul d’entre eux pourra demander le remboursement des frais.

Seuls les frais de logement engagés à Montréal, pendant l’année universitaire, seront pris en considération en vue d’un remboursement (à l’exception des frais de déménagement nécessaires pour participer à des stages pratiques au cours du dernier semestre).

Aide au déplacement

Les étudiants peuvent recevoir le moindre des deux montants suivants : 0,41 $/km pour parcourir la distance aller-retour de leur domicile à Montréal pour se rendre chaque semaine à leurs cours à l’UQAM, ou le prix d’un billet aller-retour.

Par exemple, la distance aller-retour d’Ottawa à Montréal est d’environ 400 km, le montant total de subvention disponible est donc de 164 $ par trajet, (400 km x 0,41 $ = 164 $).

Si un étudiant a payé 100 $ pour se rendre en autobus d’Ottawa à Montréal, il n’aura droit qu’à un remboursement de 100 $, soit le moindre des deux montants prévus (100 $ au lieu de 164 $).

Les étudiants peuvent choisir le mode de transport qu’ils préfèrent (p. ex., voiture, autobus, train, etc.); ils doivent toutefois opter pour la solution la plus pratique et économique. Pour être remboursés, les étudiants doivent fournir les reçus originaux et détaillés de leurs frais de transport (p. ex., billet de train ou d’autobus, etc.). S’ils optent pour le covoiturage, un seul des étudiants pourra soumettre un reçu original et détaillé aux fins de remboursement. Les frais d’essence et d’entretien du véhicule ne sont pas remboursés.

À la fin de chaque semestre, les étudiants peuvent présenter une demande de subvention pour les trajets aller-retour effectués chaque semaine pour suivre les cours à Montréal.

Autres subventions et bourses

Si les étudiants reçoivent d’autres subventions ou bourses aux étudiants (notamment bourses d’études et autres) aux mêmes fins que les subventions versées dans le cadre de ce programme (pour le déplacement, le logement et les études), ils doivent l’indiquer sur le Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention. Le montant total de subvention auquel un étudiant est admissible sera rajusté en conséquence pour tenir compte des autres sources de subvention.

Il n’est pas nécessaire de déclarer les prêts consentis dans le cadre du Régime d'aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants de l'Ontario (RAFEO).

Les étudiants doivent informer l’administrateur du RAFEO des subventions reçues dans le cadre du présent programme.

Obligation de service

Pendant les 24 mois où ils effectuent leur service obligatoire, les étudiants toucheront un salaire mais pas de subvention.

Le salaire de chaque étudiant sera fixé par l’organisation où il effectue son service obligatoire. Le ministère n’intervient pas dans la fixation du salaire des étudiants pendant la durée du service obligatoire.

Paiement

  1. Dès qu’ils ont terminé avec succès un semestre, les étudiants qui souhaitent obtenir une subvention doivent remplir un Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention, indiquant leurs frais de déplacement, de logement, d’achat de manuels et de scolarité, jusqu’à concurrence du montant maximum permis pour chaque catégorie. Tous les documents doivent être adressés au ministère dans les deux mois suivant la fin du semestre. Les étudiants doivent aussi fournir les documents à l’appui (p. ex., relevés de notes et reçus originaux et détaillés) pour valider leur demande.

    Le Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention et les documents à l’appui doivent être envoyés au ministère à l’adresse figurant en page 5. Tous les documents doivent être remplis à la satisfaction du ministère.


  2. Dès approbation du Formulaire de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention, le ministère remboursera aux étudiants le montant des frais approuvés sous forme de dépôt direct.


  3. Les étudiants doivent mener à bien les étapes 1 et 2 à après avoir terminé avec succès chaque semestre pour lequel ils souhaitent obtenir une subvention.

Autres conditions

Désistement ou renvoi

Si un bénéficiaire de subvention se désiste ou est renvoyé du programme d’études, il ne recevra aucun autre versement du Programme de subventions. Les étudiants doivent rembourser au ministère la totalité des montants de subvention reçus avant leur désistement ou renvoi conformément aux conditions de l’Entente d’obligation de service.

Si un bénéficiaire de subvention quitte le service obligatoire avant d’avoir effectué au complet la période de 24 mois, il devra rembourser au ministère la partie de la subvention totale reçue correspondant à la durée du service non effectué.

Interruption des études

Si un bénéficiaire de subvention décide d’interrompre le programme et de le reprendre plus tard, il doit en informer le ministère par écrit dès que possible. Les versements pourront reprendre lorsque l’étudiant réintègrera le programme.

Renseignements généraux

Le traitement des formulaires de demande de remboursement des frais engagés par les bénéficiaires de subvention, dûment remplis, prend en général quatre à six semaines après réception des documents requis.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires à l’adresse suivante :

Programme de formation à la LSQ Ontario-Québec
Direction des services communautaires et des politiques en matière de déficience intellectuelle
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires
Édifice Hepburn, 4e étage
80, rue Grosvenor
Toronto ON M7A 1E9

Téléphone : 416 327-4971
Téléc. : 416 325-5554
Email: lsq@ontario.ca