October 2017

9.2: Absence from Ontario

Legislative Authority

Sections 7(1), (3) and (4) of the Act.
Section 5 of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Where a request for approval of an absence of more than seven days has been made prior to or after the absence, the request, receipts, reasons for the decision and the relevant dates are documented and on file.

Where a participant is absent in excess of seven days without approval from the Administrator and financial assistance is cancelled or reduced, information is documented and on file to support the decision.

Random file reviews are completed to ensure that all requirements are met.

Application of Policy

A person who is absent from Ontario for a period greater than seven days is not eligible for assistance unless the absence is approved by the Administrator as necessary for reasons of health or exceptional circumstances.

A recipient who is absent from Ontario for a period of seven days or less must keep receipts in order to verify the dates of any and all absences should the duration of their absence need to be verified.

The Administrator should ensure that:

  • the recipient understands that absence from Ontario for more than seven days without approval from the Administrator can result in ineligibility for assistance commencing on day eight of the unapproved absence;
  • recipients are aware of the rules, responsibilities and expectations with respect to the seven day absence rule by reviewing, signing and receiving the Rights and Responsibilities form;
  • when a recipient is not eligible for assistance because of an unapproved absence from Ontario and the recipient is part of a benefit unit with additional members, the financial assistance available to the benefit unit will be reduced, on a prorated basis, by the recipient's amount for the period of their ineligibility;
  • any recipient who is not eligible for assistance because of an unapproved absence from Ontario must reapply for assistance and agree to meet participation requirements; and
  • where a recipient has requested an approval for an absence of more than seven days, the Administrator provides a response to the recipient within a reasonable period of time.

A recipient should ensure that:

  • the delivery agent is informed of any absence from Ontario for more than seven days; and
  • if they are absent from Ontario for a period of seven days or less, receipts are kept to verify the dates of absence from Ontario should the duration of their absence need to be verified.

Absence in Excess of Seven Days

The Administrator has the discretion to approve an absence from Ontario in excess of seven days where the absence can be verified as necessary for the recipient’s health or because of exceptional circumstances. These may include family or cultural events.

Some of the factors the Administrator may consider when making a decision about whether or not to approve the extended absence request include:

  • the impact of the absence on meeting participation requirements;
  • the need for the recipient to attend to urgent family matters outside the province, such as serious illness, injury or death of an immediate family member; and/or
  • the purpose for the absence is to receive necessary medical treatment outside the province or out of country that is prescribed by a physician and is covered by the Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP) Out of Province or Out of Country Health Services.
  • Note: The absence may only be approved if the recipient provides a letter from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care confirming that the out of province or out of country service is insured by OHIP.

Where an absence is approved, all members of a benefit unit are eligible for financial assistance for the period of time that has been approved by the Administrator.

Verification of Dates

Recipients may be asked to produce verification of their absence if the duration of their absence is questioned. A recipient should be informed, before they leave, that they are responsible for keeping receipts to verify dates of the absence from Ontario.

An affidavit signed by the recipient may be considered if the verification provided is not satisfactory.

Unapproved Absence in Excess of Seven Days

Single Recipient

Where an absence is not approved, a single person’s financial assistance is cancelled for each day absent from Ontario, commencing on day eight. The financial assistance can be reinstated (prorated from the date of request) when the person re-applies and is eligible for assistance as a resident of Ontario.

An overpayment is charged if it is determined after the fact that the recipient was absent from Ontario without approval for more than seven days. The overpayment is prorated for the days absent starting on day eight and up to the time that they receive assistance while absent. Assistance should not be reinstated until the recipient re-applies.

Example:

A single recipient leaves Ontario for 14 days without approval. An overpayment is charged for days 8-14 (7 days total) and effective day 8, assistance is cancelled and cannot be reinstated until the recipient re-applies (see Directive 6.13: Calculating Reduced Assistance and Directive 9.3: Recovery of Overpayments for more information).

Recipient Who is a Member of a Benefit Unit with Additional Members

Where an absence is not approved for a member of a benefit unit, financial assistance available to the benefit unit will be reduced, on a prorated basis, by the absent member’s amount, for the period of time commencing with day eight of the absence until the participant has returned to Ontario and has re-applied or requested reinstatement of assistance.

During the period of a temporary absence that has not been approved, a remaining spouse must continue to meet all of the requirements of eligibility (e.g., participation requirements, reporting absent recipient’s income), if the absence is for a reason other than a breakdown in the relationship with no reasonable prospect of reconciliation. Failure to meet these requirements would result in ineligibility for the remaining spouse.

If at any time during this period there is a breakdown in the relationship with no reasonable prospect of reconciliation, a remaining spouse may re-apply as a single applicant or sole-support parent (see Directive 6.13: Calculating Reduced Assistance and Directive 9.3: Recovery of Overpayments for more information).

Example:

The benefit unit consists of two adults and two children under age 12. The benefit unit is eligible for $1,230 ($486 Basic Needs + $744 Shelter) without deductions. One of the adult participants leaves Ontario for three weeks without approval. The budgetary requirements for the benefit unit is reduced by the basic needs rate reduction amount and the adult participant's portion of the shelter amount ($238 Basic Needs Rate Reduction + $58 Shelter = $296).

The financial assistance for the benefit unit is reduced by the absent participant’s amount for each day absent from Ontario commencing on day eight up to and including day twenty-one, for a total of fourteen days.

$1,230.00 - Current eligibility for the benefit unit

-$138.13 - Subtract participant's portion prorated for 14 days ($296 / 30 days x 14 days)

$1,091.87 - Reduced assistance amount for the benefit unit

More Than One Member of the Benefit Unit

The same principle applies when there is more than one member of the benefit unit absent from Ontario for more than seven days without approval. Financial assistance for the benefit unit is reduced, on a prorated basis, by the absent members’ amount for the period of time commencing with day eight of the absence until the members have returned to Ontario and have re-applied or requested reinstatement of assistance.

octobre 2017

9.2 : Absence de l’Ontario

Compétence législative

Paragraphes 7 (1), (3) et (4) de la Loi.
Article 5 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

Si la demande d’autorisation de s’absenter pendant plus de sept jours a été faite avant ou après l’absence, la demande, les reçus, les motifs de la décision et les dates pertinentes sont documentés et figurent au dossier.

Si la personne qui participe au programme s’absente plus de sept jours sans l’autorisation de l’administratrice ou de l’administrateur et que l’aide financière qu’elle reçoit est annulée ou réduite, les renseignements appuyant la décision prise sont documentés et figurent au dossier.

On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s’assurer que toutes les exigences sont respectées.

Application de la Politique

Quiconque s’absente de l’Ontario pendant plus de sept jours n’est pas admissible à de l’aide, sauf si l’absence a été autorisée par l’administratrice ou l’administrateur comme nécessaire pour des raisons de santé ou à cause de circonstances exceptionnelles.

La personne bénéficiaire qui s’absente de l’Ontario pendant sept jours ou moins doit garder les reçus permettant de vérifier les dates de son absence de la province au cas où on les lui demanderait pour confirmer la durée effective de son absence.

L’administratrice ou l’administrateur doit s’assurer de ce qui suit :

  • la personne bénéficiaire sait que son absence éventuelle de l’Ontario pendant plus de sept jours sans l’autorisation de l’administratrice ou de l’administrateur peut entraîner son inadmissibilité à l’aide à partir du huitième jour de toute absence non autorisée;
  • la personne bénéficiaire est informée des règles, responsabilités et attentes concernant la ligne directrice applicable aux absences de plus de sept jours lorsqu’elle reçoit la formule Droits et responsabilités, formule qu’elle doit lire et signer;
  • si la personne bénéficiaire est inadmissible à l’aide en raison d’une absence non autorisée de l’Ontario et qu’elle fait partie d’un groupe de prestataires comprenant d’autres membres, l’aide financière accordée au groupe est réduite de la fraction de l’aide qui serait accordée à la personne bénéficiaire pendant sa période d’inadmissibilité;
  • la personne bénéficiaire qui est inadmissible à l’aide en raison d’une absence non autorisée de l’Ontario doit faire une nouvelle demande d’aide et s’engager à respecter les exigences en matière de participation;
  • si la personne bénéficiaire a demandé l’autorisation de s’absenter pendant plus de sept jours, l’administratrice ou l’administrateur lui communique sa réponse dans un délai raisonnable.

La personne bénéficiaire doit s’assurer de ce qui suit :

  • l’agent de prestation de services est informé de toute absence de plus de sept jours de l’Ontario;
  • si elle s’absente de l’Ontario pendant sept jours ou moins, elle doit garder ses reçus pour que l’on puisse vérifier, le cas échéant, les dates effectives de son absence de l’Ontario.

Absence de plus de sept jours

L’administratrice ou l’administrateur peut, à son gré, autoriser une personne à s’absenter de l’Ontario pendant plus de sept jours s’il peut être établi que cette absence se fonde sur des raisons de santé, des circonstances exceptionnelles ou des motifs familiaux ou culturels.

Voici quelques-uns des facteurs que l’administratrice ou l’administrateur peut prendre en considération dans sa décision d’autoriser ou non une demande d’absence prolongée :

  • les incidences de l’absence sur le respect des exigences en matière de participation;
  • l’importance pour la personne bénéficiaire de s’occuper de questions familiales urgentes hors de la province, comme une maladie grave, une blessure ou le décès d’un membre de sa famille immédiate;
  • l’absence vise à recevoir un traitement médical nécessaire hors de la province ou du pays qui est prescrit par un médecin et qui est couvert par les services de santé hors province ou hors pays de l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario.

Remarque : L’absence ne peut être autorisée que si la personne bénéficiaire fournit une lettre du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée confirmant que le service hors province ou pays est assuré par l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario.

En cas d’autorisation d’une absence, tous les membres du groupe de prestataires sont admissibles à une aide financière pendant la durée de l’absence autorisée par l’administratrice ou l’administrateur.

Vérification des dates

La personne bénéficiaire peut être invitée à produire des justificatifs relativement à son absence si celle-ci est contestée. Elle doit être informée, avant son départ, qu’elle doit garder des reçus confirmant les dates de son absence de l’Ontario.

Un affidavit signé par la personne bénéficiaire peut être accepté si les justificatifs fournis ne sont pas satisfaisants.

Absence non autorisée de plus de sept jours

Personne bénéficiaire seule

L’aide financière accordée à une personne seule est annulée à compter du huitième jour de son absence non autorisée de l’Ontario. Elle peut être rétablie et calculée de façon proportionnelle à partir de la date de la demande si la personne fait une nouvelle demande et est admissible à l’aide à titre de résident de l’Ontario.

Un paiement excédentaire est établi s’il est déterminé ultérieurement que la personne bénéficiaire s’est absentée de l’Ontario pendant plus de sept jours sans autorisation. Le paiement excédentaire est calculé de façon proportionnelle et vise la période comprise entre le huitième jour d’absence et le dernier jour où la personne reçoit de l’aide pendant son absence. L’aide ne devrait pas être rétablie tant que la personne ne fait pas une nouvelle demande.

Exemple :

Une personne seule quitte l’Ontario pendant 14 jours sans autorisation. Un paiement excédentaire est établi à partir de la huitième journée et jusqu’à la quatorzième (sept jours en tout). L’aide est annulée à partir du huitième jour et n’est pas rétablie tant que la personne bénéficiaire ne fait pas une autre demande (voir la Directive 6.13 : Calcul de la réduction de l’aide et la Directive 9.3 : Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires pour un complément d’information).

Bénéficiaire membre d’un groupe de prestataires comprenant d’autres personnes

Si l’absence d’un membre du groupe de prestataires n’est pas autorisée, l’aide financière accordée à ce groupe est réduite, de façon proportionnelle, en fonction de la fraction versée à la personne absente, à partir de la huitième journée d’absence et jusqu’à ce que la personne revienne en Ontario et fasse une nouvelle demande ou demande le rétablissement de l’aide.

En cas d’absence temporaire non autorisée, la conjointe ou le conjoint qui reste dans la province doit continuer de respecter toutes les conditions d’admissibilité (p. ex., exigences en matière de participation, déclaration du revenu de la personne bénéficiaire absente), si l’absence est rattachée à un motif qui n’est pas la rupture des relations sans possibilité raisonnable de réconciliation. L’inobservation de ces exigences entraîne l’inadmissibilité de la conjointe ou du conjoint qui reste.

Si, durant l’absence d’une personne bénéficiaire, il y a rupture des relations sans possibilité raisonnable de réconciliation, la conjointe ou le conjoint qui reste peut faire une nouvelle demande à titre de personne seule ou de père ou mère seul soutien de famille (voir la Directive 6.13 : Calcul de la réduction de l’aide et la Directive 9.3 : Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires pour un complément d’information).

Exemple :

Un groupe de prestataires se compose de deux adultes et de deux enfants ayant moins de 12 ans. Le groupe est admissible à une aide de 1 230 $ (486 $ au titre des besoins essentiels + 744 $ au titre du logement) sans déductions. L’un des deux adultes s’absente de l’Ontario sans autorisation pendant trois semaines. La diminution des exigences budgétaires pour le groupe de prestataires correspond à la réduction du taux au titre des besoins essentiels et à la part du montant au titre de l’hébergement pour cet adulte (238 $ pour la réduction du taux au titre des besoins essentiels + 58 $ au titre du logement = 296 $).

L’aide financière devant être accordée à la personne absente est soustraite de l’aide versée au groupe de prestataires pendant chaque jour d’absence de l’Ontario, à partir du huitième jour d’absence et jusqu’au vingt et unième jour, soit pendant 14 jours en tout.

1 230,00 $ - Aide accordée actuellement au groupe de prestataires

- 138.13 $ - Moins la part due à la personne pendant 14 jours : (296 $ / 30 jours x 14 jours)

1 091.87 $ - Aide réduite versée au groupe de prestataires

Absence de plus d’un membre du groupe de prestataires

Le même principe s’applique si plusieurs membres du groupe de prestataires s’absentent de l’Ontario pendant plus de sept jours sans autorisation. L’aide financière accordée au groupe de prestataires est réduite de la fraction versée à chaque personne absente à partir de son huitième jour d’absence et jusqu’à ce que la personne revienne en Ontario et fasse une nouvelle demande ou demande le rétablissement de l’aide.