September 2016

Directive 2.1 Program Eligibility

To describe who is eligible for ODSP employment supports and to outline the eligibility determination process.

Legislative Authority

Sections 32 (2) and 33 of the ODSP Act
Section 2 of the Regulation
Section 3 of the Regulation

Intent of Policy

To ensure that applicants meet eligibility criteria for ODSP employment supports.

Application of Policy

Basic Program Eligibility

A person may be eligible for employment supports if he/she has a disability/ impairment that is continuous or recurrent and expected to last one year or more and the disability/impairment results in a substantial barrier to competitive employment.

The determination of whether a person's disability presents a substantial barrier to competitive employment is made by considering its impact on the applicant’s ability to prepare for, obtain and maintain employment.

Eligibility criteria for ODSP employment supports are different than the eligibility criteria for ODSP income support. A person does not have to be in receipt of ODSP income support to be eligible for ODSP employment supports.

 An applicant for ODSP employment supports must provide documentation that he/she:

  • has a physical or mental disability/impairment that is continuous or recurrent and expected to last one year or more, and that the disability/impairment results in substantial barriers to employment that is verified by a prescribed professional (excluding people with disabilities receiving ODSP income support);
  • is 16 years of age or more;
  • is a resident of Ontario (not including tourists, visitors or temporary residents); and
  • is legally entitled to work in Canada.

If an applicant is in receipt of ODSP income support, ODSP staff only need to verify that the above-noted information is available in the applicant's ODSP income support file to satisfy basic program eligibility. This will reduce the amount of paperwork required by the applicant.

Valid proof of an applicant's legal entitlement to work in Canada can include any one of the following documents:

  • Social Insurance Number (SIN) card - generally, SINs constitute proof of a person's legal entitlement to work in Canada, except for numbers that begin with 9. SINs that begin with 9 must be accompanied by a valid work permit;
  • Work Permit - applicants who hold work permits may be eligible for employment supports for the length of time the permit is valid. Since work permits may be extended or cancelled at the discretion of Citizenship and Immigration Canada, these files should be monitored on an on-going basis;
  • Record of Landing document (Form IMM1000) or a Permanent Resident Card;
  • Canadian Birth Certificate; or
  • Canadian Passport.

Verification of Impairment / Disability

The Verification of Disability/Impairment Form must be completed by one of the following prescribed persons:

  • An audiologist or a speech language pathologist who is a member of the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario;
  • A member of the College of Chiropractors Of Ontario;
  • A registered nurse who is a member of the College of Nurses of Ontario;
  • A member of the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario;
  • A member of the College of Optometrists of Ontario;
  • A member of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario;
  • A member of the College of Physiotherapists of Ontario;
  • A member of the College of Psychologists of Ontario (includes Psychological Associates).

The following applicants are not required to complete a Verification of Disability/Impairment Form:

  • Applicants already in receipt of ODSP income support as a person with a disability;
  • Applicants who have a previously completed a Verification of Disability/ Impairment Form if:
    • the previous form was completed by any of the prescribed persons noted above; and
    • in the opinion of ODSP staff, the impairment still exists;
  • Applicants registered as legally blind with the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB);
  • Former or current students of a school for students with disabilities; and  
  • Applicants with other documentation completed by a health-care professional that confirms the disability.

Applicants who are not required to complete a Verification of Disability/ Impairment Form must provide verification, such as a CNIB identification card, school report, letter of reference, professional assessment report, or consent to the release of such documentation.

It is expected that the majority of applicants will already have documentation that verifies their disability, and therefore, few applicants will be required to have the Verification of Disability/ Impairment Form completed.

ODSP employment supports does not cover the cost of having a health care professional complete the Verification of Disability/ Impairment Form.

Competitive Employment

As a condition of program eligibility, applicants must demonstrate readiness to prepare for, obtain and maintain competitive employment.

Service providers will work with clients to identify a competitive employment goal, disability-related employment barriers, and an action plan identifying the supports required to achieve the competitive employment goal.

Opportunities Fund for Persons with Disabilities:

Service Canada’s Opportunities Fund for Persons with Disabilities (OF) helps people with disabilities prepare for, obtain and maintain employment or self-employment. ODSP employment supports applicants who are receiving funding from the Opportunities Fund are not categorically ineligible for employment supports. However, to maximize the funds available under ODSP employment supports, and to eliminate duplication of services, applicants should access services through the Opportunities Fund, where appropriate, and ensure there is no duplication of services if applicants are receiving employment supports from both programs.

