August 2017

4.6 - Compensation Awards

Summary of Policy

This Directive pertains to the exemption of:

  • specific compensation awards outlined in sections 28, 41, 42 and 43 of the ODSP general regulation; and
  • compensation awards of any amount for pain and suffering and for expenses incurred or to be incurred due to injury or death; for loss of care, guidance and companionship under the Family Law Act; non-economic loss under the Workplace Safety And Insurance Act, 1997 or the Workers’ Compensation Act.

Legislative Authority

Sections 28(1)14, 14.1, 14.2, and 41(13) and 42 and 43(1)4, 9, (5)

Summary of Directive

The directive pertains to both the income and the asset exemptions for compensation awards.

The directive describes the factors to be considered when applying the income and asset exemptions to amounts received for compensation or damages.

The directive provides examples of the types of awards considered compensation or damages for pain and suffering.

The directive describes the options available to recipients regarding the application of the income exemption to payments from a structured settlement.

Intent of Policy

To guide decision-making when applying the income and asset exemptions to amounts received for compensation or damages listed in the Summary of Policy section of this directive.

Application of Policy

Reporting Requirements

Benefit unit members are obligated to report any legal actions that may result in a monetary settlement or award. If ODSP staff become aware that a benefit unit member is involved in a legal dispute and may receive a compensation award, the following forms must be completed:

  • an Expected Compensation or Settlement Referral form;
  • an Agreement to Reimburse; and
  • an Assignment, Authorization and Direction form.

The Agreement to Reimburse and the Assignment and Direction are required as a condition of eligibility. Completed forms must be forwarded to Legal Services Branch.

A Ministry claim under an Assignment and Direction and Agreement to Reimburse can only be recovered from amounts that are not exempt and that are considered income under ODSP.

Specific Awards

The ODSP general regulation exempts payments from specific compensation awards, such as the Helpline Reconciliation Model Agreement, The Multi-Provincial/Territorial Assistance Program Agreement, the Grandview Agreement, the Ontario Hepatitis C Assistance Plan, the Walkerton Compensation Plan, and payments made by a local Disaster Relief Committee established pursuant to the Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program. These awards are exempt as both income and assets.

A list of income exemptions for specific government compensation awards can be found in sections 41, 42 and 43 of the ODSP general regulation. The list of asset exemptions can be found in section 28 of the general regulation.

Other Awards

The ODSP general regulation also establishes full income and asset exemptions for the following:

  • awards for pain and suffering as a result of an injury to or the death of a member of the benefit unit;
  • expenses actually or reasonably incurred or to be incurred as a result of injury to or death of a member of the benefit unit;
  • loss of care, guidance and companionship due to an injury to or the death of a family member under the Family Law Act;
  • non-economic loss under section 46 of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997 or section 42 of the Workers’ Compensation Act.

Income and assets exempted under this policy are payments made as an award or in settlement of a claim by a recipient, and are therefore not voluntary payments. As a result, the gifts and voluntary payments limit does not apply.

Non-Exempt forms of Compensation

Portions of awards to compensate a person for lost income are not exempt and are considered income and/or assets. The following list of payments typically apply to forms of compensation and are treated as income and/or assets:

  • Income Replacement Benefits
  • Non-Earner Benefits
  • Past or Future Loss of Income
  • Punitive Damages Awards
  • WSIB Awards for Past or Future Economic Loss

Interest

Interest earned on exempt compensation awards is considered income and an asset, subject to other applicable exemptions.

However, prejudgment interest awarded as compensation for the delay in receiving damages on pain and suffering awards is considered part of the actual award for pain and suffering. Therefore, the exemption can include the pain and suffering award as well as amounts awarded for prejudgment interest. Other kinds of prejudgment interest, such as prejudgment interest on awards for lost wages, are still considered as income and as an asset for ODSP purposes.

Annual Reporting

For these awards the recipient must provide an annual report that documents all income and expense transactions relating to that award.

Use of Exempt Award

If a recipient uses these exempt funds to purchase an asset, that asset is not automatically exempt simply because it was purchased with funds from the award.

If the funds are used to purchase: a principal residence; any other approved asset that is necessary for health and welfare; or an exempt asset such as a primary motor vehicle that asset remains exempt as an asset and will have no impact on the recipient’s income support.

However, if an ODSP recipient purchases a non-exempt asset such as a second home or a second vehicle that is not required for a member of the benefit unit to maintain employment outside the home, that asset is not exempt and will count toward the benefit unit’s asset limit.

