This link will take you to the video : About Fro

Video: Interjurisdictional Support Orders


It's hard enough when a family breaks up; however, when one person lives in a different province, territory or country, there are a new set of challenges.

The Ontario Family Responsibility Office has enforcement agreements with every Canadian province and territory, every state in the United States of America, and approximately 30 other countries. These are known as “reciprocating jurisdictions.” FRO works with over 100 reciprocating jurisdictions.

The Interjurisdictional Support Orders Act, 2002 (ISO Act) makes it possible for FRO to enforce, and for you to get, change and register support orders for enforcement when one person lives in Ontario and the other lives in a reciprocating jurisdiction.

How it works

If the other person lives in a reciprocating jurisdiction, you can usually (without having to travel to that area):

  • get a support order
  • change an existing support order, or
  • enforce a support order.

The person in the reciprocating jurisdiction can do the same.

For example, a person living in Ontario can begin the process here. The order can be made, changed or enforced in the province, territory, state or country where the other person lives.

Note: This does not apply to support applications made under the federal Divorce Act. Divorce Act orders do not need to be registered in an Ontario court. They can be sent directly from the support recipient or from the local family support enforcement program to FRO for registration and enforcement.

If the other person lives in a country that is not a reciprocating jurisdiction

If the other person does not live in a reciprocating jurisdiction and you want to make a support order or change an existing support order you will need to talk to a lawyer about your options.

Registering support orders

A support order made in a Canadian reciprocating jurisdiction must be registered for enforcement in the Ontario court. Once registered in court, the support order will be sent to FRO for registration. If you would like to do your own enforcement, you can contact us to withdraw from the program. (Note: Quebec does not enforce Separation Agreements/Domestic Contracts or Paternity Agreements; it requires a support order.)

A support order made in a reciprocating jurisdiction outside of Canada must also be registered for enforcement in the Ontario court. In these situations, the court gives the support payor a notice of the registration. The notice or registration advises the payor that they have 30 days to ask the court to set aside the registration. This means that they can ask the court to decide that the support order cannot be enforced in Ontario.

Changing support orders

If you (the applicant) want to get or change a support order, you must fill out a set of application forms — either a standard application form or a support variation application form. You can get these forms online (see link below under “Learn More”) or from the courts, Family Law Information Centres and Legal Aid offices.

Many of the forms are sworn documents. This means you must sign them under oath in front of a Commissioner of Oaths or Notary Public. Completed forms should be sent to the appropriate office in the jurisdiction where you live. For example, if you live in Ontario, the forms are sent to the Ontario Family Responsibility Office (address below). We then forward the forms to the jurisdiction where the other person (the respondent) lives.

A court hearing is held in the respondent's jurisdiction. The respondent goes to court and files a matching set of forms. The judge should then have a full picture of the family situation and can make an order or change an existing one. If the judge grants the support order, the Family Responsibility Office will send a copy to you.

What is a provisional order?

Some jurisdictions require a “provisional order” to make or change a support order. A provisional order has no legal effect until it has been confirmed by a court in the reciprocating jurisdiction.

The following jurisdictions require provisional orders:

  • United Kingdom (consisting of England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Alderney and Sark, Jersey, and Isle of Man)
  • New Zealand
  • Germany
  • Cayman Islands
  • Hong Kong, and
  • Quebec.

If you or the other person live in one of these jurisdictions, contact the Ontario court nearest to you for more information.

Currency exchange rates

Changes in currency rates may affect your support payments.

If your support order was made outside of Canada and then registered in Ontario, the order is converted to Canadian currency using either:

  • the exchange rate that was in effect on the date of the order, if available from the Bank of Canada, or
  • the exchange rate from the date the order was registered in Ontario.

The converted amount is the amount that the Family Responsibility Office can enforce.

Learn more

List of reciprocating jurisdictions:

Forms required under the Interjurisdictional Support Orders Act, 2002

Lien : Vidéo

Vidéo : Ordonnances alimentaires d'exécution réciproque

Transcription

La rupture d'une famille est déjà en soi un événement difficile. Toutefois, si une personne vit dans une autre province, un autre territoire ou un autre pays, les difficultés augmentent.

Le BOF a conclu des ententes d'exécution réciproque avec chaque province et territoire du Canada et chaque état des États-Unis, ainsi qu'avec environ 30 autres pays. Ce sont des autorités pratiquant la réciprocité. Le BOF travaille avec plus de 100 autorités pratiquant la réciprocité.

La Loi de 2002 sur les ordonnances alimentaires d’exécution réciproque permet au BOF de mettre à exécution les ordonnances, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez recevoir, modifier ou enregistrer des ordonnances alimentaires aux fins d'exécution, lorsqu'une personne vit en Ontario et l'autre dans une autorité pratiquant la réciprocité.

La démarche

Si l'autre personne réside dans une autorité pratiquant la réciprocité, il est généralement possible (sans avoir à vous rendre à l'endroit où elle vit) d'obtenir les mesures suivantes :

  • une ordonnance alimentaire,
  • la modification d'une ordonnance alimentaire existante,
  • l'exécution d'une ordonnance alimentaire.

La personne qui réside dans l'autorité pratiquant la réciprocité peut faire de même.

Par exemple, une personne qui vit en Ontario peut entamer le processus ici. L'ordonnance peut être rendue, modifiée ou exécutée dans la province, le territoire, l'état ou le pays où vit l'autre personne.

Remarque : Ces règles ne s'appliquent pas aux demandes de pensions alimentaires déposées sous le régime de la Loi sur le divorce (Canada). Les ordonnances en vertu de la Loi sur le divorce ne doivent pas être enregistrées auprès d'un tribunal ontarien. Elles peuvent être envoyées directement du bénéficiaire des pensions alimentaires ou d'un programme d'exécution local au BOF pour enregistrement et exécution.

Si l'autre personne vit dans un pays qui n'est pas une autorité pratiquant la réciprocité

Si l'autre personne ne vit pas dans une autorité pratiquant la réciprocité et que vous voulez obtenir une ordonnance alimentaire ou modifier une ordonnance alimentaire, vous devrez consulter un avocat pour connaître vos options.

Enregistrement des ordonnances alimentaires

Une ordonnance alimentaire rendue dans une autorité canadienne pratiquant la réciprocité est déposée auprès d'un tribunal de l'Ontario, puis envoyée au Bureau des obligations familiales qui l'enregistre et l'exécute. Si vous préférez exécuter vous-même l'ordonnance, vous pouvez vous retirer du programme en nous en informant.

(Nota : Le Québec ne met pas à exécution les ententes de séparation/contrats familiaux ou ententes de paternité; Il exige une ordonnance alimentaire.)

Une ordonnance alimentaire rendue dans une autorité pratiquant la réciprocité à l'extérieur du Canada doit aussi être enregistrée aux fins d'exécution par un tribunal de l'Ontario. Dans ce cas, le tribunal avise le payeur de l'enregistrement de l'ordonnance. L'avis d'enregistrement indique au payeur qu'il dispose d'un délai de 30 jours pour introduire une motion en annulation de l'enregistrement, c'est-à-dire pour demander au tribunal de rendre une ordonnance empêchant l'exécution de l'ordonnance alimentaire en Ontario.

Modification des ordonnances alimentaires

Si vous (le requérant) souhaitez obtenir une ordonnance alimentaire ou la modifier, vous devez remplir des formulaires — soit un formulaire de demande standard soit une demande de modification de l'ordonnance alimentaire. Ces formulaires sont affichés en ligne (voir le lien ci-dessous sous le titre « Pour en savoir davantage ») ou peuvent être obtenus auprès des tribunaux, des centres d'information sur le droit de la famille ou des bureaux d'Aide juridique.

Bon nombre de ces formulaires sont des documents attestés sous serment. Cela veut dire qu'ils doivent être signés sous la foi du serment devant un commissaire aux affidavits ou un notaire public. Les formulaires dûment remplis doivent être envoyés au bureau compétent du territoire où vous vivez. Par exemple, si vous résidez en Ontario, les formulaires doivent être envoyés au Bureau des obligations familiales (adresse ci-dessous). Ce dernier les communiquera à l'autorité où réside l'autre personne (l'intimé).

Une audience a lieu dans un tribunal du ressort de l'intimé. Ce dernier doit se rendre au tribunal et déposer des formulaires correspondants. Le juge peut ainsi se faire une idée de la situation familiale et rendre une ordonnance pertinente ou modifier l'ordonnance existante. Si le juge accorde l'ordonnance alimentaire, le BOF vous en enverra une copie.

Qu'est-ce qu'une ordonnance conditionnelle?

Certaines autorités exigent une ordonnance conditionnelle pour établir ou modifier une ordonnance alimentaire. L'ordonnance conditionnelle n'a aucune valeur juridique tant qu'elle n'a pas été homologuée par un tribunal de l'autorité pratiquant la réciprocité.

Les autorités suivantes exigent des ordonnances conditionnelles :

  • Royaume-Uni (Angleterre, Écosse, Irlande du Nord, Pays de Galles, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Alderney et Sark, Jersey et Île de Man)
  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Allemagne
  • Îles Caïmans
  • Hong Kong
  • Québec

Si vous ou l'autre personne résidez dans l'un de ces ressorts, contactez le tribunal de l'Ontario le plus près de chez vous pour plus d'information.

Taux de change

Les taux de change peuvent avoir un impact sur vos paiements.

Si l'ordonnance alimentaire a été rendue à l'extérieur du Canada, puis enregistrée en Ontario, les montants prévus par l'ordonnance sont convertis en devises canadiennes en utilisant l'un des taux de change suivants :

  • Le taux de change en vigueur à la date de l'ordonnance, s'il est publié par la Banque du Canada;
  • Le taux de change à la date d'enregistrement de l'ordonnance en Ontario.

Le montant converti est le montant que le BOF peut mettre à exécution.

Pour en savoir plus

Liste des autorités pratiquant la réciprocité :

Formulaires requis en vertu de la Loi de 2002 sur les ordonnances alimentaires d'exécution réciproque