Ontario Works

A person in receipt of Ontario Works financial assistance is not eligible for ODSP employment supports. However, ODSP income support recipients voluntarily participating in OW employment assistance may also be able to receive ODSP employment supports. Service providers will need to ensure that there is no duplication of services.

Imprisonment

Individuals incarcerated in a lawful place of confinement are noteligible for employment supports as they are deemed to not be "able to prepare for, accept or maintain competitive employment." A "lawful place of confinement" includes a federal penitentiary, a provincial correctional facility, an open custody facility, a secure custody facility and a municipal lock up.

For applicants who are on temporary absence, parole or probation, or serving a conditional sentence and residing in a community residence funded by the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services or Correctional Service Canada, the employment services and supports available through the correctional system (if any) should be accessed first to avoid any duplication of funding.

Students

Students with disabilities who wish to work part-time while attending school may be eligible for ODSP employment supports.

Students with disabilities applying for ODSP employment supports must satisfy all eligibility criteria, including the requirement that they seek competitive employment.

Students are treated in the same manner as all other ODSP employment supports applicants/clients. However service providers are encouraged to develop a streamlined employability determination for students seeking part-time employment, including a simplified employment plan.

It is recognized that some students may not be at a point in their employment readiness to be able to identify a specific employment goal. However, they must demonstrate they are prepared to pursue competitive employment to be eligible.

Students with disabilities who are requesting help with summer employment should be redirected to the summer jobs programs offered through other employment programs, such as Employment Ontario’s employment services for youth.

However, students who began participation in ODSP employment supports for part-time employment during the school year are not required to be redirected to these other programs.

Employed Applicants and Applicants with Job Offers

ODSP employment supports may be provided to employed applicants who are in a "job crisis" and who require employment supports to maintain their current employment. Applicants who have firm job offers but require employment supports to accept the job and start work may also be eligible.

Refer to Directive 4.2 - Job Retention and Advancement for more information.

Re-applications

Applicants who were previously in receipt of ODSP employment supports, and who voluntarily withdrew or had their supports cancelled may be eligible for employment supports.

Re-applicants are not required to complete a new application form and verification of disability/impairment unless there has been a relevant change in the person's medical condition, disability or employment barriers, source of income, or eligibility for other program funding.

Re-applicants are required to sign a new Welcome to ODSP Employment Supports form and should participate in the Employment Information Session, unless, in the opinion of ODSP staff, it is not necessary.

All re-applicants to employment supports will be required to demonstrate how their circumstances have changed and how they will be better able to succeed in achieving their competitive employment goal prior to being deemed eligible.

ODSP staff may also establish conditions for re-application. For example, conditions may include a requirement that the applicant complete anger management training, find stable housing, participate in a volunteer activity to demonstrate motivation, or submit a doctor's note stating the applicant has completed a specific treatment. In addition, ODSP staff may establish a waiting period before the applicant can re-apply.

If the applicant's previous job placement ended less than 33 months prior to the re-application (15 months for non-ODSP income support recipients), there is an expectation that the original service provider will continue to provide job retention supports to the client. However, in some circumstances, the relationship between the client and the service provider may no longer be appropriate and ODSP staff must decide if it is in the best interest of both parties if the client selects another service provider.

The above considerations also apply to re-applicants who were self-employed. These re-applicants are required to demonstrate how both their business and personal circumstances have changed to allow them to achieve their new self-employment goal.

Ongoing Eligibility

Eligibility is not a static condition established at the time of application. It is ongoing. A client's impairment/disability may change, competitive employment goals may require adjustment, and disability-related employment barriers may no longer exist.

Clients are required to inform ODSP staff and their service provider of any changes in circumstances that may affect their continuing eligibility for employment supports.

Related Directives

3.1 Client Pathway
4.2 Job Retention and Advancement

Septembre 2016

Directive 2.1 – Admissibilité au programme

La présente directive a pour objet d’indiquer qui sont les personnes admissibles au soutien de l’emploi du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) et de décrire le processus de détermination.

Compétence législative

Paragraphe 32(2) et article 33 de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées
Article 2 du Règlement
Article 3 du Règlement

But général de la politique

S’assurer que les auteurs d’une demande satisfont aux critères d’admissibilité au soutien de l’emploi du POSPH.

Application de la politique

Admissibilité au programme de base

Le soutien de l’emploi peut être fourni à une personne si elle a une déficience continue ou récurrente, dont la durée prévue est d’au moins un an et qui constitue un obstacle important à l’obtention d’un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

La décision de considérer le handicap d’une personne comme un obstacle important à l’obtention d’un emploi soumis à la concurrence doit être prise en tenant compte des répercussions de ce handicap sur la capacité de l’auteur de la demande à se préparer en vue d’un emploi, à obtenir un emploi et à le conserver.

Les critères d’admissibilité au soutien de l’emploi du POSPH diffèrent de ceux du soutien du revenu du POSPH. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’être bénéficiaire du soutien du revenu du POSPH pour être admissible au soutien de l’emploi du POSPH.

 La personne qui présente une demande de soutien de l’emploi du POSPH doit fournir des documents afin d’établir ce qui suit :

  • elle a une déficience ou un handicap continu ou récurrent d’ordre physique ou mental dont la durée est d’au moins un an, et cette déficience ou ce handicap constitue un obstacle important à l’obtention d’un emploi et a été vérifié par un professionnel agréé (à l’exclusion des personnes handicapées qui reçoivent le soutien du revenu du POSPH);
  • elle a 16 ans ou plus;
  • elle réside en Ontario (n’inclut pas les touristes, les visiteurs et les résidents temporaires);
  • elle est légalement autorisée à travailler au Canada.

Si l’auteur d’une demande est bénéficiaire du soutien du revenu du POSPH, il suffit que le personnel affecté au POSPH vérifie si les renseignements susmentionnés se trouvent dans le dossier du soutien du revenu du POSPH afin d’établir l’admissibilité au programme de base. Cela réduit la quantité des formalités administratives auxquelles doit se soumettre l’auteur de la demande.

La preuve légale que l’auteur d’une demande est légalement autorisé à travailler au Canada peut comprendre l’un des documents suivants :

  • Carte d’assurance sociale – en règle générale, le numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS) constitue la preuve qu’une personne est légalement autorisée à travailler au Canada, sauf s’il commence par un 9. Dans ce dernier cas, il doit être accompagné d’un permis de travail valide;
  • Permis de travail – l’auteur d’une demande qui possède un permis de travail peut être admissible au soutien de l’emploi pendant la période de validité de son permis. Puisqu’un permis de travail peut être prolongé ou annulé à la discrétion de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, ces dossiers devraient faire l’objet d’un suivi continu.
  • Fiche d’établissement (formule IMM1000) ou carte de résident permanent;
  • Certificat de naissance canadien;
  • Passeport canadien.

Confirmation du handicap ou de la déficience

La formule Confirmation du handicap/de la déficience doit être remplie par l’une ou l’autre des personnes suivantes, qui ont les qualités prescrites :

  • Un audiologiste ou un orthophoniste membre de l’Ordre des audiologistes et des orthophonistes de l’Ontario;
  • Un membre de l’Ordre des chiropraticiens de l’Ontario;
  • Une infirmière ou un infirmier autorisé membre de l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers de l’Ontario;
  • Un membre de l’Ordre des ergothérapeutes de l’Ontario;
  • Un membre de l’Ordre des optométristes de l’Ontario;
  • Un membre de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario;
  • Un membre de l’Ordre des physiothérapeutes de l’Ontario;
  • Un membre de l’Ordre des psychologues de l’Ontario (y compris les associés en psychologie).

Les auteurs d’une demande suivants ne sont pas tenus de fournir une formule Confirmation du handicap/de la déficience :

  • Les auteurs d’une demande qui bénéficient déjà du soutien du revenu du POSPH à titre de personne handicapée;
  • Les auteurs d’une demande qui ont déjà fourni une formule Confirmation du handicap/de la déficience :
    • si la formule précédente a été remplie par une des personnes ayant les qualités prescrites qui sont énumérées ci-dessus; et
    • si, de l’avis du personnel du POSPH, la déficience subsiste;
  • Les auteurs d’une demande qui sont inscrits à titre de personne aveugle au sens de la loi auprès de l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles (INCA);
  • Les étudiants, anciens ou actuels, d’une école pour handicapés; 
  • Les auteurs d’une demande pour qui un professionnel de la santé a rempli d’autres documents confirmant leur déficience.

