History of Developmental Services

This link will take you to the video : SRC

The dining area within one of the apartment-style residences at the Huronia Regional Centre, Orillia.
Photos

Institutionalized care for people with a developmental disability peaked in Ontario around 1974. At that time, the government operated 16 institutions, in which more than 8,000 people lived.

By the 1960s, attitudes towards people with a developmental disability were starting to change. The "community living movement" was spreading across North America. The movement was started mainly by family members who dreamed of a better life for their sons and daughters living in institutions. At the same time, people with a developmental disability also began to advocate for their own rights to live as full citizens.

Advocates of the community living movement argued that people with disabilities - including those with a developmental disability - are citizens who have the right to participate in community life, regardless of the degree of their disability. They argued that with the right community services and supports, people with a developmental disability can live and participate in their own communities just like everyone else.

The Ontario government responded by funding more and more services and supports in the community. These programs included both group and individual living arrangements, as well as day programs such as sheltered workshops and life skills programs.

The shift from institutional to community supports continued to evolve considerably over the next four decades.

Learn more

About the evolution of Ontario's community-based supports and services for people with a developmental disability:

Histoire des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

Archives des vidéo
Vidéos


Photos

En Ontario, les soins en institution pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle atteignent un niveau record vers 1974. À ce moment-là, le gouvernement gère 16 institutions dans lesquelles vivent plus de 8 000 personnes.

Dans les années 1960, les attitudes à l'égard des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle commencent à changer. Le « mouvement d'intégration communautaire » se propage dans toute l'Amérique du Nord. Il a débuté essentiellement à l'initiative de membres des familles de ces personnes qui rêvent d'une vie meilleure pour leurs fils et leurs filles qui vivent dans des institutions. Simultanément, les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle commencent aussi à faire valoir leurs droits de vivre comme des citoyens à part entière.

Les champions du mouvement d'intégration communautaire soutiennent que les personnes handicapées - y compris celles qui ont une déficience intellectuelle - sont des citoyennes et citoyens qui ont le droit de participer à la vie de la collectivité, quel que soit le degré de leur déficience. Ils soutiennent qu'avec les services et les soutiens communautaires qu'il faut, les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle peuvent vivre dans leur propre collectivité et en faire partie exactement comme n'importe qui d'autre.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario réagit en subventionnant de plus en plus de services et de soutiens dans la collectivité. Ces programmes comprennent des hébergements en groupe et individuels, ainsi que des programmes de jour comme des ateliers protégés et des programmes de dynamique de la vie.

Le virage de la vie en établissement vers les soutiens communautaires continue d'évoluer considérablement au cours des quatre décennies suivantes.

 

Pour en savoir plus

sur l'évolution des soutiens et des services communautaires de l'Ontario pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle :