previous page  | table of contents  | next page 

2.0 Supporting People with Challenging Behaviour (continued)

Use of Secure Isolation or Confinement Time-Out Rooms

In addition to the requirements set out in section 19, “Behaviour intervention, strategies and policies and procedures”, and section 20, “Use of intrusive behaviour intervention”, of Ontario Regulation 299/10, a service agency shall ensure that, where secure isolation or confinement time out is recommended to be used to address a person’s challenging behaviour as part of their behaviour support plan, the following performance standards and measures are adopted:

  • A service agency shall ensure that its written policies and procedures on the use of a secure isolation or time-out room address the following:
    • Stages of interval monitoring;
    • Duration of time that a person may spend in secure isolation or confinement time-out, any extension periods, and the total/maximum amount of time that a person may spend in secure isolation or confinement time-out;
    • Protocols regarding continuous observation and monitoring of a person who is in the secure isolation or confinement time-out room;
    • Regular record keeping(e.g., every fifteen minutes) of secure isolation or confinement time-out room use for each person with a developmental disability who has challenging behaviour, and trend analysis for each person; and
    • Notification of key agency staff that the secure isolation or confinement time-out room has been used, and regular report-backs to key clinicians overseeing the person’s behaviour support plan.

  • A service agency will ensure that the physical space of the secure isolation or confinement time-out room:
    • Is not used as a bedroom for a person with a developmental disability who has challenging behaviour;
    • Is of an adequate size for the person with a developmental disability who has challenging behaviour;
    • Does not contain any objects that could be used by the person to cause injury or damage to him/herself or others (i.e., staff who may enter the room);
    • Is a safe area, with modifications (as appropriate) that would protect the person from self-injury;
    • Has means to allow for constant observation and monitoring of the person by service agency staff(e.g., a window, a video-camera);
    • Is adequately illuminated so that the person inside the room may be seen; and
    • Is adequately ventilated and heated/cooled.
  • A service agency shall ensure that its fire escape plan includes provisions for escape from the secure isolation or confinement time-out room, in the event of an emergency.
  • If the secure isolation or confinement time-out room has a lock on the door to prevent the person from leaving the room, the service agency will ensure that the lock can be easily released from the outside in an emergency. 

Use of Mechanical Restraint

In addition to the requirements set out in section 20, “Use of intrusive behaviour intervention”, of Ontario Regulation 299/10, a service agency shall ensure that where a mechanical restraint is recommended to be used to address a person’s challenging behaviour as part of their behaviour support plan, any apparatus or device used as part of a mechanical restraint meets all of the following standards:

  • It is designed and manufactured for use as a mechanical restraint;
  • It is appropriate for use with the individual (e.g., the size of the device or apparatus is appropriate to the size and weight of the person);
  • It is purchased from a company that is dedicated to manufacturing such devices;
  • It is checked by agency staff to ensure that it is in good working order at all times; and
  • It is maintained in good repair by the manufacturer or by a person or organization recommended by the manufacturer.

Use of Prescribed Medication

As previously noted, the Primary Care of Adults with Developmental Disabilities: Canadian Consensus Guidelines6 and the Tools for Primary Care Providers and Tools for Caregivers7, are valuable resources that may be of assistance to service agencies and clinicians who support adults with a developmental disability, as well as their families or caregivers. Both documents contain specific sections on the use of prescribed medication to address challenging behaviour.

In addition to the requirements set out in section 19, “Behaviour intervention, strategies and policiesand procedures”, and section 20, “Use of intrusive behaviour intervention”, of Ontario Regulation 299/10, a service agency shall ensure that where prescribed medication is recommended to be used to address a person’s challenging behaviour, as part of their behaviour support plan, a one-time visit to a physician, or a visit to a hospital emergency room, there is a protocol for the use of prescribed medication administered on a pro re nata (PRN) (as needed) basis only, on advice of the prescribing clinician.  PRNs are not to be administered:

  • Excessively, beyond the recommended dosage;
  • As a punishment for the person’s behaviour, a mistake or wrong-doing;
  • For convenience, to make it easier for staff to support the person; and
  • As a substitute for meaningful supports.

A service agency shall ensure that all medication prescribed to the person with a developmental disability who has challenging behaviour is reviewed by the prescribing physician, and is included in the regular review of the individual’s behaviour support plan.

Procedures Not Permitted

In addition to the definitions and examples of behaviour interventions set out in section 15, “Application and definitions”, of Ontario Regulation 299/10 (the quality assurance measures regulation), the following practices are never to be used by a service agency in addressing the challenging behaviour of a person with a developmental disability:

  • Mistreatment of the person – mistreatment could include but is not necessarily limited to: physical or corporal punishment, such as punching, slapping, or pulling hair; abandonment or segregation, rough handling, ridicule, humiliation, or name-calling;
  • Noxious stimulus – people should not be subjected to harmful or offensive odours or liquids as a form of punishment or discipline, such as a spray of lemon juice, drops of Tabasco sauce, or pepper; and/or
  • Deprivation of basic human needs – people should not be deprived of basic human needs, including food, adequate clothing, and adequate heat and cooling; access to health care, suitable shelter and safety; or reasonable access to family members (if desired by the individual), as part of a behaviour intervention strategy.

Definition:

“Segregation” is the act of setting a person apart from others in the general vicinity, in the scenario considered above, for the purposes of punishing the person.  It is not considered part of the definition of “secure isolation or confinement time-out”.  As with the definition of “secure isolation or confinement time-out, segregation does not refer to a space that a person may use to “cool down” when he/she feels anxious or angry, and where the person may leave freely, or an apartment where the person may live on his/her own.

Monitoring

This standard is further to section 20(3), “Use of intrusive behaviour intervention”, of Ontario Regulation 299/10, a service agency shall ensure that there are protocols in place that must be followed in monitoring and assessing the condition of the person with a developmental disability during the use of intrusive behaviour intervention. These protocols may differ, depending on the type of intrusive intervention, and on the individual and his/her needs.

A service agency or the clinician who oversees the behaviour support plan must ensure that there are safeguards to prevent misuse of intrusive behaviour intervention.

A service agency shall have a means to record and track intrusive behaviour intervention procedures for the purpose of review and analysis.

When applicable, a service agency shall file a serious occurrence report with the Ministry of Community and Social Services (e.g., in an instance where a person becomes seriously injured, or an instance where allegations of mistreatment emerge).

Notification of the Use of Behaviour Intervention

In addition to the requirements set out in section 19, “Behaviour intervention, strategies and policies and procedures”, of Ontario Regulation 299/10, a service agency shall have policies and procedures regarding the notification of persons (a “contact person”) acting on behalf of the individual with a developmental disability who has challenging behaviour .  The policies and procedures shall consider an individual’s ability to provide consent regarding notification, and shall address:

  • Whether and/or under what circumstances the agency would notify the contact person of the use of intrusive behaviour intervention with the individual, where the intrusive behaviour intervention is outlined in the individual’s behaviour support plan;
  • Regular updates on the use of intrusive behaviour intervention with the individual to the contact person, when the behaviour support plan does not specify that each use of intrusive behaviour intervention be communicated to the contact person;and
  • Notifying the contact person of the use of a physical restraint with the individual, in a crisis situation.

6 Sullivan WF, Berg JM, Bradley E, Cheetham T, Denton R, Heng J, Hennen B, Joyce D, Kelly M, Korossy M, Lunsky Y, and McMillan S.  Consensus guidelines for primary health care of adults with developmental disabilities. Canadian Family Physician 2011; 57: 541-53. (accessed November 2, 2016).

7 Developmental Disabilities Primary Care Initiative.   Available from: http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/resources-publications/primary-care/ (accessed November 2, 2016).

page précédente | table des matières | page suivante

2.0 Soutien aux personnes ayant un comportement problématique (continuer)

Utilisation des salles d’isolement sécuritaire ou de confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir

Outre les exigences stipulées à l’article 19, « Stratégies, politiques et consignes relatives aux interventions comportementales », et à l’article 20, « Utilisation d’une intervention comportementale perturbatrice », du Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10, chaque organisme de service est tenu de s’assurer que, lorsque l’utilisation de l’isolement sécuritaire/du confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir est recommandée pour faire face au comportement problématique d’une personne dans le cadre de son plan de soutien au comportement, les normes et mesures de rendement suivantes sont appliquées :

