previous page | table of contents | next page

2.0 Supporting People with Challenging Behaviour

Applicable to: All service agencies that receive funding under the Services and Supports to Promote the Social Inclusion of Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, 2008 from the Ministry of Community and Social Services to provide the following adult developmental services and supports:

  • Supported group living residences
  • Intensive support residences
  • Community participation services and supports
  • Caregiver respite services and supports
  • Activities of daily living services and supports

This policy directive does not apply to Developmental Services Ontario organizations. 

Legislative Authority: Section 7(1) 1

Effective Date: May 1, 2017

Introduction

The Ministry of Community and Social Services (MCSS) wants people with a developmental disability to participate fully as citizens of Ontario. Its goal is to create a system of services and supports to help adults with a developmental disability to be more independent, to have more choice, and to be included in the community.

The ministry recognizes that most adults with a developmental disability do not have and/or display challenging behaviour. The behaviour interventions outlined in this policy directive are not meant for, nor are they appropriate for use with, people who do not have and/or display challenging behaviour.

Sometimes, a person may display behaviour as a means of expressing him/herself. Other times, a person may exhibit behaviour as a means of signalling that something is wrong, such as a physical health problem, or when a person’s environment is not meeting his/her needs1. In some cases, behaviour can relate to a person’s mental health, past abuse and/or trauma. Problematic behaviour can increase the risk of social isolation and decrease the quality of life of the person2. The Primary Care of Adults with Developmental Disabilities: Canadian Consensus Guidelines3, written by Dr. William F. Sullivan et al., and the associated Tools for Primary Care Providers and Tools for Caregivers4 by the Developmental Disabilities Primary Care Initiative, are valuable resources in assisting physicians, primary care providers, service agencies, and families or caregivers in assessing the behaviour of a person with a developmental disability . Copies are available at

http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/resources-publications/primary-care/

In instances where an adult with a developmental disability has challenging behaviour, it is important that the support the person receives to address his/her behaviour is well-informed, appropriate to the person’s needs, and safe, so that the person may take part in the community and live as independently as possible. The ministry also requires that service agencies take steps to ensure that agency staff has the knowledge and skills to react quickly and effectively in the event of a crisis situation, and to keep everyone as safe as possible in the area of the crisis situation.  

Definitions:

“Challenging behaviour” is defined in Ontario Regulation 299/10 as “behaviour that is aggressive or injurious to self or to others or that causes property damage or both and that limits the ability of the person with a developmental disability to participate in daily life activities and in the community or to learn new skills or that is any combination of them”.

A “crisis situation” is defined in the regulation as “a circumstance where,

(a)  a person with a developmental disability is displaying challenging behaviour that is new or more intense than that which was displayed in the past and the person lacks a behaviour support plan or the strategies outlined in the person’s behaviour support plan do not effectively address the challenging behaviour

(b)  the challenging behaviour places the person at immediate risk of harming themselves or others or causing property damage, and

(c)  attempts to de-escalate the situation have been ineffective.”

Purpose

This directive recognizes that, in some instances and perhaps by exception, intrusive measures are used with adults with a developmental disability who have and/or display challenging behaviour.

The purpose of the policy directive is to set out the ministry’s requirements regarding the use of intrusive behaviour intervention strategies by service agencies for adults with a developmental disability who have and/or display challenging behaviour.  This policy directive provides additional direction to Part III of Ontario Regulation 299/10, the regulation on quality assurance measures, made under the Services and Supports to Promote the Social Inclusion of Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, 2008.

This policy directive is intended to protect the safety, rights and well-being of adults with a developmental disability who have and/or may exhibit challenging behaviour, as well as the safety of others who may be in the environment and the agency staff who provide support. This directive is also intended to clarify expectations for staff training and promote consistency among service agencies regarding intrusive behaviour intervention with a view to assisting individuals to develop more positive behaviour, communication and adaptive skills, and to reduce, change or eliminate their challenging behaviour, in order to support their inclusion in the community.

Policy

Service agencies funded by the ministry are responsible for delivering services that promote the health, safety and well-being of people who are being supported.

The ministry supports an approach to behaviour intervention that uses the least intrusive and most effective evidence-based practices possible to address the challenging behaviour of a person with a developmental disability . Further, wherever possible, the ministry supports the use of non-intrusive measures in order to prevent and avoid crisis situations.

The ministry’s position is that physical restraint should be used solely as a last resort in crisis situations, or as identified in an individual’s behaviour support plan.

