September 2016

1.1 Introduction to ODSP Employment Supports

Summary of Directive

This directive provides an introduction to ODSP employment supports, including the roles of ODSP staff, service providers, and clients.

Intent of Policy

To provide a detailed description of ODSP employment supports, including an understanding of the guiding mandate and principles that comprise ODSP employment supports.

Application of Policy

ODSP employment supports is a program that connects people with disabilities to sustainable, competitive employment by providing the supports clients need to get a job, keep the job and, where appropriate, advance in their job.

Mandate

ODSP employment supports helps people with disabilities increase their economic independence through competitive, sustainable jobs. The program also helps employers meet their business needs by providing supports to hire and retain employees with disabilities.

Principles

The following program principles have guided the development of ODSP employment supports. Ministry staff and service providers will ensure that all aspects of the program reflect the following general principles:

Labour Market Focused

  • Service providers undertake marketing and outreach activities to develop placements and employment opportunities with local employers.
  • Clients are made aware of employment opportunities and provided with the employment supports needed to bridge the gap between unemployment and employment.
  • Employment will reflect the current reality of the labour market and can include full-time or part-time employment, self-employment, or membership participation in a business enterprise or contract employment, where the person is earning the equivalent of minimum wage or better.
  • Service providers are remunerated based on their ability to connect people with disabilities with sustainable, competitive employment, retain them in employment and, where appropriate, help the person advance in their job.

Service Accessibility

  • Access to employment supports is simple and timely.
  • Service providers will ensure that employment supports are barrier free.

Client responsibility

  • Participation in the program is voluntary.
  • Clients are responsible for achieving their employment goals.
  • Clients actively participate in identifying work that they are capable of doing and that is available in the labour market, as well as the supports they need to find and maintain employment.

Overview

ODSP employment supports is based on a “brokerage” model, where funding is provided to third party service providers who are responsible for placing and retaining employment supports clients in employment and helping those clients increase their level of earnings through job advancement.

Employment supports is an employment placement and retention service where funding to service providers is based on achieving employment results. Funding is directly linked to the employment outcomes of employment supports clients.

ODSP caseworkers are responsible for determining the eligibility of applicants, providing upfront information and orientation sessions to applicants, assisting clients to access the services they need to achieve their employment goals, and monitoring the quality of services.

ODSP employment supports provides funding for a range of supports that are intended to remove disability-related barriers to employment and lead to competitive employment.

Competitive Employment

Competitive employment is broadly defined as remunerative employment that can reasonably be expected to contribute to a person’s economic well-being. It can mean conventional employment where there is a typical employee/employer relationship and the employee is earning minimum wage or more. It can include full-time, part-time, contract, or seasonal employment to recognize the diverse nature of people’s disabilities and how their disabilities may impact their employment.

Competitive employment can also include self-employment or ownership or membership participation in a business enterprise where the objective is to earn at least the equivalent of minimum wage.

For some applicants, competitive employment may not be possible or may not be achievable as an immediate goal. Consequently, information regarding other sources of appropriate support and assistance will be provided to applicants/clients as available in local communities.

Eligible Goods and Services

ODSP employment supports provides funding to service providers who work with clients to determine what employment-related supports are required to remove barriers to competitive employment and to assist the client in attaining his/her competitive employment goal. The service provider and the client will jointly decide what goods and/or services are required to place and retain the client in competitive employment.

Regional Offices

Regional offices enter into funding agreements with an extensive network of service providers who assist employment supports clients to access the supports necessary to achieve their competitive employment goal.

Regional offices will monitor the quality and effectiveness of the supports provided to clients by service providers, as well as key outcomes achieved including the number of job placements and the length of time clients are retained in employment.

Regional office staff are responsible for the overall service system management of the program and the coordination of services. Key responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • ensuring that people with disabilities within the service area, regardless of the nature or extent of their disabilities, have access to ODSP employment supports;
  • negotiating and contracting with service providers and monitoring the quality and effectiveness of services provided to eligible clients;
  • marketing and promotion;
  • managing the regional dispute resolution process;
  • local employer outreach and program marketing to increase awareness of ODSP employment supports and to promote employment opportunities for people with disabilities;
  • collaborating/linking with other related service systems such as Ontario Works and Employment Ontario;
  • evaluating client satisfaction and making improvements to the delivery of services based on the findings of these evaluations; and
  • ensuring accountability.

ODSP Staff

ODSP caseworkers are responsible for determining eligibility for ODSP employment supports and referring employment supports applicants to a service provider. ODSP caseworkers are also responsible for ensuring the people with disabilities have access to supports to assist them to prepare for, obtain and maintain employment.
The key responsibilities of ODSP staff include, but are not limited to:

  • acting as a resource in the areas of training and employment for employment supports clients, ODSP income support recipients, and the community;
  • ensuring local service provider information is accurate, current, accessible and user friendly within the local ODSP office;
  • complying with all legislation, regulations and program directives;
  • determining applicant eligibility for ODSP employment supports;
  • assisting clients (if required) in selecting service providers;
  • coordinating services for applicants and eligible clients with a high degree of professionalism, quality and reliability;
  • recognizing all clients as individuals with unique circumstances who encounter unique barriers in preparing for, obtaining and maintaining employment and providing service in accordance with these unique circumstances;
  • promoting self-direction and prompt service for clients who require a minimum amount of assistance;
  • ensuring the Welcome to ODSP Employment Supports form is completed, and that clients are aware of their obligations while participating in employment supports ;
  • assisting applicants and clients to understand their rights and responsibilities in accessing and maintaining employment in relation to ODSP income supports (e.g., income reporting requirements and the impact of earnings on an ODSP recipient’s income support); assisting clients to deal with service provider issues or employer issues, as needed by the client;
  • directing all applicants who are not eligible and clients who are not able to prepare for competitive employment to other supports and services they may require, as appropriate;
  • processing internal reviews and the regional dispute resolution process; and
  • liaising with service providers, as needed.

Applicants/Clients

Applicants are responsible for providing all documentation required to demonstrate initial and on-going eligibility.
Applicants must intend to and be able to prepare for, obtain and maintain competitive employment. If the client is eligible for similar services from other government or private sector sources, service providers may assist the client to access those services as well, provided there is no duplication in funded services.

Clients are responsible for playing an active role in setting their competitive employment goal.

Clients are accountable for completing the steps necessary to achieve their competitive employment goal as set out in their employment plan.

Service Providers

Service providers are responsible for ensuring that quality goods and services are provided to employment supports clients.  Service providers are also responsible for meeting the job placement and retention targets as outlined in the funding agreement negotiated with the regional offices.

Service providers are required to develop individual employment plans with clients and to make those plans available to the local ODSP office, as requested. These plans will identify the competitive employment goal of the client, as well as the barriers to employment and the key supports and services that will be provided to place and retain the client in employment.

Service providers will work collaboratively and form partnerships with other service providers or employment programs in the community in order to maximize access to the full range of employment services required by clients to get and keep a job.

Service providers will assist applicants and clients to understand their rights and responsibilities in accessing and maintaining employment, including legislation such as the ODSP Act, Ontario Human Rights Code, Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, and Employment Standards Act, and communicating those rights and responsibilities to applicants and clients as required.

As a part of their reporting requirements, service providers will ensure all forms required by the ministry are properly completed, maintain proper client files/records for accountability purposes, and provide regional offices and local ODSP offices with reports and information, including closure reports with re-application conditions, as required/requested.

Service providers will participate in the Dispute Resolution Process, as required.
(See Directive 6.2 Internal Review and Regional Dispute Resolution)

Federal / Provincial LMAPD Agreement

ODSP employment supports is cost-shared (50/50) with the federal government under the Labour Market Agreement for Persons with Disabilities (LMAPD). This agreement provides cost-shared funding for provincial programs that assist people with disabilities prepare for, obtain and maintain employment.

Septembre 2016


Directive 1.1 - Introduction au soutien de l'emploi du POSPH

Sommaire de la Directive

La présente directive constitue une introduction au volet « Soutien de l'emploi » du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH). Elle porte notamment sur le rôle du personnel du POSPH, des fournisseurs de services et de la clientèle.

But général de la politique

La présente directive a pour objet de fournir une description détaillée du soutien de l'emploi dans le cadre du POSPH, notamment le mandat et les principes d'orientation qui font partie du soutien de l'emploi du POSPH.

