February 2017

5.11 Farm Income

Legislative Authority

Section 7(3) of the Act.
Sections 39(1), 48 and 54(1)1 and 54(1)6 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Random file reviews are completed to ensure that:

  • a current Canada Revenue Agency Statement of Farming Activities form (T2042) or other suitable document is on file to determine income;
  • monthly verification of the farm revenues and expenses are reviewed and on file;
  • documentation is present to show that a participant is not eligible as a self-employed farm operator for a period greater than sixty weeks unless an extension has been approved and is documented; and
  • follow-ups have taken place and are documented.

Application of Policy

Farming can be an approved employment assistance activity if it is determined to be a viable means of employment.

A distinction is made between people who have an interest in the operation of a farm as a business and those who are considered to be employees.

Operating a farm as a business is considered a form of self-employment if the farm operation has been determined to be a viable means of employment.

Applicants or recipients who have an interest in the operation of a farm as a business obtain their income from farming activities such as, but not limited to: dairy farming; fruit and/or vegetable growing; soil tilling; raising or exhibiting livestock; maintaining horses for racing; raising poultry; fur farming; and bee keeping. Income generated from these activities is considered farm income and approved farm expenses are deducted when determining eligibility for assistance.

Farm employees receive wages or salaries from a farmer. These earnings are considered employment income and as such, farm expenses cannot be deducted from this income.

Both farm employees and those with income from operating a farm may be eligible for earnings exemptions (see Directive 5.3: Earnings Exemptions for more information).

Farm income is calculated by taking the amount of gross farm income and subtracting approved farm expenses, to get the net farm income. Earnings exemptions may then be applied to the net farm income.

The net farm income is used when determining eligibility for assistance, and when applying any earnings exemptions. Any meat or produce grown for the applicant or recipient's own consumption is not considered when determining net income.

To determine net farm income, the worker totals the amount of income reported in the completed Business Income and Expenses Report or the Canada Revenue Agency Statement of Farming Activities form (T2042) and subtracts the approved expenses to determine the net farm income. Farm income is considered as income in the month received. Farm income cannot be averaged over a period of time.

Applicants or recipients engaged in the operation of a farm are required to submit monthly verification of farm revenues and expenses as well as other available income (e.g., rental income).

Recipients operating a farm as a business are required to follow record keeping standards as set out in the Self-Employment Guidelines. The Canada Revenue Agency Statement of Farming Activities form (T2042) completed by most farmers can also be reviewed when determining income.

As a requirement for eligibility, an applicant or recipient is required to access all available sources of income to which they may be eligible. Taking into account the length of time a recipient has been in receipt of social assistance, the feasibility of renting out uncultivated farmland should be considered. Where farmland is rented out, any income earned should be included in the farmer's net farm income.

Any money received from grants or subsidies from the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs is considered as income.
A recipient may not remain eligible as a self-employed farm operator for a period greater than sixty weeks unless an extension is approved. The viability of the farm should be reconsidered when determining approval for a twelve-week extension to the sixty-week time limit.

Approved Farm Expenses

Approved farm expenses can vary for each farm operation. When determining approved expenses necessary for the operation of the farm, the following criteria should be met:

  • the expense maintains or increases the likelihood of earning income from the farm; and
  • the item or service is purchased on a "best buy" basis (i.e. the cost is not unusually high or inflated).

Administrators in First Nations and northern communities have the discretion to exercise flexibility when approving employment activities and/or expenses based on cultural and geographic considerations in order to support employment outcomes for clients.
If the item or service is not expected to earn or increase farm income, then it is not an approved expense. Approved farm expenses include the following:

Advertising

Costs of flyers, brochures, business cards and any other costs directly linked to advertising.

Bank Charges on Farm Accounts

Costs of certifying cheques and other bank service fees (not including bank charges related to "not sufficient funds" (NSF) cheques.

Book-keeping, Legal Fees and Office Supplies

Book-keeping fees, legal fees and office supplies necessary for the operation of the farm

Canada Pension Plan (CPP)

Contributions made to the Canada Pension Plan.

