September 2016

4.1 - Job Development and Placement

Summary of Directive

To describe the job development and placement services and supports that clients can access to connect them to sustainable jobs in the competitive labour market.

To identify requirements for ODSP employment supports job placement funding.

Legislative Authority

Sections 32 (1) of the ODSP Act 1997
Section 4 of the Regulation

Intent of Policy

To make a range of goods and services available and accessible to help clients reduce or eliminate disability-related barriers to employment and assist clients in reaching their competitive employment goal.

Application of Policy

This directive contains an overview of goods and services that eligible clients may access through ODSP employment supports in order to help them get a job. Service providers and clients will use this information as they work together to develop a plan to achieve the client's competitive employment goal.

Clients may access other available funding and training/employment programs in conjunction with ODSP employment supports, provided that it is not a duplication of services.

Service providers should be aware of all other programs and sources of funding available in their community and assist clients to access these supports, as appropriate.

Service providers and employers must work together to ensure that appropriate accommodations are provided in compliance with the Ontario Human Rights Code.

The service provider will assist the client to secure competitive, sustainable employment that is appropriate to the client's abilities and skills, taking into account the existing opportunities in the local labour market.

Job development and placement services help individuals connect with the labour market early in their path to employment through activities such as job trials, volunteer placements, work experiences, on-the-job training and direct employment placements. These services can also be an effective pathway into apprenticeships and other skilled trades.

In addition to overall employer outreach, service providers may also focus their outreach, communications and marketing to local employers who can provide apprenticeship opportunities for people with disabilities.

Job Placement Approaches

There are several approaches to job placement including:

  • Traditional client-centered approach. An assessment is completed on the client's strengths (e.g. aptitudes, interests, skills, training and experience) and barriers to employment followed by activities to find jobs/resources that match their profile.
  • Job development "marketing" model. The service provider finds potential jobs through postings and employer contacts and identifies clients who have the basic skills needed for the job (though not necessarily all skill requirements). Negotiations may take place with the employer to "carve out" a modified position in order to accommodate the client's needs.
  • Broad-based communication strategy. This includes media advertising to promote the positive aspects of hiring people with disabilities and may also involve collaborative approaches/partnerships, testimonials and best practices by employers, peer mentors and various employer supports (e.g. Internet-based recruitment and placement service).
  • Employment consortiums that bring together consumers, employers, disability organizations, employment placement service providers and government agencies/funders to create employment opportunities.

Service providers will determine which of these approaches or combination of approaches work best in their community, taking into account the type of clients served, local labour market conditions and individual client needs.

Job Development

Individuals who have significant employment barriers may need job development and placement support to help bridge the gap between their current situation, labour market and employer's expectations.

Service providers may employ job developers who have a specialized expertise to recognize and effectively work with employers to help meet their needs when hiring and employing people with disabilities. They not only focus on the client’s skills to do the job but they consider other assets such as the client's personality, motivation, availability, and ability to fit in with other employees in the workplace.

Job developers must also be competent in job analysis, worksite modification and job accommodation including the application of appropriate technology. Job developers must have skills to enable them to work effectively with employers, co-workers and clients; develop or modify a workplace to accommodate the client's needs; identify tools needed by the client to do the job and support a person at work without being intrusive.

By building trusting relationships with employers, job developers help the client access opportunities they would not have been able to secure on their own.

Eligible Job Placement Goods and Services

Service providers will offer appropriate services and supports in response to the client's and/or the employer’s needs. Service providers may offer these job development and placement services themselves or coordinate these services with other providers in the community. They may also purchase specialized supports through other suppliers.

The types of goods and services that may be provided under job placement funding include:

  • job development with employers in the community;
  • finding and/or developing workplace training (job trials, work experience, on-the-job training) and employment opportunities;
  • screening and marketing clients for job opportunities;
  • job preparation activities (e.g. work hardening, orientation to the workplace rights and responsibilities, job skills training, etc.);
  • assisting participants to conduct job searches in the area of occupational interests (e.g. preparing resumes, covering letters, employment applications, licenses, etc.);
  • arranging any necessary job training and/or employment placement supports (e.g. transportation to work, work supplies, clothing, telephone expenses, certification charges, etc.);
  • putting in place the tools and supports required by the client to overcome obstacles in doing the job (e.g. special equipment, job coaches, etc.);
  • providing supportive follow-up to the employer and the client; and
  • negotiating with the employer the provision of employee accommodations.

Workplace Training

Job Trials and Work Experience Opportunities

Job trials and work experience opportunities with employers can be a critical step in helping a client prepare for employment, build basic work skills in an actual job setting and secure a job. They are an effective and efficient way to get reliable labour market feedback, overcome employer perception barriers and gain access to employment. In many cases, job trials and work experience opportunities may lead to employment.

Job trials may be used to:

  • test out abilities and interests for specific types of jobs;
  • provide clients and job developers with valuable feedback on which to build an employment action plan and determine the need for further services;
  • provide employer feedback based on performance in an actual work setting;
  • give the employer an opportunity to "try out" or assess the employee; and
  • identify the need for workplace training or on-the-job supports.

Work experience and job trials should provide adequate supervision and training. There should be a written agreement signed by the employer, client and service provider outlining the goals, terms and conditions for the placement, as well as a process for monitoring and evaluation.

Service providers may consider paying a fee to the employer to compensate for lost revenue or time, if significant training or supervision is required.

On-the-job Training

ODSP employment supports funding can support a range of workplace training options for skill development purposes including on-the-job training arrangements and apprenticeships.

On-the-job training refers to a training situation where there is an "employer-employee relationship" and an expectation of continued employment following the end of the training period and occurs when the service provider, client and the employer determine that specific on-the-job training is needed to bridge the gap from unemployment to employment.

Throughout the placement, the job developer will support the employer's ability to meet his/her business needs and work to address the client's work and skill development needs.

On-the-job training is designed to encourage employers to retain the client after the placement by committing to specific work-related training and development that prepares the individual to perform the responsibilities of the job. This also helps to offset some of the employer's costs of training the new employee

Funding may be provided for either:

  • A training course or program that relates to the employee's job responsibilities or involves training in adaptive technology required to perform the job duties, or
  • A training wage subsidy to assist the employer to cover the costs of training or additional supervision required during the early stages of employment and time required to put in place any tools/supports needed by the employee to perform the job.

To ensure accountability of training dollars and improve employee retention, agreements should be signed by the employer, client and service provider outlining the training goals, and the terms and conditions of on-the-job training.

There should be a commitment from the employer to:

  • hire at entry level wage or better (comparable to other employees in similar positions);
  • develop a training plan for the employee;
  • share in employee training costs;
  • keep the client employed after the funding ends; and
  • participate in a progress review.

Service providers will negotiate the level of ongoing support they will provide the client and the employer. They should also be available to intervene in a job crisis. Situations may arise where a client experiences a non-employment related crisis in the workplace. In such cases, service providers should be prepared to direct employers to an outside agency for support.

The amount of job placement and retention funding provided to service providers under ODSP Employment Supports does not support offering on-the-job training subsidies for all eligible clients. Therefore, service providers should develop a rationale for subsidized training rather than direct job placement. Service providers will need to manage placement duration and training subsidies to ensure that contracted results are achieved within budget.

Timeframes and Duration

The time required for a successful job placement will vary based on the local labour market, the service provider's employer network, as well as the client's abilities and barriers.

Where job placement is not successful, the client may return to the employability assessment stage to identify more appropriate services and supports or to determine whether alternatives to competitive employment need to be explored.

Related Directives

4.2 Job Retention and Advancement
4.3 Exceptional Work-Related Disability Supports
5.1 Employment Supports Funding
6.4 Performance Measures and Information Reporting
6.5 Workplace Accident Insurance Coverage

Septembre 2016

4.1 – Développement de l’emploi et placement dans un emploi

Sommaire de la directive

Décrire les services et soutiens en matière de développement de l’emploi et de placement dans un emploi auxquels les clients peuvent avoir accès pour trouver un emploi durable dans un marché du travail compétitif.

Déterminer les exigences applicables au financement d’un placement dans un emploi aux termes du volet Soutien de l’emploi du POSPH.

Compétence législative

Paragraphe 32(1) de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées
Article 4 du Règlement

But général de la politique

Faire en sorte qu’une gamme de biens et de services soit offerte aux clients afin, d’une part, de réduire ou d’éliminer les obstacles liés à un handicap les empêchant d’obtenir un emploi et, d’autre part, d’aider les clients à atteindre leur but en matière d’emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Application de la politique

La présente directive donne un aperçu des biens et services auxquels les clients admissibles peuvent avoir accès dans le cadre du volet Soutien de l’emploi du POSPH pour obtenir un emploi. Les fournisseurs de services et les clients utilisent ces renseignements lors de l’élaboration conjointe d’un plan en vue de la réalisation du but en matière d’emploi soumis à la concurrence des clients.