Application de la politique

Le soutien de l'emploi du POSPH est un programme qui met les personnes handicapées en contact avec des emplois soumis à la concurrence et durables en leur fournissant les mesures de soutien dont elles ont besoin pour trouver un emploi, conserver un emploi ou, le cas échéant, pour progresser dans leur emploi.

Mandat

Le soutien de l'emploi du POSPH aide les personnes handicapées à accroître leur autonomie financière grâce à des emplois soumis à la concurrence et durables. Le programme aide aussi les employeurs à combler leurs besoins en personnel et leur offre des mesures de soutien qui leur permettent d'embaucher et de retenir des employés handicapés.

Principes

Les principes suivants du programme ont orienté l'élaboration du soutien de l'emploi du POSPH. Le personnel du Ministère et les fournisseurs de services s’assureront que tous les aspects du programme correspondent aux principes généraux suivants :

Orientation sur le marché du travail

  • Les fournisseurs de services poursuivent des activités de marketing et de liaison auprès des employeurs locaux afin de créer des possibilités d'emploi et de placement.
  • On informe les clients des possibilités d'emploi et on leur fournit les mécanismes de soutien dont ils ont besoin pour que soit comblé l'écart entre le chômage et l'emploi.
  • Les emplois doivent correspondre à la réalité actuelle du marché du travail et ils peuvent comprendre un emploi à temps partiel ou plein, du travail autonome, la participation à titre de membre à une entreprise commerciale ou un emploi contractuel qui permet à la personne de gagner l'équivalent du salaire minimum ou davantage.
  • Les fournisseurs de services sont rémunérés en fonction de leur capacité de mettre les personnes handicapées en contact avec des emplois durables sur le marché de l'emploi concurrentiel, de les aider à conserver leur emploi et, le cas échéant, à faire progresser leur emploi.

Accessibilité des services

  • L'accès au soutien de l'emploi est simple et rapide.
  • Les fournisseurs de services s'assurent que le soutien de l'emploi est exempt d'obstacles.

Responsabilité des clients

  • La participation au programme est volontaire.
  • Les clients sont responsables de l'atteinte de leurs objectifs d'emploi.
  • Les clients participent activement à la détermination de l'emploi qu'ils sont capables d'assumer et qui est offert sur le marché du travail et à la détermination du soutien dont ils ont besoin pour trouver et conserver un emploi.

Vue d'ensemble

Le volet « Soutien de l'emploi » du POSPH suit un modèle de « courtage » selon lequel le financement est fourni à des fournisseurs de services de tierce partie, à qui il incombe de placer les clients du soutien de l'emploi, de les maintenir en emploi et de les aider à accroître leur niveau de revenu grâce à leur avancement professionnel.

Le soutien de l'emploi est un service de placement et de maintien dans un emploi en vertu duquel le financement accordé aux fournisseurs de services est fondé sur l'atteinte de résultats en matière d'emploi. Le financement est directement lié aux résultats en matière d'emploi des clients du soutien de l'emploi.

Il incombe aux chargés de cas du POSPH de déterminer l'admissibilité des auteurs d'une demande, de fournir des séances initiales d'information et d'orientation aux auteurs d'une demande, d'aider les clients à accéder aux services dont ils ont besoin pour réaliser leurs objectifs d'emploi et de veiller à la qualité des services.

Le soutien de l'emploi du POSPH fournit du financement pour une gamme de mesures de soutien visant à éliminer les obstacles liés au handicap et menant vers un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Emploi soumis à la concurrence

Un emploi soumis à la concurrence se définit au sens large comme un emploi rémunéré dont on peut raisonnablement s'attendre à ce qu'il contribue au bien-être économique d'une personne. Il peut s'agir d'un emploi classique pour lequel il existe une relation employé/employeur typique et qui est rémunéré au salaire minimum ou à un salaire plus élevé. Il peut comprendre un emploi à temps plein, à temps partiel, contractuel ou saisonnier, ce qui permet de reconnaître la nature variée des handicaps des personnes et la manière dont leur handicap peut influer sur leur emploi.

Un emploi soumis à la concurrence peut aussi comprendre le travail autonome, la propriété d'une entreprise ou la participation à titre de membre à une entreprise commerciale, avec l'objectif de gagner au moins l'équivalent du salaire minimum.

