December 2016

5.4: Child Care Deductions

Legislative Authority

Section 7(1), 7(2), 7(3) and 16(1) of the Act.
Section 49(1) 53, and 55(1) of Regulation 134/98

Audit Requirements

Random file reviews are completed to ensure that:

  • child care expenses, such as receipts, income tax returns or a Child Care Receipt form (#2843), have been visually verified; and
  • all visually verified documents have been documented in the Social Assistance Management System (SAMS) or other file system used by a First Nations delivery agent.

Application of Policy

Child care expenses are payments made by an applicant or recipient in respect of a dependent child or a child on whose behalf Temporary Care Assistance is provided to a child care provider that enables the applicant or recipient to accept or maintain employment or participate in an employment assistance activity.

Child care expenses are deducted from an applicant or recipient’s net income from employment, a business, or a training program when determining eligibility for financial assistance. Where a recipient is also eligible for earnings exemptions, the child care deduction is applied after the earnings exemptions have been applied.

The recipient determines the type of child care provider [i.e., licensed, the Extended Day program (before and after school program), or unlicensed] that best meets his/her child care needs. The amount that may be deducted depends on the type of child care provider.

Child care expenses are not deductible when they are paid to a member of the same benefit unit, such as an older sibling, or to a person with a legal obligation to support the child, such as a parent.

In two parent families, where only one parent has earnings or training income, child care expenses are only allowed if the other parent is unable to provide child care due to participation in employment assistance activities. Where the Administrator is satisfied that circumstances prevent the parent from providing child care, expenses may be allowed.

Licensed Care

The allowable child care deduction for licensed child care is the actual amount paid by the recipient for each child in licensed care.

Licensed child care is provided by a child care provider licensed under the Child Care and Early Years Act to provide care for children under the age of 10 and/or children with special needs under the age of 18, and includes:

  • child care centres including integrated centres for children with special needs;
  • nursery schools;
  • private home day-care agencies; and
  • in-home services.

The Extended Day Program (the before and after school program)

The allowable child care deduction for the Extended Day program (the before and after school program) is the actual amount paid by the recipient for each child in care.

The Extended Day Program (the before and after school program) is provided by school boards under the Education Act as part of the Full-Day Early Learning Kindergarten Program.

Unlicensed (Informal) Child Care

The allowable child care deduction for informal child care is the actual amount paid by the recipient for each dependent child under the age of 18 up to a maximum amount of $600 per month per child.

Informal care providers do not need to be licensed under the Child Care and Early Years Act as long as care is provided to no more than five children under 10 years of age who are not of common parentage. Informal child care may be provided by a relative, friend, neighbour or other person providing child care services, but not a person legally obligated to support the child.

Informal child care may also include alternative care arrangements, such as after-school programs, parks and recreation programs, or camps.

Other Funding Sources

Child care expenses that are reimbursed by another funding source are not deductible from earnings or a training allowance unless they are exempt as income. If the funding received for child care exceeds the actual cost of licensed care, the actual cost of the Extended Day program (the before and after school program), or the maximum allowable deduction for informal care, the excess amount is considered income.

Where child care expenses are only partially reimbursed, the non-reimbursed portion is deducted up to the maximum amount provided for care, the Extended Day program (the before and after school program), or informal care.

Ontario Child Care Supplement for Working Families

The Ontario Child Care Supplement for Working Families (OCCS) is a tax-free monthly payment to help with the costs of raising children under the age of 7. A recipient may be eligible for the OCCS provided they have earnings or qualifying child care expenses.

Effective July 2008, the OCCS has been consolidated into the Ontario Child Benefit (OCB). OCCS benefits are reduced by the amount of OCB a family receives for each child under age seven. Families whose OCCS entitlement exceeds their OCB payment will continue to receive a supplementary OCCS payment until their dependent child turns seven or until the family is no longer entitled to receive the benefit.

The OCCS is exempt as income and allowable child care deductions are not reduced by the amount of the benefit.

Parental Relief

Under section 49 of the Ontario Disability Support Program Act, 1997, parental relief can be provided and is designed to give the parent(s) some time away from the strains of caring for a child with a severe disability. For parents with a child with a severe disability, parental relief is not considered to be a child care expense.

Advance (Up Front) Child Care Payment

The advance (up front) child care payment is a mandatory benefit that may be issued when an applicant or recipient is required to pay in advance for child care expenses that the administrator considers to be reasonably necessary to permit employment or participation in an employment assistance activity.

Recipients remain eligible for child care deductions if they have received an advance child care payment. However, advance child care payments are not deductible as child care expenses.

The advance child care payment (upfront childcare) may be issued in an amount determined by the Administrator, up to the maximum amount of child care deductions for licensed or informal care that the person would be entitled to in any 12-month period. The benefit can be issued more than once in a twelve-month period up to the maximum amount.

