September 2017

9.19 - Transitional Health Benefit

Summary of Legislation

Recipients who leave ODSP for employment can continue to receive coverage for prescription drugs, dental and vision care and batteries and repairs for mobility devices unless or until the employer provides coverage that is comparable to the benefits available under ODSP.

Legislative Authority

Section 11.1 (1) of the Ministry of Community and Social Services Act

Summary of Directive

Recipients and eligible members of the benefit unit can receive the Transitional Health Benefit if the recipient is no longer financially eligible for ODSP income support as a result of employment earnings, paid training or income from self-employment and if comparable benefits are not provided by the employer.

Eligible members of the benefit unit include the recipient, spouse and dependent children. Dependent adults are not eligible for the Transitional Health Benefit.

The Transitional Health Benefit includes:

  • prescription drugs;
  • dental benefits (excluding dependent children);
  • vision care benefits, including routine eye examinations; and
  • batteries and repairs for mobility devices

The Transitional Health Benefit can be provided to eligible ODSP recipients until comparable coverage is available from the employer.

Intent of Policy

To encourage recipients to accept employment and become financially independent by removing barriers to exiting social assistance for employment.

Application of Policy

Eligibility

The Transitional Health Benefit is available to any recipient (and eligible members of the benefit unit) who is a resident of Ontario and who ceases to be eligible for ODSP Income Support due to the following:

  • The income of the recipient, including members of the benefit unit, equals or exceeds their budgetary requirements; and
  • The income of the recipient, including members of the benefit unit, includes earnings from employment or a training program, or net positive income from self-employment; and
  • The employer does not provide health benefit coverage that is comparable to benefit coverage under the Transitional Health Benefit.

Note: In the first month of ineligibility for income support, verification of the employer’s benefit coverage is not required. See section below on “Transitional Health Benefit in the First Month of Ineligibility for Income Support” for further information.

Determining Eligibility

Recipients who become ineligible for ODSP due to income in excess where income includes employment earnings, paid training or net positive income from self employment should be assessed for eligibility for the Extended Health Benefit first.

The Extended Health Benefit is available to ODSP recipients and members of the benefit unit with high health costs to reduce the impact of losing health care benefits as a result of income exceeding the budgetary requirements (see Directive 9.10 Extended Health Benefit for eligibility requirements) Recipients cannot receive both the Extended Health Benefit and the Transitional Health Benefit at the same time.

If a recipient is not eligible for the Extended Health Benefit, staff should assess eligibility for the Transitional Health Benefit by ensuring the recipient's income includes employment earnings, paid training, or net positive income from self-employment and determining whether the employer provides health benefit coverage that is comparable to benefit coverage under the Transitional Health Benefit.

  • In the first month of ineligibility for income support, assessing eligibility for Extended Health Benefit is not necessary, unless the recipient requires benefits only provided under Extended Health Benefit. See section below on “Transitional Health Benefit in the First Month of Ineligibility for Income Support” for further information.

If the employer provides health benefit coverage that is comparable to benefit coverage under the Transitional Health Benefit, the recipient is not eligible for the Transitional Health Benefit (see section below on "Benefits Covered by the Transitional Health Benefit").

Unlike the Extended Health Benefit, there is no requirement that a recipient have health-related costs greater than the amount of income that exceeds their budgetary requirements to be eligible for the Transitional Health Benefit.

Where the recipient meets all eligibility requirements for the Transitional Health Benefit, they can begin to receive the benefit in the month he/she becomes ineligible for Income Support.

Where an employed recipient is not eligible for Transitional Health Benefit (i.e. receiving comparable employer heath benefits) and then moves to employment where comparable employer health benefits are not provided, the recipient may be eligible for the Transitional Health Benefit if they meet all eligibility criteria.

