April 2020

2.3 Emergency Assistance

Legislative Authority

Sections 2, 5, 8, 9 and 26(2) of the Act.
Sections 16(2), 22, 55, 56 and 59 of Regulation 134/98

Audit Requirements

Adequate documentation is on file to demonstrate the applicant meets the criteria for emergency assistance.

Emergency assistance is not issued for a period of more than 48 days.

Emergency assistance may not be provided to social assistance recipients, tourists or visitors.

Application of Policy

Emergency assistance enables the immediate provision of financial assistance to an applicant in a crisis or emergency situation. The provision of financial assistance in an emergency may include an amount for basic needs, shelter, and benefits.

Requests for Emergency Assistance

A request for emergency assistance may be made in the geographic area where the applicant normally resides or in another area if the Administrator is satisfied, he or she cannot reasonably apply in the area in which they ordinarily live.

A request for emergency assistance may be made when an applicant initially contacts an Ontario Works office or at any point during the application process for income assistance.

When a request for emergency assistance is received, staff should obtain and document the available information to support the provision of emergency assistance.

A full application for income assistance is not required in order to issue emergency assistance. However, Administrators should encourage recipients to make a full application for income assistance if (or as soon as) they believe it is likely the person will require on-going assistance.

Eligibility for Emergency Assistance

Emergency assistance may be provided where:

  • the applicant is not currently in receipt of social assistance;
  • the applicant is not serving a period of ineligibility;
  • the Administrator is satisfied, based on available information regarding living conditions, finances, employment and other relevant circumstances, that:
  • the applicant has made reasonable efforts to access all other available resources;
  • the applicant does not have enough money or assets, and is unable to obtain or has limited access to credit to meet the basic needs and shelter needs of his or her benefit unit;
  • failure to provide the emergency assistance will result in danger to the physical health or a member of the benefit unit; or at least one dependent child being unable to continue to reside with his or her parent who requested the assistance.

Emergency assistance cannot be provided while in receipt of income assistance; however, if a person in receipt of social assistance is faced with an emergency situation where additional funds are necessary, funds may be available through mandatory and/or discretionary benefits (see Directive 7.1: Summary of Benefits for more information).

A person who receives emergency assistance does not have participation requirements and cannot appeal decisions regarding the provision of emergency assistance or the amount of assistance issued.

Emergency assistance may be provided to an applicant in situations where information or documentation required to complete an application for assistance is outstanding, and an eligibility decision has not been made.

Issuing Emergency Assistance

The Administrator determines the amount of emergency assistance payable, which may include an amount for basic needs and shelter, as well as an amount for benefits. It is expected that, in most cases emergency assistance should not exceed the maximum amount a comparable benefit unit might receive in income assistance and benefits for a similar period.

Emergency assistance may be provided for a period of not more than 48 days; however, more than one payment may be issued within the forty-eight day period.

Once emergency assistance has been issued for 48 days, assistance will only continue to be provided after a full application for income assistance has been completed, including all required consents and a Participation Agreement. Arrangements should be made for the application to be completed at the earliest opportunity where it is likely that ongoing assistance will be required.

Administrators may issue multiple, discrete periods of emergency assistance (where there is a break in assistance between periods), in any six-month period, based on their determination of need.

Where emergency assistance is provided in the same month that a benefit unit is found to be eligible for income assistance, the amount of emergency assistance already issued should not be deducted from the amount of income assistance. However, income assistance for basic needs and shelter may be pro-rated based on the circumstances of the case.

avril 2020

2.3 Aide en cas d’urgence

Autorité législative

Articles 2, 5, 8, 9 et paragraphe 26(2) de la Loi.

Paragraphe 16(2) et articles 22, 55, 56 et 59 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

La documentation attestant que la personne qui fait une demande d’aide en cas d’urgence répond aux critères est versée au dossier.

Une aide en cas d’urgence n’est pas fournie pour une période de plus de 48 jours.

L’aide en cas d’urgence ne peut être accordée aux bénéficiaires de l’aide sociale, aux touristes ou aux visiteurs.

Application de la politique

L’aide en cas d’urgence est immédiatement fournie dans une situation d’urgence à la personne qui présente une demande. Il peut s’agir d’un montant versé pour les besoins essentiels et le logement ainsi que des prestations.

