February 2017

7.5 Housing-Related Benefits

Legislative Authority

Section 8 of the Act
Sections 42, 59 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Adequate documentation is on file for the verification of costs to support decisions and level of benefit issued.
Random file reviews are completed to ensure that all requirements are met.

Application of Policy

Housing-related benefits are discretionary and are provided on a case-by-case basis at the discretion of the Administrator. The Administrator determines the amount to be provided for housing-related benefits.

Moving Expenses

Moving expenses are a non-health-related discretionary benefit. The Administrator may approve payments to cover the cost of moving household furniture and personal effects from one place of residence to another.
Storage charges incurred prior to application are not usually acceptable as an allowable moving expense unless the stored furniture is considered essential and will be used in a future residence.

Energy and Water Conservation Measures

Payments for low-cost energy and water conservation measures are health-related discretionary benefits authorized by the Director as a special item. The Administrator may approve payments for low-cost energy and water conservation measures to recipients who are home owners or renters.
The discretionary benefit may be issued if:

  • the costs are not covered by energy efficiency and conservation programs that may be provided by gas distribution utilities, local distribution companies as well as municipal, provincial (including the Ontario Power Authority) and federal levels of government;
  • the recipient is responsible for that specific utility or heating cost;
  • the costs are not included in monthly rent; and
  • the low-cost energy or water conservation measures are being used to reduce or limit that specific utility or heating cost.

Low-cost energy and water conservation measures may include:

  • caulking
  • sealing or weatherstripping for doors and windows
  • insulation for hot water pipes and hot water tanks
  • flow restrictors for showerheads

Sources of Funding for Home Repairs

A recipient is required to apply for assistance for home repairs from their homeowners' insurance company.
Other sources of funding may include the following as outlined below:

  • Residential Rehabilitation Assistance Program (RRAP) is a program of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) that provides assistance to low-income homeowners to bring their homes up to safety and health standards. Recipients are required to apply to RRAP prior to applying for the home repair benefit. Assistance is in the form of a forgivable loan.
  • The Investment in Affordable Housing for Ontario (IAH) - Ontario Renovates program is administered by the Ministry of Housing and provides funding assistance for home repairs, renovations and/or modifications for low and modest income households, including the creation of a new affordable rental unit within an existing single family home. Assistance is in the form of a forgivable loan and the program is available only in municipalities.
  • First Nations may have access to financing for the renovation of a single-family home or multiple residential rental property through the On-Reserve Loan Insurance Program.
  • The Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program (ODRAP) provides funds to alleviate the hardship suffered by private homeowners, farmers, small business enterprises and non-profit organizations whose essential property has been damaged by a sudden and unexpected natural disaster, such as a severe windstorm, tornado, flood, forest fire or ice storm. It is expected that where an area has been declared a disaster, recipients will first apply to ODRAP.

Loans or grants from RRAP, IAH - Ontario Renovates, and insurance payments are exempt as income when used for the purpose intended. Any payments, other than payments for loss of income, made by a local Disaster Relief Committee are exempt as income and assets.

Loans for Home Repairs

A recipient may be required to obtain a loan for home repairs if their shelter allowance is below the maximum. Monthly payments on the loan or mortgage would therefore be included as part of the shelter costs.

Février 2017

7.5 Prestations rattachées au logement

Compétence législative

Article 8 de la Loi.
Articles 42 et 59 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

Les documents appropriés aux fins de la vérification des coûts pour appuyer les décisions prises et le niveau des prestations figurent au dossier.

On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s'assurer que toutes les exigences sont respectées.

Application de la Directive

Les prestations rattachées au logement sont des prestations discrétionnaires qui sont accordées au cas par cas par l'administratrice ou l'administrateur, à son gré. Elle ou il en détermine aussi le montant.

Frais de déménagement

La prestation au titre des frais de déménagement est une prestation discrétionnaire qui n'est pas liée à la santé. L'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut approuver des paiements au titre du déménagement des meubles et effets personnels du ménage d'un logement à un autre.
Les frais d'entreposage engagés avant le dépôt de la demande ne sont pas habituellement inclus dans les frais de déménagement admissibles, sauf si les meubles entreposés sont jugés essentiels et qu'ils seront utilisés dans le nouveau logement.

