Karen is 54 and has lived with Dave and Leanne since 2014 and couldn’t imagine living anywhere else.

Before moving in with Dave and Leanne, Karen lived in a group home with several housemates. She told her developmental services agency that she wanted to live with a family that shared her common interests and values.

Living with Dave and Leanne has brought music into Karen’s life. Dave is an accomplished guitarist, and he and Karen will often play blues and rock music together, putting on a great show for Leanne. The trio also go out to community pubs to enjoy live music with friends.

Leanne works full time at a local service agency and Karen is part of an employment collaborative that prepares and packages meals for seniors. The ladies enjoy singing on their morning commute to work.

All of this has helped Karen come out of her shell and feel much more comfortable in her skin. People closest to her have noticed a real change in her.

Together, they are looking forward to a road trip to Florida, the beach, and a visit to Disney World.

“I don’t think you have to be a pro. You just have to be a human being with a heart.” —Dave

Karen, âgée de 54 ans, vit avec Dave et Leanne depuis 2014 et ne pourrait pas s’imaginer habiter ailleurs.

Avant de s’installer chez Dave et Leanne, Karen vivait dans un foyer de groupe avec plusieurs colocataires. Elle a fait part à son organisme de services de son envie de vivre auprès d’une famille avec qui elle aurait des intérêts et des valeurs en commun.

Aux côtés de Dave et de Leanne, Karen a découvert la musique. Dave, guitariste accompli, et Karen jouent régulièrement du blues et du rock ensemble, pour le plus grand plaisir de Leanne. Le trio se rend également dans des cafés pour profiter de concerts avec leurs amis.

Leanne travaille à temps plein au sein d’un organisme de services local, tandis que Karen fait partie d’un organisme collaboratif d’emploi spécialisé dans la préparation et l’emballage de repas pour personnes âgées. Les deux femmes aiment chanter chaque matin sur le chemin du travail.

Karen a ainsi pu sortir de sa coquille et se sent aujourd’hui bien mieux dans sa peau. Ses proches ont remarqué un réel changement chez elle.

Karen, Dave et Leanne prévoient de prendre ensemble la route pour rejoindre la Floride, profiter de la plage et visiter Disney World.

« Je ne pense pas qu’il faille être un pro. Il faut juste être humain et avoir un cœur. » — Dave