Custom and Contract Work

Costs associated with utilizing the services of additional persons to assist in harvesting the crop, or a skilled person or specialized equipment operator (e.g., a custom combine operator) to complete work. The recipient may hire the individual, who is not a member of the benefit unit, for a specific skill and specific job only.

The recipient is required to show documentation to indicate the amount the contractor is paid and how they will be paid (e.g., certain amount of money up front, balance upon completion of the job that they are hired for) and the completion date. This procedure should be followed each time custom or contract work is required to complete farm activities. The contracting of these services should occur infrequently and should involve on-going contractual agreements.

Delivery, Freight or Express Costs to Deliver or Receive Goods

Expenses for delivery, freight or express costs to deliver or receive goods include the costs incurred to ship items for sale, or the costs of handling of goods used to generate income for the farm.

Employment Insurance

Costs associated with contributing to Employment Insurance special benefits (i.e. maternity benefits, paternity benefits, sickness benefits, and compassionate care benefits) are considered an allowable expense. This includes contributions that are made voluntarily, as well as those that are required by the federal government.

Equipment

Costs of items rented or leased for the farm operation (e.g., machinery) on a monthly rental basis.

Farm Insurance

Cost of insurance for fire, theft, liability, buildings, and crops and livestock. If the farm is located on the applicant or recipient's principal residence, only the difference between home and farm insurance is deductible.

Farm Supplies

Costs of supplies purchased for use in the operation of the farm including, but not limited to: containers, twine and bailing wire; feed, supplements, straw and bedding; fertilizers and lime; livestock (e.g., cattle, horses, poultry, sheep and lambs, and swine); fungicides, herbicides, insecticides, pesticides; seeds and plants; and veterinary fees, medicine and breeding fees.

In-kind or Bartered Items

Costs associated with transactions involving in-kind exchange, barter or exchange of goods or services (where no money is exchanged). A cash value should be established and included as farm income and a corresponding farm expense can be assessed against the bartered, in-kind item.

Licenses or Required Fees for Membership In Trade

Costs of vendor licenses, building permits and memberships in trade or commercial associations. Club memberships for personal or recreational use are not an approved expense.

Maintenance of Land

Costs incurred for clearing, levelling or improving land, provided the land is being cultivated or will be cultivated as a result of the improvement. Costs incurred for a land drainage system, including tile drainage, may also be considered farm expenses. Verification of the necessity should be made prior to approving the expense.

Municipal Property Taxes

Costs of taxes incurred from carrying out the farm operation on premises other than the recipient's principal residence. Only the farm portion of municipal property taxes is considered an expense where the recipient who is farming also resides on the farm.

Rent and Mortgage Costs for Farm Premises

Costs for farm premises include the costs of rent and mortgage (principal and interest) costs on the farm property. No portion of residential costs may be deducted from farm earnings.

Repair and Maintenance to Equipment

Repair and maintenance to equipment expenses are the costs of any maintenance or repairs required to the farm and/or farm equipment (e.g., machinery, fence repairs, building repairs, etc.). The necessity for the repair, including existing repairs that are required, should be reviewed before considering the expense as approved.

Telephone Expenses

Costs for a business line to support the operation of the farm. Costs associated with a residential line are not considered farm expenses. The costs of certain business-like telephone features (e.g., call answer, call display, etc.) on a residential line may be deducted as a business expense.

Other expenses such as answering machines, pagers, a fax line, and/or an internet connection may also be considered as a farm expense if they are considered vital to the farming operation.

Utility Expenses

Costs of heating, water and electricity required for the farm where it is operating separate from the principal residence. Utility expenses may be deducted only to the extent they were incurred to operate the farm

Personal Vehicles

Expenses for personal vehicles are the travel (mileage) and ownership costs necessary to operate the farm and generate income. Where use of a personal vehicle is necessary, a record of travel (i.e., a travel log) should be maintained by the participant.
For passenger cars, light trucks and vans, the per kilometre rate is 41 cents in North and Northeast Regions and 40 cents in the rest of Ontario.

Expenses incurred travelling from home to the place of the farm operation are not deductible. No additional vehicle expenses (e.g., parking, repairs, depreciation, etc.) are approved when personal vehicles are used. Expenses for travel costs are presumed to cover the farm-related portions of fuel, vehicle maintenance and insurance.

Farm Vehicles

Vehicles necessary for the operation of the farm and used exclusively on the farm (e.g., tractor, combine, etc.), are considered tools of the trade and are exempt assets.

Farm vehicles should be owned or leased and operated by the person who is the self-employed farmer. The self-employed farmer is required to make a declaration confirming the vehicle's use. If these conditions are not met, then the personal vehicle policy applies.
When the vehicle is used exclusively for the farm, approved costs include: current and necessary maintenance and repairs; fuel costs including gasoline, diesel and oil; insurance; leasing or loan repayments; and licence and registration fees. The kilometre rates used for personal vehicles do not apply to farm vehicles.

The self-employed participant is expected to maintain a travel log confirming the vehicle's use. The participant should be asked to submit a statement confirming the vehicle's odometer reading. This information may be crossed-referenced with the distance travelled as recorded in the travel log.

Unapproved Farm Expenses

Unapproved farm expenses may be incurred by the farm operator, but are not approved as farm expenses for the purposes of determining net farm income.

Depreciation

Depreciation on farm assets and vehicles is not an approved expense for the purpose of determining net farm income.
Asset purchases and sales are reported and treated on a cash basis. Therefore, the cost of an asset is recognized when it is first incurred.

Entertainment and Gifts

Expenditures on entertainment (e.g., meals) and gifts are not approved expenses.

Farm losses are not approved expenses. A farm will often lose money in a given calendar month especially in the early stages of operation. In this case the farm income is recorded as $0. Losses may not be carried forward to offset earnings in future periods.

Personal Draws and Owner's Withdrawals

A personal draw or withdrawal by the farm owner is not an approved farm expense and should be included as earned income to the farm owner.

Wages Paid to Members of the Benefit Unit

Wages paid to employees of the farm who are a part of the benefit unit, including the recipient, and/or dependent children, are not approved expenses.

Related payroll expenses (e.g., income tax, EI, CPP, Workplace Safety and Insurance Benefits, etc.) for any member of the benefit unit that is an employee of the farm are also not approved expenses. The participant may deem this expense as necessary, however, it is considered as earned income.

Treatment of Assets

Tools of the Trade Exemption

Machinery, equipment and other items required to generate income from a farming operation are considered "tools of the trade" and therefore exempt as assets.

Closing the Farm

If an applicant or participant states they are closing the farm, the assets directly related to the farm such as inventory, farm equipment, and items not considered tools of the trade should be liquidated.

Closing the farm or turning the farm over to a third party would not necessarily mean ongoing eligibility for assistance. Any income received from the liquidation of farm assets is considered as income.

If an applicant or participant states they are closing the farm, a grace period of six months shall be given to arrange the liquidation of the assets. When determining an applicant or participant's financial need, the assets directly relating to the farm such as tools, farm equipment or office supplies are considered as exempt for a six month period.

Février 2016

5.11 Revenu agricole

Compétence législative

Paragraphe 7 (3) de la Loi.
Paragraphe 39 (1), article 48, et dispositions 1 et 6 du paragraphe 54 (1) du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s’assurer de ce qui suit :

  • un État des résultats des activités d’une entreprise agricole (T2042) de l’Agence du revenu du Canada, ou un autre document pertinent à la détermination du revenu se trouve dans les dossiers;
  • les relevés du revenu et des dépenses agricoles ont fait l’objet de contrôles mensuels et ont été versés au dossier;
  • des documents ont été versés au dossier pour indiquer qu’une personne qui participe au programme n’est pas admissible à titre d’exploitant agricole indépendant pendant une période supérieure à 60 semaines, sauf si une demande de prorogation a été approuvée et est documentée;
  • des mesures de suivi ont été prises et sont documentées.

Application de la directive

L’agriculture peur être une activité d’aide à l’emploi approuvée s’il est établi qu’il s’agit d’un moyen d’emploi viable.

Une distinction est établie entre les personnes qui ont un intérêt sur l’exploitation agricole comme entreprise et celles qui sont considérées comme des employés.

L’exploitation d’une entreprise agricole est considérée comme une forme de travail indépendant s’il est établi qu’il s’agit d’un moyen d’emploi viable.

Les personnes qui font une demande ou qui sont bénéficiaires et qui ont un intérêt sur l’exploitation agricole comme entreprise tirent notamment leur revenu des activités suivantes : production laitière, culture des fruits et des légumes, labourage du sol, élevage ou exposition du bétail, entretien de chevaux pour des courses, élevage de la volaille ou d’animaux à fourrure, et apiculture. Les revenus générés par ces activités sont considérés comme des revenus agricoles et les dépenses agricoles approuvées en sont déduites pour déterminer l’admissibilité à l’aide financière.

Les employés d’une exploitation agricole reçoivent un salaire d’un exploitant agricole. Ces gains sont considérés comme un revenu d’emploi et, à ce titre, les dépenses agricoles ne peuvent être déduites de ce revenu.

Les employés d’une exploitation agricole et les personnes qui tirent leur revenu d’une exploitation agricole peuvent être admissibles à l’exemption de gains (voir la Directive 5.3 : Exemptions de gains pour un complément d’information).

Le revenu agricole est calculé en soustrayant les dépenses agricoles approuvées du revenu agricole brut afin de déterminer le revenu agricole net. Les exemptions de gains peuvent ensuite être appliquées au revenu agricole net.

Le revenu agricole net est utilisé pour déterminer l’admissibilité à l’aide financière et aux fins de l’application des exemptions de gains. Les viandes et produits cultivés à des fins de consommation personnelle n’entrent pas dans la détermination du revenu net.

Pour déterminer le revenu agricole net, l’intervenante ou l’intervenant fait le total des revenus déclarés dans le rapport de l’état du revenu et des dépenses ou État des résultats des activités d’une entreprise agricole (T2042) de l’Agence du revenu du Canada et soustrait les dépenses approuvées. Le revenu agricole est considéré comme un revenu pendant le mois où il est reçu et ne peut être étalé sur une période plus longue.

Les personnes qui présentent une demande ou qui sont bénéficiaires et qui s’occupent d’une exploitation agricole doivent présenter des relevés mensuels de leurs revenus et dépenses agricoles et de leurs autres revenus (p. ex., revenus de location).

Les bénéficiaires qui exploitent une entreprise agricole doivent respecter les normes de tenue des dossiers énoncées dans les directives en matière de travail indépendant. L’État des résultats des activités d’une entreprise agricole (formule T2042) de l’Agence du revenu du Canada que remplissent la plupart des exploitants agricoles peut également être examiné au moment de déterminer le revenu.

Pour être admissible, la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire doit accéder à toutes les sources de revenu disponibles auxquelles elle peut avoir droit. Compte tenu de la durée de la période de prestations, la possibilité de louer la partie de la terre agricole qui n’est pas cultivée devrait être envisagée. Les revenus tirés de la location de terres agricoles, le cas échéant, doivent être inclus dans le revenu agricole net de l’exploitant agricole.

Toute subvention reçue du ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, est considérée comme un revenu.
La durée de l’admissibilité de la ou du bénéficiaire à titre d’exploitant agricole indépendant ne dépasse pas 60 semaines, sauf si une prorogation est approuvée. La viabilité de l’exploitation agricole est prise en compte dans l’approbation d’une prorogation de 12 semaines du plafond fixé à 60 semaines.

Dépenses agricoles approuvées

Les dépenses agricoles approuvées peuvent varier considérablement selon les exploitations agricoles. Pour établir les dépenses approuvées nécessaires à l’exploitation de la ferme, les critères suivants doivent être remplis :

  • les dépenses garantissent ou augmentent les possibilités pour l’exploitante ou l’exploitant agricole de gagner un revenu;
  • les produits ou services sont achetés au meilleur prix (les coûts ne sont pas anormalement élevés ou gonflés).

Les administrateurs des Premières nations et des collectivités du Nord disposent de la latitude voulue pour approuver des activités ou des dépenses d’emploi en fonction de considérations culturelles et géographiques afin de favoriser l’obtention de résultats positifs en matière d’emploi pour les clients.

Si le produit ou le service acheté n’est pas susceptible de produire un revenu agricole ou d’accroître un tel revenu, il n’est pas reconnu comme dépense approuvée. Les dépenses agricoles approuvées comprennent ce qui suit :

Publicité

Production de dépliants, de cartes d’affaires ou de brochures et tout autre coût directement lié à la publicité.

Frais bancaires sur les comptes d’exploitations agricoles

Frais rattachés à l’émission de chèques visés et autres frais de service, mais non les frais bancaires pour les chèques sans provision.

Honoraires juridiques et de tenue de livres et fournitures de bureau

Honoraires juridiques, frais de tenue de livres et coût des fournitures de bureau nécessaires à l’exploitation de la ferme.
Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC)

Contributions au Régime de pensions du Canada.

Travail à forfait et à contrat

Coûts associés aux services d’autres personnes pour aider aux récoltes, de personnes qualifiées ou de conducteurs de matériel spécialisé (comme une moissonneuse-batteuse) pour effectuer un travail. Cependant, ces personnes ne peuvent être embauchées que pour leurs compétences particulières et un travail précis et ne doivent pas être membres du groupe de prestataires.

Les bénéficiaires doivent présenter la documentation indiquant le montant qui sera versé à l’entrepreneur, les modalités de paiement (p. ex., un acompte et le solde à la fin du travail) et la date d’achèvement du travail. Il faut suivre ce processus chaque fois que du travail à façon et à forfait est nécessaire pour réaliser des activités agricoles. Ce genre de travail ne devrait pas être fréquent et devrait être assujetti à un contrat permanent.

Frais de livraison et de transport (livraison ou réception de marchandises)

Les frais de livraison et de transport de marchandises, par voie ordinaire ou express, y compris l’acheminement d’articles vendus vers leurs acheteurs et toute manutention requise en vue de tirer un revenu de l’entreprise agricole.

Assurance-emploi

Les coûts liés aux cotisations relatives aux prestations spéciales de l’Assurance-emploi (prestations de maternité, de paternité, de maladie et de compassion) sont des dépenses admissibles. Cela comprend les cotisations volontaires ainsi que celles qui sont exigées par le gouvernement fédéral.

Matériel

Coûts mensuels de location du matériel nécessaire à l’exploitation de l’entreprise agricole.

Assurance

Primes de l’assurance contre les incendies et le vol, de l’assurance responsabilité civile, de l’assurance immobilière, de l’assurance-récolte et de l’assurance du bétail. Si la ferme est située à la résidence principale de la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire, seule la différence entre l’assurance agricole et l’assurance habitation est déductible.

Fournitures

Le coût des fournitures achetées pour l’exploitation de la ferme, entre autres : les contenants, la ficelle et la broche à foin; les aliments et les suppléments pour animaux, la paille et la litière; les engrais et la chaux; le bétail (p. ex., chevaux, bovins, porcs, volaille, ovins); les pesticides, herbicides, insecticides et fongicides; les semences et les plantes; les honoraires des vétérinaires, les frais de médicaments et les droits de monte.

Paiements en nature ou troc

Coûts associés aux opérations commerciales comportant des échanges en nature, un troc ou l’échange de biens ou de services (sans échange d’argent). Une valeur monétaire doit être établie et incluse dans le revenu agricole, et des dépenses connexes peuvent être imputées aux biens échangés ou troqués.

Permis, droits et cotisations

Le coût des permis de vente, des permis de construire et des droits d’adhésion à une association professionnelle. Les droits d’adhésion à des clubs de loisirs ou culturels ne sont pas des dépenses admissibles.

Entretien de la terre

Les coûts engagés pour le défrichement, le nivellement ou la valorisation des biens-fonds à condition que le terrain soit actuellement ou ultérieurement cultivé par suite des améliorations apportées. Les coûts engagés pour l’aménagement d’un système de drainage, notamment les tuyaux de drainage, peuvent aussi être considérés comme des dépenses agricoles. La nécessité de ces dépenses doit être établie avant leur approbation.

Impôts fonciers municipaux

Le coût associé aux impôts payés pour exploiter l’entreprise agricole ailleurs qu’à la résidence principale de la ou du bénéficiaire. Seule la partie agricole des impôts fonciers municipaux est considérée comme une dépense lorsque la ou le bénéficiaire qui fait de l’agriculture demeure également à la ferme.

Location de locaux servant à des fins agricoles

Le loyer et l’hypothèque (capital et intérêts) relatifs aux biens agricoles. Aucune partie du loyer résidentiel ne peut être déduite du revenu agricole.

Réparations et entretien du matériel

Les frais d’entretien ou de réparation de la ferme ou du matériel agricole (p. ex., machines, clôtures, bâtiments). Il faut évaluer la nécessité des réparations, y compris des réparations en cours, avant d’approuver la dépense.

Frais téléphoniques

Les coûts d’une ligne d’affaires nécessaire à l’exploitation de l’entreprise agricole. Les coûts associés à une ligne résidentielle ne sont pas considérés comme une dépense agricole. Le coût de certains services téléphoniques à usage commercial (TéléRéponse, afficheur, etc.) installés sur une ligne résidentielle peut être déduit à titre de dépense d’entreprise.

D’autres dépenses (répondeurs, téléavertisseurs, coût d’une ligne pour télécopieur, Internet) peuvent être considérées comme des dépenses agricoles si elles sont jugées indispensables aux activités de l’exploitation agricole.

Services publics

Les dépenses de l’exploitation agricole au titre du chauffage, de l’eau et de l’électricité si les activités agricoles sont exercées dans un lieu distinct de la résidence principale. Les dépenses des services publics ne peuvent être déduites que si elles ont été engagées pour l’exploitation de l’entreprise agricole.

Véhicules personnels

Coûts des déplacements (kilométrage) et de propriété nécessaires pour exploiter l’entreprise agricole et générer des revenus. Les personnes qui participent au programme et qui ont besoin d’un véhicule doivent tenir un registre de leurs déplacements (p. ex., un journal de frais de déplacement).

Dans le cas des voitures particulières, des camionnettes et des fourgonnettes, le taux de remboursement est de 41 cents dans les régions du Nord et du Nord-Est et de 40 cents dans le reste de l’Ontario.

Les dépenses engagées au titre des déplacements entre la maison et l’exploitation agricole ne sont pas déductibles. Aucune dépense additionnelle (p. ex., stationnement, réparations, dépréciation, etc.) n’est approuvée en cas d’utilisation de voitures particulières. Les dépenses au titre des frais de déplacement sont réputées couvrir la partie agricole des frais liés au carburant, à l’entretien des véhicules et aux assurances.

Véhicules commerciaux

Les véhicules qui sont nécessaires à l’exploitation de l’entreprise agricole et qui servent exclusivement à l’entreprise (p. ex., tracteur, moissonneuse-batteuse, etc.) sont considérés comme des outils du métier et constituent un revenu exempté.

La travailleuse indépendante ou le travailleur indépendant doit être propriétaire ou locataire des véhicules utilisés et faire une déclaration confirmant l’utilisation du véhicule. Si ces conditions ne sont pas respectées, le politique relative aux voitures particulières s’applique.

Lorsque le véhicule est réservé exclusivement à l’entreprise agricole, les coûts approuvés comprennent les frais liés à l’entretien et aux réparations courants et nécessaires, le coût du carburant, à savoir l’essence, le diesel et l’huile à moteur, les assurances, les crédits-bails et le remboursement de prêts ainsi que les droits d’enregistrement et d’immatriculation. Les taux de déplacement au kilomètre qui s’appliquent aux voitures particulières ne s’appliquent pas aux véhicules servant à des fins agricoles.

Les personnes qui participent au programme et qui exercent un travail indépendant doivent tenir un journal de leurs déplacements confirmant l’utilisation du véhicule à des fins professionnelles et présenter un relevé de l’odomètre. Ces renseignements peuvent être comparés aux distances parcourues indiquées dans le journal des déplacements.

Dépenses d’entreprise non approuvées

Ces dépenses peuvent être engagées par l’exploitante ou l’exploitant agricole, mais elles ne sont pas admissibles à titre de dépenses agricoles aux fins de la détermination du revenu d’entreprise net.

Amortissement

L’amortissement de l’actif de l’entreprise agricole et des véhicules n’est pas une dépense approuvée aux fins de la détermination du revenu net d’entreprise.

L’achat et la vente d’éléments d’actif sont comptabilisés et traités selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse, c’est-à-dire que les coûts sont comptabilisés dès leur engagement

Frais de représentation et dons

Les frais de représentation (p. ex., repas) et les dons ne sont pas des dépenses approuvées.

Pertes

Les pertes subies par l’entreprise agricole ne sont pas des dépenses approuvées. Les exploitations agricoles accusent souvent des pertes certains mois, surtout pendant les premières étapes de leur développement. Dans ce cas, le revenu d’entreprise à consigner est 0 $. Les pertes ne peuvent pas être reportées sur une période ultérieure, c’est-à-dire en compensation de gains ultérieurs.

Prélèvements personnels et retraits par les propriétaires

Ils ne constituent pas une dépense agricole approuvée et ils doivent figurer dans le revenu gagné de l’exploitante ou de l’exploitant.

Versements aux membres du groupe de prestataires

Les salaires versés aux employés de l’exploitation agricole qui font partie du groupe de prestataires, notamment à la ou au bénéficiaire et aux enfants à charge, ne constituent pas une dépense approuvée.

Les dépenses salariales connexes (p. ex., impôt sur le revenu, assurance-emploi, Régime de pensions du Canada, indemnisation des accidents du travail, etc.) pour tout membre du groupe de prestataires qui est un employé de l’exploitation agricole ne sont pas non plus des dépenses approuvées. Même si la personne qui participe au programme estime que ces dépenses sont nécessaires, celles-ci sont considérées comme un revenu gagné.

Traitement de l’avoir

Exemption relative aux outils du métier

Le matériel, l’outillage et les autres éléments requis pour tirer un revenu d’une exploitation agricole sont considérés comme des « outils du métier » et constituent donc un avoir exempté.

Liquidation de l’exploitation agricole

Si la personne qui présente une demande ou qui participe au programme déclare qu’elle ferme l’exploitation agricole, l’actif qui se rapporte directement à l’exploitation agricole tel que les stocks ou le matériel agricole et les articles non considérés comme des outils du métier doit être liquidé.

La personne qui ferme l’exploitation agricole ou qui la transfère à une tierce personne n’est pas nécessairement admissible à l’aide. Tout revenu tiré de la liquidation de l’actif agricole est considéré comme un revenu

Si la personne qui présente une demande ou qui participe au programme indique qu’elle ferme l’exploitation agricole, un délai de grâce de six mois lui est accordé pour procéder à la liquidation de l’actif. L’actif qui se rapporte directement à l’exploitation agricole tel que l’outillage, le matériel agricole ou les fournitures de bureau n’est pas pris en compte pour déterminer ses besoins pendant une période de six mois.