Structured Settlements

Amounts awarded for compensation or damages are often used to purchase structured settlements which provide an injured person with an income stream.  Structured settlements can only be purchased by the casualty insurer from a federally-registered Canadian life insurer.  The life insurer guarantees to provide periodic payments for a specified period (in most cases, over the lifetime of the beneficiary).

Structured settlements are not considered assets.

Pro-Rating of Structured Settlement Payments

With respect to the treatment of structured settlement payments, the recipient has the option of applying the exemptions either up front or pro-rating the exemption over the number of months until the beneficiary (recipient, spouse or dependent) turns 65 years of age.

Please note that the amount payable to a recipient from a structured settlement that will be exempted is equal to the exempt amount of capital invested into it. For example, if $150,000 was the exempt capital amount invested into the structured settlement, then the recipient is only entitled to receive $150,000 in payments from the structure before the income exemption is exhausted.

The prorated exemption calculation is based on the assumption that the recipient will no longer be eligible for income support when he/she reaches 65 years of age due to Old Age Security (OAS) income.

If, at the time the compensation award is received, it is determined that the recipient will not be eligible to receive OAS when he/she reaches 65 years of age, ODSP staff should attempt to determine when the recipient will be eligible for OAS and pro-rate the exemption over the number of months from the month the award is received to the month the recipient will be eligible to receive OAS.

Example:

The recipient receives $150,000 which is fully exempt as income and an asset.

  • The $150,000 award is placed in a structured settlement that provides a monthly payment of $900 to the recipient.  At that rate, the exemption will be exhausted in 166.67 months.
  • Current date is October 15, 2011; the date of the first payment is December 1, 2011.
  • 166 months from December 1, 2011 is October 1, 2025.
  • The recipient's date of birth is June 1, 1965; the recipient will be 65 years of age on June 1, 2030.
  • The number of months from December 2011 to June 2030 is 224 (rounded up).

Exemption Up Front

Exemption Pro-Rated

From December 2011 to October 2025, 100% of the $900 monthly payment is exempt.

[$900 x 166 months = $149,400]

For the month of October 2025, $600 of the $900 monthly payment is exempt; the remaining $300 is charged as income.

[$149,400 + $600 = $150,000]

Commencing November 2025, 100% of the $900 monthly payment is charged as income.

Amount of exemption is pro-rated over the number of months from December 2011 to June 2030.

[$150,000 / 224 months = $669.64]

From December 2011 to June 2030, the monthly income deduction is $230.36.

[$900 - $669.64 = $230.36]

Cases where structured settlements are being considered or where payments are received from a structured settlement must be referred to the Legal Services Branch of the Ministry of Community and Social Services.

Hyperlinks of Related Directives:

4.1 Definition and Treatment of Assets
4.4 Transfer of Assets for Inadequate Consideration
4.7 Funds Held in Trust
5.1 Definition and Treatment of Income
11.1 Recovery of Overpayments

Août 2017

4.6 - Indemnités compensatoires

Résumé de la politique

La présente politique concerne l’exemption pour ce qui suit :

  • les indemnités compensatoires particulières décrites aux articles 28, 41, 42 et 43 du règlement général du POSPH;
  • les indemnités compensatoires de tout montant pour la douleur, les souffrances et les dépenses engagées ou qui devront l’être en raison d’une blessure ou d’un décès; la perte de soins, de conseils et de compagnie aux termes de la Loi sur le droit de la famille; une perte non financière aux termes de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail ou de la Loi sur les accidents du travail;

Autorisation législative

Dispositions et paragraphes 28 (1) 14, 14.1, 14.2; 41 (13) et 43 (1) 4, 9  et (5).

Résumé de la directive

La présente directive concerne les exemptions du revenu et de l’avoir relativement aux indemnités compensatoires.

Elle décrit les facteurs à prendre en considération lors de l’application des exemptions du revenu et de l’avoir aux montants reçus à titre d’indemnités compensatoires ou de dommages-intérêts.

Elle donne des exemples des types d’indemnités considérées comme des indemnités compensatoires ou des dommages-intérêts pour douleur et souffrances.

Elle décrit les options qui s’offrent aux bénéficiaires en ce qui concerne l’application de l’exemption du revenu à des paiements résultant d’un règlement échelonné.

But général de la politique

Donner des orientations au personnel du POSPH qui doit décider s’il y a lieu d’appliquer l’exemption du revenu et de l’avoir à des montants reçus à titre d’indemnités compensatoires ou de dommages-intérêts énumérés dans la section Résumé de la politique ci-dessus.