Definition:

A “physical restraint”, as an example of a type of intrusive behaviour intervention in Ontario regulation 299/10, includes “a holding technique to restrict the ability of the person with a developmental disability to move freely, but does not include the restriction of movement, physical redirection or physical prompting if the restriction of movement, physical redirection or physical prompting is brief, gentle and part of a behaviour teaching program.”

A service agency is responsible for the safe use of behaviour intervention strategies.  Behaviour intervention strategies should be used as outlined in the behaviour support plan for the person with a developmental disability who has challenging behaviour and in accordance with all legal requirements.


1 Bradley, E & Developmental Disabilities Primary Care Initiative Co-editors (2011). Initial Management of Behavioural Crises in Family Medicine. Available from: (accessed 22 September 2016).

2 Condillac, Rosemary A. “Behavioural Intervention and Developmental Disabilities” in I. Brown and M. Percy (Eds) Developmental Disabilities in Ontario. 2nd ed. (407- 419). Toronto: Ontario Association on Developmental Disabilities; 2003.

3 Sullivan WF, Berg JM, Bradley E, Cheetham T, Denton R, Heng J, Hennen B, Joyce D, Kelly M, Korossy M, Lunsky Y, and McMillan S. Consensus guidelines for primary health care of adults with developmental disabilities. Canadian Family Physician 2011; 57: 541-53. (accessed November 2, 2016).

4 Developmental Disabilities Primary Care Initiative. (accessed November 2, 2016).

page précédente | table des matières | page suivante

2.0 Soutien aux personnes ayant un comportement problématique

Applicable à : tous les organismes de service subventionnés par le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires aux termes de la Loi de 2008 sur les services et soutiens favorisant l’inclusion sociale des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, dans le cadre de la fourniture des services et soutiens suivants aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle :

  • Résidences de groupe avec services de soutien
  • Résidences avec services de soutien intensif
  • Services et soutiens liés à la participation communautaire
  • Services et soutiens de relève pour fournisseurs de soins
  • Services et soutiens liés aux activités de la vie quotidienne.

Cette directive ne s’applique pas aux organismes des Services de l’Ontario pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

Cadre juridique : disposition 1 du paragraphe 7 (1)
Date d’entrée en vigueur : le 1er mai 2017

Introduction

Le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires (MSSC) souhaite que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle jouent pleinement leur rôle de citoyens de l’Ontario. Son objectif est de créer un système de services et de soutiens capable d’aider les adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle à devenir plus autonomes, à disposer d’un plus grand nombre de choix et à s’intégrer à la collectivité.

Le ministère a conscience que la plupart des adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle ne présentent pas un comportement problématique. Les interventions comportementales décrites dans cette directive ne s’adressent pas aux personnes qui ne présentent pas un comportement problématique — et le recours à ces interventions n’est alors pas approprié.

Dans certains cas, le comportement d’une personne peut être un moyen pour elle de s’exprimer. Dans d’autres cas, cela peut lui servir à signaler que quelque chose ne va pas, comme un problème de santé physique ou l’inadaptation de l’environnement à ses besoins1. Parfois, le comportement est lié à la santé mentale de la personne, à un mauvais traitement survenu dans le passé et/ou à un traumatisme. Les comportements problématiques peuvent augmenter le risque d’isolement social et diminuer la qualité de vie de la personne2. L’article « Soins primaires aux adultes ayant une déficience développementale : Lignes directrices consensuelles canadiennes »3rédigé par le Dr William F. Sullivan et coll., ainsi que les ressources connexes Outils à l’intention des professionnels de soins primaires et Outils à l’intention des dispensateurs de soins4, élaborées dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour les soins primaires en déficience intellectuelle, sont des ressources utiles pour aider les médecins, les fournisseurs de soins primaires, les organismes de service, les familles ou les fournisseurs de soins à évaluer le comportement d’une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle. Ces documents sont disponibles à l’adresse

http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/resources-publications/primary-care/

Lorsqu’un adulte ayant une déficience intellectuelle présente un comportement problématique, il est important que le soutien au comportement dont il bénéficie soit éclairé, adapté à ses besoins et sûr, de sorte qu’il puisse participer à la vie de la collectivité et vivre de manière aussi autonome que possible. Le ministère oblige également les organismes de service à prendre les mesures qui s’imposent afin que leur personnel dispose du savoir et des compétences nécessaires pour réagir rapidement et efficacement en situation de crise et pour veiller autant que possible à la sécurité de toutes les personnes se trouvant alors à proximité.