Benefits Covered by the Transitional Health Benefit

Drug Coverage

  • The cost of drugs prescribed by an approved health professional for members of the ODSP benefit unit are covered if the drugs have been approved by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) and purchased from a dispensary during any month in which the recipient requiring the drugs is a member of the benefit unit. (See Directive 9.8 Drug Benefits)

Dental Coverage

  • The cost of dental services, procedures, and fees outlined in the MCSS Schedule of Dental Services and Fees. (See Directive 9.7 Dental Benefits)
  • Recipients and eligible members of the benefit unit will receive a dental card to access this benefit

Vision Care Benefits

  • A new pair of frames and lenses every 3 years, if requested. (Children may receive replacement lenses and/or frames as needed without restrictions)
  • Routine eye examinations once every 24 months where not covered by OHIP.

Batteries and Repairs for Mobility Devices

  • Coverage for the cost of batteries and necessary repairs for mobility devices if these costs are not otherwise reimbursed. (See Directive 9.13)

Transitional Health Benefit Grant Letter

Once the recipient's eligibility for the Transitional Health Benefit is confirmed, the recipient signs the Transitional Health Benefit Grant Letter. This letter outlines the information and documentation required to receive the Transitional Health Benefit.

The recipient signs the grant letter to acknowledge that they meet the eligibility requirements for the Transitional Health Benefit. The grant letter will be valid for a one-year period, subject to changes in the recipient's circumstances. On an annual basis, staff will reconfirm eligibility and have the recipient sign a new grant letter if the recipient continues to be eligible for the Transitional Health Benefit.

When providing the Transitional Health Benefit, staff should document in SAMS that the recipient's employer benefit plan has been verified. The Transitional Health Benefit Grant Letter must be completed in full, and signed by the recipient and spouse, if applicable. Information concerning the employer benefit plan and all supporting documents should be kept on file. A signed copy of the grant letter is retained on the master file, and a copy provided to the recipient.

As part of the Transitional Health Benefit application process, the Rapid Reinstatement provisions should be outlined by staff to inform the recipient that, if they lose their employment, they can be rapidly reinstated if they qualify financially and meet certain eligibility conditions.

Transitional Health Benefit in the First Month of Ineligibility for Income Support

For the first month of ineligibility for income support, the following policies and procedures related to assessing Transitional Health Benefit are not required:

  • Extended Health Benefit does not need to be assessed prior to approving  Transitional Health Benefit, unless the recipient requires benefits that are only covered under Extended Health Benefit (e.g., Mandatory Special Necessities);
  • Verification that the employer does not provide comparable coverage does not need to be obtained; and
  • The Transitional Health Benefit Grant Letter does not need to be signed by the recipient.

A recipient is considered to be in their first month of ineligibility for income support when:

  • They have income in excess of budgetary requirements for the month in question and that income includes earnings, training or self-employment income; and
  • They were eligible for income support in the month prior.

There is no limit on the number of times Transitional Health Benefit can be issued for a one-month period for recipients who periodically temporarily exit ODSP due to fluctuations in employment income.

If the recipient is ineligible for income support for one month only (i.e., the recipient meets eligibility requirements in the second month), then no further assessment of Extended Health Benefit or Transitional Health Benefit is required.

However, if the recipient remains, or is expected to remain, ineligible for income support beyond the first month of ineligibility, then the full Extended Health Benefit or Transitional Health Benefit assessment must be conducted, per existing policy.

  • If the recipient is subsequently determined not eligible for Extended Health Benefit or Transitional Health Benefit, their eligibility for Transitional Health Benefit in the first month remains unaffected.

Voluntary Withdrawals from the Transitional Health Benefit

A recipient may request to withdraw from receiving the Transitional Health Benefit. If the request is made in writing, the letter shall be attached to the Transitional Health Benefit Grant Letter and filed. If the request is made verbally, staff should advise the recipient to submit a letter regarding the request. If not received, the request to withdraw is documented in SAMS and the benefits are terminated.

Related Directives

1.3 Rapid Reinstatement
9.7 Dental Benefits
9.8 Drug Benefits
9.10 Extended Health Benefit
9.13 Mobility Devices Batteries and Repairs
9.14 Vision Care Benefits

Septembre 2017

9.19 - Prestation de santé provisoire

Résumé des dispositions législatives

Les personnes qui décrochent un emploi et cessent de recevoir du soutien du revenu du POSPH peuvent continuer de recevoir des prestations pour frais de médicaments sur ordonnance, soins dentaires et soins de la vue, et batteries et réparations pour appareils d’aide à la mobilité, à moins que leur employeur n'offre un régime de médicaments, soins dentaires et soins de la vue comparable à celui du POSPH, ou jusqu'à ce qu'il le fasse.

