previous page | table of contents | next page

1.0 Complaints/Feedback Process

Applicable to: All service agencies that receive funding under the Services and Supports to Promote the Social Inclusion of Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, 2008 from the Ministry of Community and Social Services to provide adult developmental services and supports. 

This policy directive does not apply to Developmental Services Ontario organizations.  Requirements for a feedback process are outlined in the Policy Directives for Application Entities.

Legislative Authority: Section 7(1) 1

Effective Date: June 1, 2012

Introduction

A complaints/feedback process is an important part of providing quality support that is responsive to people’s needs and that supports continuous improvement in service delivery.  The information received through a complaints/feedback process can assist an organization to take steps to better support individuals and/or improve administrative practices.

Definitions:

“Feedback” may be positive or negative (including complaints) and is related to the services and/or supports that are provided by a service agency.  Feedback may be solicited (such as information and comments collected through a satisfaction survey or a comment box) or unsolicited (such as a letter from a person or family member about the services and supports that the agency provides).  Feedback may be formal (like the survey or letter noted above) or informal (such as a verbal complaint expressed to a staff person).

“Complaint” is an expression of dissatisfaction related to the services and/or supports that are provided by a service agency.  A complaint may be expressed by a person with a developmental disability who is receiving services and supports from the service agency, or a person acting on their behalf, or by the general public, regarding the services and supports that are provided by the service agency.  A complaint may be made formally (such as a letter written to the agency) or informally (such as a verbal complaint expressed to a staff person).  A complaint does not include feedback on matters unrelated to the agency and the services and supports that it provides.

Purpose

The purpose of the policy directive is to set out the requirements for service agencies to develop written policies and procedures for a process to receive and address complaints and other feedback about the services and supports that they provide.

The ministry recognizes that service agencies may already have a complaints and/or feedback process in place.  An agency’s complaints/feedback process is separate and apart from other means to express concern, either at the local level, or more broadly, such as the Ombudsman of Ontario or the Human Rights Commission. 

The policies and procedures developed by service agencies must include a process to elicit feedback and to resolve and respond to complaints regarding the agency and the services and supports it provides, from individuals with a developmental disability, persons acting on their behalf, and the general public.

Policy

A complaints/feedback process should be readily available and easily understandable to those who wish to submit a complaint or provide feedback, and set out the way in which the service agency will provide a response to the complaint/feedback in a timely manner. 

A review of the complaints/feedback received in a complaints/feedback process can assist an agency in identifying issues and mitigating a risk to the organization where it may fail to meet expectations of the public, other clients, ministries or other stakeholders.

Note that service agencies must also comply with the requirements for a feedback process that are set out in the Accessibility Standards for Customer Services, Ontario Regulation 429/07, made under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005. 

Directive

A service agency shall have written policies and procedures regarding the process for receiving and addressing feedback and complaints about the services and supports that it provides that may be received from:

  • An individual with a developmental disability who receives services and supports from the service agency;
  • A person acting on behalf of the individual with a developmental disability who receives services and supports from the service agency; and
  • The general public.

A service agency must provide information in plain language on the complaints/feedback process to all individuals with a developmental disability who come in to service with the agency, and/or a person acting on their behalf (where applicable).

A service agency must provide a copy of its written policies and procedures to any person who requests it. 

The policies and procedures shall account for differing ways that complaints/feedback may be received (e.g., complaints/feedback submitted in writing, or provided verbally to an agency representative).

  • The policies and procedures shall identify:
  • How the service agency receives and documents complaints/feedback;
  • The process for investigating the matter (if applicable) that must be free of conflict of interest;
  • Expected time period for the complaints/feedback processes (i.e., for each step of the process);
  • The process for responding to complaints/feedback;
  • The roles and responsibilities of persons who may be involved in receiving complaints/feedback, documenting, investigating, resolving and providing notification or confirmation with the individual who submitted the complaint/feedback;
  • Consideration for the role and any responsibilities of persons who receive support from the service agency, in the complaints/feedback processes;
  • The role and responsibilities of the Board of Directors in the complaints/feedback processes;
  • How to avoid conflict of interest that may arise between the person who makes the complaint or provides feedback, and those who may be involved in the review, documentation, investigation, resolution and notification/confirmation; and
  • How to ensure that the review process is free of any coercion or intimidation or bias, either before, during, or after the review. 

The service agency shall receive, document, and review all feedback, and receive, document, review, and attempt to resolve all complaints.  Wherever possible, the service agency shall make reasonable efforts to resolve or address the matter to the mutual satisfaction of both the person who has made the complaint and the service agency. 

A service agency shall take all complaints seriously, and review and investigate all matters.  A service agency is not, however, expected to attempt to resolve complaints that it may determine to be frivolous or vexatious.

A service agency shall ensure that a person who submits a complaint or provides feedback is not at risk of having his/her services and supports negatively impacted or withdrawn, as a consequence of submitting the complaint/feedback.