Example of Child Care Deduction Calculation

Mary is a single parent with a 6 year-old child. Her gross monthly income from employment is $1,275. Her total monthly payroll deductions are $125. Mary’s monthly informal child care expenses are $600 per month. Her monthly budgetary requirements are $940.

Gross earnings: $1,275
Mandatory payroll deductions: - $125
Net earnings: $1,150
  
Less $200 flat rate earnings exemption: -$200
  $950
  
50% partial earnings exemption: X50%
Earnings exemption: $475
  
Total Earnings Exemption: $200 + $475 = $675
  
Child care expenses: $600
Allowable child care deduction: $600
  
Total earnings exemption: $675
Child care deduction: +$600
Total allowable deductions: $1,275
  
Net earnings: $1,150
Total allowable deductions: -$1,275
Chargeable earnings (cannot be less than zero): $0
  
Budgetary requirements: $940
Chargeable earnings: -$0
Amount of social assistance:
(subject to other income exemptions):
$940

décembre 2016

5.4 : Déductions pour frais de garde d’enfants

Compétence législative

Paragraphes 7 (1), 7 (2), 7 (3) et 16 (1) de la Loi.

Paragraphe 49 (1) article 53 et paragraphe 55 (1) du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s’assurer de ce qui suit:

  • les documents acceptables attestant les frais de garde d’enfants, comme les reçus, les déclarations de revenus ou la formule de reçu pour frais de garde d’enfants (2843), ont été vérifiés;
  • la confirmation des documents vérifiés a été consignée dans le Système automatisé de gestion de l'aide sociale (SAGAS)  ou dans un autre système utilisé par les agents de prestation des Premières nations.

Application de la directive

Les frais de garde d’enfants désignent les paiements que les personnes qui font une demande et les bénéficiaires doivent verser à un fournisseur de services de garde d’enfants, en ce qui concerne un enfant à charge ou un enfant pour le compte duquel on verse une aide pour soins temporaires, pour accepter ou conserver un emploi ou encore pour participer à des activités d’aide à l’emploi.

Les frais de garde d’enfants sont déduits des gains nets provenant d’un emploi ou de l’exploitation d’une entreprise ou des indemnités de formation des personnes qui font une demande ou des bénéficiaires au moment de déterminer l’admissibilité à une aide financière. Lorsqu’une ou un bénéficiaire a également droit aux exemptions de gains, les frais de garde d’enfants sont déduits après l’application des exemptions de gains.

La ou le bénéficiaire choisit le genre de service de garde d’enfants qui répond le mieux à ses besoins [service agréé, Programme de jour prolongé (avant et après la journée d’enseignement), ou service non agréé]. Le montant qui peut être déduit dépend du genre de service de garde d’enfants.

Les frais de garde d’enfants ne sont pas déductibles lorsqu’ils sont payés à un membre du même groupe de prestataires, comme la sœur ou le frère aîné, ou à une personne qui est légalement tenue de fournir des aliments à son enfant, comme le père ou la mère.

Dans les familles biparentales, lorsque seul le père ou la mère a des gains ou des indemnités de formation, les frais de garde d’enfants sont déductibles uniquement si l’autre parent est incapable de s’occuper de l’enfant parce qu’il participe à des activités d’aide à l’emploi. Lorsque l’administratrice ou l’administrateur est convaincu que des circonstances particulières empêchent le père ou la mère de s’occuper de l’enfant, les frais de garde peuvent être déduits.

Services de garde agréés (titulaires d’un permis)

La déduction admissible dans le cas des services de garde agréés est le montant réellement payé par la ou le bénéficiaire pour chaque enfant qui reçoit ces services.

Les services de garde d’enfants agréés sont des services offerts par un fournisseur de services de garde d’enfants titulaire d’un permis délivré aux termes de la Loi sur les garderies aux enfants de moins de 10 ans ou aux enfants de moins de 18 ans qui ont des besoins particuliers, et comprennent ce qui suit :

  • les garderies, qui englobent les centres intégrés pour les enfants ayant des besoins particuliers;
  • les prématernelles;
  • les agences de garde d’enfants en résidence privée;
  • les services de garde à domicile.

Programme de jour prolongé (avant et après la journée d’enseignement)

La déduction admissible dans le cas du Programme de jour prolongé (avant et après la journée d’enseignement) est le montant réellement payé par la ou le bénéficiaire pour chaque enfant qui reçoit ces services.

Le Programme de jour prolongé (avant et après la journée d’enseignement) est offert par les conseils scolaires, en vertu de la Loi sur l’éducation, dans le cadre du Programme d’apprentissage à temps plein de la maternelle et du jardin d’enfants.

Services de garde d’enfants non réglementés (informels)

La déduction admissible pour les services informels de garde d’enfants est le montant réel payé par la ou le bénéficiaire pour chaque enfant de moins de 18 ans jusqu’à concurrence de 600 $ par mois par enfant.