Les clients peuvent avoir accès à d’autres sources de financement ainsi qu’à d’autres programmes de formation et d’emploi conjointement au volet Soutien de l’emploi du POSPH, à la condition que les services visés ne se chevauchent pas.

Les fournisseurs de services doivent être au fait des programmes et des sources de financement proposés dans leur collectivité et, au besoin, aider leurs clients à avoir accès à ces ressources.

Les fournisseurs de services et les employeurs doivent coopérer afin de s’assurer que les mesures d’adaptation appropriées soient mises en œuvre conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario.

Les fournisseurs de services aident les clients à trouver un emploi soumis à la concurrence et durable qui convient à leurs aptitudes et à leurs compétences, et qui tient compte des occasions se présentant sur le marché du travail local.

Les services de développement de l’emploi et de placement dans un emploi aident les personnes à établir des contacts avec le marché du travail dès le début du processus menant à un emploi grâce à diverses activités (emploi à l’essai, placement bénévole, expérience de travail, formation en cours d’emploi, placement direct dans un emploi, etc.). Ces services peuvent aussi constituer une filière efficace vers des programmes d’apprentissage et d’autres métiers spécialisés.

En plus de chercher à sensibiliser les employeurs en général, les fournisseurs de services peuvent axer leurs projets d’approche, de communication et de marketing sur les employeurs locaux pouvant offrir des possibilités d’apprentissage aux personnes handicapées.

Méthodes de placement dans un emploi

Il existe plusieurs méthodes de placement dans un emploi :

  • Méthode classique axée sur le client. Elle prévoit l’évaluation des atouts du client (p. ex. aptitudes, intérêts, compétences, formation et expérience) et des obstacles à l’emploi auxquels il fait face, suivie d’activités pour trouver un emploi ou des ressources correspondant au profil établi.
  • Modèle de développement de l’emploi axé sur la mise en valeur. Le fournisseur de services trouve des emplois potentiels par l’entremise d’annonces ou de contacts avec les employeurs, puis cible les clients qui possèdent les compétences de base (mais pas nécessairement toutes les compétences) requises pour exercer un emploi. Des négociations peuvent avoir lieu avec l’employeur pour créer un poste modifié tenant compte des besoins du client.
  • Stratégie de communication à grande échelle. Elle comprend la publicité dans les médias pour promouvoir les avantages associés à l’embauche de personnes handicapées, de même que des initiatives de collaboration ou des partenariats, des témoignages et des exemples de pratiques exemplaires d’employeurs, des collègues qui jouent le rôle de mentors, et divers soutiens offerts par les employeurs (p. ex. services de recrutement et de placement par Internet).
  • Consortiums d’emploi réunissant consommateurs, employeurs, organismes de personnes handicapées, fournisseurs de services de placement dans un emploi, et organismes et bailleurs de fonds gouvernementaux en vue de créer des possibilités d’emploi.

Les fournisseurs de services déterminent la méthode, ou la combinaison de méthodes, la plus adaptée à leur collectivité, compte tenu du type de clients visés, des conditions du marché du travail à l’échelon local et des besoins individuels des clients.

Développement de l’emploi

Les personnes confrontées à d’importants obstacles à l’emploi pourraient avoir besoin de soutien en matière de développement de l’emploi et de placement en vue de combler le fossé entre leur situation actuelle, le marché du travail et les attentes des employeurs.

Les fournisseurs de services peuvent faire appel à des prospecteurs d’emploi qui possèdent l’expertise nécessaire pour cerner les besoins des employeurs et travailler avec eux afin de s’assurer que leurs exigences sont satisfaites lors de l’embauche et de l’emploi de personnes handicapées. Ils mettent l’accent non seulement sur les compétences de leurs clients pour exercer un emploi donné, mais aussi sur leurs autres atouts comme leur personnalité, leur motivation, leur disponibilité et leur capacité d’adaptation à leurs collègues de travail.

