December 2016

5.8 Interest and Dividends

Legislative Authority

Section 7(3) of the Act.
Section 48 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Random file reviews are completed to ensure that:

  • all sources of income have been reported by the applicant or recipient;
  • documentation of earned interest and/or dividends has been visually verified; and
  • all visually verified documents have been documented in the Social Assistance Management System (SAMS) or any other file system used by a First Nations delivery agent.

Application of Policy

Interest and dividends earned on all assets such as bank account balances, Canada Savings Bonds, Guaranteed Investment Certificates, Registered Retirement Savings Plans (with the exception of locked-in plans), stocks, bonds, and life insurance policies are treated as income.

Applicants and recipients must be informed that all sources of income, including interest and dividends from assets, must be reported when earned.

A maximum of $30 per year (beginning in the month of application) of accrued interest or dividend income is considered a casual payment of small value and is therefore exempt as income.

If interest and/or dividends earned exceed $30 per year, the entire amount is considered as income. To determine in what period interest or dividend income over the threshold amount is included as income, the actual date in which the interest or dividend is earned rather than received is used.

The twelve month period starts in the month of application. At the time of annual review, interest and dividends accrued are verified and recorded. Once the threshold amount is reached, the ensuing interest and dividends in the remaining twelve month period are reported monthly. In cases where interest and dividends are earned at an interval other than monthly, the applicant or recipient is consulted to determine an appropriate reporting amount.

Interest and/or dividends do not have to be received by a recipient in order to be treated as income. A recipient may choose to have any interest or dividends reinvested into the fund instead of receiving it as a cash payment. In this case, the amount of any reinvested interest or dividend is considered as income, unless specifically exempted. The amount of an interest or dividend used to pay fund premiums is also considered as income.

Applicants and recipients should be informed that they must retain any financial documents that detail interest and/or dividends received for the purpose of verifying income during file reviews.

Example

A recipient has a $1000 Guaranteed Investment Certificate (GIC) that earns 5% interest per year. When the GIC matures at the end of the year, the recipient will have earned $50 in interest for the year. The amount of interest earned ($50) is considered as income regardless if it withdrawn or reinvested back into the GIC.

Exemptions

The interest earned on a locked-in Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP) is exempt as income if it is reinvested as part of the locked-in plan.

The interest earned by a Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP) or by a Canada Education Savings Grant (CESG) that is reinvested into an RESP is considered exempt as income (see Directive 4.6: Pensions, RRSPs, and RESPs for more information).

The interest earned from a Registered Disability Savings Plan (RDSP) that is reinvested into an RDSP is considered exempt as income (see Directive 4.6: Pensions, RRSPs, RESPs and RDSPs for more information).

Interest or dividends earned from non-accessible life insurance policies that are reinvested into the policy are considered exempt as income. If allowable by the life insurance provider, the recipient should be advised to change the terms of the policy to permit access to any earned interest and/or dividends (see Directive 4.7: Life Insurance for more information).

décembre 2016

5.8 Intérêts et dividendes

Compétence Législative

Paragraphe 7 (3) de la Loi.
Article 48 et paragraphe 54 (1) du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de Vérification

On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s'assurer de ce qui suit :

  • la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire a déclaré toutes ses sources de revenus;
  • les documents indiquant les intérêts gagnés et les dividendes réalisés ont fait l'objet d'une confirmation visuelle;
  • la confirmation des documents vérifiés a été consignée dans le Système automatisé de gestion de l'aide sociale (SAGAS) ou dans un autre système utilisé par les agents de prestation des Premières nations.

Application de la Politique

Les intérêts gagnés et les dividendes réalisés sur la totalité de l'avoir, comme le solde des comptes bancaires, les obligations d'épargne du Canada, les certificats de placement garanti, les régimes d'épargne-retraite, les actions, les obligations et les polices d'assurance, sont traités comme un revenu.

Il faut informer les personnes qui font une demande et les bénéficiaires que toutes les sources de revenus, y compris les intérêts et les dividendes que produisent des actifs, doivent être déclarées au moment où ils sont gagnés ou réalisés.

Des intérêts ou des dividendes d'une valeur maximale de 30 $ par année (à compter du mois de présentation de la demande) sont considérés comme un paiement occasionnel de faible valeur et constituent donc un revenu exempté.

Si la valeur des intérêts gagnés ou des dividendes réalisés dépasse 30 $ par année, le montant total est considéré comme un revenu. Afin de déterminer la période d'inclusion au revenu des revenus d'intérêts ou de dividendes dépassant le plafond fixé, la date effective à laquelle les intérêts ou les dividendes ont été gagnés ou réalisés est prise en compte, et non la date de leur versement.

La période annuelle de 12 mois commence le mois où la demande est présentée. Lors des révisions annuelles, il faut vérifier et consigner les intérêts gagnés et les dividendes réalisés. Une fois le plafond atteint, les intérêts et dividendes subséquents au cours de la période restante de 12 mois sont déclarés tous les mois. Si les intérêts et les dividendes sont réalisés à des intervalles autres que mensuellement, la personne qui fait la demande ou qui est bénéficiaire est consultée pour établir le montant approprié qui sera déclaré.

Il n'est pas nécessaire que la ou le bénéficiaire ait touché les intérêts ou les dividendes pour que ceux-ci soient considérés comme des revenus. La ou le bénéficiaire peut choisir de réinvestir ses intérêts ou ses dividendes dans le fonds au lieu de les recevoir en espèces. Dans ce cas, les intérêts ou les dividendes réinvestis sont considérés comme des revenus, sauf exemption spécifique. Les intérêts ou les dividendes utilisés pour payer les cotisations au fonds sont également considérés comme des revenus.

Les personnes qui font une demande ou les bénéficiaires devraient être informés de la nécessité de conserver les documents financiers qui énumèrent les intérêts ou les dividendes aux fins de la vérification du revenu pendant l'examen des dossiers.

Exemple

Un bénéficiaire a un certificat de placement garanti (CPG) de 1 000 $ qui lui rapporte des intérêts de 5 % par année. Lorsque le CPG arrive à échéance à la fin de l'année, le bénéficiaire a accumulé des intérêts de 50 $ pendant l'année. Les intérêts gagnés (50 $) sont considérés comme un revenu qu'ils aient été retirés ou réinvestis dans le CPG.

Revenus exemptés

Les intérêts gagnés dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) immobilisé constituent un revenu exempté s'ils sont réinvestis dans ce régime.

Les intérêts que rapporte un régime enregistré d'épargne-études (REEE) ou la Subvention canadienne pour l'épargne-études (SCEE) et qui sont réinvestis dans un REEE constituent un revenu exempté (voir la Directive 4.6 : Régimes de retraite, REER et REEE pour un complément d'information).

Les intérêts gagnés dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-invalidité (REEI) et réinvestis dans un REEI constituent un revenu exempté (voir la Directive 4.6 : Régimes de retraite, REER, REEE et REEI pour un complément d'information).

Les intérêts ou les dividendes gagnés ou réalisés dans une police d'assurance-vie non accessible qui sont réinvestis dans la police constituent des revenus exemptés. Cependant, la ou le bénéficiaire devrait être informé qu'il doit faire modifier les modalités de la police pour permettre l'accès aux intérêts ou aux dividendes gagnés ou réalisés si la compagnie d'assurance-vie le permet (voir la Directive 4.7 : Polices d'assurance-vie pour un complément d'information).