Mesures de conservation de l'énergie et de l'eau

Les paiements au titre de l'adoption de mesures peu coûteuses de conservation de l'énergie et de l'eau constituent des prestations discrétionnaires liées à la santé qui sont autorisées par le directeur à titre spécial. L'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut approuver le versement d'une prestation à ce titre aux bénéficiaires propriétaires ou locataires de leur logement.
Cette prestation discrétionnaire peut être versée si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • les coûts ne sont pas pris en charge par les programmes d'efficacité et d'économie énergétiques qui peuvent être offerts par les services publics de distribution de gaz, par les compagnies locales de distribution, ainsi que par les paliers de gouvernement fédéral et provincial (dont l'Office de l'électricité de l'Ontario) et les administrations municipales;
  • les coûts propres au chauffage ou à l'alimentation en eau sont à la charge de la personne bénéficiaire;
  • les coûts ne sont pas inclus dans le loyer mensuel;
  • les mesures peu coûteuses de conservation de l'énergie et de l'eau servent à réduire ou à limiter les dépenses de chauffage ou d'alimentation en eau.

Les mesures peu coûteuses de conservation de l'énergie et de l'eau peuvent comprendre :

  • l'injection ou la pose de produits de calfeutrage;
  • le scellement ou la pose de coupe-froid pour portes et fenêtres;
  • l'isolation des conduits d'eau chaude et des chauffe-eau;
  • l'installation de pommes de douche à débit réduit.

Sources de financement des réparations domiciliaires

Les bénéficiaires doivent faire une demande d'aide pour les réparations domiciliaires auprès de leur compagnie d'assurance habitation.

Autres sources éventuelles de financement des réparations domiciliaires :

  • Le Programme d'aide à la remise en état des logements (PAREL) est un programme de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) qui aide les propriétaires à faible revenu à mettre leur logement en conformité avec les normes de santé et de sécurité. Les bénéficiaires doivent faire une demande auprès du PAREL avant de demander des prestations au titre des réparations domiciliaires. L'aide prend la forme d'un prêt non remboursable.
  • Le Programme d'investissement dans le logement abordable de l'Ontario (PILAO) – volet Rénovations Ontario est administré par le ministère du Logement. Il fournit une aide financière aux foyers à faible ou modeste revenu pour réparer, rénover et/ou transformer leur maison, y compris créer un nouveau logement locatif abordable dans une maison unifamiliale. Cette aide consiste en un prêt non remboursable, le programme n’est offert qu’au palier municipal.
  • Les membres des Premières nations peuvent bénéficier d'une aide financière pour la rénovation de leur maison unifamiliale ou de logements locatifs collectifs dans le cadre du programme Assurance-prêt dans les réserves.
  • Le Programme ontarien de secours aux sinistrés (POSS) apporte une aide financière aux particuliers propriétaires de leur maison, aux agriculteurs, aux petites entreprises et aux organisations sans but lucratif dont les biens essentiels ont subi des dommages du fait d'une catastrophe naturelle soudaine et imprévue comme une forte tempête, une tornade, une inondation, un incendie de forêt ou une tempête de verglas. Lorsqu'une région est déclarée sinistrée, les bénéficiaires sont censés demander l'aide du POSS en premier lieu.  
  • Les prêts ou les subventions offerts dans le cadre du PAREL, du PILAO – volet Rénovations Ontario et les indemnités reçues des compagnies d'assurances constituent un revenu exempté s'ils servent aux fins prévues. L'aide financière d'un comité local d'aide aux sinistrés, sauf la somme reçue pour perte de revenu, est exemptée au titre du revenu et de l’avoir.

Prêts pour réparations domiciliaires

La personne bénéficiaire peut être tenue d'obtenir un prêt pour réparations domiciliaires si le montant de son allocation de logement est inférieur au plafond prescrit. Les remboursements mensuels du prêt ou de l'hypothèque sont alors inclus dans les coûts de logement.