Pour certains auteurs d'une demande, un emploi soumis à la concurrence pourrait ne pas être possible ni réalisable comme objectif immédiat. Par conséquent, des renseignements relatifs à d'autres sources de soutien et d'aide appropriés seront fournis aux auteurs d'une demande et aux clients dans la mesure où elles sont offertes dans les collectivités locales.

Biens et services admissibles

Le soutien de l'emploi du POSPH fournit du financement aux fournisseurs de services qui travaillent avec leurs clients afin de déterminer quelles mesures de soutien liées à l'emploi sont nécessaires afin d'éliminer les obstacles à un emploi soumis à la concurrence et d'aider les clients à atteindre leur objectif en matière d'emploi soumis à la concurrence. Le fournisseur de services et le client décideront ensemble quels biens et/ou services sont nécessaires au placement et au maintien dans un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Bureaux régionaux

Les bureaux régionaux concluent des ententes de financement avec un vaste réseau de fournisseurs de services qui aident les clients du soutien de l’emploi à accéder aux mécanismes de soutien dont ils ont besoin pour atteindre leur objectif d'obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Les bureaux régionaux surveillent la qualité et l'efficacité du soutien offert aux clients par les fournisseurs de services, ainsi que les résultats clés obtenus, y compris le nombre de placements et la durée du maintien des clients dans un emploi.

Le personnel des bureaux régionaux veillent à la gestion générale du système de services du programme ainsi qu’à la coordination des services. Leurs principales responsabilités comprennent les suivantes, mais sans s'y limiter :

  • veiller à ce que les personnes handicapées de la zone desservie aient accès au soutien de l'emploi du POSPH, sans égard à la nature ou à la gravité de leur handicap.
  • négocier avec les fournisseurs de services, passer des contrats avec eux et surveiller la qualité et l'efficacité des services fournis aux clients admissibles;
  • assurer le marketing et la promotion;
  • gérer le règlement de différends à l’échelle régionale;
  • faire la liaison avec les employeurs locaux et diriger le marketing du programme afin de faire connaître davantage le volet « Soutien de l’emploi » du POSPH et de promouvoir les perspectives d’emploi des personnes handicapées;
  • collaborer et établir des liens avec les autres systèmes de services apparentés, par exemple le programme Ontario au travail et le programme Emploi Ontario;
  • évaluer la satisfaction de la clientèle et apporter des améliorations à la prestation des services en fonction des conclusions tirées de leurs évaluations;
  • assurer la responsabilisation.

Personnel du POSPH

Les chargés de cas du POSPH ont la responsabilité de déterminer l’admissibilité des auteurs d’une demande au volet « Soutien de l’emploi » du POSPH et d’aiguiller ceux-ci vers un fournisseur de services. Il incombe aussi aux chargés de cas du POSPH de s’assurer que les personnes handicapées ont accès aux services de soutien dont elles ont besoin pour se préparer en vue d’un emploi, obtenir un emploi et le conserver.
Les principales responsabilités du personnel du POSPH comprennent les suivantes, mais sans s’y limiter :

  • agir à titre de ressources dans les domaines de la formation et de l'emploi pour la clientèle du soutien de l'emploi, les bénéficiaires du soutien du revenu du POSHP et la collectivité;
  • s'assurer que les renseignements sur les fournisseurs de services locaux dont dispose le bureau local du POSPH sont à jour, accessibles et conviviaux;
  • veiller à la conformité avec l'ensemble des lois, règlements et directives du programme;
  • déterminer l'admissibilité des auteurs d'une demande de soutien de l'emploi du POSPH;
  • aider la clientèle (au besoin) à choisir les fournisseurs de services;
  • coordonner les services à l'intention des auteurs d'une demande et des clients admissibles avec un degré élevé de professionnalisme, de qualité et de fiabilité;
  • reconnaître que tous les clients sont des particuliers se trouvant dans une situation unique, qu'ils font face à des obstacles uniques lorsqu'ils se préparent en vue d'un emploi, qu'ils obtiennent et conservent un emploi, et qu'il convient de leur fournir des services conformes à cette situation particulière;
  • promouvoir l'autonomie et le service rapide pour les clients qui n'ont besoin que d'une aide minimale;
  • veiller à ce que des Ententes de participation financière au soutien de l'emploi aient été faites et à ce que les clients connaissent leurs obligations dans le cadre de leur participation au soutien de l’emploi;
  • aider les auteurs d'une demande et les clients à comprendre leurs droits et responsabilités en ce qui a trait à l'accès à l'emploi et au maintien dans un emploi sous le volet « Soutien du revenu »du POSPH (p. ex. déclaration du revenu, incidence de la rémunération sur le soutien du revenu du POSPH reçu par le bénéficiaire);
  • aider au besoin les clients concernant des questions ou des problèmes avec le fournisseur de services ou l'employeur;
  • orienter tous les auteurs d'une demande qui ne sont pas admissibles et les clients qui sont incapables de se préparer en vue d'un emploi vers les autres mesures de soutien et services dont ils pourraient avoir besoin, selon le cas;
  • traiter les examens internes de même que le processus de règlement des différends à l’échelle régionale;
  • assurer une liaison avec les fournisseurs de services au besoin.