Autorisation Législative

Alinéa 11.1 (1) de la Loi sur le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires

Résumé de la Directive

Les bénéficiaires et membres admissibles de leur groupe de prestataires peuvent recevoir la prestation de santé transitoire si la personne bénéficiaire n'est plus admissible au soutien du revenu du POSPH en raison de son revenu d'emploi ou de travail indépendant trop élevé, ou des montants qu'elle reçoit pour suivre une formation, à moins que son employeur n'offre des prestations comparables.

Les membres admissibles du groupe de prestataires comprennent la personne bénéficiaire, son conjoint ou sa conjointe, et les enfants à charge. Les adultes à charge n'ont pas droit à la prestation de santé transitoire.

La prestation de santé transitoire s'applique :

  • aux médicaments sur ordonnance;
  • aux soins dentaires (à l’exclusion des enfants à charge);
  • aux soins de la vue, y compris les examens de la vue;
  • batteries et réparations pour appareils d’aide à la mobilité.

La prestation de santé transitoire peut être accordée aux bénéficiaires admissibles du POSPH jusqu'à ce que l'employeur offre des prestations comparables.

But Général de la Politique

Encourager les bénéficiaires à accepter un emploi et devenir financièrement autonomes en éliminant les obstacles qui les empêchent de quitter l’aide sociale pour occuper un emploi.

Application de la Politique

Admissibilité

La prestation de santé transitoire est offerte à toute personne bénéficiaire (et les membres admissibles de son groupe de prestataires) qui habite en Ontario et cesse d'être admissible au soutien du revenu du POSPH pour les raisons suivantes :

  • le revenu de la personne y compris celui des membres de son groupe de prestataires est égal à ses besoins matériels, ou plus élevé;
  • le revenu de la personne, y compris celui des membres de son groupe de prestataires, inclut un revenu d'emploi, un revenu provenant d'un programme de formation ou un revenu positif net issu d'un travail indépendant;
  • l'employeur n'offre pas de prestations de soins de santé comparables à la prestation de santé transitoire offerte dans le cadre du POSPH.
Note : Au cours du premier mois d’inadmissibilité au soutien du revenu, la vérification des prestations offertes par l’employeur n’est pas nécessaire. Voir la section ci-dessous sur la « Prestation de santé transitoire au cours du premier mois d’inadmissibilité au soutien du revenu » pour de plus amples informations.

Détermination de l'admissibilité

Les bénéficiaires qui cessent d'être admissibles au soutien du revenu du POSPH en raison de leur revenu, et dont le revenu inclut un revenu d'emploi, un revenu provenant d'un programme de formation ou un revenu positif net issu d'un travail indépendant, devraient préalablement faire l'objet d'une évaluation pour déterminer leur admissibilité aux prestations pour services de santé complémentaires.

Les prestations pour services de santé complémentaires sont accordées aux bénéficiaires du POSPH et aux membres de leur groupe de prestataires ayant des frais de santé élevés, afin de réduire les répercussions entraînées par la perte des prestations pour services de santé en raison d'un revenu dépassant les besoins matériels. Consultez la directive 9.10 Prestations pour services de santé complémentaires pour connaître les critères d'admissibilité. Les bénéficiaires ne peuvent pas recevoir à la fois des prestations pour services de santé complémentaires et la prestation de santé transitoire.

Si la personne bénéficiaire n'est pas admissible aux prestations pour services de santé complémentaires, le personnel devrait évaluer son admissibilité à la prestation de santé transitoire en vérifiant si le revenu de la personne inclut un revenu d'emploi, un revenu provenant d'un programme de formation ou un revenu positif net issu d'un travail indépendant et si l'employeur offre des prestations de soins de santé comparables à la prestation de santé transitoire offerte dans le cadre du POSPH.

