September 2017

9.3 Heating Costs

Summary of Policy

The cost of energy to heat a primary residence is included in the calculation of shelter costs up to a maximum shelter allowance. If the heating costs alone exceed the maximum shelter allowance the amount payable will be the actual cost of heating.

Legislative Authority

Sections 31(1) 10, 31(2) 4 and 45.2 of the ODSP Regulation

Summary of Directive

When heating costs are not included in the rental amount, they are added to the shelter calculation, up to the maximum shelter allowance, based on family size.

The exception to this is when heating costs alone exceed the cost of shelter. If the cost of heat alone exceeds the maximum shelter allowance, the actual heating cost is paid.

Intent of Policy

To assist with the cost of heating when these costs are not included in the amount paid for rent or common expenses.

Application of Policy

Heating costs are the actual costs to heat the primary residence. Heating costs include oil, gas, propane, kerosene, electricity, and wood. Where there is room in the shelter allowance, heating costs may also include the security deposits required for connection/reconnection of energy for heat. Heating costs do not include the energy costs associated with cooking food, heating water and lighting, all of which are considered utility items.

If a recipient pays separately for heat, the actual cost of heating (for the members of the benefit unit) must be determined and verification provided. Heating costs are added to the rent/mortgage to calculate the shelter allowance up to the maximum amount based on family size. The GST charged on the cost to heat the home is to be included in the shelter calculation. Late payment charges are not to be included as part of the shelter calculation.

When Heating Costs Have Increased For Period Under Review

Upon request, or at the time of update, shelter costs are reassessed for the period under review to ensure the correct amount of assistance was provided. Verification of heating costs should be reviewed to determine if the average monthly amount input for heating costs was too high or too low.

If the verified average monthly amount was too low, and the recipient is not receiving the maximum shelter amount, the shelter allowance can be adjusted retroactively up to the maximum amount allowable in the shelter table. If the average monthly amount input was too high, an overpayment will be established and recovery will commence.

Rental of Furnaces and Hot Water Heaters

The rental costs of furnaces, hot water heaters and other heating sources are included as part of the shelter allowance up to the maximum shelter allowance.

Shared Accommodation

When a recipient is residing with another adult person(s), who is not a member of the benefit unit, the amount payable for heating is the total cost divided by the number of adults to derive an equal share for heating costs.

Wood as Home Heating Fuel

In cases where a recipient cuts his/her own wood (that is, has no cost for the wood itself) for a fuel source, he/she is allowed a deemed amount for expenses to cover the cost of cutting and transporting the wood as set out in the following table.

Where wood is purchased from a supplier, the actual cost is to be included in the shelter costs up to the maximum.

Annual Amount Deemed By Type of Residence

(Where Applicant/Recipient Cuts His/Her Own Wood)

Number of Rooms

Detached Houses In territorial district

Detached Houses Not in territorial district

Semi-detached, duplex, quadruplex, row housing, apartments, rooms, flats In territorial district

Semi-detached, duplex, quadruplex, row housing, apartments, rooms, flats Not in territorial district

1

$111

$87

$87

$62

2

$161

$111

$111

$87

3

$210

$148

$161

$111

4

$260

$185

$210

$148

5

$309

$222

$260

$185

6+

$358

$260

$309

$222

(Note: The term “territorial district” used in the table refers to Algoma, Cochrane, Kenora, Manitoulin, Muskoka, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Rainy River, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, and Timiskaming. These 10 territorial districts are set out in the Territorial Division Act, R.S.O. 1990.)

Purchasing Wood or Oil for Heat Upfront in the Beginning of Winter

Where there is not enough room in the shelter allowance to cover the full cost of a large supply of wood or oil in one month, the full cost may be averaged over the period of time that the large supply of wood or oil is expected to last and added to the shelter allowance. For example, if the large supply of wood/oil costs $300 and is expected to last for three months, $100 should be added to the shelter allowance up to the maximum for three months.

Exceptionally High Heating Costs

In the months where the cost to heat the primary residence exceeds the maximum shelter allowance, the actual cost to heat the residence is allowed as the cost of. shelter even if it exceeds the maximum set out in the shelter table.

In these exceptional situations, a recipient’s budgetary requirements would consist of the basic needs allowance plus the actual cost to heat the residence. Heating costs are assessed in the month they occur and are not averaged over a 12 month period.

Family Size: 2 People

Family Size: 2 people

$769 - Maximum Shelter Allowance

$525 - Shelter costs (rent/mortgage)
$100 - Fuel costs for heating
$625 - Total shelter costs with fuel

The shelter allowance would be $625. The cost of shelter plus the costs to heat the primary residence is less than the maximum shelter allowance.

