July 2017

10.1 - Pay Direct

Summary of Policy

The Director may pay a portion of the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) income support to a third party to whom the money is owed or will be owed.

Legislative Authority

Sections 13 and 21(2)3 of the ODSP Act
Section 50 of the ODSP Regulation

Summary of Directive

Pay direct is recognized as a convenient way for individuals to manage their income support. Where a recipient has indicated that they would like to establish a pay direct arrangement, a portion of ODSP income support can be paid regularly to third parties, such as landlords and utility companies.

All recipient requests for the establishment of a pay direct arrangement should be approved accordingly.

Intent of Policy

To encourage to use of pay direct as a convenient service for ODSP recipients.

Application of Policy

Pay direct may be initiated at the request of a recipient, a member of the benefit unit, or by ODSP staff. Pay direct should be discussed with recipients and applicants as a convenient way to manage the payment of shelter costs.

All applicant or recipient requests to establish a pay direct arrangement for shelter costs should be approved unless there is a determination that a pay direct arrangement poses potential risk to the recipient, such as financial exploitation. This includes situations where the recipient has made a request due to reasons related to his/her disability.

All requests from landlords and Community Homelessness Prevention Initiative (CHPI) Administrators for the establishment of a pay direct arrangement should be promptly investigated by the Caseworker, and should include consultation with the recipient, especially if the individual is at risk for eviction.

In situations where a landlord verifies that actions are being taken to evict the recipient due to non-payment of rent, a pay direct arrangement should be established immediately to prevent housing destabilization while a longer term plan is developed in conjunction with the recipient.

Caseworkers are encouraged to inform individuals of the need for timely notification of changes that may impact pay direct arrangements (e.g. changes in accommodation or rental amount) in order to ensure that accurate payments continue to be made.

Criteria for Implementing Pay Direct

In cases where a landlord or CHPI administrator has requested a pay direct, the following factors should be considered after discussion with the recipient:

  • The recipient has frequently made late payments of rent or utilities to the current landlord or utility company;
  • Rental payments are currently in arrears; and/or
  • The recipient is at risk of being evicted or having the utilities shut off.

Rather than pay direct, a recipient may also request the use of a trustee. See Directive 10.2 Trustees.

All efforts should be made to obtain the recipient's co-operation and agreement before Pay direct is implemented. While pay direct may be necessary in the absence of the recipient's co-operation, this is not the preferred approach.

Pay direct may remain in effect until it is evident that the recipient is able to better manage his/her income support, and there is no longer a risk of the recipient being evicted from his/her place of residence or having his/her utilities shut off for non-payment.

In a situation where a recipient does not use the income support amount provided for shelter toward their accommodation, an overpayment is not established. Rather, pay direct or trusteeship may be options to investigate to ensure the recipient retains their lodgings.

Pay Direct Amount

Direct payments may be made to:

  • Public or private landlord;
  • Utility company; and/or
  • Trust account pending the resolution of a landlord and tenant dispute.

In a pay direct arrangement, the amount of rent to be paid is the actual rent attributable to the recipient and any members of the benefit unit. This does not include any rent charged to any person who is not a member of the benefit unit. If the amount of actual rent is higher than the shelter maximum, ODSP staff should meet with the recipient to discuss the high shelter costs and possible alternatives.

The pay direct amount must be specific to the current month (e.g. the rent amount deducted from the September cheque applies to the month of September). Under no circumstances is a pay direct amount to be applied to any arrears owing to the landlord or as an advance to the landlord. Only the payment for the current shelter cost may be made. Separate arrangements must be made by the recipient to pay any outstanding arrears to the landlord or a utility company.

The amount of the pay direct portion shall be the actual amount of the rent regardless if the amount is higher than the shelter maximum.

Where an ODSP recipient is a resident of the Local Housing Corporation (LHC), the LHC deduction should be the amount of the LHC rent charge.

When income support is less than the shelter cost (e.g. minimum cheque amount or income support reduced due to income or earnings) pay direct must be cancelled. The recipient must be advised that pay direct is being removed and that he/she must pay the shelter amount (rent or utilities) directly.

Situations of Landlord-Tenant Disputes

Where the recipient is involved in a landlord-tenant dispute, ODSP staff can direct a portion of the income support designated for rent to a trust account pending the resolution of the dispute. The Residential Tenancies Act provides mechanisms for dealing with landlord-tenant disputes.

Termination of Pay Direct

Where a caseworker has approved a recipient’s request to have a pay direct arrangement terminated, as a courtesy, the landlord/third party should be advised.

The resolution of any outstanding landlord-tenant disputes or any other issues related to a third party payment, including arrears, remains between the recipient and the landlord/third party.

Appeals

The decision to initiate pay direct is not appealable to the Social Benefits Tribunal. However, if the recipient disagrees with the decision and requests an internal review, the internal review should be completed.

Related Directives:

6.2 Shelter Calculation
10.2 Trustees
11.1 Recovery of Overpayments

Bulletins:

016-2002

Juillet 2017

10.1 -Versement direct

Résumé de la politique

La directrice ou le directeur peut verser une partie du soutien du revenu prévu dans le cadre du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) à un tiers à qui le montant est ou sera dû.

Autorisation législative

Article 13 et disposition 21 (2) 3 de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées
Paragraphe 50 du Règlement pris en application de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées

Résumé de la directive

La méthode des versements directs est pratique pour aider les particuliers à gérer leur soutien du revenu. Si un bénéficiaire a indiqué qu’il aimerait conclure une entente de versements directs, une partie du soutien du revenu du POSPH peut être versée directement à des tiers, comme un locateur ou une entreprise de services publics.
Les demandes d’entente de versements directs doivent être approuvées en conséquence.

But général de la politique

Encourager l’utilisation de versements directs pour méthode pratique pour aider les bénéficiaires du POSPH.