Définitions :

Le terme « comportement problématique » est défini comme suit dans le Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10 : « Comportement qui est agressif ou nuisible envers soi ou autrui ou qui entraîne des dommages aux biens, ou les deux, et qui limite la capacité d’une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle à participer aux activités de la vie quotidienne et à la collectivité ou à acquérir de nouvelles aptitudes, ou toute combinaison de ce qui précède. »

Le terme « situation de crise » y est défini comme suit : « Cas où les conditions suivantes sont réunies :
    (a) une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle présente un comportement problématique nouveau ou plus intense par rapport à son comportement antérieur et n’a pas de plan de soutien au comportement, ou les stratégies décrites dans son plan n’offrent pas de solutions efficaces pour faire face au comportement problématique;
    (b) le comportement problématique de la personne risque, dans l’immédiat, de l’amener à se causer du tort ou d’en causer à autrui ou d’endommager des biens;
    (c) les tentatives de désescalade de la situation se sont révélées inefficaces. »

Object

Cette directive reconnaît que, dans certains cas et peut-être par exception, des mesures perturbatrices sont employées à l’égard des adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présentent un comportement problématique.

L’objet de cette directive est d’énoncer les exigences du ministère concernant le recours aux stratégies d’intervention comportementale perturbatrice par les organismes de service à l’égard des adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présentent un comportement problématique. Cette directive vient compléter les orientations données à la partie III du Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10 relatif aux mesures d’assurance de la qualité pris en application de la Loi de 2008 sur les services et soutiens favorisant l’inclusion sociale des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

Cette directive vise à protéger la sécurité, les droits et le bien-être des adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présentent un comportement problématique, ainsi qu’à assurer la sécurité des autres personnes se trouvant à proximité et des membres du personnel de soutien de l’organisme. La directive a également pour objet de clarifier les attentes en matière de formation du personnel et de favoriser l’homogénéité entre les organismes de service en ce qui a trait à l’intervention comportementale perturbatrice, dans l’optique d’aider les personnes à adopter un comportement plus positif, à acquérir des aptitudes à la communication et à l’adaptation et à atténuer, modifier ou surmonter leur comportement problématique, dans le but de favoriser leur inclusion dans la collectivité.

Politique

Les organismes de service financés par le ministère sont chargés de la prestation de services visant à promouvoir la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être des personnes prises en charge.

Le ministère soutient une démarche d’intervention comportementale employant les pratiques – fondées sur des données probantes – les moins perturbatrices et les plus efficaces possible pour faire face au comportement problématique des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. En outre, le ministère préconise, dès que cela est possible, l’emploi de mesures non perturbatrices afin de prévenir et d’éviter les situations de crise.

De l’avis du ministère, la contention physique doit uniquement être utilisée en dernier recours lors de situations de crise, ou selon les dispositions prévues dans le plan de soutien au comportement d’une personne.

Définition :

Parmi les exemples d’intervention comportementale perturbatrice cités dans le Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10, la « contention physique » inclut « le recours à des techniques d’immobilisation dans le but de restreindre la capacité d’une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle à bouger librement, à l’exception toutefois de la restriction des mouvements, de la réorientation ou de l’incitation physique qui est de courte durée et faite en douceur et qui s’inscrit dans un programme d’apprentissage des comportements. »

Chaque organisme de service est responsable de l’emploi sans risque des stratégies d’intervention comportementale. Les stratégies d’intervention comportementale doivent être utilisées conformément au plan de soutien au comportement élaboré pour la personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présente un comportement problématique et à l’ensemble des exigences prévues par la loi.


1 Bradley, E. et coéditeurs de l’Initiative pour les soins primaires en déficience intellectuelle (2011). « Prise en charge initiale des crises comportementales en médecine familiale ». Disponible à l’adresse http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/documents/Primary%20Care/Management-of-behavioral-crises-MD-FR.pdf (consulté le 22 septembre 2016).

2 Condillac, Rosemary A. « Behavioural Intervention and Developmental Disabilities », dans I. Brown et M. Percy (éd.), Developmental Disabilities in Ontario, 2e éd. (407-419). Toronto : Ontario Association on Developmental Disabilities, 2003.

3 Sullivan W.F., Berg J.M., Bradley E., Cheetham T., Denton R., Heng J., Hennen B., Joyce D., Kelly M., Korossy M., Lunsky Y. et McMillan S. « Soins primaires aux adultes ayant une déficience développementale : Lignes directrices consensuelles canadiennes ». Le Médecin de famille canadien, no 57, 2011; e154-e168. Accessible à l’adresse http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/documents/Primary%20Care/PC-Adults-DD-FR.pdf (consulté le 2 novembre 2016).

4 Initiative pour les soins primaires en déficience intellectuelle. Accessible à l’adresse http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/resources-publications/primary-care/ (consulté le 2 novembre 2016).