Application de la politique

Exigences en matière de déclaration

Les membres d’un groupe de prestataires sont tenus de signaler toute action en justice pouvant donner lieu à un règlement monétaire ou à une indemnité. Si le personnel du POSPH apprend qu’un membre d’un groupe de prestataires est partie à un litige et qu’il peut recevoir une indemnité compensatoire, les formulaires suivants doivent être remplis :

  • Orientation en cas d’indemnité ou de règlement prévu
  • Entente de remboursement
  • Cession, autorisation et directive

Les formulaires Entente de remboursement et Cession, autorisation et directive sont requis comme condition d’admissibilité. Les formulaires dûment remplis doivent être transmis à la Direction des services juridiques.

Une réclamation du ministère en vertu d’une Entente de remboursement et Cession ne peut être payée qu’à partir de montants qui ne sont pas exemptés et qui sont considérés comme un revenu dans le cadre du POSHP.

Indemnités particulières

Le règlement général du POSPH prévoit une exemption pour les paiements versés à titre d’indemnités compensatoires particulières, comme ceux de l’entente appelée Helpline Reconciliation Model Agreement, de l’Entente conclue dans le cadre du Programme provincial et territorial d'aide, de l’entente appelée Grandview Agreement, du Programme ontarien d'aide aux victimes de l'hépatite C, du Régime d'indemnisation dans le cadre de Walkerton et des paiements versés par un comité local de secours aux victimes de catastrophes mis sur pied aux termes du Programme ontarien de secours aux sinistrés. Ces indemnités sont exemptées du revenu et de l’avoir.

Une liste des exemptions relatives aux indemnités particulières versées par le gouvernement est présentée aux articles 41, 42 et 43 du Règlement général du POSPH. Une liste des éléments qui ne font pas partie de l’avoir est présentée à l’article 28 du Règlement général du POSPH.

Autres indemnités

Le Règlement général du POSPH prévoit également une exemption complète du revenu et de l’avoir des indemnités accordées pour :

  • la douleur et les souffrances à la suite d’une blessure subie par une personne au sein du groupe de prestataires ou de son décès;
  • des dépenses réellement ou raisonnablement engagées ou qui devront l’être à la suite d’une blessure subie par une personne au sein du groupe de prestataires ou de son décès;
  • la perte de soins, de conseils et de compagnie à la suite d’une blessure subie par un membre de la famille ou de son décès, aux termes de la Loi sur le droit de la famille;
  • une perte non financière aux termes de l'article 46 de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail ou de l'article 42 de la Loi sur les accidents du travail.

Le revenu et les avoirs exemptés en vertu de la présente politique sont des paiements effectués à titre d’indemnité ou de dommages-intérêts dans le cadre de la réclamation d’un bénéficiaire. Il ne s’agit donc pas de paiements volontaires. En conséquence, la limite applicable aux cadeaux et paiements volontaires ne s’applique pas.

Formes d’indemnités qui ne sont pas exemptées

Certaines portions d’une indemnité pour perte de revenu ne sont pas exemptées et sont considérées comme un revenu ou un avoir. Les paiements suivants font généralement partie d’indemnités et sont traités comme un revenu ou un avoir :

    • prestations de remplacement de revenu,
    • indemnités de personne sans revenu d'emploi,
    • perte de revenu passé ou futur,
    • dommages-intérêts punitifs,
    • indemnisation de la CSPAAT pour perte économique passée ou future.

Intérêts

Les intérêts accumulés sur des indemnités exemptées sont considérés comme un revenu et un avoir, sous réserve d’autres exemptions applicables.

Toutefois, l’intérêt antérieur au jugement adjugé à titre d’indemnisation pour le retard à recevoir des dommages pour la douleur et les souffrances fait partie de l’indemnité compensatoire globale pour la douleur et les souffrances. Par conséquent, l’exemption peut comprendre l’indemnité pour la douleur et les souffrances ainsi que l’intérêt avant jugement. Les intérêts avant jugement portant sur d’autres sommes, par exemple les intérêts avant jugement versés sur une indemnité pour perte de salaire, continuent d’être considérés comme un revenu et un avoir aux fins du POSPH.

Rapport annuel

Pour ces indemnités, la personne bénéficiaire doit fournir chaque année un rapport faisant état de toutes les transactions ayant des répercussions sur les revenus et les dépenses liés à une indemnité.

Utilisation d’une indemnité exemptée

Lorsque la personne bénéficiaire utilise ces fonds exemptés pour acquérir un avoir, cet avoir n’est pas automatiquement exempté parce qu’il a été acheté avec des fonds provenant de l’indemnité.

Si les fonds sont utilisés pour l’achat d’une résidence principale, de tout autre avoir qui est nécessaire à la santé et au bien-être ou un avoir exempté, comme un véhicule automobile principal, cet avoir reste exempté et n’aura aucune incidence sur le soutien du revenu de la personne bénéficiaire.

