September 2017

8.5 Budgetary Requirements for Applicants/Recipients Residing in Interval or Transition Homes

Summary of Policy

If an applicant or recipient is residing in an interval or transition home for abused women, income support is calculated as if she were living in the community if the applicant/recipient requires assistance for the cost of shelter in order to preserve her right to return to her previous dwelling place as her principal residence.

After three months, budgetary requirements may be reduced to an amount that is not less than $146 for each member of the benefit unit residing in the interval or transition home.

Where the applicant/recipient does not intend to preserve her right to return to her previous dwelling, the budgetary requirements are $ 146 per member of the benefit unit.

Legislative Authority

Sections 3 3.1 and 45.3(3) of the ODSP Regulation

Summary of Directive

This directive applies to all applicants/recipients temporarily residing in an interval or transition home for abused women (hereafter referred to as “interval or transition homes”). If the woman was a member of an ODSP benefit unit and not eligible for ODSP in her own right prior to moving into the interval or transition home, she should be redirected to the local Ontario Works office.

If the applicant/recipient requires assistance to cover the cost of shelter for her previous dwelling place in order to preserve her right to return, income support shall be calculated as if the recipient were still living in the community (as per sections 30 to 33 of the Regulation).

After three months, the budgetary requirements of the recipient may be reduced to an amount that is not less than $146 for each member of the benefit unit residing in the interval or transition home. Consideration should be given to the actual costs of maintaining the community accommodation in order to preserve her right to return.

If the applicant/recipient does not preserve her right to return to the previous dwelling place, budgetary requirements are $146 for each member of the benefit unit residing in the interval or transition home.

Intent of Policy

To ensure that applicant/recipients temporarily residing in an interval or transition home and their dependant children are able to maintain their right to return to their principal residence in the community.

Application of Policy

Applicant/Recipient Wishes to Preserve Her Right to Return to Her Principal Residence in the Community

First three months of residency:

  • Income support should reflect the actual budgetary requirements as if the applicant/recipient were not residing in the interval or transition home. Budgetary requirements are calculated according to sections 30 to 33 of the Regulation, as applicable.
  • The first full calendar month that the recipient resides in the interval or transition home will count as the first month of residency. For applicants who were granted while in an interval or transition home, the first month of residency is the month after the month of grant.
  • This applies to both board/lodgers and renters/owners.

Examples as follows:

Accommodation Status Budgetary Requirements prior to Admission
November 2017
Months 1 to 3
(per month)
December 2017 to February 2018
Renter - single
(wishes to preserve right to return to principal residence)
$662 (BN)
up to $489 (Shelter)
$662 (BN)
up to $489 (Shelter)
Renter - single
(Gives up right to return to her principal residence in Month 2)
$662 (BN)
up to $489 (Shelter)
Month 1-2 $662 (BN)
up to $489 (Shelter)
Month 3 $146 (BN)

After three months of residency:

  • The regulation states that the Director may reduce the budgetary requirements of the resident of the interval or transition home after three months of residency.
    • The intent of the policy is to ensure that recipients and their dependant children, temporarily residing in an interval or transition home, are able to maintain their right to return to their principal residence in the community by providing an appropriate amount of income support. Therefore, when determining the budgetary requirements of the recipient after three months, consideration should be given to the actual costs of maintaining the community accommodation.
  • Income support should not be reduced below $146 per month for each member of the benefit unit residing in the interval or transition home.
  • A recipient shall continue to receive all benefits to which she is entitled while in an interval or transition home. Recipients should inform the interval or transition home of receipt of these benefits to eliminate any duplication.
  • Where the applicant/recipient’s budgetary requirements are not calculated according to sections 30 to 33 of the Regulations, she is not eligible for the Transition Child Benefit since the basic needs of any dependent children are being met by the facility. (see Directive 9.20 Transition Child Benefit)

Recipient Does Not Wish to Preserve Her Right to Return to Her Principal Residence in the Community

  • For applicants/recipients who do not wish to preserve their right to return to the principal residence while in the interval or transition home, income support is calculated as $146 for each member of the benefit unit residing in the interval or transition home.
  • Income support is adjusted the month after they cease to maintain their community residence.
  • As the basic needs of the dependent child (ren) are being met by the facility, the applicant/recipient is not eligible for the Transition Child Benefit. (see Directive 9.20 Transition Child Benefit)
  • The first full calendar month that the recipient resides in the interval or transition home will count as the first month of residency. For applicants who were granted while in an interval or transition home, the first month of residency is the month after the month of grant.

Discharge Procedures

  • Similar to the policy for recipients temporarily residing in a hospital, in the month of discharge, recipients are eligible for a full month’s income support based on their accommodation costs and basic needs at the time of discharge.
  • Recipients who have preserved their right to return to the previous dwelling place and who had their basic needs reduced while in the interval or transition home may require further assistance (e.g. food, clothing, etc.). In these circumstances, they may be eligible for a retroactive budget calculation for the previous month(s). An arrears cheque shall be provided on the date of discharge.
  • Recipients who have not preserved their right to return to the previous dwelling place are not eligible for a retroactive budget calculation.

