October 2017

6.13: Calculating Reduced Assistance

Legislative Authority

Sections 14 and 74(1) and (5) of the Act.
Sections 3, 5, 28, 29, 33, 34 and 35 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Adequate documentation is on file to support the reduction of assistance as required.

The reinstatement of assistance is documented and all information indicating compliance is kept on file.

There is no duplication in the issuance of assistance, and deductions are fair and consistent.

Application of Policy

Financial assistance may be reduced when a member of a benefit unit is found to be non-compliant because of their:

  • failure or refusal to participate in employment assistance activities;
  • failure to accept or maintain employment;
  • unapproved absence from Ontario; and/or
  • failure to comply with other eligibility criteria as required.

A determination of non-compliance must give consideration to the reasonableness of the applicant’s or recipient’s actions in light of their specific circumstances (see Directive 9.1: Reviewing Eligibility for more information).

In situations of non-compliance, financial assistance is refused or cancelled for a single applicant or recipient. Financial assistance is reduced when an applicant or recipient in a benefit unit with more than one member is non-compliant. Where financial assistance is reduced, the reduction in assistance is equal to a portion of assistance for basic needs, shelter and other budgetary requirements attributed to the non-compliant member(s).

If a person is serving a period of ineligibility due to non-compliance they can still receive emergency hostel services (see Directive 2.7: Emergency Hostel Services - First Nations Delivery Agents and Directive 6.16: Emergency Hostels and Shelters - CMSMs and DSSABs for more information).

At the discretion of the Administrator, a recipient serving a period of ineligibility may be issued a drug card if the administrator is satisfied that the recipient requires prescription drugs to treat a serious illness or health condition.

Participating in Employment Assistance Activities

Adults applying for or receiving financial assistance under Ontario Works are required, as a condition of eligibility, to participate in employment assistance activities. Administrators in First Nations and northern communities have the discretion to exercise flexibility when approving employment activities and/or expenses based on cultural and geographic considerations in order to support employment outcomes for clients.

A person who refuses to participate in a required activity without a justified reason, and who does not have a temporary deferral or a restriction, is ineligible for financial assistance.

If a single applicant indicates that they will not participate in employment assistance activities, assistance is refused until they agree to participate. If an applicant with a spouse or other dependents indicates that they, their spouse or other adult dependent will not participate in employment assistance activities, assistance is reduced. In the case of a single-parent, the assistance is reduced by the spousal equivalent amount. In the case of a couple, the assistance is reduced by the portion attributable to the spouse if the non-compliant benefit unit member is the applicant/recipient or his/her spouse. Where the non-compliant benefit unit member is a dependent adult, then assistance is reduced by the portion attributable to the dependent adult.

If a benefit unit member refuses or fails to participate in employment assistance activities, assistance is cancelled or reduced as appropriate for one month (first occurrence) or three months (second or subsequent occurrence).

Accepting and Maintaining Employment

A period of non-compliance applies to applicants or recipients, their spouses and any other adult dependents who fail to make reasonable efforts to accept and maintain full-time, part-time or casual employment of which they are capable of performing.

The period of ineligibility for non-compliance is one month for the first occurrence, and three months for subsequent occurrences starting on the date in which the Administrator makes a decision relating to the date of ineligibility.

If a single applicant indicates that they will not participate in employment assistance activities, assistance is refused until they agree to participate. If an applicant with a spouse or other dependents indicates that they, their spouse or other adult dependent will not participate in employment assistance activities assistance is reduced. In the case of a single-parent, the assistance is reduced by the spousal equivalent amount. In the case of a couple, the assistance is reduced by the portion attributable to the spouse if the non-compliant benefit unit member is the applicant/recipient or his/her spouse. Where the non-compliant benefit unit member is a dependent adult, then assistance is reduced by the portion attributable to the dependent adult.