The service agency’s policies and procedures on the complaints and feedback process shall comply with reporting requirements set out in the Services and Supports to Promote the Social Inclusion of Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, 2008 and its regulations.  Where necessary, a service agency shall ensure that a complaint/feedback is:

  • Reported to the police (i.e., as in the case of alleged, suspected or witnessed abuse that may constitute a criminal offence, as required by Ontario Regulation 299/10 regarding quality assurance measures made under the Services and Supports to Promote the Social Inclusion of Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, 2008); and/or

  • Reported to the ministry as a serious occurrence through the ministry’s serious occurrence reporting process (based on the nature of the complaint/feedback).

In order to promote continuous quality improvement, a service agency shall conduct a review and analysis of the complaints and feedback received to evaluate the effectiveness of its policies and procedures, on an annual basis.  A service agency shall also conduct a review and analysis of the complaints and feedback received to consider the need to revise any other policies and procedures that the agency may have in place.

A service agency shall share information about its complaints/feedback process, and/or about complaints/feedback, as part of the ministry’s risk assessment process, upon request by the ministry.

page précédente | table des matières | page suivante

1.0   Processus de Plainte/Rétroaction

Applicable à : tous les organismes de service subventionnés par le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires aux termes de la Loi de 2008 sur les services et soutiens favorisant l’inclusion sociale des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, dans le cadre de la fourniture de services et de soutiens aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

Cette directive ne s’applique pas aux organismes des Services de l’Ontario pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. Les exigences relatives au processus de rétroaction sont énoncées dans les Directives à l’intention des entités d’examen des demandes.

Cadre juridique : article 7(1) 1 Date d’entrée en vigueur : Le 1er juin 2012

 

Introduction

L’instauration d’un processus de plainte/rétroaction est importante pour offrir un soutien de qualité, capable de répondre aux besoins des personnes concernées et de favoriser l’amélioration continue de la prestation de services. Les renseignements reçus par le biais d’un processus de plainte/rétroaction peuvent aider les organismes à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour mieux soutenir les personnes et/ou améliorer les pratiques administratives.

Définitions :
Le terme « rétroaction » peut désigner un retour d’information positif ou négatif (y compris une plainte) en rapport avec les services et/ou les soutiens offerts par un organisme de service. La rétroaction peut être sollicitée (comme c’est le cas des renseignements et commentaires recueillis dans le cadre d’une enquête de satisfaction ou déposés dans une urne prévue à cet effet) ou spontanée (p. ex. un courrier envoyé par une personne ou un membre de la famille au sujet des services et soutiens offerts par l’organisme). La rétroaction peut être formelle (dans le cas de l’enquête ou de la lettre citée ci-dessus en exemple) ou informelle (p. ex. une plainte exprimée oralement auprès d’un membre du personnel).

Une « plainte » est l’expression d’un mécontentement au sujet des services et/ou des soutiens offerts par un organisme de service. Une plainte peut être présentée par une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui reçoit des services et soutiens de la part de l’organisme de service, par une personne agissant en son nom ou par le grand public. Une plainte peut être formelle (p. ex. un courrier adressé à l’organisme) ou informelle (p. ex. une plainte exprimée oralement auprès d’un membre du personnel). Les plaintes n’incluent pas la rétroaction ayant trait à des sujets sans rapport avec l’organisme et les services et soutiens offerts par ce dernier.

Objet

L’objet de cette directive est de définir les obligations incombant aux organismes de service concernant l’élaboration de politiques et procédures écrites instaurant un processus de présentation des plaintes et d’autres formes de rétroaction au sujet des services et soutiens qu’ils proposent.


Le ministère a conscience que certains organismes de service ont peut-être déjà mis en place un processus de plainte et/ou de rétroaction. Le processus de plainte/rétroaction d’un organisme est distinct de tout autre moyen d’expression des préoccupations, aussi bien au niveau local que de manière plus générale, p. ex. auprès d’Ombudsman Ontario ou de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne.


Les politiques et procédures instaurées par les organismes de service doivent inclure un processus permettant d’obtenir une rétroaction et de traiter les plaintes concernant l’organisme et les services et soutiens offerts par ce dernier, qu’elles émanent de personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, des personnes agissant en leur nom ou du grand public.

Politique

Le processus de plainte/rétroaction doit être aisément accessible et compréhensible pour toute personne souhaitant formuler une plainte ou transmettre sa rétroaction. Il doit en outre définir par quel biais l’organisme de service y répondra en temps opportun.

Grâce à l’examen des plaintes/de la rétroaction reçues dans le cadre de ce processus, les organismes seront en mesure de cerner les problèmes et d’atténuer le risque de ne pas répondre aux attentes du public, des clients, des ministères ou d’autres parties prenantes.

À noter que les organismes de service doivent également satisfaire aux exigences en matière de rétroaction stipulées dans les Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle, Règlement de l’Ontario 429/07, prises en application de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario.

Directive

Chaque organisme de service est tenu de rédiger des politiques et procédures régissant le processus de réception et de traitement de la rétroaction et des plaintes relatives aux services et soutiens offerts que sont susceptibles de lui adresser:

  • toute personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle recevant des services et soutiens de la part de l’organisme de service;
  • tout tiers agissant au nom d’une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui reçoit des services et soutiens de la part de l’organisme de service; et

  • le grand public.

Chaque organisme de service doit fournir des renseignements sur le processus de plainte/rétroaction. Formulés dans un langage simple, ces renseignements doivent s’adresser à toutes les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui reçoivent des services de la part de l’organisme et/ou de toute personne agissant en leur nom (le cas échéant).

Chaque organisme de service doit fournir un exemplaire de ses politiques et procédures écrites à toute personne qui en fait la demande.

Les politiques et procédures doivent stipuler les divers moyens par lesquels une plainte/rétroaction peut être transmise (p. ex., plainte/rétroaction écrite ou exprimée oralement auprès d’un représentant de l’organisme).

Les politiques et procédures doivent indiquer :

  • les modalités de transmission des plaintes/de la rétroaction à l’organisme de service et les procédures de documentation adoptées par ce dernier;
  • le processus mis en œuvre pour enquêter sur l’affaire (le cas échéant), lequel doit être exempt de tout conflit d’intérêts;

  • la durée estimée du processus de traitement des plaintes/de la rétroaction (pour chaque étape);

  • le processus mis en œuvre pour répondre aux plaintes/à la rétroaction;

  • les rôles et devoirs des personnes susceptibles de prendre part aux processus de réception des plaintes/de la rétroaction, de documentation, d’enquête, de résolution et de notification/confirmation à l’auteur de la plainte/rétroaction;

  • le rôle et les éventuels devoirs des personnes recevant un soutien de la part de l’organisme de service dans le cadre du processus de plainte/rétroaction;

  • le rôle et les devoirs du conseil d’administration dans le processus de plainte/rétroaction;

  • les moyens mis en œuvre pour éviter tout conflit d’intérêts entre l’auteur de la plainte ou de la rétroaction et les personnes prenant part aux processus d’examen, de documentation, d’enquête, de résolution et de notification/confirmation; et
  • les moyens permettant de s’assurer que le processus d’examen ne fait l’objet d’aucune tentative de coercition ou d’intimidation, ni d’aucun parti pris — avant, pendant ou après l’examen.

L’organisme de service est tenu d’accepter, de documenter et d’examiner toute rétroaction et d’accepter, de documenter, d’examiner et de tenter de résoudre toutes les plaintes qui lui sont adressées. Dans la mesure du possible, l’organisme de service doit déployer tous les efforts raisonnables pour résoudre ou traiter l’affaire en trouvant une solution satisfaisante à la fois pour l’auteur de la plainte et pour l’organisme de service.

Chaque organisme de service doit prendre au sérieux et examiner toutes les plaintes qui lui sont adressées. Il doit mener l’enquête dans tous les cas. Toutefois, il n’est pas demandé aux organismes de service d’essayer de résoudre les plaintes qu’ils estiment à juste titre dénuées de fondement ou abusives.

Chaque organisme de service doit s’assurer que toute personne formulant une plainte ou une rétroaction ne risque aucunement de voir ses services et soutiens se dégrader ou s’interrompre en conséquence de sa plainte/rétroaction.

Les politiques et procédures régissant les plaintes et la rétroaction adressées à l’organisme de service doivent satisfaire aux exigences en matière de présentation de rapports stipulées dans la Loi de 2008 sur les services et soutiens favorisant l’inclusion sociale des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et ses règlements d’application. Au besoin, les organismes de service doivent s’assurer que toute plainte/rétroaction :

  • est transmise à la police (p. ex. dans le cas d’un abus invoqué, présumé ou constaté par des témoins et susceptible de constituer un délit, conformément aux mesures d’assurance de la qualité prescrites par le Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10 pris en application de la Loi de 2008 sur les services et soutiens favorisant l’inclusion sociale des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle); et/ou
  • est signalée au ministère en tant qu’incident grave conformément à la marche à suivre pour signaler les incidents graves (en fonction de la nature de la plainte/rétroaction).

Dans l’optique de favoriser l’amélioration continue de la qualité, chaque organisme de service doit réaliser tous les ans un examen et une analyse des plaintes et de la rétroaction qu’il reçoit afin d’évaluer l’efficacité de ses politiques et procédures. Il doit également réaliser un examen et une analyse des plaintes et de la rétroaction qu’il reçoit afin de déterminer s’il est nécessaire de réviser toute autre politique ou procédure mise en place.

Dans le cadre du processus d’évaluation des risques du ministère, chaque organisme de service est tenu de communiquer, sur demande du ministère, les renseignements relatifs à son processus de plainte/rétroaction et/ou aux plaintes/à la rétroaction reçues.