Les prospecteurs d’emploi doivent également être en mesure d’effectuer des analyses d’emploi, d’apporter des modifications au lieu de travail et de veiller à la mise en place de mesures d’adaptation, notamment l’application de technologies appropriées. Ils doivent posséder des compétences qui leur permettent de faire ce qui suit : transiger efficacement avec les employeurs, les collègues de travail et leurs clients; concevoir ou modifier un lieu de travail en fonction des besoins de leurs clients; recenser les outils dont ont besoin leurs clients pour faire un travail donné, et leur offrir un soutien en milieu de travail sans être envahissants.

Grâce à l’établissement de relations de confiance avec les employeurs, les prospecteurs d’emploi aident leurs clients à avoir accès à des possibilités d’emploi auxquelles ceux-ci ne pourraient avoir accès seuls.

Biens et services admissibles – Placement dans un emploi

Les fournisseurs de services offrent un soutien et des services appropriés en fonction des besoins des clients et des employeurs. Les fournisseurs de services peuvent offrir eux-mêmes ces services de développement de l’emploi et de placement dans un emploi ou les coordonner avec d’autres fournisseurs de la collectivité. Ils peuvent aussi acheter des soutiens spécialisés par l’intermédiaire d’autres fournisseurs.

Voici des exemples de types de biens et de services qui peuvent être fournis dans le cadre de l’aide financière prévue au titre du placement dans un emploi :

  • Développement de l’emploi avec des employeurs de la collectivité;
  • Recherche ou création de possibilités de formation en milieu de travail (travail à l’essai, expérience professionnelle, formation en cours d’emploi, etc.) et de possibilités d’emploi;
  • Sélection préliminaire des clients en fonction des possibilités d’emploi et présentation des clients retenus aux employeurs;
  • Activités de préparation à l’emploi (conditionnement au travail, initiation aux droits et responsabilités en milieu de travail, formation professionnelle, etc.);
  • Aide aux participants pour la recherche d’emplois dans leur domaine d’intérêt professionnel (p. ex. préparation de curriculum vitae, de lettres de présentation, de demandes d’emploi, de licences, etc.);
  • Organisation du soutien nécessaire en matière de formation professionnelle ou de placement dans un emploi (transport au travail, fournitures professionnelles, vêtements de travail, dépenses de téléphone, droits d’agrément, etc.);
  • Fourniture des outils et du soutien dont ont besoin les clients pour surmonter les obstacles les empêchant de faire leur travail (équipement spécial, formateurs professionnels, etc.);
  • Offre d’un suivi de soutien aux employeurs et aux clients;
  • Négociations avec les employeurs relativement à la fourniture des mesures d’adaptation dont ont besoin les clients.

Formation en milieu de travail

Travail à l’essai et expériences professionnelles

Le travail à l’essai et les expériences professionnelles peuvent constituer une étape importante du processus visant à aider les clients à se préparer à travailler, à développer des compétences professionnelles de base dans un lieu de travail réel et à trouver un emploi. Il s’agit de façons efficaces d’obtenir une rétroaction fiable du monde du travail, de surmonter les obstacles liés à la perception des employeurs et d’aider une personne à trouver un emploi. Dans bien des cas, le travail à l’essai et les expériences professionnelles peuvent mener à l’obtention d’un emploi.

Le travail à l’essai peut servir aux fins suivantes :

  • Vérifier les capacités et l’intérêt d’une personne à l’égard d’un type d’emploi en particulier;
  • Fournir aux clients et aux prospecteurs d’emploi une rétroaction qui leur sera très utile pour élaborer un plan d’action en matière d’emploi et pour déterminer la nécessité d’autres services;
  • Fournir aux employeurs des renseignements sur le rendement des clients dans un lieu de travail réel;
  • Donner aux employeurs la possibilité de prendre à l’essai une personne ou de l’évaluer;
  • Relever le besoin de formation ou de soutien en milieu de travail.

Une supervision et une formation adéquates doivent être assurées dans le cadre du travail à l’essai et des expériences professionnelles. L’employeur, le client et le fournisseur de services doivent conclure une entente écrite qui définit les objectifs et les conditions du placement, de même que le processus utilisé pour superviser et évaluer l’employé.

Les fournisseurs de services peuvent envisager de verser un montant à l’employeur pour l’indemniser soit de la perte de revenus subie, soit du temps perdu si un nombre élevé d’heures doit être consacré à la formation et à la supervision de la personne.

