September 2017

13.3 - Recovery of Interim Assistance

Summary of Policy

The Social Benefits Tribunal (SBT) can order the payment of interim assistance if it is satisfied that a recipient will suffer financial hardship during the time it takes to complete its review and give notice of its decision.

If the SBT upholds a decision that the recipient is not a person with a disability as a result of a medical review, the interim assistance they received is considered an overpayment. In this circumstance, recovery of the interim assistance is limited to the difference between the interim assistance paid and the amount that the recipient would have been eligible to receive under Ontario Works for the same period. The balance is recommended for write-off.

Overpayments assessed due to the receipt of interim assistance should include amounts provided for benefits, except where the amount of the benefit cannot be quantified. (See Directive 11.1 Recovery of Overpayments).

Legislative Authority

Section 27 of the ODSP Act
Sections 66 and 67(4) of the ODSP General Regulation

Intent of Policy

This directive addresses the recovery of overpayments in cases where a recipient has received interim assistance but their appeal is denied at the SBT.

Application of Policy

Standards

  • A copy of the appeal decision must be kept on file.
  • ODSP staff must review the appeal decision and the amount of interim assistance paid.
  • The overpayment calculation must be documented on the file.

Where the Tribunal's decision indicates that the recipient was not eligible for any income support during the period of time that interim assistance was paid (i.e. if a prior cancellation decision was upheld), the entire amount of interim assistance is assessed as an overpayment.

Where the Tribunal determines that the recipient was eligible to receive some income support, but at a lower amount than was paid as interim assistance, then the difference between these two amounts would be assessed as an overpayment.

Notice must be given to the recipient of the amount of the overpayment, the reason, the period for which it was incurred and their right to appeal. If a recipient had a dependent spouse when an overpayment was incurred, the Director must also give notice in writing to the spouse respecting the overpayment.

Recovery of an Overpayment Assessed Due to the Receipt of Interim Assistance - Medical Review AppealsWhere the SBT upholds a decision of the Director that an individual does not meet the definition of a “person with a disability” as a result of a medical review appeal, the following policy applies:

  • If the appellant was otherwise eligible for Ontario Works during the overpayment period (e.g. the period when interim assistance was paid), the amount of the overpayment that is to be considered collectible is the difference between the interim assistance paid and the financial assistance that the recipient would have been eligible to receive under Ontario Works, had they received Ontario Works financial assistance instead of interim assistance.
  • The balance of the overpayment (i.e. the total amount of Ontario Works financial assistance that the recipient could have received) should be recommended for write-off.

The above approach should only be taken after the SBT has made its final decision.

Determining Eligibility for Ontario Works

ODSP staff are to contact their counterpart Ontario Works staff to determine whether the appellant would have met the Ontario Works financial eligibility requirements during the overpayment period.

If the recipient was otherwise eligible for Ontario Works during the overpayment period (i.e. the period when interim assistance was paid), the amount of the overpayment that is collectible is the difference between the interim assistance paid and the amount of financial assistance that the client would be eligible to receive under Ontario Works. The balance of the overpayment is recommended for write-off.

If instead, Ontario Works staff confirms that the recipient would not have met Ontario Works financial eligibility requirements during the overpayment period, the full overpayment is recoverable.

For ease of administration, the calculation of the amount of financial assistance that the recipient would be eligible to receive under Ontario Works is the maximum Ontario Works rate of their family composition during the overpayment period.

Example 1

Louise, an ODSP client in a board and lodging arrangement, was found to not meet the definition of a person with a disability after a medical review and, as a result, her income support was cancelled effective November 1.

She subsequently proceeded through the internal review process and then to the SBT. She requested and was granted interim assistance effective November. Her monthly income support would have been $812 (board and lodging rate) and $69 (special boarder allowance), so the interim assistance paid to her was also $881 per month. She was paid interim assistance until the final SBT decision was received in January. The cancellation was upheld. The amount of her overpayment that will be recovered depends on whether she was eligible for Ontario Works at the time of her appeal.

Eligible for Ontario Works

Not Eligible for Ontario Works

If Louise was eligible for Ontario Works for the period in which interim assistance was paid (November to January), then the collectible overpayment is $861.

(3 months x [$812 + $69 Board and Lodge and Special Boarder Allowance for interim assistance received]) - (3 months x [$525* + $69* Board and Lodge and Special Boarder Allowance amount for Ontario Works])

= (3 x [$812 +$69]) - (3 x [$525* + $69])
= $2,643 - $1,782
= $861 (collectible) and $1,782 (recommended for write-off)

If Louise was not eligible for Ontario Works during the overpayment period, then the collectible overpayment is $2,643

(3 months x $812 + $69 Board and Lodge and Special Boarder Allowance for interim assistance received)

= 3 x $881
= $2,643

*as of October 2017

Example 2

In August, Adam underwent a medical review and he did not meet the definition of a person with a disability. His income support was cancelled in December (the 1st day of the 4th month following the Disability Adjudication Unit decision).

Adam proceeded through the internal review process and the SBT hearing process. He requested and was granted interim assistance effective December. His monthly income support would have been $1151 per month (basic needs and shelter), and so, the interim assistance paid was also $1151 per month for December and January.

In early February, the SBT upheld the decision that Adam is not a person with a disability.

Eligible for Ontario Works

Not Eligible for Ontario Works

If Adam was eligible for Ontario Works for the period in which interim assistance was paid (December and January), then the collectible overpayment is $860

(2 months x $1,151) - (2 months x [$337 basic needs + $384* shelter allowance])
= $2,302 - $1,442
= $860 (collectible) & $1,442 (recommended for write-off)

If Adam was not eligible for Ontario Works during the overpayment period, then the collectible overpayment is 2 months x $1,151 = $2,302.

 

*as of October 2017

Related Directives:

6.2 Basic Needs
6.3 Shelter
6.4 Board and Lodging
11.1 Recovery of Overpayments
13.1 Notice of Decision and Internal Review
13.2 Appeals

Septembre 2017

13.3 - Recouvrement de l'aide provisoire

Résumé de la politique

Le Tribunal de l'aide sociale a le pouvoir d'ordonner de verser de l'aide provisoire s’il est convaincu que la ou le bénéficiaire éprouvera des difficultés financières pendant la durée de l’examen et la publication de sa décision.

Si le Tribunal de l’aide sociale confirme une décision déclarant qu’une personne n’est pas une personne handicapée à la suite de l’examen médical, l’aide provisoire qui a été versée est considérée comme un paiement excédentaire. Dans ce cas, le recouvrement du montant d’aide provisoire est limité à la différence entre l’aide provisoire versée et le montant que le bénéficiaire aurait eu le droit de recevoir dans le cadre du programme Ontario au travail pour la même période. Le solde devrait être considéré comme une dette radiée.

Les paiements excédentaires évalués à la suite du versement d’une aide provisoire doivent inclure les montants fournis pour les prestations, sauf si l'on ne peut pas quantifier le montant de la prestation. (Voir la directive 11.1 Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires.)

Autorisation législative

Article 27 de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées
Article 66 et paragraphe 67 (4) du Règlement pris en application de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées

But général de la politique

La présente directive porte sur le recouvrement de paiements excédentaires dans les cas où un bénéficiaire a reçu de l’aide provisoire mais que son appel a été rejeté par le Tribunal de l’aide sociale.

Application de la politique

Normes

  • Une copie de la décision d'appel doit être conservée dans le dossier.
  • Le personnel du POSPH doit examiner la décision d'appel ainsi que le montant d'aide provisoire versé.
  • Le calcul du paiement excédentaire doit être documenté dans le dossier.

Lorsque la décision du Tribunal indique que la ou le bénéficiaire n'était pas admissible à du soutien du revenu pendant la période où l’aide provisoire a été versée (à savoir, si une décision d’annulation antérieure a été confirmée), le montant intégral d'aide provisoire versé est évalué comme un paiement excédentaire.

Lorsque le Tribunal détermine que la ou le bénéficiaire était admissible à une forme de soutien du revenu, mais à un montant moins élevé que ce qui a été versé sous forme d'aide provisoire, la différence entre ces deux montants est alors évaluée comme un paiement excédentaire.

Il faut donner à la ou au bénéficiaire un avis précisant le montant et les motifs du paiement excédentaire, la période pendant laquelle il a été versé et son droit d'interjeter appel. Si la personne avait une conjointe ou un conjoint à charge au moment du paiement excédentaire, le directeur ou la directrice doit aussi donner un avis écrit à cette personne concernant le paiement excédentaire.

Recouvrement  d'un paiement excédentaire évalué comme étant dû après le versement d’une aide provisoire – Appels d’un examen médical

Si le Tribunal de l’aide sociale confirme une décision du directeur portant qu’un particulier ne remplit pas les critères de la définition de « personne handicapée » à la suite de l’appel d’un examen médical, la politique suivante s’applique :

  • Si l’appelant était autrement admissible au programme Ontario au travail pendant la période visée par le paiement excédentaire (p. ex., la période pendant laquelle l’aide provisoire a été versée), le montant de l’aide provisoire qui peut être recouvré est la différence entre l’aide provisoire versée et l’aide financière que le bénéficiaire aurait eu le droit de recevoir dans le cadre du programme Ontario au travail pour la même période, s’il avait reçu l’aide financière d’Ontario au travail au lieu de l’aide provisoire.
  • Le solde du paiement excédentaire (à savoir, le montant total d’aide financière dans le cadre d’Ontario au travail que le bénéficiaire aurait pu recevoir) devrait être considéré comme une dette radiée.

Cette approche ne devrait être suivie qu’après que le Tribunal de l’aide sociale rend sa décision définitive.

