Share

woman holding young child

In the 2013 Budget, the government announced a number of changes to social assistance. These were introduced as first steps in a plan to reform Ontario’s social assistance programs – removing barriers and increasing opportunities for everyone to participate in the workforce.

Those first steps came out of recommendations proposed by the Commission for the Review of Social Assistance in Ontario on how to improve benefits and the way they are delivered. The government recognizes that changing programs this large will take time and require input from a wide variety of perspectives.

Engagement

The Commission conducted broad consultations to inform their recommendations, talking with people and groups across the province and reviewing hundreds of submissions.

To develop a plan for next steps, the ministry is setting up discussions with representatives from municipalities, delivery partners, past and current recipients, employers, academics, community organizations and others. Input will be used to help the ministry set priorities and work through the choices needed to improve our programs.

The ministry will also engage in separate and substantive discussions with First Nation communities to ensure their needs are properly understood and appropriately addressed.

What will be discussed?

The initial changes announced in the Budget were aimed at helping people find jobs, improving incomes and increasing fairness. The plan for further changes will continue to focus on these areas and seek advice on how to best achieve them, as well as how to improve our program delivery.

How can I be involved?

Our engagement builds on what the Commission heard through their consultation, but does not try to repeat it. Your input is welcome and more information will be shared as we move ahead. You can write to us through our Contact us page. Just select “Social Assistance Reform” from the list of feedback topics.

Learn more

Read our Questions and Answers about the budget.

Read the 2013 Ontario Budget

Read the final report of the Commission for the Review of Social Assistance. Read the submissions.

Ontario Government Renewing Its Commitment to Reduce Poverty

femme avec une petite fille

Dans le budget 2013, le gouvernement a annoncé plusieurs modifications au système d’aide sociale. Il s’agit des premières mesures d’un plan visant à réformer les programmes d’aide sociale de l’Ontario en éliminant les obstacles et en accroissant les possibilités d’intégration à la population active offertes à tout un chacun.

Ces premières mesures étaient issues des recommandations de la Commission d’examen du système d’aide sociale de l’Ontario. Il s’agissait de déterminer comment améliorer les prestations et d’examiner leur mode de prestation. Le gouvernement reconnaît que la modification de programmes aussi importants prendra du temps et nécessitera l’apport de divers intervenants.

Participation

La Commission a mené de vastes consultations afin d’étayer ses recommandations, consultant des particuliers et des groupes dans toute la province et examinant des centaines de commentaires.

Afin d’élaborer un plan pour les étapes suivantes, le ministère organise des discussions avec des représentants des municipalités, des partenaires responsables de la prestation des services, des bénéficiaires passés et présents, des employeurs, des universitaires, des organismes communautaires et d’autres intervenants. Cette rétroaction aidera le ministère à fixer des priorités et à faire les choix qui s’imposent pour améliorer nos programmes.

Le ministère entamera également des discussions séparées et de fond avec les communautés des Premières Nations pour veiller à ce que leurs besoins soient bien compris et satisfaits.

De quoi discutera-t-on?

Les changements initiaux annoncés dans le budget visaient à aider les personnes à trouver un emploi, à augmenter leur revenu et à favoriser l’équité. Le plan visant à apporter d’autres changements continuera à mettre l’accent sur ces domaines. On cherchera à obtenir des conseils pour savoir comment apporter ces changements de façon optimale et comment améliorer notre système de prestation des programmes.

Comment puis-je participer?

Nous nous efforçons de tenir compte des commentaires transmis à la Commission, sans essayer de répéter cette expérience. Nous serons heureux de recevoir vos suggestions. Nous vous fournirons de plus amples renseignements au fil du processus. Vous pouvez nous écrire en vous rendant sur notre page Pour nous joindre. Choisissez simplement  « Réforme de l’aide sociale » sur la liste des sujets de rétroaction.

Pour en savoir davantage

Lire nos questions et réponses au sujet du budget.

Lire le Budget de l'Ontario de 2013.

Lire le rapport final de la Commission d'examen du système d'aide sociale en Ontario.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario renouvelle son engagement envers la réduction de la pauvreté