Example:

Single recipient who is preserving her right to return to the previous dwelling place while in the interval or transition home and receiving a shelter allowance of $489.

November 2017 -
In Interval or Transition Home

December 2017-
Discharge planned for January 15th

January 2018 -
Community entitlement

Budgetary Requirements:

$489 (shelter)
$146
---------
$635

The budgetary requirements for December are retroactively recalculated.

December revised:
$1151
-$635 (provided already)
----------
$516 (To be received at discharge. This represents the arrears for the month of December)

$1151 (at month’s end)

Budgetary requirements = $1151

Related Directives:

6.1 Basic Needs Calculation
8.1 Budgetary Requirements for Recipients Who Reside in Institutions
8.2 Treatment of Budgetary Requirements - Temporary Stays in a Hospital or Substance Abuse Recovery Home
9.20 Transition Child Benefit
11.1 Recovery of Overpayments

Septembre 2017

8.5 - Besoins matériels des personnes qui résident dans une maison de transition

Résumé de la politique

Lorsqu’une personne qui demande le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficie réside dans une maison de transition pour femmes victimes de violence, le soutien du revenu est calculé comme si elle vivait dans la collectivité, si la personne en question a besoin d’une aide financière pour ses frais de logement afin de pouvoir maintenir son droit de réintégrer son logement antérieur et d’en faire sa résidence principale.

Au bout de trois mois, ses besoins matériels peuvent être réduits jusqu’à non moins de 146 $ par membre du groupe de prestataires résidant dans la maison de transition.

Lorsqu’une personne n’a pas l’intention de maintenir son droit de réintégrer son logement antérieur, les besoins matériels sont établis à 146 $ par membre du groupe de prestataires.

Autorisation législative

Paragraphe 33.1 et alinéa 45.3 (3) du Règlement pris en application de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées de l’Ontario

Résumé de la directive

Cette directive s’applique à toutes les personnes qui demandent le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficient alors qu’elles résident dans une maison de transition pour femmes victimes de violence (appelée ci-après « maison de transition »). Une femme qui était membre d’un groupe de prestataires du POSPH sans être elle‑même individuellement admissible au POSPH avant d’emménager dans une maison de transition devrait être orientée vers le bureau local du programme Ontario au travail.

Si une personne qui demande le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficie a besoin d’aide pour couvrir le coût de son logement antérieur en vue de maintenir son droit de le réintégrer, le soutien du revenu qui lui est payable est calculé comme si elle vivait toujours dans la collectivité (conformément aux articles 30 à 33 du Règlement).

Au bout de trois mois, les besoins matériels de la bénéficiaire peuvent être réduits jusqu’à non moins de 146 $ par membre de son groupe de prestataires résidant dans la maison de transition. Il s’agit de tenir compte des coûts réels auxquels elle devrait faire face pour payer son logement dans la collectivité en vue de maintenir son droit de le réintégrer.

Si la personne qui demande le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficie ne maintient pas son droit de réintégrer son logement antérieur, les besoins matériels sont établis à 146 $ par membre du groupe de prestataires qui réside dans la maison de transition.

But général de la politique

Veiller à ce que les personnes qui demandent le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficient et qui résident temporairement dans une maison de transition avec des enfants à charge, le cas échéant, soient en mesure de maintenir leur droit de réintégrer leur résidence principale au sein de la collectivité.

Application de la politique

Cas d’une femme qui désire maintenir son droit de réintégrer sa résidence principale au sein de la collectivité

Au cours des trois premiers mois de résidence dans la maison de transition:

  • Le soutien du revenu devrait refléter les besoins matériels réels de la personne en question, comme si elle ne résidait pas dans une maison de transition.Le calcul des besoins matériels se fait conformément aux articles 30 à 33 du Règlement, selon celui qui s’applique.
  • Le premier mois civil entier qu’une personne réside dans une maison de transition compte comme son premier mois de résidence. En ce qui concerne les personnes à l’égard desquelles une décision d’admissibilité au soutien du revenu est prise pendant qu’elles résident dans une maison de transition, le premier mois de résidence est le mois qui suit le mois durant lequel intervient cette décision.
  • Cette mesure s’applique aussi bien aux personnes qui reçoivent le couvert et le gîte d’une même source qu’aux locataires et propriétaires.

Voici quelques exemples:

Type de logement Besoins matériels avant l’admission dans la maison de transition Novembre 2017 Du 1er au 3e mois (par mois) Décembre 2017-février 2018
locataire - seule
(souhaite maintenir son droit de réintégrer sa résidence principale)
662 $ (besoins matériels)
jusqu’à 489 $ (logement)
662 $ (besoins matériels)
jusqu’à 489 $ (logement)
Locataire - seule
(renonce à son droit de réintégrer sa résidence principale au cours du 2e mois)
662 $ (besoins matériels)
jusqu’à 489 $ (logement)
1er et 2e mois :
662 $ (besoins matériels)
jusqu’à 489 $ (logement)
3e mois:
146 $ (besoins matériels)

Après trois mois de résidence dans une maison de transition:

  • Le Règlement précise que la directrice ou le directeur peut réduire le montant versé à une personne au titre de ses besoins matériels lorsque le séjour de celle-ci dans une maison de transition dépasse trois mois.
  • Cette politique vise à garantir que les bénéficiaires et leurs enfants à charge qui résident temporairement dans une maison de transition sont capables de maintenir leur droit de réintégrer leur résidence principale au sein de la collectivité en leur versant un montant suffisant de soutien du revenu. En conséquence, au moment de déterminer les besoins matériels d’une bénéficiaire qui réside dans une maison de transition depuis trois mois, il s’agit de tenir compte des coûts réels auxquels elle devrait faire face pour payer son logement dans la collectivité en vue de maintenir son droit de le réintégrer.
  • Le soutien du revenu ne devrait pas être réduit à moins de 146 $ par mois pour chaque membre du groupe de bénéficiaires résidant dans la maison de transition.
  • Une bénéficiaire continuera de toucher, pendant son séjour dans une maison de transition, l’ensemble des prestations auxquelles elle est admissible. Les bénéficiaires devraient informer la personne responsable de leur maison de transition des prestations qu’elles touchent, afin d’éviter le versement de tout montant faisant double emploi.
  • Si l’on ne calcule pas, conformément aux articles 30 à 33 du Règlement, les besoins matériels de la personne qui demande le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficie, elle n’est pas admissible à la Prestation transitoire pour enfants parce que l’établissement satisfait aux besoins essentiels de tout enfant à sa charge. (Voir la Directive 9.20 Prestation transitoire pour enfants.)

Cas d’une femme qui ne désire pas maintenir son droit de réintégrer sa résidence principale au sein de la collectivité

  • Lorsqu’une personne qui demande le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficie ne désire pas maintenir son droit de réintégrer sa résidence principale alors qu’elle réside dans une maison de transition, le soutien de revenu qui lui est versé est calculé en comptant 146 $ pour chaque membre de son groupe de prestataires qui réside dans la maison de transition.
  • Le montant du soutien du revenu est révisé dans le mois qui suit celui durant lequel la bénéficiaire et les membres de son groupe de prestataires cessent de maintenir leur résidence au sein de la collectivité.
  • Étant donné que l’établissement satisfait aux besoins essentiels du ou des enfants à charge, la personne qui demande le soutien du revenu ou qui en bénéficie n’est pas admissible à la Prestation transitoire pour enfants. (Voir la Directive 9.20 Prestation transitoire pour enfants.)
  • Le premier mois civil complet durant lequel la bénéficiaire loge dans la maison de transition compte comme son premier mois de résidence. En ce qui concerne les personnes à l’égard desquelles une décision d’admissibilité au soutien du revenu est prise pendant qu’elles résident dans une maison de transition, le premier mois de résidence est le mois qui suit le mois durant lequel intervient cette décision.

Marche à suivre lorsqu’une personne quitte la maison de transition

  • La marche à suivre est similaire à celle qui est appliquée pour les bénéficiaires qui font un séjour temporaire dans un hôpital, à savoir que le mois où une personne quitte une maison de transition, elle est admissible au montant mensuel complet de soutien du revenu calculé en fonction de ses coûts de logement et de ses besoins essentiels au moment de son départ.
  • Les bénéficiaires qui ont maintenu leur droit de réintégrer leur logement antérieur et qui, pendant leur séjour dans une maison de transition, ont touché un montant réduit au titre de leurs besoins essentiels peuvent avoir besoin d’une aide additionnelle (p. ex. pour le logement, l’habillement, etc.). Une personne dans cette situation peut être admissible à une révision rétroactive de ses besoins matériels sur un ou plusieurs mois. Un chèque d’arriéré lui est alors remis le jour où elle quitte la maison de transition.
  • Les bénéficiaires qui n’ont pas maintenu leur droit de réintégrer leur logement antérieur ne sont pas admissibles à une révision rétroactive de leurs besoins matériels.

Exemple: Bénéficiaire seule qui, pendant son séjour dans une maison de transition, maintient son droit de réintégrer sa résidence antérieure et touche de ce fait une allocation de logement de 489 $.

Novembre 2017: séjour dans une maison de transition Décembre 2017: départ de la maison de transition prévu pour le 15 janvier Janvier 2018: allocation pour le logement dans la collectivité
Besoins matériels :
489 $ (logement)
146 $
-------
635 $

Calcul rétroactif des besoins matériels pour le mois de décembre :
Montant révisé pour décembre
1151 $
-635 $ (déjà versés)
-------
516 $ (versés le jour de son départ de la maison de transition. Ceci représente l’arriéré pour le mois de décembre.)
1 151 $ (à la fin du mois)

Besoins matériels = 1 151 $

Directives connexes :

6.1 Montant payable à l’égard des besoins essentiels
8.1 Besoins matériels des bénéficiaires qui résident dans un établissement
8.2 Traitement des besoins matériels – séjour temporaire dans un hôpital ou un établissement de traitement ou de réadaptation pour toxicomanes 9.20 Prestation transitoire pour enfants
11.1 Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires