October 2017

6.8: Persons in Interval and Transition Homes

Legislative Authority

Section 7 of the Act.
Sections 1(1), 7, 40, 44.1 and 58.3 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Adequate documentation is on file to support the issuance of assistance to persons in interval and transition homes.

Decisions about the maintenance or reduction of assistance are documented on file.

Application of Policy

In situations where an applicant or recipient enters an interval or transition home for victims of family violence, retains community accommodation, and has financial commitments related to that accommodation, the full amount of income assistance is issued for the first three full calendar months of residence in the interval or transition home.

In situations where the applicant or recipient enters an interval or transition home for victims of family violence and is not retaining community accommodation, the amount of assistance is set at or reduced to $146 for each member of the benefit unit residing in the interval or transition home, unless other income exceeds this amount.

If, during the stay in the interval or transition home, the recipient changes community accommodation (e.g. gives up accommodation, changes from a renter to boarder and lodger, etc.) the shelter allowance provided to the participant will reflect the change and an amount for basic needs will continue to be provided.

After three months of residence in an interval or transition home, the Administrator may reduce the amount of assistance to no less than $146 per month, but the Administrator is not required to do so.

There is no reduction in the amount of assistance provided for the month in which an applicant or recipient enters an interval and transition home.

Residents of interval and transition homes are not eligible for the Transition Child Benefit (TCB) if they are not maintaining their community accommodation or if their budgetary requirements have been reduced after staying in the home for more than three months, as their needs are met by the home.

octobre 2017

6.8 : Personnes séjournant dans une maison ou un foyer de transition

Compétence législative

Article 7 de la Loi.
Paragraphe 1 (1) et articles 7, 40, 44.1 et 58.3 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

Les documents appropriés appuyant le versement d’une aide aux personnes séjournant dans une maison ou un foyer de transition figurent au dossier.

Les décisions relatives au maintien ou à la réduction du montant de l’aide sont documentées au dossier.

Application de la politique

Si la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire effectue un séjour dans une maison ou un foyer de transition pour victimes de violence familiale tout en conservant et en payant un logement dans la collectivité, le montant intégral de l'aide au revenu lui est versé pendant les trois premiers mois civils complets de son séjour dans la maison ou le foyer de transition.

Si la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire effectue un séjour dans une maison ou un foyer de transition pour victimes de violence familiale et ne conserve pas son logement dans la collectivité, le montant de la prestation est fixé ou ramené à 146 $ par membre du groupe de prestataires qui vit dans la maison ou le foyer de transition, sauf si les autres revenus sont supérieurs à ce montant.

Si, pendant son séjour dans la maison ou le foyer de transition, la personne bénéficiaire change de logement dans la collectivité (p. ex., elle abandonne son logement ou, au lieu d’être locataire, elle devient pensionnaire), l’allocation de logement qui lui est fournie est modifiée en fonction du changement intervenu. Une prestation au titre des besoins essentiels continue de lui être versée.

À l’expiration des trois premiers mois dans une maison ou un foyer de transition, l’administratrice ou l’administrateur peut ramener le montant de l’aide à 146 $ par mois, seuil minimal, mais elle ou il n’est pas obligé de le faire.

Le montant de la prestation n’est pas réduit à l’égard du mois au cours duquel la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire entre dans une maison ou un foyer de transition.

Les pensionnaires d’une maison ou d’un foyer de transition ne sont pas admissibles à la Prestation transitoire pour enfants s’ils ne conservent pas leur logement dans la collectivité ou si leurs besoins matériels sont réduits après un séjour de plus de trois mois dans la maison ou le foyer étant donné que l’établissement répond à leurs besoins.