Les auteurs d’une demande qui n’ont pas besoin de remplir une formule de Confirmation du handicap/de la déficience doivent fournir un document justificatif, comme une carte d’identité de l’INCA, un bulletin scolaire, une lettre de recommandation, un rapport d’évaluation professionnelle ou une autorisation de divulgation de tels documents.

Il est attendu que la grande majorité des auteurs d’une demande auront déjà fourni une confirmation de leur déficience, et que très peu d’entre eux seront obligés de remplir une formule de Confirmation du handicap/de la déficience.
Le soutien de l’emploi du POSPH ne couvre pas les frais que pourrait exiger un professionnel de la santé pour remplir une formule de Confirmation du handicap/de la déficience.

Emploi soumis à la concurrence

Pour être admissibles au programme, les auteurs d’une demande doivent démontrer qu’ils sont prêts à se préparer à un emploi soumis à la concurrence, à obtenir un tel emploi et à le conserver.

Les fournisseurs de services travaillent de concert avec les clients afin de déterminer leur objectif d’obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence, de repérer les obstacles à l’emploi liés à leur déficience et d’élaborer un plan d’action qui définit les mesures de soutien requises pour atteindre l’objectif d’obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées :

Le Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées de Service Canada aide les personnes handicapées à se préparer en vue d’un emploi, à l’obtenir et à le conserver, ou à travailler à leur compte. Les auteurs d’une demande de soutien de l’emploi du POSPH qui reçoivent le Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées ne sont pas inadmissibles au soutien de l’emploi en raison de la catégorie à laquelle ils appartiennent. Toutefois, pour maximiser les fonds disponibles dans le cadre du soutien de l’emploi du POSPH et pour éliminer le chevauchement des services, les auteurs d’une demande doivent, quand les circonstances s’y prêtent, accéder aux services par l’entremise du Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées, en plus de veiller à ce qu’il n’y ait pas de chevauchement des services s’ils reçoivent du soutien de l’emploi des deux programmes.

Ontario au travail

Une personne recevant l’aide financière d’Ontario au travail n’est pas admissible au soutien de l’emploi du POSPH. Cependant, les bénéficiaires du soutien du revenu du POSPH qui participent volontairement au soutien de l’emploi d’Ontario au travail peuvent également bénéficier du soutien de l’emploi du POSPH. Les fournisseurs de services devront s’assurer qu’il n’y a pas de chevauchement des services.

Incarcération

Les personnes incarcérées dans un lieu légitime de détention ne sont pasadmissibles au soutien de l’emploi, puisqu’elles sont considérées comme « incapables de se préparer en vue d’un emploi soumis à la concurrence, de l’accepter ou de le conserver ». Un « lieu légitime de détention » s’entend notamment d’un pénitencier fédéral, d’un établissement correctionnel provincial, d’un établissement de garde en milieu ouvert, d’un établissement de garde en milieu fermé et d’une prison municipale.

Dans le cas des auteurs d’une demande qui sont en permission de sortir, en libération conditionnelle ou en probation, ou qui font l’objet d’une ordonnance de sursis et qui habitent un foyer communautaire financé par le ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels ou le Service correctionnel du Canada, les services et le soutien d’emploi offerts par le système correctionnel (le cas échéant) doivent être utilisés en premier, de manière à éviter le chevauchement dans le financement.

Étudiants

Les étudiants handicapés qui veulent travailler à temps partiel pendant leur année d’études peuvent être admissibles au soutien de l’emploi du POSPH.

Les étudiants handicapés qui présentent une demande de soutien de l’emploi du POSPH doivent satisfaire à tous les critères d’admissibilité, y compris l’obligation de chercher un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Les étudiants sont traités de la même manière que tous les autres auteurs d’une demande et clients du soutien de l’emploi du POSPH. Néanmoins, les fournisseurs de services sont invités à concevoir une détermination d’employabilité rationalisée qui comprend un plan d’emploi simplifié pour les étudiants à la recherche d’un emploi à temps partiel.

Il est reconnu que certains étudiants peuvent ne pas être à un point dans leur état de préparation à l’emploi qui leur permette de préciser un objectif d’emploi précis. Toutefois, ils doivent démontrer qu’ils sont prêts à obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence pour être admissibles.