Application de la politique

Le versement direct peut être effectué à la demande de la personne bénéficiaire, d’un membre du groupe de prestataires ou du personnel du POSPH.

La méthode de versements directs doit être proposée aux bénéficiaires et requérants comme solution pratique pour gérer le paiement de leurs frais de logement.

Il faut approuver toutes les demandes de requérant ou de bénéficiaire visant à établir une entente de versements directs pour les frais de logement, sauf s’il est déterminé qu’une entente de versements directs poserait un risque important pour le bénéficiaire, notamment un risque d’exploitation financière. Cela inclut les situations où le bénéficiaire a fait la demande pour des raisons liées à son handicap.

Toutes les demandes de locateurs et d’administrateurs de l’Initiative de prévention de l'itinérance dans les collectivités (IPIC) visant l’établissement d’une entente de versements directs devraient être rapidement examinées par le chargé de cas. Ce dernier devrait s’entretenir avec le bénéficiaire, surtout si ce dernier risque l’expulsion.

Dans les cas où le locateur vérifie si des mesures d’expulsion du locataire sont prises pour cause de non-paiement du loyer, une entente de versements directs devrait être mise en place immédiatement afin d’éviter la déstabilisation du logement pendant la préparation d’un plan à long terme avec le bénéficiaire.

Critères de mise en œuvre du versement direct

Dans les cas où un locateur ou un administrateur de l’Initiative de prévention de l'itinérance dans les collectivités (IPIC) demande un versement direct, il convient de tenir compte des facteurs suivants, après avoir consulté le bénéficiaire :

  • la personne bénéficiaire a souvent versé en retard à son locateur actuel ou aux entreprises de services publics son loyer ou les paiements dus;
  • des paiements du loyer sont actuellement en souffrance;
  • la personne bénéficiaire risque qu’on l’expulse de son logement ou qu’on lui coupe les services publics.

Au lieu des versements directs, un bénéficiaire peut demander l’utilisation d’un fiduciaire. Voir la Directive 10.2 Fiduciaires.

Il faut s’efforcer d’obtenir la collaboration et le consentement de la personne bénéficiaire avant de mettre en œuvre le versement direct. Bien qu’il puisse être nécessaire d’avoir recours au versement direct si la personne bénéficiaire ne collabore pas, cela n’est pas recommandé.

Le versement direct peut rester en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’il soit évident que la personne bénéficiaire est capable de mieux gérer son soutien du revenu et qu’il n’y a plus de risque d’expulsion de la personne de son logement ou d’interruption des services publics pour défaut de paiement.

Si la personne bénéficiaire n’utilise pas le soutien du revenu accordé au titre du logement aux fins de son logement, un paiement excédentaire n’est pas établi. Il faut discuter avec cette personne de la possibilité de versements directs ou de la nomination d’une ou d’un fiduciaire pour l’aider à demeurer dans son logement.

Montant du versement

Un versement direct peut être fait à :

  • un locateur public ou privé;
  • une entreprise de services publics;
  • un compte en fiducie en attendant le règlement d’un différend entre un locateur et un locataire.

Lorsque le mécanisme de versement direct est établi, le montant à verser est le loyer réel attribuable à la personne bénéficiaire et aux membres du groupe de prestataires. Cela exclut le loyer exigé de toute personne qui n’est pas membre du groupe de prestataires. Si le montant du loyer réel dépasse l’allocation de logement maximale, le personnel du POSPH doit rencontrer la personne bénéficiaire pour discuter du coût élevé du logement et proposer des solutions.

Le montant du versement direct doit viser le mois en cours (par exemple, le montant du loyer déduit des prestations de septembre doit s’appliquer au mois de septembre). Le montant du versement direct ne doit en aucun cas s’appliquer à des arriérés dus au locateur ou constituer une avance au locateur. Seul le loyer actuel peut être payé. Des dispositions distinctes doivent être prises avec la personne bénéficiaire pour payer tout montant en souffrance dû à un locateur ou à une entreprise de services publics.

Le montant du versement direct doit correspondre au montant réel du loyer même si le loyer dépasse l’allocation de logement maximale.

Si la personne bénéficiaire du POSPH est locataire de la société locale de logement (SLL), le montant versé à la SLL doit être égal au loyer que celle-ci exige.

Lorsque le montant du soutien du revenu versé est inférieur au coût du logement (par exemple si le montant correspond à l’allocation minimale ou s’il est réduit en raison de revenus ou de gains), le versement direct doit être annulé. Il faut alors informer la personne bénéficiaire que le versement direct prend fin et qu’elle doit payer le coût du logement (loyer ou services publics) directement.

Différends entre le locateur et le locataire

Lorsque la personne bénéficiaire a un différend locateur - locataire, le personnel du POSPH peut verser la partie du soutien du revenu correspondant au loyer dans un compte en fiducie en attendant la résolution du différend. La Loi de 2006 sur la location à usage d’habitation prévoit des mécanismes pour régler les différends entre le locateur et le locataire.

Fin du versement direct

Par mesure de courtoisie, quand un chargé de cas approuve la demande d’une personne bénéficiaire de mettre fin au versement direct, le locateur ou le tiers devrait en être avisé.

La résolution d’un différend entre un locateur et un locataire ou de toute autre question liée au paiement d’un tiers, y compris les arriérés, demeure entre la personne bénéficiaire et le locateur ou le tiers.

Appels

La décision d’effectuer un versement direct ne peut faire l’objet d’un appel devant le Tribunal de l’aide sociale. Cependant, si la personne bénéficiaire n’est pas d’accord avec la décision et demande une révision interne, cette révision doit avoir lieu.

Directives connexes:

10.2 Fiduciaires
11.1 Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires

Bulletins :

016-2002