  • Chaque organisme de service doit veiller à ce que ses politiques et consignes écrites régissant l’utilisation des salles d’isolement sécuritaire ou de confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir prévoient les éléments suivants :
    • les stades de surveillance par intervalles;
    • le temps qu’une personne est susceptible de passer en isolement sécuritaire ou en confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir, toute prolongation éventuelle de cette période et la durée totale/maximale qu’une personne peut passer en isolement sécuritaire ou en confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir;
    • les protocoles relatifs à l’observation et à la surveillance en continu d’une personne placée en isolement sécuritaire ou en confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir;
    • la mise à jour régulière d’un registre (p. ex. toutes les quinze minutes) concernant l’utilisation de la salle pour chaque personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présente un comportement problématique, ainsi qu’une analyse des tendances pour chaque personne;
    • la notification au personnel clé de l’organisme en cas d’utilisation de la salle, ainsi qu’un compte rendu régulier des conclusions aux cliniciens principaux chargés de superviser le plan de soutien au comportement.
  • Chaque organisme de service veille à ce que l’espace physique des salles d’isolement sécuritaire/de confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir :
    • ne fasse pas office de chambre à coucher pour une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présente un comportement problématique;
    • présente des dimensions adaptées pour la personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présente un comportement problématique;
    • ne contienne aucun objet susceptible d’être utilisé par la personne pour se blesser ou blesser autrui (à savoir, les membres du personnel qui pénétreraient dans la salle);
    • soit un espace sécurisé ayant fait l’objet de modifications (le cas échéant) pour protéger la personne contre l’automutilation;
    • dispose de moyens permettant l’observation et la surveillance en continu de la personne par le personnel de l’organisme de service (p. ex., une fenêtre, une caméra vidéo);
    • soit suffisamment éclairé pour que l’on puisse distinguer la personne à l’intérieur de la salle; et
    • soit convenablement ventilé et régulé en température.
  • Chaque organisme de service doit s’assurer que son plan de sécurité-incendie prévoit des mesures d’évacuation en cas d’urgence des salles d’isolement sécuritaire/de confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir.
  • Si la porte des salles d’isolement sécuritaire/de confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir est munie d’un verrou permettant d’empêcher la personne de quitter la pièce, l’organisme de service s’assurera que la porte peut être facilement déverrouillée de l’extérieur en cas d’urgence.

Utilisation de la contention mécanique

Outre les exigences stipulées à l’article 20, « Utilisation d’une intervention comportementale perturbatrice », du Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10, chaque organisme de service doit s’assurer que, lorsque l’utilisation de la contention mécanique est recommandée pour faire face au comportement problématique d’une personne dans le cadre de son plan de soutien au comportement, tout appareil ou dispositif utilisé aux fins de contention mécanique est conforme aux critères suivants :

  • Il est conçu et fabriqué aux fins d’être utilisé comme moyen de contention mécanique.
  • Son utilisation convient chez cette personne (p. ex., la taille du dispositif ou de l’appareil est adaptée à la taille et à la corpulence de la personne).
  • Il a été acheté auprès d’une entreprise spécialisée dans la fabrication de ce type de dispositifs.
  • Le personnel de l’organisme veille à ce qu’il soit toujours en bon état de fonctionnement.
  • Son entretien est assuré par le fabricant ou par une personne ou une entreprise recommandée par le fabricant.

Utilisation des médicaments prescrits

Comme indiqué précédemment, l’article « Soins primaires aux adultes ayant une déficience développementale : Lignes directrices consensuelles canadiennes »6 et les ressources Outils à l’intention des professionnels de soins primaires et Outils à l’intention des dispensateurs de soins7 sont des ressources utiles pour aider les organismes de service et les cliniciens qui offrent un soutien aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, ainsi qu’à leurs familles ou leurs fournisseurs de soins. Ces deux documents comportent des chapitres consacrés spécifiquement à l’utilisation des médicaments prescrits pour faire face à un comportement problématique.

Outre les exigences stipulées à l’article 19, « Stratégies, politiques et consignes relatives aux interventions comportementales », et à l’article 20, « Utilisation d’une intervention comportementale perturbatrice », du Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10, chaque organisme de service doit s’assurer que, lorsque l’utilisation de médicaments prescrits est recommandée pour faire face au comportement problématique d’une personne dans le cadre de son plan de soutien au comportement, d’une visite médicale ponctuelle ou d’un séjour dans le service des urgences d’un hôpital, un protocole est mis en place pour l’administration au besoin uniquement (pro re nata, PRN) des médicaments prescrits, sur les conseils du clinicien prescripteur. L’administration PRN ne doit pas :

  • être excessive, au-delà de la posologie recommandée;
  • être utilisée pour sanctionner un comportement, une erreur ou un acte répréhensible;
  • être utilisée pour des raisons de commodité, dans le but de faciliter le travail du personnel de soutien; et
  • se substituer à des soutiens utiles.

Chaque organisme de service doit s’assurer que l’ensemble des médicaments prescrits à la personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présente un comportement problématique est passé en revue par le médecin prescripteur et fait partie de l’examen régulier du plan de soutien au comportement de cette personne.

Procédures interdites

Outre les définitions et exemples d’intervention comportementale figurant à l’article 15, « Champ d’application et définitions », du Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10 (régissant les mesures d’assurance de la qualité), les pratiques suivantes ne doivent jamais être employées par les organismes de service pour faire face au comportement problématique d’une personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle :

  • Maltraitance – La maltraitance peut inclure, mais sans nécessairement s’y limiter : les punitions physiques ou les châtiments corporels, p. ex. donner un coup, gifler ou tirer les cheveux; l’abandon ou la mise à l’écart, les traitements brutaux, la dérision, l’humiliation ou les injures.
  • Stimulus nuisibles – Il est interdit de soumettre les personnes à des odeurs incommodantes ou des liquides nocifs dans le cadre d’une punition ou à des fins disciplinaires, p. ex. pulvérisation de jus de citron, gouttes de Tabasco, poivre.
  • Non-satisfaction des besoins fondamentaux – Il est interdit d’empêcher une personne de satisfaire ses besoins fondamentaux (y compris nourriture, vêtements convenables et accès à un environnement maintenu à une température adaptée); de l’empêcher d’accéder aux soins de santé, à un abri convenable et à la sécurité; ou d’empêcher son accès raisonnable aux membres de sa famille (si cet accès est souhaité par la personne), dans le cadre d’une stratégie d’intervention comportementale.

Définition :

La « mise à l’écart » consiste à éloigner quelqu’un des autres personnes se trouvant dans les alentours, selon le scénario susmentionné, dans le but de punir cette personne. Cet agissement sort du cadre de la définition des termes « isolement sécuritaire ou confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir ». Comme dans la définition de « l’isolement sécuritaire ou du confinement à des fins d’arrêt d’agir », la mise à l’écart ne fait pas référence à un espace qui peut être utilisé par une personne pour « retrouver son calme » lorsqu’elle est anxieuse ou en colère et qu’elle peut quitter de son plein de gré, ni à un appartement où la personne est susceptible de vivre seule.

Surveillance

Outre les exigences stipulées au paragraphe 20 (3), « Utilisation d’une intervention comportementale perturbatrice », du Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10, chaque organisme de service doit veiller à mettre en place des protocoles régissant la surveillance et l’évaluation de l’état de la personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle pendant l’utilisation d’une intervention comportementale perturbatrice. Ces protocoles peuvent varier en fonction du type d’intervention perturbatrice et des besoins de chaque personne.

L’organisme de service ou le clinicien chargé de superviser le plan de soutien au comportement doit s’assurer que des mesures de protection sont mises en place pour empêcher l’utilisation abusive des procédures d’intervention comportementale perturbatrice.

Chaque organisme de service doit prendre des mesures pour la consignation et le suivi des procédures d’intervention comportementale perturbatrice à des fins d’examen et d’analyse.

Le cas échéant, le signalement d’un incident grave doit être effectué par l’organisme de service auprès du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires (p. ex., si une personne se blesse grièvement ou s’il existe des présomptions de maltraitance).

Notification en cas d’utilisation d’une intervention comportementale

Outre les exigences stipulées à l’article 19, « Stratégies, politiques et consignes relatives aux interventions comportementales », du Règlement de l’Ontario 299/10, chaque organisme de service doit mettre en œuvre des politiques et consignes régissant la notification aux tiers (personnes-ressources) agissant au nom de la personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui présente un comportement problématique. Les politiques et consignes en question doivent tenir compte de la capacité d’une personne à donner son consentement concernant la notification et doivent prévoir :

  • si et/ou dans quelles circonstances l’organisme informera la personne-ressource en cas d’utilisation d’une intervention comportementale perturbatrice, lorsque ce type de mesure est prescrit dans le plan de soutien au comportement de la personne;
  • d’informer régulièrement la personne-ressource sur l’utilisation d’une intervention comportementale perturbatrice, lorsque le plan de soutien au comportement ne précise pas que chaque intervention comportementale perturbatrice doit être communiquée à la personne-ressource; et
  • d’aviser la personne-ressource en cas d’utilisation de moyens de contention physique en situation de crise.

6 Sullivan W.F., Berg J.M., Bradley E., Cheetham T., Denton R., Heng J., Hennen B., Joyce D., Kelly M., Korossy M., Lunsky Y. et McMillan S. « Soins primaires aux adultes ayant une déficience développementale : Lignes directrices consensuelles canadiennes ». Le Médecin de famille canadien, no 57, 2011; e154-e168. Accessible à l’adresse http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/documents/Primary%20Care/PC-Adults-DD-FR.pdf (consulté le 2 novembre 2016).

7 Initiative pour les soins primaires en déficience intellectuelle. Accessible à l’adresse http://www.surreyplace.on.ca/resources-publications/primary-care/ (consulté le 2 novembre 2016).