Les fournisseurs de services informels de garde d’enfants n’ont pas à être titulaires d’un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les garderies dans la mesure où les services sont fournis à un maximum de cinq enfants de moins de dix ans qui n’ont aucun lien de parenté. Les services informels de garde d’enfants peuvent être fournis par un ami, un membre de la parenté, une voisine ou une autre personne qui offre des services de garde d’enfants, mais pas par une personne qui est légalement tenue de fournir des aliments à l’enfant.

Les services peuvent aussi comprendre des formules parallèles de garde telles que les programmes de garde d’enfants parascolaires, les programmes des parcs et loisirs ou les camps.

Autres sources de financement

Les frais de garde d’enfants remboursés par une autre source de financement ne sont pas déductibles des gains ou des indemnités de formation, sauf s’ils constituent un revenu exempté. Si le financement reçu pour les services de garde d’enfants dépasse le coût réel des services de garde agréés, le coût réel du Programme de jour prolongé (avant et après la journée d’enseignement) ou la déduction maximale admissible des services informels de garde d’enfants, le montant excédentaire est considéré comme un revenu.

Lorsque les frais de garde d’enfants sont partiellement remboursés seulement, la portion non remboursée est déduite jusqu’à concurrence du montant maximal des services de garde, du Programme de jour prolongé (avant et après la journée d’enseignement) ou des services de garde informels.

Supplément de revenu de l’Ontario pour les familles travailleuses ayant des frais de garde d’enfants

Le Supplément de revenu de l’Ontario pour les familles travailleuses ayant des frais de garde d’enfants prend la forme d’un paiement mensuel non imposable que le gouvernement verse aux familles admissibles pour les aider à élever leurs enfants âgés de moins de sept ans. Les bénéficiaires peuvent être admissibles au Supplément s’ils ont des gains ou des frais de garde d’enfants admissibles.

En juillet 2008, le Supplément a été fusionné à la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants (POE). Les prestations versées dans le cadre du Supplément sont réduites d’un montant équivalent à la POE qu’une famille reçoit pour chaque enfant de moins de sept ans. Les familles qui ont droit à des prestations du Supplément supérieures à la POE continueront de recevoir le Supplément jusqu’à ce que leur enfant à charge ait sept ans ou que la famille ne soit plus admissible au Supplément.

Le Supplément constitue un revenu exempté et les déductions admissibles pour la garde d’enfants ne sont pas réduites d’un montant équivalent au montant de la prestation.

Répit parental

Aux termes de l’article 49 de la Loi de 1997 sur le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées, des services de répit peuvent être fournis aux parents pour leur permettre de s’éloigner du surmenage occasionné par les soins à fournir à un enfant qui a un handicap grave. Pour ces parents, les services de répit ne sont pas considérés comme des frais de garde d’enfants.

Paiement anticipé des frais de garde d’enfants

Le paiement anticipé des frais de garde d’enfants est versé lorsque la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire doit payer d’avance les frais de garde d’enfants que l’administratrice ou l’administrateur juge raisonnables et nécessaires pour permettre l’emploi ou la participation à des activités d’aide à l’emploi.

Les bénéficiaires demeurent admissibles aux déductions pour frais de garde d’enfants s’ils ont reçu un paiement anticipé. Cependant, les paiements anticipés ne sont pas déductibles à titre de frais de garde d’enfants.

L’administratrice ou l’administrateur établit le montant de la prestation pour paiement anticipé des frais de garde d’enfants, qui ne peut dépasser le maximum des déductions pour services agréés et informels de garde d’enfants auxquelles la personne aurait droit dans une période de 12 mois. La prestation pour paiement anticipé peut être versée plus d’une fois dans une période de 12 mois, jusqu’à concurrence du montant maximal.

Exemple de calcul de déductions pour services de garde d’enfants

Marie est chef de famille monoparentale et a une petite fille de six ans. Son revenu mensuel brut tiré d’un emploi s’élève à 1 275 $. Le montant total des retenues salariales est égal à 125 $. Le coût des services informels de garde de sa petite fille se chiffre à 600 $ par mois. Ses besoins matériels s’élèvent à 940 $.

Gains bruts : $1,275
Retenues obligatoires sur la paie : - $125
Gains nets : $1,150
  

Moins l’exemption de gains de base de 200 $ :

-$200
  $950
  
Exemption partielle des gains à 50 % : X50%

Exemption de gains :

$475
  
Montant total de l’exemption de gains : $200 + $475 = $675
  
Frais de garde d’enfants : $600
Déduction admissible pour services de garde d’enfants : $600
  
Montant total de l’exemption de gains : $675
Déduction pour services de garde d’enfants : +$600
Montant total des déductions admissibles : $1,275
  
Gains nets : $1,150

Montant total des déductions admissibles :

-$1,275
Gains imputables (le montant ne peut être inférieur à zéro): $0
  
Besoins matériels : $940
Gains imputables : -$0
Montant de l’aide sociale
(sous réserve d’autres exemptions) :
$940