Au cours du premier mois d’inadmissibilité au soutien du revenu, il n’est pas nécessaire d’évaluer l’admissibilité aux prestations pour services de santé complémentaires  à moins que le bénéficiaire ne demande des prestations qui ne sont offertes que dans le cadre des prestations pour services de santé complémentaires. Voir la section ci-dessous sur la « Prestation de santé transitoire au cours du premier mois d’inadmissibilité au soutien du revenu » pour de plus amples informations. Si l'employeur offre des prestations de soins de santé comparables à la prestation de santé transitoire, la personne bénéficiaire n'est pas admissible à la prestation de santé transitoire (consultez la section ci-après intitulée Produits et services couverts par la prestation de santé transitoire).

À la différence des prestations pour services de santé complémentaires, les bénéficiaires n'ont pas besoin d'avoir des frais liés à la santé supérieurs à l’excédent de leur revenu par rapport à leurs besoins matériels pour être admissibles à la prestation de santé transitoire. Les bénéficiaires qui satisfont à tous les critères d'admissibilité à la prestation peuvent commencer à la recevoir au cours du mois où ils cessent d'être admissibles au soutien du revenu du POSPH.

Les bénéficiaires qui ont un emploi et qui ne sont pas admissibles à la prestation de santé transitoire (parce que leur employeur offre des prestations de soins de santé comparables) peuvent avoir droit à la prestation à partir du moment où ils changent d'emploi et que leur nouvel employeur n'offre pas de prestations de soins de santé comparables. La personne doit alors satisfaire à tous les critères d'obtention de la prestation.

Produits et services couverts par la prestation de santé transitoire


Médicaments sur ordonnance
  • Le coût des médicaments prescrits pour les membres du groupe de prestataires du POSPH par une professionnelle ou un professionnel de la santé agréé est couvert si ces médicaments ont été approuvés par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et achetés à un dispensaire au cours d'un mois pendant lequel la personne qui a besoin des médicaments est membre du groupe de prestataires. (Voir la directive 9.8 Prestations pour médicaments.)

 

Soins dentaires

  • Le coût des soins dentaires, le coût des interventions et les frais énoncés dans la Nomenclature des soins dentaires et barème des honoraires du MSSC. (Voir la directive 9.7 Prestations pour soins dentaires.)
  • Les bénéficiaires et membres de leur groupe de prestataires recevront une carte pour soins dentaires qui couvre les coûts des soins dentaires.

Soins de la vue

  • Une nouvelle monture et de nouveaux verres tous les trois ans, sur demande. Les enfants ont droit à une nouvelle monture et à de nouveaux verres au besoin, sans restriction.
  • Remboursement des examens de la vue courants une fois tous les 24 mois, lorsqu'ils ne sont pas couverts par l'Assurance-santé.

Batteries et réparations pour appareils d’aide à la mobilité

  • Assurance pour le coût des batteries et réparations nécessaires pour appareils d’aide à la mobilité si ces coûts ne sont pas remboursés d’une autre source (voir la Directive 9.13).

 

Lettre de confirmation de l'admissibilité à la prestation de santé transitoire

Une fois que l'on a confirmé son admissibilité à la prestation de santé transitoire, la personne bénéficiaire signe la lettre de confirmation de l'admissibilité à la prestation de santé transitoire. Cette lettre énumère l'information et la documentation requises pour recevoir la prestation de santé transitoire.

La personne bénéficiaire doit signer la lettre en reconnaissance du fait qu'elle satisfait aux exigences de la prestation de santé transitoire. La lettre demeurera valide pour une période d'un an, sous réserve de modifications à la situation de la personne. Tous les ans, le personnel confirmera de nouveau l'admissibilité de la personne bénéficiaire, qui devra signer une nouvelle lettre si elle est encore admissible à la prestation de santé transitoire.
Lorsqu'il accorde à une personne bénéficiaire la prestation de santé transitoire, le personnel doit indiquer dans le SAGAS qu'il a vérifié les prestations de soins de santé offertes par l'employeur. La lettre de confirmation de l'admissibilité à la prestation de santé transitoire doit être dûment remplie et signée par la personne bénéficiaire et son conjoint ou sa conjointe, le cas échéant. Le personnel doit verser à ses dossiers les renseignements sur les prestations de soins de santé offertes par l'employeur, accompagnés de tout document obtenu à l'appui. Il doit ensuite conserver une copie de la lettre signée au dossier maître, puis en fournir une copie à la personne bénéficiaire.

Dans le cadre du processus de demande de la prestation de santé transitoire, le personnel doit informer la personne des mesures de réintégration rapide en place et lui rappeler qu'elle peut réintégrer rapidement le programme et obtenir du soutien du revenu si elle perd son emploi et satisfait aux différents critères financiers et autres.

Prestation de santé transitoire au cours du premier mois d’inadmissibilité au soutien du revenu

Au cours du premier mois d’inadmissibilité au soutien du revenu, il n’est pas nécessaire d’appliquer les politiques et les procédures suivantes liées à la détermination de l’admissibilité à la prestation de santé transitoire :

  • Il n’est pas nécessaire de déterminer l’admissibilité aux prestations pour services de santé complémentaires avant l’approbation de la prestation de santé transitoire, à moins que le bénéficiaire ne demande des prestations qui ne sont offertes que dans le cadre des prestations pour services de santé complémentaires (p. ex., prestations obligatoires pour les nécessités spéciales);
  • Il n’est pas nécessaire de vérifier que l’employeur n’offre pas de prestations comparables;
  • Il n’est pas nécessaire que la lettre de confirmation de la prestation de santé transitoire soit signée par le bénéficiaire.

Un bénéficiaire est considéré comme en étant à son premier mois d’inadmissibilité au soutien du revenu lorsque :

  • Il possède un revenu supérieur aux besoins matériels pour le mois en question et ce revenu comprend des revenus d’emploi, de formation ou de travail indépendant;
  • Il était admissible au soutien du revenu au cours du mois précédent.

Le nombre de fois qu’une prestation de santé transitoire peut être émise pour une période d’un mois n’est pas limité pour les bénéficiaires qui quittent périodiquement et temporairement le POSPH en raison des fluctuations de l’emploi.

Si le bénéficiaire est inadmissible au soutien du revenu pour un mois seulement (p. ex., si le bénéficiaire satisfait aux conditions d’admissibilité au cours du second mois), aucune autre détermination de l’admissibilité aux prestations pour services de santé complémentaires ou à la prestation de santé transitoire n’est nécessaire. 

Cependant, si le bénéficiaire demeure ou s’il est prévu qu’il demeurera inadmissible au soutien du revenu après le premier mois d’inadmissibilité, alors une détermination complète de l’admissibilité aux prestations pour services de santé complémentaires ou à la prestation de santé transitoire doit être réalisée, conformément à la politique existante. 

  • S’il est déterminé par la suite que le bénéficiaire n’est pas admissible aux prestations pour services de santé complémentaires ou à la prestation de santé transitoire, son admissibilité à la prestation de santé transitoire au cours du premier mois demeure inchangée.

Abandon volontaire de la prestation de santé transitoire

Les bénéficiaires peuvent demander de mettre volontairement fin à la prestation de santé transitoire. Si une demande à cet effet est effectuée par écrit, le personnel doit joindre la demande à la lettre de confirmation de l'admissibilité puis la verser au dossier. S'il s'agit d'une demande verbale, le personnel doit demander à la personne de soumettre une demande écrite. Si la personne ne soumet aucune demande écrite, le personnel doit indiquer dans le SAGAS qu'il a reçu une telle demande, puis cesser d'accorder la prestation.

Hyperliens Associés à la Présente Directive

Directives connexes:

1.3 Réintégration rapide
9.7 Prestations pour soins dentaires
9.8 Prestations pour médicaments
9.10 Prestations pour services de santé complémentaires
9.13 Batteries et réparations pour appareils d’aide à la mobilité
9.14 Prestations pour soins de la vue