October 2017

6.7: Persons in Long-Term Care Homes

Legislative Authority

Section 7 of the Act.
Sections 1(1), 7, and 43 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Adequate documentation is on file to support the issuance of assistance to persons in long-term care homes.

Decisions about the maintenance or reduction of assistance are documented on file.

Application of Policy

Administrators can issue an amount of $146 per month for personal needs to applicants or recipients residing in a long-term care home. This includes long-term care homes licensed under the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007.

Applicants or recipients who are admitted to long-term care homes for a short stay and are retaining their community accommodation shall receive their full income assistance for up to six months. After six months, assistance is reduced to $146 per month.

In situations where the applicant or recipient enters a long-term care home and is not retaining community accommodation, the amount of assistance is set at or reduced to $146 per month for each member of the benefit unit residing in the long-term care home, unless other income exceeds this amount.

Applicants or recipients living in long-term care homes are considered to be residents of the municipality in which they resided immediately prior to being admitted to the long-term care home. The following examples explain how to determine geographic residency for the purposes of cost-sharing.

Example 1

A participant is admitted to a long-term care home in Kenora. Previously, the recipient was living with his/her daughter in Whitefish Lake First Nation.

The recipient is considered to be a resident of Whitefish Lake First Nation, since Whitefish Lake First Nation was the immediate residence prior to admittance into the long-term care home.

Example 2

A recipient is admitted to a long-term care home in London. Previously, the recipient was living with his/her daughter in Strathroy, however the recipient had recently signed a lease to live in London.

The recipient is considered to be a resident of London, since he/she clearly intended to re-locate to London before being admitted into the long-term care home.

Example 3

A recipient is admitted to a long-term care home in London. Previously, the recipient was living with his/her daughter in Strathroy. The recipient had left the daughter's home to receive treatment in a London hospital, and was admitted to the long-term care home directly from the hospital.

The recipient is considered to be a resident of Strathroy, since institutions (e.g., hospitals) are not considered to be places of ordinary residence.

octobre 2017

6.7 : Personnes séjournant dans un foyer de soins de longue durée

Compétence législative

Article 7 de la Loi.
Paragraphe 1 (1) et articles 7 et 43 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

Les documents appropriés appuyant le versement d’une aide aux personnes séjournant dans un foyer de soins de longue durée figurent au dossier.

Les décisions relatives au maintien ou à la réduction du montant de l’aide sont documentées au dossier.

Application de la politique

L’administratrice ou l’administrateur peut verser une prestation mensuelle de 146 $ au titre des besoins personnels aux personnes qui font une demande ou qui sont bénéficiaires et qui séjournent dans un foyer de soins de longue durée , y compris une maison de soins infirmiers titulaire d’un permis délivré aux termes de la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée.

Les personnes qui font une demande ou qui sont bénéficiaires qui sont admises dans un foyer de soins de longue durée pour un court séjour et qui conservent leur logement dans la collectivité reçoivent le montant intégral de l’aide à laquelle elles ont droit pendant au plus six mois. Au-delà de ce délai, le montant de la prestation est ramené à  146 $ par mois.

Si la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire est admise dans un foyer de soins de longue durée et ne conserve pas son logement dans la collectivité, le montant de la prestation est fixé ou ramené à 146 $ par mois et par membre du groupe de prestataires séjournant dans le foyer de soins de longue durée, sauf si les autres revenus sont supérieurs à ce montant.

La personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire et qui séjourne dans un foyer de soins de longue durée est réputée résider dans la municipalité où elle vivait juste avant son admission dans le foyer de soins de longue durée. Les exemples suivants expliquent le mode de détermination de la résidence géographique aux fins du partage des coûts.

Exemple 1

Une femme qui participe au programme est admise dans un foyer de soins de longue durée à Kenora. Auparavant, elle vivait chez sa fille à Whitefish Lake First Nation.

La femme est réputée résider à Whitefish Lake First Nation, car c’est là où elle vivait juste avant son admission dans le foyer de soins de longue durée.

Exemple 2

Un bénéficiaire est admis dans un foyer de soins de longue durée à London. Auparavant, il vivait chez sa fille à Strathroy, mais il avait signé un bail à London.

L’homme est réputé résider à London, car c’est là où il avait manifestement l’intention de s’installer avant son admission dans le un foyer de soins de longue durée.

Exemple 3

Une bénéficiaire est admise dans un foyer de soins de longue durée à London. Auparavant, elle vivait chez sa fille à Strathroy. La femme a quitté le domicile de sa fille pour suivre des traitements dans un hôpital de London. Elle a été directement transférée dans un foyer de soins de longue durée à sa sortie de l’hôpital.

La femme est réputée résider à Strathroy, car les établissements (hôpitaux, etc.) ne sont pas réputés des lieux de résidence ordinaires.