Demandes d’aide en cas d’urgence

Une demande d’aide en cas d’urgence peut être présentée dans la zone géographique où la personne qui fait la demande réside normalement ou dans une autre zone si l’administratrice ou l’administrateur est convaincu que la personne ne peut pas présenter sa demande dans la zone où elle réside normalement.

Une personne peut demander une aide en cas d’urgence lorsqu’elle communique pour la première fois avec le bureau du programme Ontario au travail ou à tout moment pendant le processus de demande d’aide au revenu.

Après avoir reçu une demande d’aide en cas d’urgence, le personnel obtient et consigne les renseignements disponibles qui justifient le versement d’une telle aide.

Il n’est pas nécessaire qu’une demande d’aide intégrale soit présentée pour qu’une aide en cas d’urgence soit versée. Toutefois, les administrateurs doivent encourager les bénéficiaires à faire une demande complète d’aide au revenu s’ils (ou dès qu’ils) jugent probable que la personne aura besoin d’une aide continue.

Admissibilité à l’aide en cas d’urgence

L’aide en cas d’urgence peut être fournie lorsque :

  • la personne qui présente une demande n’est pas bénéficiaire d’aide sociale actuellement;
  • la personne qui présente une demande ne purge pas une période d’inadmissibilité;
  • l’administratrice ou l’administrateur est convaincu, compte tenu des renseignements disponibles sur les conditions de vie, la situation financière, l’emploi et d’autres facteurs pertinents, que : 
  • la personne qui présente la demande a fait tous les efforts nécessaires pour avoir recours à toutes les autres ressources disponibles; 
  • la personne qui présente la demande n’a pas suffisamment d’argent ou d’avoir et ne peut obtenir le crédit nécessaire pour pourvoir aux besoins essentiels et au logement de son groupe de prestataires; 
  • le fait de ne pas fournir l’aide en cas d’urgence mettra en danger la santé physique d’un membre du groupe de prestataires ou aura pour conséquence qu’un ou plusieurs enfants à charge ne pourront plus résider avec celui de leur père ou leur mère qui a demandé l’aide en cas d’urgence. 

L’aide en cas d’urgence ne peut être versée pendant que la ou le bénéficiaire touche une aide au revenu. Cependant, si une ou un bénéficiaire d’aide sociale se trouve dans une situation d’urgence où il a besoin de fonds supplémentaires, des fonds peuvent être versés sous forme de prestations obligatoires ou discrétionnaires (voir la Directive 7.1 : Résumé des prestations pour un complément d’information).

Une personne qui reçoit une aide en cas d’urgence n’a pas à remplir de conditions de participation et ne peut pas en appeler des décisions concernant l’aide en cas d’urgence et le montant de cette aide.

Une aide en cas d’urgence peut être versée à une personne qui n’a pas tous les renseignements ou documents dont elle a besoin pour terminer sa demande et qu’une décision quant à son admissibilité n’a pas été rendue.

Versement de l’aide en cas d’urgence

L’administratrice ou l’administrateur détermine le montant de l’aide en cas d’urgence qui sera payable, ce qui peut comprendre un montant pour les besoins essentiels et le logement ainsi que des prestations. Il est prévu que, dans la plupart des cas, l'aide d'urgence ne devrait pas dépasser le montant maximum qu'une unité de prestation comparable pourrait recevoir au titre de l'aide au revenu et des prestations pour une période similaire.

L’aide en cas d’urgence peut être fournie pour une période d’au plus 48 jours, mais plus d’un paiement peut être fait pendant cette période.

Après la période de 48 jours, l’aide continuera d’être versée uniquement après qu’une demande complète d’aide au revenu aura été présentée, comprenant tous les consentements requis et une entente de participation. Les dispositions nécessaires doivent être prises pour que le traitement de la demande d’aide au revenu soit terminé dans les plus brefs délais et qu’une décision soit rendue lorsqu’il est probable qu’une aide continue sera nécessaire.

Les administrateurs pourront établir plusieurs périodes distinctes d’aide en cas d’urgence (lorsqu’il y a une interruption de l’aide entre les périodes), au cours d’une période de six mois, en fonction de leur détermination des besoins.

Lorsqu’une aide en cas d’urgence est versée pendant le même mois où un groupe de prestataires est jugé admissible à une aide au revenu, le montant de l’aide en cas d’urgence déjà versée ne devrait pas être déduit du montant de l’aide au revenu. Cependant, l’aide versée au titre des besoins essentiels et du logement peut être calculée proportionnellement selon les circonstances du cas.