Les étudiants handicapés qui demandent de l’aide pour obtenir un emploi d’étédevraient être orientés vers des programmes d’emplois d’été offerts par l’entremise d’autres programmes d’emploi, comme ceux que proposent les services d’emploi pour les jeunes d’Emploi Ontario.

Par contre, il n’est pas nécessaire d’orienter vers ces autres programmes les étudiants qui bénéficient du soutien de l’emploi du POSPH afin d’obtenir un emploi à temps partiel pendant l’année scolaire.

Auteurs d’une demande ayant un emploi ou une offre d’emploi

Le soutien d’emploi du POSPH peut être fourni aux auteurs d’une demande ayant un emploi qui traversent une « crise d’emploi » et qui ont besoin de soutien de l’emploi pour conserver leur emploi actuel. Les auteurs d’une demande qui ont une offre d’emploi sérieuse mais qui ont besoin de soutien de l’emploi pour pouvoir accepter l’emploi et commencer à travailler peuvent également être admissibles.

Se reporter à la 4.2 – Maintien de l’emploi et avancement professionnel pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires.

Nouvelles demandes

Les auteurs d’une demande qui ont précédemment présenté une demande et bénéficié du soutien de l’emploi du POSPH mais qui ont volontairement cessé d’en bénéficier ou dont le soutien de l’emploi a été annulé peuvent être admissibles à du soutien de l’emploi.

Les auteurs d’une nouvelle demande n’ont pas besoin de remplir une nouvelle formule de demande et de confirmation du handicap/de la déficience à moins qu’il y ait eu un changement pertinent à leur état de santé, à leur handicap, aux obstacles à l’emploi qui les freinent, à leur source de revenus ou à leur admissibilité à d’autres programmes de financement.

Les auteurs d’une nouvelle demande doivent signer une entente de participation financière au soutien de l’emploi et devraient participer à une séance d’information sur l’emploi, sauf si le personnel du POSPH estime que cela n’est pas nécessaire.

Avant d’être jugées admissibles, toutes les personnes qui présentent une nouvelle demande doivent démontrer de quelle manière leur situation a changé et comment elles pourront mieux réussir à atteindre leur objectif d’obtenir un emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Le personnel du POSPH peut également fixer des conditions relatives au dépôt de nouvelles demandes. Par exemple, il peut exiger que la personne suive une formation sur la maîtrise de la colère, trouve un logement stable, participe à une activité bénévole afin de démontrer sa motivation ou présente une note du médecin indiquant qu’elle a reçu un traitement précis. En outre, le personnel du POSPH peut imposer une période d’attente avant que la personne puisse présenter une nouvelle demande.

Si le placement précédent dans un emploi s’est terminé moins de 33 mois avant la nouvelle demande (15 mois dans le cas des bénéficiaires du soutien de l’emploi qui ne sont pas bénéficiaires du soutien du revenu du POSPH), on s’attend à ce que le fournisseur de services d’origine continue à offrir au client des mesures de soutien visant le maintien dans l’emploi. Cependant, dans certaines circonstances, la relation entre le client et le fournisseur de services n’est plus appropriée, et le personnel du POSPH doit décider s’il est dans l’intérêt des deux parties que le client choisisse un autre fournisseur de services.

Les considérations ci-dessus s’appliquent aussi aux personnes qui présentent une nouvelle demande et qui avaient un travail autonome. Ces auteurs d’une nouvelle demande doivent démontrer de quelle manière leur entreprise et leur situation personnelle ont changé, ce qui leur permettra d’atteindre leur nouvel objectif lié à un travail autonome.

Admissibilité continue

L’admissibilité n’est pas une condition qui doit exister uniquement au moment de la demande. Elle doit être continue. Le handicap ou la déficience d’un client peut changer, ce qui peut entraîner la révision des objectifs d’emploi, et les obstacles à l’emploi liés à la déficience peuvent avoir été éliminés.

Les clients doivent informer le personnel du POSPH et leur fournisseur de services de tout changement dans leur situation qui pourrait influer sur leur admissibilité continue au soutien de l’emploi.

Directives connexes

3.1 – Processus d’accès
4.2 – Maintien de l’emploi et avancement professionnel