Periods of ineligibility or reduced assistance may not apply to participants who refuse employment, leave employment without cause or who are dismissed from employment with cause but have otherwise made reasonable efforts to accept and maintain employment or participate in employment assistance activities.

Absence from Ontario

A recipient who is absent from Ontario for more than seven days and has not received approval for the absence from the Administrator is considered non-compliant and is not eligible for assistance as of day eight of the unapproved absence (see Directive 9.2: Absence from Ontario for more information).

For a single recipient, the absence is documented in the file, financial assistance is cancelled and an overpayment is established. A reapplication for assistance is required to have assistance reinstated.

If a recipient is a member of a benefit unit with more than one member, the absence is documented in the file, and assistance is reduced by the spousal equivalent amount (in the case of a single parent) or by the portion attributable to the spouse (in the case of a couple) if the non-compliant benefit unit member is the applicant/recipient or his/her spouse. Where the non-compliant benefit unit member is a dependent adult, then assistance is reduced by the portion attributable to the dependent adult. The non-compliant member must make a request to have his/her assistance reinstated.

Other Eligibility Criteria

Status of Dependent Child(ren) Not Attending School

All dependent children who are of school-age must attend school full time or a training program approved by the Administrator as a condition of eligibility in order to be included in the calculation of assistance. Under some circumstances, the requirement to attend school is waived (see Directive 3.9: Dependent Children for more information).

If a child in a benefit unit is not attending school or a training program approved by the Administrator and no exceptions to the school attendance rule apply, the child is removed from the calculation of the benefit unit’s budgetary requirements. The child remains in the benefit unit and continues to be eligible for mandatory and discretionary benefits including drug, dental and vision care. Any non-exempt income of the child will continue to be included as income for the benefit unit. However, existing income exemptions, such as the full exemption of the dependent child’s employment earnings, will continue to apply.

When a child returns to school or a program approved by the Administrator, the child is included as a dependent child in the calculation of assistance.

Calculating Reductions in Financial Assistance

Reduction in Basic Needs and Shelter for Sole Support Parents and Couples

Non-Compliant Member

Reduction in Basic Needs

Reduction in Shelter

Non-compliant recipient in a single parent benefit unit

$238

Shelter assistance is recalculated with the non-compliant recipient excluded from the calculation

Non-compliant recipient or spouse in a couple benefit unit

$238

Shelter assistance is recalculated with the non-compliant recipient or spouse excluded from the calculation

Non-compliant dependent adult

Basic needs assistance is recalculated with the non-compliant dependent adult excluded from the calculation

Shelter assistance is recalculated with the non-compliant dependant adult excluded from the calculation

Child under 18

Basic needs assistance is recalculated with the child excluded from the calculation (i.e., where applicable, the sole support parent supplement is not provided)

Shelter assistance is recalculated with the child excluded from the calculation

Reduction in Board and Lodging for Sole Support Parent and Couples

Non-Compliant Member

Reduction in Board and Lodging

Non-compliant recipient in a single parent benefit unit

$152

Non-compliant recipient or spouse in a couple benefit unit

$152

Non-compliant dependent adult

Assistance is recalculated with the dependent adult excluded from the calculation

Child under 18

Assistance is recalculated with the child excluded from the calculation (i.e., where applicable, the sole support parent supplement is not provided)

Treatment of Income for Non-Compliant Recipients

When the assistance amount for a benefit unit is reduced due to non-compliance, any income received by the non-compliant person is still included in the calculation of assistance for the benefit unit during the period of ineligibility. Earnings exemptions and child care deductions continue to apply.

Examples of Reductions in Assistance

Renters/Owners

Example 1. .

A single parent with two dependent children aged 8 and 10 years pays rent of $700 and does not have any income other than social assistance. The recipient has participation requirements. The benefit unit is eligible for total income assistance of $1,040 ($354 basic needs (includes a sole support parent supplement of $103) and $686 shelter).

Recipient is non-compliant with participation requirements.

Current assistance: $1,040
Less: Rate reduction: - $238
Less shelter amount attributable to recipient:: 686-632 = 54 - $54
Reduced assistance amount $748

Example 2:

A couple with 2 dependent children aged 10 and 17 years pays rent of $750 and does not have any income other than social assistance. The recipient and spouse both have participation requirements. The benefit unit is eligible for total of $1,230/month ($486 basic needs and $744 shelter).

2A. Recipient is non-compliant with participation requirements.

Current assistance: $1,230
Less: Rate reduction - $238
Less shelter amount attributable to recipient: 744 - 686 = 42 - 42
Reduced assistance amount $950

2B. Dependent child is not attending school and has no plan to return.

Current assistance:
Current assistance: $1,230
Less:. Dependent child's portion of budget  
Shelter amount: 744 - 686 = 42

-42

Reduced assistance amount $1,188

Boarders

A couple with 2 dependent children aged 14 and 15 years are boarding and receive $941/month (includes $69 Special Boarder Allowance). Spouse is non-compliant with participation requirements.

Current assistance: $941
Less rate reduction: -152
Reduced assistance amount $789

octobre 2017

6.13 : Calcul de la réduction de l’aide

Compétence législative

Article 14 et paragraphes 74 (1) et (5) de la Loi.
Articles 3, 5, 28, 29, 33, 34 et 35 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

Les documents appropriés appuyant la réduction du montant de l’aide, selon le cas, figurent au dossier.

Le rétablissement de l’aide est documenté et tous les renseignements confirmant l’observation des exigences ou conditions prévues sont versés au dossier.

L’aide n’est pas versée en double et les déductions sont calculées avec exactitude et de façon cohérente.

Application de la politique

Le montant de l’aide financière peut être réduit si un membre du groupe de prestataires n’observe pas les exigences ou conditions prévues. Cette inobservation peut prendre l’une des formes suivantes :

  • défaut ou refus de participer à des activités d’aide à l’emploi;
  • défaut d’accepter ou de conserver un emploi;
  • absence de l’Ontario non approuvée;
  • défaut de respecter d’autres critères d’admissibilité, selon le cas.

La conclusion d’inobservation des exigences ou conditions prévues doit tenir compte du caractère raisonnable des actes de la personne qui fait la demande ou qui est bénéficiaire compte tenu de sa situation particulière (pour plus de renseignements, voir la Directive 9.1 : Réexamen de l’admissibilité).

En cas d’inobservation des exigences ou conditions prévues, la demande d’aide financière de la personne seule qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire est refusée ou annulée. L’aide financière accordée à une personne qui fait une demande ou à un bénéficiaire qui fait partie d’un groupe de prestataires composé de plusieurs personnes est réduite en cas d’inobservation. La réduction de l’aide financière est égale à une fraction de l’aide accordée au titre des besoins essentiels, du logement et d’autres besoins matériels à la personne inadmissible en raison de l’inobservation.

Pendant son inadmissibilité en raison de l’inobservation des exigences ou conditions prévues, une personne peut toujours avoir droit à des services d’hébergement d’urgence (pour plus de renseignements, voir la Directive 2.7 : Services d’hébergement d’urgence - agents de prestation de services des Premières Nations, la Directive 6.16 : Services d’hébergement et refuges d’urgence - GSMR et CADSS).

L’administratrice ou l’administrateur peut, à sa discrétion, remettre une carte de médicaments à un bénéficiaire pendant une période d’inadmissibilité si l’administratrice ou l’administrateur est convaincu que le bénéficiaire a besoin de médicaments d’ordonnance pour traiter une maladie grave ou son état de santé.