$769 - Maximum Shelter Allowance

$525 - Shelter costs (rent/mortgage)
$800 - Fuel costs for heating
$800 - Total Shelter costs

The shelter allowance would be the actual cost of fuel, which is $800 even though this amount exceeds the maximum shelter for a family size of two.

Energy-Conservation

A recipient may be issued a one-time payment of up to $50 assist with the payment of low-cost energy-conservation measures to his/her principal residence. All recipients who own and reside in their principal residence as well as those who reside in a rental unit are eligible for the benefit (where it is clear that the landlord is not responsible for the requested items.

Examples of low-cost energy-conservation measures include. sealing or weather-stripping around doors and windows, insulating hot water pipes and hot water tanks, insulating blankets for electric water heaters, fluorescent light bulbs, clothes line/rack and clothes pins (see Directive 9.16 Discretionary Benefit For Low-Cost Energy-Conservation Measures).

Related Directives:

3.1 Reviewing Eligibility
6.2 Shelter Calculation
9.5 Utilities
9.16 Discretionary Benefit For Low-Cost Energy-Conservation Measures

Bulletins:

21-2000
2004-09

Septembre 2017

9.3 Coût du chauffage

Résumé de la politique

Le coût de l’énergie pour chauffer une résidence principale est inclus dans le calcul des coûts du logement, jusqu’à concurrence de l’allocation de logement maximale. Si le coût du chauffage dépasse à lui seul l’allocation de logement maximale, le montant payable est égal au coût du chauffage réel.

Autorisation législative

Dispositions 31 (1)10, 31 (2)4 et 45.2 du Règlement pris en application de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées

Résumé de la directive

Lorsque le coût du chauffage n’est pas compris dans le montant du loyer, il faut l’ajouter au calcul des coûts du logement jusqu’à concurrence de l’allocation de logement maximale selon la taille de la famille.

Cela s’applique sauf lorsque le coût du chauffage dépasse à lui seul les coûts du logement. Si le coût du chauffage dépasse à lui seul l’allocation de logement maximale, un montant égal au coût du chauffage réel est versé.

But général de la directive

Aider à payer le coût du chauffage, lorsque ce coût n’est pas inclus dans le montant versé au titre du loyer ou des dépenses communes.

Application de la directive

Le coût du chauffage correspond au coût réel de chauffage de la résidence principale. Le coût du chauffage inclut le coût du mazout, du gaz, du propane, du kérosène, de l’électricité et du bois. Si l’allocation de logement n’est pas utilisée dans son intégralité, les coûts de chauffage peuvent aussi comprendre le dépôt de garantie au titre du raccordement au service énergétique pour le chauffage. Le coût du chauffage ne comprend pas les coûts de l’énergie liés à la cuisson des aliments, au chauffage de l’eau et à l’éclairage, qui sont considérés comme des services publics.

Si la personne bénéficiaire paie séparément le coût du chauffage, il faut déterminer le coût de chauffage réel (pour les membres du groupe de prestataires) et obtenir une confirmation. Le coût du chauffage est ajouté au loyer ou au paiement hypothécaire pour calculer l’allocation de logement jusqu’à concurrence du maximum selon la taille de la famille. La TPS relative au coût du chauffage du logement est incluse dans le calcul des coûts du logement. Les frais de paiement en retard ne doivent pas être inclus dans le calcul des coûts du logement.

Lorsque le coût du chauffage pour la période visée a augmenté

Sur demande ou au moment de la mise à jour, les coûts du logement sont réévalués pour la période visée afin de vérifier que le bon montant d’aide a été fourni. Il convient de vérifier le coût du chauffage afin de déterminer si le montant mensuel moyen correspondant au coût du chauffage était trop élevé ou trop bas. S’il était trop bas et que la personne bénéficiaire ne reçoit pas l’allocation de logement maximale, l’allocation de logement peut être révisée rétroactivement jusqu’à concurrence du maximum permis selon le tableau de l’allocation de logement. Si le montant était trop élevé, il faut établir le paiement excédentaire et amorcer le processus de recouvrement.

Location d’un appareil de chauffage et d’un chauffe-eau

Le coût de location d’une chaudière ou d’un autre type d’appareil de chauffage et d’un chauffe-eau est inclus dans l’allocation de logement jusqu’à concurrence de l’allocation de logement maximale.

Logement partagé

Lorsque la personne bénéficiaire habite avec une ou plusieurs personnes adultes qui ne sont pas membres du groupe de prestataires, le montant payable pour le chauffage est le coût total divisé par le nombre d’adultes. On arrive ainsi à des parts égales pour le coût du chauffage.

Utilisation du bois pour le chauffage domestique

Si la personne bénéficiaire coupe son propre bois de chauffage (c’est-à-dire que le bois ne lui coûte rien), elle a droit à un certain montant au titre des dépenses de coupe et de transport du bois, comme prévu dans le tableau ci-après.

Les personnes bénéficiaires qui achètent leur bois ont droit à l’inclusion dans leurs coûts du logement du montant réel dépensé pour le bois, jusqu’à concurrence de leur allocation de logement maximale.

Montant annuel présumé du bois selon le type d’habitation

Nombre de pièces Maison individuelle Dans le district territorial Maison individuelle À l’extérieur du district territorial Maison jumelée, duplex, quadruplex, maison en rangée, appartement, chambre Dans le district territorial Maison jumelée, duplex, quadruplex, maison en rangée, appartement, chambre À l’extérieur du district territorial
1 111 $ 87 $ 87 $ 62 $
2 161 $ 111 $ 111 $ 87 $
3 210 $ 148 $ 161 $ 111 $
4 260 $ 185 $ 210 $ 148 $
5 309 $ 222 $ 260 $ 185 $
6+ 358 $ 260 $ 309 $ 222 $

(N.B. : Le terme « district territorial » renvoie à Algoma, Cochrane, Kenora, Manitoulin, Muskoka, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Rainy River, Sudbury, Thunder Bay et Timiskaming. Ces dix districts territoriaux sont établis aux termes de la Loi sur la division territoriale, L.R.O. de 1990.)

Achat de bois ou de mazout à l’avance, au début de l’hiver

Lorsque l’allocation de logement ne couvre pas le coût total d’une grande quantité de bois ou de mazout achetée dans un mois, le coût total peut être réparti sur la période au cours de laquelle cette réserve de bois ou de mazout devrait durer, ce montant étant ajouté à l’allocation de logement. Par exemple, si la réserve de bois ou de mazout coûte 300 $, et que l’on s’attend à ce qu’elle dure trois mois, une somme de 100 $ devrait être ajoutée à l’allocation de logement, jusqu’à concurrence du montant maximal, pendant trois mois.

Coût du chauffage exceptionnellement élevé

Pour les mois au cours desquels le coût du chauffage de la résidence principale dépasse l’allocation de logement maximale, le coût réel du chauffage est accepté dans le coût du logement, même s’il dépasse le maximum fixé dans le tableau du coût du logement.

Dans ces situations exceptionnelles, les besoins matériels de la personne bénéficiaire consisteraient en l’allocation de base plus le coût réel du chauffage de la résidence. Les coûts de chauffage sont évalués pour le mois pendant lequel ils sont payés et ils ne font pas l’objet d’une répartition proportionnelle sur une période de douze mois.

Taille de la famille: 2 personnes

Taille de la famille: 2 personnes

769 $ - Allocation de logement maximale

525 $ - Coût du logement (loyer/hypothèque)
100 $ - Coût du chauffage
625 $ - Coûts totaux du logement incluant le chauffage

L’allocation de logement versée serait de 625 $. Le total du coût du logement et du coût du chauffage de la résidence principale est moins élevé que l’allocation de logement maximale.

769 $ - Allocation de logement maximal

525 $ - Coût du logement (loyer/hypothèque)
800 $ - Coût du chauffage
800 $ - Coûts totaux du logement

L’allocation de logement correspondrait au coût du chauffage réel, soit 800 $, même si ce montant dépasse l’allocation maximale de logement pour une famille comptant deux personnes.

Conservation de l’énergie

La personne bénéficiaire peut recevoir un paiement unique d’au plus 50 $ au titre de la mise en œuvre de mesures peu coûteuses de conservation de l’énergie dans sa résidence principale. Toutes les personnes bénéficiaires qui sont propriétaires de leur résidence principale et qui y résident de même que celles qui louent un logement ont droit à ce paiement (s’il est manifeste que la ou le propriétaire n’est pas responsable des éléments demandés).

Exemples de mesures peu coûteuses de conservation de l’énergie : étanchéification ou installation de coupe‑froid autour des portes et des fenêtres, isolation des tuyaux d’eau chaude et du réservoir à eau chaude, matelas isolant pour les chauffe-eau électriques, ampoules pour lampes fluorescentes, cordes à linge ou étendoirs et épingles à linge (voir la directive 9.16 Prestation discrétionnaire relative à des mesures peu coûteuses de conservation de l’énergie).

Directives connexes:

3.1 Réexamen de l'admissibilité
6.2 Montant payable à l’égard du logement
9.5 Services publics
9.16 Prestation discrétionnaire relative à des mesures peu coûteuses de conservation de l’énergie

Bulletins:

21-2000
2004-09