Auteurs d'une demande et clients

Les auteurs d'une demande ont la responsabilité de fournir toute la documentation requise pour démontrer leur admissibilité initiale et continue.

Les auteurs d'une demande doivent avoir l'intention de se préparer en vue d'un emploi, d'obtenir et de conserver un emploi soumis à la concurrence, et ils doivent être capables de le faire. Si le client est admissible à des services semblables offerts par d'autres sources du gouvernement ou du secteur privé, les fournisseurs de services peuvent l'aider à y accéder également, pourvu que les services financés ne se chevauchent pas.

Les clients ont la responsabilité de jouer un rôle actif dans l'établissement de leur objectif d'obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Les clients ont la responsabilité de franchir les étapes nécessaires pour atteindre leur objectif d'obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence, comme leur plan de recherche d'un emploi l'a établi.

Fournisseurs de services

Les fournisseurs de services ont la responsabilité de veiller à ce que des biens et services de qualité soient fournis aux clients du soutien de l'emploi. Les fournisseurs de services ont également la responsabilité d'atteindre les objectifs en matière de placement et de maintien dans un emploi qui sont établis dans l'entente de financement négociée avec les bureaux régionaux.

Les fournisseurs de services doivent élaborer des plans de recherche d'un emploi individuels avec les clients et mettre ces plans à la disposition du bureau local du POSPH, comme il pourra leur être demandé. Ces plans indiqueront l'objectif des clients d'obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence, ainsi que les obstacles à l'emploi et les mesures de soutien et services clés qui seront fournis pour placer et maintenir les clients en emploi.

Les fournisseurs de services travailleront en collaboration et formeront des partenariats avec d'autres fournisseurs de services ou les responsables de programmes d'emploi dans la collectivité, de manière à maximiser l'accès à une gamme complète de services d'emploi dont les clients ont besoin pour obtenir et conserver un emploi.

Les fournisseurs de services aideront les auteurs d’une demande et les clients à comprendre leurs droits et leurs responsabilités en ce qui a trait à l’accès à l’emploi et au maintien dans un emploi, y compris les lois telles que la Loi sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées, le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario, la Loi sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail et la Loi sur les normes d'emploi, et les informeront au besoin de ces droits et responsabilités.

Dans le cadre de leurs exigences en matière de production de rapports, les fournisseurs de services doivent s'assurer que tous les formulaires exigés par le Ministère sont dûment remplis, tenir de façon appropriée les dossiers des clients, et fournir aux bureaux régionaux et aux bureaux locaux du POSPH des rapports et des renseignements, y compris les rapports de fermeture avec les conditions de présentation d'une nouvelle demande, comme il sera exigé ou demandé.

Les fournisseurs de services participeront au processus de résolution des différends, comme il sera exigé.

(Voir la Directive 6.2 – Révision interne et processus régional de règlement des différends)

Entente Canada-Ontario sur le marché du travail visant les personnes handicapées

Le soutien de l'emploi du POSPH est financé à coûts partagés (50/50) avec le gouvernement fédéral en vertu de l'Entente Canada-Ontario sur le marché du travail visant les personnes handicapées. Cette entente prévoit le financement à coûts partagés pour les programmes provinciaux qui aident les personnes handicapées à se préparer en vue d'un emploi, à obtenir et à conserver un emploi.