Formation en cours d’emploi

Le volet Soutien de l’emploi du POSPH peut appuyer financièrement un éventail de possibilités de formation en cours d’emploi à des fins de perfectionnement professionnel, y compris des choix de formation en cours d’emploi et des programmes d’apprentissage.

La formation en cours d’emploi renvoie à une situation de formation qui se caractérise par des relations employeur-employé et dans le cadre de laquelle l’emploi est censé se poursuivre après la période de formation. Elle prévaut lorsque le fournisseur de services, le client et l’employeur déterminent qu’une formation en cours d’emploi particulière est requise pour combler le fossé qui sépare le chômage de la vie active.

Le placement permet au prospecteur d’emploi d’aider l’employeur à combler ses besoins opérationnels et d’aider le client à trouver un travail et à se perfectionner sur le plan professionnel.

La formation en cours d’emploi a pour but d’inciter l’employeur à retenir le client après qu’il a été placé. L’employeur doit s’engager à lui offrir des occasions de formation et de perfectionnement propres à son travail afin qu’il soit en mesure d’assumer les responsabilités se rattachant à son poste. De plus, la formation en cours d’emploi compense certains coûts que doit acquitter l’employeur pour former le nouvel employé.

Une aide financière peut être offerte à l’égard de ce qui suit :

  • Un cours ou un programme de formation qui a trait aux responsabilités professionnelles de l’employé ou qui se rapporte à la technologie adaptée nécessaire pour exercer les fonctions d’un poste donné;
  • Des subventions salariales au titre de la formation pour aider l’employeur à faire face aux dépenses de formation ou de surveillance supplémentaire nécessaires pendant les premières phases de l’emploi et l’indemniser du nombre d’heures qu’il doit consacrer à la fourniture des outils et des soutiens nécessaires pour permettre à l’employé de faire son travail.

Pour assurer la reddition de comptes quant aux fonds consacrés aux formations et pour favoriser le maintien de l’effectif, l’employeur, le client et le fournisseur de services doivent conclure des ententes précisant les buts et les conditions de la formation en cours d’emploi.

L’employeur doit aussi s’engager à faire ce qui suit :

  • Embaucher la personne dans un poste de premier échelon ou dans un poste supérieur (comparable à celui d’autres employés occupant des postes semblables);
  • Élaborer un plan de formation à l’égard de la personne;
  • Payer une part des dépenses de formation;
  • Garder le client à son emploi à la fin du financement;
  • Participer à un examen des progrès accomplis.

Les fournisseurs de services négocient le niveau de soutien continu qu’ils offrent aux clients et aux employeurs. Ils doivent aussi pouvoir intervenir en cas de crise professionnelle. Une crise peut surgir si les clients connaissent au lieu de travail des problèmes qui ne sont pas reliés à leur travail. Les fournisseurs de services doivent alors être prêts à orienter les employeurs vers un organisme extérieur qui pourra leur fournir le soutien nécessaire.

Le montant de l’aide financière accordée aux fournisseurs de services au titre du placement et du maintien dans un emploi dans le cadre du volet Soutien de l’emploi du POSPH ne peut pas couvrir l’offre de subventions de formation en cours d’emploi à tous les clients admissibles. En conséquence, les fournisseurs de services doivent préciser les raisons qui sous-tendent le recours à la formation subventionnée plutôt qu’à un placement direct dans un emploi. Ils doivent aussi gérer la durée des placements et les subventions de formation pour veiller à la réalisation des résultats prévus au contrat compte tenu des limites budgétaires.

Échéancier et durée

Le délai prévu pour assurer le succès d’un placement dans un emploi varie selon le marché du travail à l’échelon local, la nature des contacts du fournisseur de services avec les employeurs, les aptitudes du client et les obstacles qui le freinent.

Si le placement dans un emploi ne s’avère pas concluant, le client peut revenir à la phase d’évaluation de l’employabilité pour cerner des services ou des types de soutien qui lui conviennent davantage, ou pour déterminer s’il doit explorer des solutions de rechange à l’emploi soumis à la concurrence.

Directives connexes

4.2 – Maintien de l’emploi et avancement professionnel
4.3 – Soutiens exceptionnels liés au travail en raison d’un handicap 
5.1 – Financement du soutien de l’emploi
6.4 – Mesures du rendement et présentation des rapports
6.5 – Régime d’assurance contre les accidents de travail