Toutefois, lorsqu’une personne bénéficiaire du POSPH achète un avoir non exempté, comme une résidence secondaire ou un deuxième véhicule qui n’est pas nécessaire afin de permettre à un membre du groupe de prestataires de conserver son emploi à l’extérieur du domicile, cet avoir n’est pas exempté et sera pris en compte dans le calcul du plafond de l’avoir du groupe de prestataires.

Règlements échelonnés

Les montants accordés à titre d’indemnités compensatoires ou de dommages-intérêts servent souvent à acheter des règlements échelonnés, qui procurent à la personne blessée une source de revenus. Seule une société d’assurance risques divers peut souscrire une police de règlements échelonnés d’un assureur-vie canadien sous réglementation fédérale. L’assureur-vie s’engage à fournir des paiements périodiques sur une période déterminée (en général, sur la durée de vie de la personne bénéficiaire).

Les règlements échelonnés ne sont pas considérés un avoir.

Répartition proportionnelle d’un règlement échelonné

En ce qui concerne le traitement des paiements issus d’un règlement échelonné, la personne bénéficiaire a le choix d’appliquer l’exemption immédiatement, dans sa totalité, ou de la répartir de façon proportionnelle sur le nombre de mois à courir jusqu’au 65e anniversaire de naissance du ou de la prestataire (la personne bénéficiaire, sa conjointe ou son conjoint, ou une personne à sa charge).

Veuillez noter que le montant qui peut être versé à une personne bénéficiaire à la suite d’un règlement échelonné qui sera exempté est égal au montant exempté qui y a été investi. Par exemple, si le montant exempté qui a été investi dans le règlement échelonné est de 150 000 $, la personne bénéficiaire a alors droit de recevoir des paiements totalisant une somme de 150 000 $ dans le cadre de ce règlement avant l’épuisement de l’exemption du revenu.

Le calcul de l’exemption au prorata est fondé sur l’hypothèse selon laquelle la personne bénéficiaire ne sera plus admissible à un soutien du revenu lorsqu’elle atteindra l’âge de 65 ans du fait qu’elle commencera alors à recevoir des prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse.
Si, à la réception de l’indemnité compensatoire, il est établi que la personne bénéficiaire ne sera pas admissible à des prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse lorsqu’elle atteindra 65 ans, le personnel du POSPH doit chercher à savoir quand la personne bénéficiaire deviendra admissible aux prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et répartir le montant de l’exemption au prorata en fonction du nombre de mois entre le mois de la réception de l’indemnité et le mois où la personne bénéficiaire devient admissible aux prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse.

Exemple

La personne bénéficiaire reçoit 150 000 $ entièrement exemptés en tant que revenu et avoir.

  • Les 150 000 $ sont placés sous forme de règlement échelonné de manière à assurer à la personne bénéficiaire un paiement mensuel de 900 $. À ce taux, l’exemption sera épuisée dans 166,67 mois.
  • La date actuelle est le 15 octobre 2011. La date du premier paiement est le 1er décembre 2011.
  • Il y a 166 mois entre le 1er décembre 2011 et le 1er octobre2025.
  • La personne bénéficiaire est née le 1er juin 1965. Elle aura 65 ans le 1er juin 2030.
  • Il y a 224 mois entre décembre 2011 et juin 2030.

Exemption totale immédiate

Exemption répartie dans le temps

De décembre 2011 à octobre 2025, 100 % des 900 $ mensuels sont exemptés.

[900 $ x 166 mois = 149 400 $]

Pour le mois d’octobre 2025, 600 $ du paiement mensuel de 900 $ sont exemptés; les 300 $ restants sont inclus dans le revenu.

[149 400 $ + 600 $ = 150 000 $]

À partir de novembre 2025, 100 % des 900 $ mensuels sont inclus dans le revenu.

Le montant de l’exemption est réparti au prorata sur le nombre de mois à courir entre décembre 2011 et juin 2030.

[150 000 $ ÷ 224 mois = 669.64 $]

De décembre 2011 à juin 2030, la déduction du revenu mensuel s’élève à 230,36 $.

[900 $ - 669.64 $ = 230,36 $]

Si une personne envisage d’accepter un règlement échelonné ou si elle reçoit des paiements aux termes d’un tel règlement, il faut consulter la Direction des services juridiques du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires.

Hyperliens associés aux directives connexes.

4.1 Définition et traitement de l’avoir
4.4 Transfert d’un avoir pour contrepartie insuffisante
4.7 Fonds en fiducie
5.1 Définition et traitement du revenu
11.1 Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires