January 2017

5.2 Assignments

Legislative Authority

Sections 7(1), 7(2), 7(3), 13, 16(1), and 19(2) of the Act.

Sections 13, 15 and 15.1 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Random file reviews are completed to ensure that:

  • documentation is on file to support decisions;
  • required forms are complete, on file and signed by the applicant, spouse or dependent adult;
  • a copy of all completed forms has been provided to the applicant or recipient;
  • the amount recovered through the assignment, direction, or reimbursement is calculated accurately;
  • overpayments are established where required;
  • follow-ups are documented;
  • all assignments and directions are cancelled when a file is terminated; and
  • financial adjustments are made to subsidy claim forms to reflect money paid to the delivery agent or the applicant or recipient where income has been assigned.

Application of Policy

As a condition of eligibility for assistance every member of the benefit unit is required to pursue and report all sources of income that are, or will become, available to them.

In situations where a payment is or may become due and owing, eligibility for assistance is conditional upon a written agreement to reimburse all or part of the financial assistance paid.

An agreement to reimburse or an assignment is irrevocable. If an applicant or participant refuses to complete an agreement to reimburse or an assignment he/she is ineligible for assistance.

The agreement to reimburse may include:

  • a requirement to reimburse assistance paid during the period of time the benefit unit member is awaiting the expected income;
  • an authorization and direction to a person or agency (e.g., lawyer on behalf of the benefit unit member) to deduct and remit money directly to the delivery agent; or
  • an assignment to the delivery agent.

All required forms must be completed and signed by the member of the benefit unit (or person authorized to act for that member) that is expecting the payment.

Where assignments are not honoured or reimbursement is not received, an overpayment is established (see Directive 9.3: Recovery of Overpayments for more information).

If a third party or person acting on behalf of a benefit unit member fails to deduct and remit money to the delivery agent, the benefit unit member remains eligible for assistance. However, if money is received that has been assigned and is not repaid to the delivery agent, an overpayment is established.

Where an agreement to reimburse or an assignment, authorization and direction is in place and the file is being transferred from Ontario Works to the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP), all assignments and directions are closed in Ontario Works as of the last day of the month prior to the ODSP date of grant. The assignment or direction will be opened in ODSP as of the ODSP date of grant.

Ontario Works applicants and participants who apply to the ODSP and use the one-time asset exemption must as a condition of eligibility agree to reimburse financial assistance if found ineligible for the ODSP (see Directive 2.4: Referrals to ODSP for more information).

An agreement to reimburse should not be completed if the payment is or becomes due and owing, and is exempt as income for the purposes of determining eligibility for assistance (e.g., an award for pain and suffering up to $25,000, the National Child Benefit Supplement (NCBS)).

Applicants and recipients are also not required to complete an assignment or agreement to reimburse in order to receive a Transition Child Benefit (TCB). In situations where a recipient receives a retroactive payment of the Ontario Child Benefit (OCB) and/or NCBS for the months in which a TCB has been paid, all or a portion of the TCB paid may be recovered through a reduction of budgetary requirements (see Directive 6.14: Recovery of Transition Child Benefit for more information).

Repayments

If a recipient or dependant receives assigned income, the amount of repayment is equal to the amount received for that month, up to the total amount of financial assistance paid to the recipient or benefit unit in that month.

The amount of assistance that the recipient is required to repay cannot exceed the amount of basic financial assistance issued for that month, including benefits. Retroactive income that is received for a period outside of the period that the recipient receives assistance is not subject to assignment. This income is not considered income in the month received, but is considered an asset in the following month.

Forms

Agreement to Reimburse (#2208 in English or #3048 in French)

In all cases where a payment is expected, an Agreement to Reimburse form is used to ensure that the applicant or recipient will reimburse the delivery agent when the income is received.

Assignment, Authorization and Direction (#2209)

An Assignment, Authorization and Direction form is used when a third person or agency receives and distributes money on behalf of a benefit unit member. This form authorizes a third party to pay the income to someone other than the benefit unit member and the direction authorizes payment to the specifically named delivery agent.

The following additional forms are required in relation to specific circumstances as noted:

Expected Compensation or Settlement Referral (#2749)

A person who suffers a loss as a result of the negligence or wrongful act of another person may be able to obtain compensation from the party responsible for the loss through court action. To ensure that the delivery agent is a party to the proceedings, an Expected Compensation or Settlement Referral form is to be completed and forwarded to the legal department of the delivery agent (see Directive 5.10: Subrogation for further information).

Canada Pension Plan (CPP) Consent to Deduction and Payment (#1613) and Authorization to Communicate Information (#1606)

A CPP Consent to Deduction and Payment form and an Authorization to Communicate Information form are completed when income is expected from the CPP.  Assignments of CPP income are effective the later of the date of eligibility for assistance or the date of eligibility for CPP.

Old Age Security (OAS) Consent to Deduction and Payment (#3010) and Authorization to Communicate Information (#3015)

An OAS Consent to Deduction and Payment form and an Authorization to Communicate Information form are completed when income is expected from OAS. Assignments of OAS income are effective the later of the date of eligibility for assistance or the date of eligibility for CPP.

Employment Insurance Assignment of Benefits (#3113)

Assignment of Benefits form is used when benefits are expected following an application made to Employment Insurance.

Assignment of Workplace Safety and Insurance (#0840)

An Assignment of Workplace Safety and Insurance form is completed and forwarded to the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) when income is expected from the WSIB.

Janvier 2017

5.2 Cessions

Compétence législative

Paragraphes 7 (1), 7 (2) et 7 (3), article 13, et paragraphes 16 (1) et 19 (2) de la Loi.
Articles 13, 15 et 15.1 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s’assurer de ce qui suit:

  • les documents appuyant les décisions prises figurent au dossier;
  • les formules requises figurent au dossier, sont complètes et sont signées par la personne qui fait la demande, sa conjointe ou son conjoint, ou la personne adulte à charge;
  • un double de toutes les formules remplies a été fourni à la personne qui fait la demande ou qui est bénéficiaire;
  • le montant recouvré en vertu d’une cession, d’une directive ou d’un remboursement a été calculé de façon exacte;
  • des paiements excédentaires sont établis au besoin;
  • les mesures de suivi sont documentées;
  • toutes les cessions et directives sont annulées à la fermeture d’un dossier;
  • des rajustements financiers sont faits aux formules de réclamation pour tenir compte des sommes versées à l’agent de prestation des services ou à la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire lorsqu’un revenu a été cédé.

Application de la directive

Pour être admissibles à l’aide au revenu, tous les membres du groupe de prestataires doivent accéder à toutes les sources de revenu qui sont et qui deviendront disponibles pour eux, et en rendre compte.

Dans les cas où un paiement est ou peut devenir dû et payable, l’admissibilité à l’aide est tributaire de la signature d’une convention de remboursement de la totalité ou d’une partie de l’aide financière versée.

La convention de remboursement ou la cession est irrévocable. La personne qui refuse de remplir une convention ou une formule de cession est inadmissible à l’aide.

La convention de remboursement peut comprendre :

  • une exigence demandant le remboursement de l’aide financière versée pendant la période au cours de laquelle le membre du groupe de prestataires attend le revenu prévu;
  • une autorisation et une directive, à l’intention d’une personne ou d’un organisme (p. ex., avocat représentant le membre du groupe de prestataires), de déduire la somme et de la verser directement à l’agent de prestation des services;
  • la cession à l’agent de prestation.

Tous les formulaires nécessaires doivent être remplis et signés par le membre du groupe de prestataires (ou la personne autorisée à le représenter) qui attend le paiement.

Lorsque les cessions ne sont pas respectées ou que les remboursements ne sont pas reçus, un paiement excédentaire est établi (voir la Directive 9.3 : Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires pour un complément d’information).

Si une tierce partie ou une personne représentant le membre du groupe de prestataires néglige de déduire et de remettre une somme d’argent à l’agent de prestation des services, le membre du groupe de prestataires demeure quand même admissible à l’aide. Cependant, si le membre du groupe de prestataires reçoit un revenu qui a fait l’objet d’une cession et néglige de rembourser les sommes dues à l’agent de prestation des services, un paiement excédentaire est établi.

Lorsqu’une convention de remboursement ou une cession ou une autorisation et une directive sont établies et que le dossier passe du programme Ontario au travail au Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH), toutes les cessions et directives sont annulées dans le programme Ontario au travail le dernier jour du mois précédant la date de prise d’effet de l’admissibilité au POSPH. Les cessions et directives sont établies dans le POSPH à la date de prise d’effet de l’admissibilité au POSPH.

Les personnes qui font une demande ou qui participent au programme Ontario au travail et qui présentent une demande au POSPH et utilisent l’exemption non renouvelable au titre de l’actif doivent, comme condition d’admissibilité, accepter de rembourser l’aide financière reçue si elles sont jugées inadmissibles au POSPH (voir la Directive 2.4 : Orientation vers le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH) pour un complément d’information).

Il n’est pas nécessaire de remplir une convention de remboursement si un paiement dû et exigible, ou sur le point de le devenir, constitue un revenu exempté pour la détermination de l’admissibilité à une aide (p. ex., les indemnités pour la douleur et les souffrances, jusqu’à concurrence de 25 000 $, le Supplément de la prestation nationale pour enfants [SPNE]).

Les personnes qui font une demande et les bénéficiaires ne sont pas tenus non plus de remplir une formule de cession ou une convention de remboursement pour recevoir la Prestation transitoire pour enfants (PTE). Dans les cas où une ou un bénéficiaire reçoit un paiement rétroactif de la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants (POE) ou du SPNE pour les mois au cours desquels une PTE a été versée, une partie ou la totalité de la PTE peut être recouvrée par une réduction des besoins matériels (voir la Directive 6.14 : Recouvrement de la Prestation transitoire pour enfants pour un complément d’information).

Remboursements

Si une ou un bénéficiaire ou encore une personne à sa charge reçoit un revenu qui fait l’objet d’une cession, le montant à rembourser est égal au moment reçu pendant ce mois, jusqu’à concurrence du montant total de l’aide financière versée à la ou au bénéficiaire ou au groupe de prestataires pendant le mois.

Le montant de l’aide que la ou le bénéficiaire est tenu de rembourser ne peut dépasser le montant de l’aide financière de base accordée, y compris les prestations. Le revenu rétroactif reçu à l’égard d’une période non comprise dans la période pendant laquelle la ou le bénéficiaire reçoit de l’aide ne fait pas l’objet d’une cession. Il n’est pas considéré comme un revenu reçu pendant ce mois, mais il est considéré comme un avoir le mois suivant.

Formules

Convention de remboursement (Formule 2208 en anglais ou 3048 en français)

Une convention de remboursement est remplie chaque fois que la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire prévoit toucher un revenu afin qu’elle rembourse à l’agent de prestation des services l’aide fournie.

Cession, autorisation et directive (Formule 2209)

La formule Cession, autorisation et directive est utilisée lorsqu’une autre personne ou un organisme reçoit et distribue un revenu au nom d’un membre du groupe de prestataires. La cession autorise une tierce partie à verser le revenu à une personne autre que le membre du groupe de prestataires et la directive autorise le versement de l’argent à l’agent de prestation des services expressément désigné.
Les formules suivantes sont également requises selon les circonstances :

Orientation en cas d’indemnité ou de règlement prévu (Formule 2749)

Une personne qui subit une perte à la suite de négligence ou d’un acte préjudiciable de la part d’une autre personne peut être admissible à une indemnité de la partie responsable de la perte par l’entremise d’une poursuite en justice. Pour faire en sorte que l’agent de prestation des services soit partie à l’instance, une formule Orientation en cas d’indemnité ou de règlement prévu doit être remplie et communiquée au service juridique de l’agent de prestation des services (voir la Directive 5.10 : Subrogation pour un complément d’information).

Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) - Consentement de déduction et de paiement (Formule 1613) et Autorisation de communiquer des renseignements (Formule 1606)

Les personnes qui attendent un revenu du RPC doivent remplir les formules Consentement de déduction et de paiement et Autorisation de communiquer des renseignements. La cession d’un revenu provenant du RPC entre en vigueur à la date de l’admissibilité à l’aide ou à la date de l’admissibilité au RPC, selon la dernière de ces dates.

Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV) - Consentement de déduction et de paiement (Formule 3010) et Autorisation de communiquer des renseignements (Formule 3015)

Les personnes qui attendent un revenu de la SV doivent remplir les formules Consentement de déduction et de paiement et Autorisation de communiquer des renseignements. La cession d’un revenu provenant de la SV entre en vigueur à la date de l’admissibilité à l’aide ou à la date de l’admissibilité au RPC, selon la dernière de ces dates.

Cession de prestations d’assurance-emploi (Formule 3113)

Une formule de cession de prestations doit être remplie lorsque des prestations d’assurance-emploi sont prévues.

Formule relative à la cession d’indemnité de sécurité professionnelle et d’assurance (Formule 0840)

Si une personne attend un revenu de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail, la formule relative à la cession d’indemnité de sécurité professionnelle et d’assurance (formule 0840) doit être remplie et remise à la Commission.