Déterminer l’admissibilité au programme Ontario au travail

Le personnel du POSPH doit contacter son homologue au programme Ontario au travail afin de déterminer si l’appelant aurait rempli les critères d’admissibilité financière au programme Ontario au travail pendant la période visée par les paiements excédentaires.

Si le bénéficiaire était autrement admissible à Ontario au travail pendant cette période (la période pendant laquelle l’aide provisoire a été versée), le montant de l’aide provisoire qui peut être recouvré est la différence entre l’aide provisoire versée et l’aide financièreque le bénéficiaire aurait eu le droit de recevoir dans le cadre du programme Ontario au travail. Le solde du paiement excédentaire devrait être considéré comme une dette radiée.

Toutefois, si le personnel d’Ontario au travail confirme que le bénéficiaire n’aurait pas rempli les critères d’admissibilité financière au programme Ontario au travail pendant la période visée par les paiements excédentaires, le montant intégral du paiement excédentaire est recouvrable,

À des fins administratives, le calcul du montant de l’aide financière auquel le bénéficiaire aurait eu droit dans le cadre du programme Ontario au travail constitue le taux maximal d’Ontario au travail correspondant à sa composition familiale pendant la période du paiement excédentaire.

Exemple 1

Louise, une cliente du POSPH vivant dans une pension, a été considérée comme n’étant pas une personne handicapée après un examen médical et son soutien du revenu a donc été annulé avec effet au 1er novembre.

Elle a suivi le processus de révision interne, puis a saisi le Tribunal de l’aide sociale. Elle a demandé, et obtenu, de l’aide provisoire à compter du mois de novembre. Son soutien du revenu mensuel aurait été de 812 $ (taux Gîte et couvert) et de 69 $ (Allocation spéciale de pension). En conséquence, l’aide provisoire qui lui a été versée était également de 881 $ par mois. Elle a touché l’aide provisoire jusqu’à la publication de la décision définitive du Tribunal de l’aide sociale, en janvier. Le Tribunal a confirmé l’annulation de ses prestations. Le montant du paiement excédentaire à recouvrer dépend de la question de savoir si elle était admissible au programme Ontario au travail au moment de son appel.

Admissible à Ontario au travail

Pas admissible à Ontario au travail

Si Louise était admissible à Ontario au travail pendant la période où elle a reçu l’aide provisoire (novembre-janvier), le paiement excédentaire recouvrable est de 861 $.

(3 mois x [812 $ + 69 $ Gîte et couvert et Allocation spéciale de pension pour l’aide provisoire reçue]) – (3 mois x [525 $ + 69 $]* Gîte et couvert et Allocation spéciale de pension pour Ontario au travail])

= (3 x [812 $+69 $]) - (3 x [525 $+ 69 $]*)
= 2 643 $ - 1 782 $
= 861 $ (recouvrable) et 1 782 $ (recommandé pour radiation)

Si Louise n’était pas admissible à Ontario au travail pendant la période où elle a reçu l’aide provisoire (novembre-janvier), le paiement excédentaire recouvrable est de 2 643 $.

(3 mois x 812 $ + 69 $ Gîte et couvert et Allocation spéciale de pension pour l’aide provisoire reçue)

= 3 x 881 $
= 2 643 $

*en date d’octobre 2017

Exemple 2

En août, Adam subit un examen médical qui confirme qu’il ne remplit pas la définition de personne handicapée. Son soutien du revenu est annulé en décemnre (le 1er jour du 4e mois après la décision de l’Unité des décisions sur l'admissibilité des personnes handicapées).

Adam a suivi le processus de révision interne, puis a saisi le Tribunal de l’aide sociale. Il a demandé et obtenu une aide provisoire à compter de décembre. Son soutien du revenu mensuel aurait été de 1 151 $ par mois (besoins essentiels et logement), et donc l’aide provisoire versée a également été de 1 151 $ par mois, en décembre et janvier.

Au début février, le Tribunal de l’aide sociale a confirmé la décision portant qu’Adam n’était pas une personne handicapée.

Admissible à Ontario au travail

Pas admissible à Ontario au travail

Si Adam était admissible à Ontario au travail pendant la période où il a reçu l’aide provisoire (décembre-janvier), le paiement excédentaire recouvrable est de 860 $.

(2 mois x 1 151 $) - (2 mois x [337 $* Besoins essentiels + 384 $* Logement]
= 2 302 $ - 1 442 $
= 860 $ (recouvrable) et 1 442 $ (recommandé poru radiation)

 

Si Adam n’était pas admissible à Ontario au travail pendant la période de paiement excédentaire, le paiement excédentaire recouvrable est de 2 mois x 1 151 $

= 2 302 $.

 

*en date d’octobre 2017

Directives connexes:

6.2  Besoins essentiels
6.3  Logement
6.4  Gîte et couvert
11.1 Recouvrement de paiements excédentaires
13.1 Avis de décision et processus de révision interne
13.2 Appels