Participation à des activités d’aide à l’emploi

La personne adulte qui demande ou qui reçoit une aide financière dans le cadre du programme Ontario au travail doit, à titre de condition d’admissibilité, participer à des activités d’aide à l’emploi. Les administrateurs dans les Premières Nations et les communautés du Nord ont le pouvoir discrétionnaire de faire preuve de souplesse lorsqu’ils doivent approuver des activités et des dépenses en tenant compte de facteurs culturels et géographiques afin de favoriser des résultats d’emploi pour des clients.

Si elle refuse de participer à une activité obligatoire sans un motif valable et qu’elle ne bénéficie pas du report temporaire des conditions de participation ou d’une restriction, elle n’est pas admissible à une aide financière.

La personne seule qui fait une demande et qui indique qu’elle ne participera pas à une activité d’aide à l’emploi n’a pas droit à une aide tant qu’elle n’accepte pas de participer à une telle activité. Si la personne qui fait une demande et qui a une conjointe ou un conjoint ou d’autres personnes à charge indique que sa conjointe ou son conjoint, une personne adulte à charge ou elle-même ne participera pas à une activité d’aide à l’emploi, le montant de l’aide est réduit. Dans le cas d’un père ou d’une mère seul soutien de famille, le montant de la réduction est égal à l’équivalent du montant pour conjoint. S’il s’agit d’un couple, le montant de l’aide est réduit de la part attribuable à la conjointe ou au conjoint si le membre du groupe de prestataires qui n’observe pas les exigences ou conditions prévues, appelé membre fautif, est la personne qui fait la demande ou qui est bénéficiaire ou sa conjointe ou son conjoint. Si le membre fautif du groupe de prestataires est une personne adulte à charge, le montant de l’aide est réduit de la part attribuable à cette personne.

Si un membre du groupe de prestataires refuse de participer à des activités d’aide à l’emploi ou ne participe pas à de telles activités, l’aide est annulée ou réduite, selon ce qui est approprié, pendant un mois (première inobservation) ou trois mois (deuxième inobservation ou toute inobservation subséquente).

Acceptation et maintien d’un emploi

La personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire, sa conjointe ou son conjoint ou toute autre personne adulte à charge qui ne fait pas d’efforts raisonnables pour accepter et conserver un emploi à temps plein, à temps partiel ou occasionnel qu’elle est capable d’occuper est réputée fautive et inadmissible pendant une certaine période.

La période d’inadmissibilité en cas d’inobservation des exigences ou conditions prévues est d’un mois, dans le cas d’une première inobservation, et de trois mois, dans le cas de toute inobservation ultérieure, à partir de la date à laquelle l’administratrice ou l’administrateur prend une décision relativement à la date d’inadmissibilité.

Si la personne seule qui fait une demande indique qu’elle ne participera pas à des activités d’aide à l’emploi, la demande d’aide est rejetée tant que la personne n’accepte pas de participer à de telles activités. Si la personne qui fait une demande et qui a une conjointe ou un conjoint ou d’autres personnes à charge indique que sa conjointe ou son conjoint, une autre personne adulte à charge ou elle-même ne participera pas à des activités d’aide à l’emploi, le montant de l’aide est réduit. Dans le cas d’un père ou d’une mère seul soutien de famille, le montant de la réduction est égal à l’équivalent du montant pour conjoint. S’il s’agit d’un couple, le montant de l’aide est réduit de la part attribuable à la conjointe ou au conjoint si le membre fautif du groupe de prestataires est la personne qui fait la demande ou qui est bénéficiaire ou sa conjointe ou son conjoint. Si le membre fautif du groupe de prestataires est une personne adulte à charge, le montant de l’aide est réduit de la part attribuable à cette personne.

Les périodes d’inadmissibilité ou de réduction de l’aide ne s’appliqueront peut-être pas aux personnes qui participent au programme et qui refusent un emploi, qui quittent un emploi sans motif valable mais qui ont autrement déployé des efforts raisonnables pour accepter et garder un emploi ou participer à des activités d’aide à l’emploi.

Absence de l’Ontario

La personne bénéficiaire qui s’absente de l’Ontario pendant plus de sept jours sans avoir obtenu l’autorisation de l’administratrice ou de l’administrateur est réputée fautive et n’est pas admissible à une aide à partir du huitième jour de son absence non approuvée (pour plus de renseignements, voir la Directive 9.2 : Absence de l’Ontario).

Dans le cas d’une personne seule qui est bénéficiaire, l’absence est documentée au dossier, l’aide financière est annulée et un paiement excédentaire est établi. Le rétablissement de l’aide est subordonné au dépôt d’une nouvelle demande.

Si la personne bénéficiaire est membre d’un groupe de prestataires composé de plusieurs personnes, l’absence est documentée au dossier et le montant de la réduction est égal à l’équivalent du montant pour conjoint (dans le cas d’un père ou d’une mère seul soutien de famille) ou à la part attribuable à la conjointe ou au conjoint (dans le cas d’un couple) si le membre fautif du groupe de prestataires est la personne qui fait la demande ou qui est bénéficiaire ou sa conjointe ou son conjoint. Si le membre fautif du groupe de prestataires est une personne adulte à charge, le montant de l’aide est réduit de la part attribuable à cette personne. Le membre fautif doit faire une demande de rétablissement de l’aide.

Autres critères d’admissibilité

Statut des enfants à charge qui ne fréquentent pas l’école

Pour être compris dans le groupe de prestataires aux fins du calcul de l’aide, tous les enfants à charge d’âge scolaire doivent, comme condition d’admissibilité, fréquenter l’école à temps plein ou suivre un programme de formation approuvé par l’administratrice ou l’administrateur. Dans certaines circonstances, l’obligation de fréquentation scolaire peut être supprimée (pour plus de renseignements, voir la Directive 3.9 : Enfants à charge).

L’enfant qui ne fréquente pas l’école ou qui ne suit pas un programme de formation approuvé par l’administratrice ou l’administrateur, et pour lequel aucune exception à la règle de fréquentation scolaire ne s’applique, est exclu du calcul des besoins matériels du groupe de prestataires. Il demeure dans le groupe de prestataires et continue d’avoir droit aux prestations obligatoires et discrétionnaires, y compris les prestations pour médicaments, soins dentaires et soins de la vue. Tout revenu de l’enfant qui n’est pas exempté continuera d’être inclus au titre de revenu du groupe de prestataires. Cependant, les exemptions de revenus existantes, comme l’exemption de la totalité des gains d’emploi de l’enfant à charge, continueront de s’appliquer.

Lorsque l’enfant retourne à l’école ou qu’il suit un programme approuvé par l’administratrice ou l’administrateur, il est compris comme enfant à charge dans le groupe de prestataires aux fins du calcul de l’aide.

Calcul de la réduction de l’aide financière

Réduction de l’allocation au titre des besoins essentiels et du logement – Père ou mère seul soutien de famille et couples

Membre fautif

Réduction de l’allocation au titre des besoins essentiels

Réduction de l’allocation de logement

Personne bénéficiaire fautive dans un groupe de prestataires composé d’un père ou d’une mère seul soutien de famille

238 $

Le montant de l’allocation de logement est recalculé en fonction de l’exclusion de la personne bénéficiaire fautive du groupe de prestataires.

Personne bénéficiaire ou conjointe ou conjoint fautif dans un groupe de prestataires composé d’un couple

238 $

Le montant de l’allocation de logement est recalculé en fonction de l’exclusion de la conjointe ou du conjoint fautif du groupe de prestataires.

Personne adulte à charge fautive

L’allocation au titre des besoins essentiels est recalculée en fonction de l’exclusion de la personne adulte à charge fautive du groupe de prestataires.

Le montant de l’allocation de logement est recalculé en fonction de l’exclusion de la personne adulte à charge fautive du groupe de prestataires.

Enfant de moins de 18 ans

L’allocation au titre des besoins essentiels est recalculée en fonction de l’exclusion de l’enfant du groupe de prestataires (le cas échéant, le supplément à l’égard du père ou de la mère seul soutien de famille n’est pas accordé).

Le montant de l’allocation de logement est recalculé en fonction de l’exclusion de l’enfant du groupe de prestataires.

Réduction de l’allocation au titre du gîte et du couvert – Père ou mère seul soutien de famille et couples

Membre fautif

Réduction de l’allocation au titre du gîte et du couvert

Personne bénéficiaire fautive dans un groupe de prestataires composé d’un père ou d’une mère seul soutien de famille

152 $

Personne bénéficiaire ou conjointe ou conjoint fautif dans un groupe de prestataires composé d’un couple

152 $

Personne adulte à charge fautive

Le montant de l’allocation est recalculé en fonction de l’exclusion de la personne adulte à charge du groupe de prestataires.

Enfant de moins de 18 ans

Le montant de l’allocation est recalculé en fonction de l’exclusion de l’enfant du groupe de prestataires (le cas échéant, l le supplément à l’égard du père ou de la mère seul soutien de famillen’est pas accordé).

Traitement du revenu – Bénéficiaires fautifs

Si le montant de l’aide accordé à un groupe de prestataires est réduit en raison de l’inobservation des exigences ou conditions prévues, le revenu que touche la personne fautive est toujours inclus dans le calcul de l’aide versée au groupe de prestataires pendant la période d’inadmissibilité. Les exemptions de gains et les déductions pour frais de garde d’enfants continuent de s’appliquer.

Exemples de réduction de l’aide

Locataires/Propriétaires

Exemple 1 :

Une mère seul soutien de famille, avec deux enfants à charge de 8 et 10 ans, a un loyer de 700 $ à payer. Ses prestations d’aide sociale constituent son seul revenu. Elle doit observer des exigences en matière de participation. Le groupe de prestataires est admissible à une aide au revenu totalisant 1 040 $ (354 $ au titre des besoins essentiels [y compris le supplément de 103 $ versé au père ou à la mère seul soutien de famille] et une allocation de logement de 686 $).

La bénéficiaire n’observe pas les exigences en matière de participation prévues.

Aide actuelle : 1 040 $
Moins la réduction du taux: -238 $

Moins le montant d’allocation de logement attribuable à la personne bénéficiaire (686-632 = 54) :

-54 $
Montant après réduction de l’aide 748 $

Exemple 2 :

Un couple ayant deux enfants à charge de 10 et 17 ans a un loyer de 750 $ à payer. Ses prestations d’aide sociale constituent son seul revenu. La personne bénéficiaire et son conjoint doivent tous deux observer des exigences en matière de participation. Le groupe de prestataires est admissible à une aide au revenu totalisant 1 230$ par mois (486 $ au titre des besoins essentiels et une allocation de logement de 744 $).

2A. La personne bénéficiaire n’observe pas les exigences en matière de participation.

Aide actuelle : 1 230 $
Moins la réduction du taux: -238 $

Moins le montant d’allocation de logement attribuable à la personne bénéficiaire (744-686=42)

-42 $
Montant après réduction de l’aide 950 $

2B. L’enfant à charge ne fréquente pas l’école et n’a pas l’intention de reprendre ses études.

Aide actuelle : 1 230 $
Moins : Part du budget attribuable à l’enfant à charge  
Montant au titre du logement (744 $ - 686 $  = 42 $) - 42 $
Montant après réduction de l’aide : 1 188 $

Pensionnaires

Un couple avec deux enfants à charge de 14 et 15 ans vit en pension et reçoit une aide financière totalisant 841 $ par mois (y compris une allocation spéciale de pension de 69 $). La conjointe n’observe pas les exigences en matière de participation.

Aide actuelle : 941$
Moins la réduction du taux: -152 $
Montant après réduction de l’aide 789 $