History of Developmental Services

Even from the earliest days, physical activity was an important aspect in the care of an institution's residents. In keeping with the medical model of care that was prevalent well into the mid-1900s, residents were considered to be patients in need of treatment. Physical activity was important, not as recreation, but as an opportunity for rehabilitation.

Dr. Alexander Beaton, the superintendent at the Orillia institution from 1877 to 1910, was an early advocate for physical activity. He developed and taught the residents a series of physical exercises. One exercise involved climbing ladders.

Work was also encouraged as a form of therapy. Manual labour was viewed as a proper outlet for the energies of people with a developmental disability.

Physical activity was taken to a new level with the Oxford Regional Centre (originally called the Ontario Hospital School, Woodstock). The institution (or facility, as they came to be called) itself was opened in 1905 and in 1916, a recreation hall was built. On September 4, 1923, the facility hosted a "Fitness Day" for the residents. This event seems to have marked the beginning of a shift towards organized sports and fitness activities at the facilities.

Over time, the medical profession began to better understand how physical activities can improve a person's perceptual and motor skills, health and quality of life. After the Second World War, rehabilitation programs that had been developed for wounded war veterans were extended to help people with disabilities, including people with a developmental disability.

In the 1950s and 1960s, there was a push from the growing community living movement to integrate people with a developmental disability into municipal and community recreation programs. More and more, as research showed the benefits of physical opportunities on the health and well-being of residents, recreational programs became integral to the operation of a facility.

In fact, by the 1970s, the world-wide expansion of the Special Olympics found its way into Ontario's facilities. Before long, some residents in Ontario's facilities were competing in events such as swimming, bowling and track and field in locations throughout Ontario.

 

Learn more

Histoire des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

Même aux tout premiers jours, l'activité physique est un élément très important des soins aux pensionnaires d'une institution. En accord avec le modèle médical de soins qui prévaut jusqu'au milieu des années 1900, on considère que les pensionnaires sont des malades qui ont besoin de traitement. L'activité physique est importante, non pas à titre de loisirs, mais comme possibilité de réadaptation.

Le docteur Alexander Beaton, superintendant de l'institution d'Orillia de 1877 à 1910, est l'un des premiers partisans de l'activité physique. Il met au point et enseigne aux pensionnaires une série d'exercices physiques. L'un d'eux consiste grimper à des échelles.

On incite aussi au travail comme forme de thérapie. On considère que le travail manuel est un exutoire adéquat des énergies des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

L'Oxford Regional Centre (initialement appelé Ontario Hospital School, Woodstock) porte l'activité physique à un nouveau niveau. L'institution (ou l'établissement, comme on a fini par l'appeler) ouvre ses portes en 1905, et en 1916 on y bâtit une salle pour les loisirs. Le 23 septembre 1923, l'établissement tient une « journée de la culture physique » à l'intention des pensionnaires. L'événement semble avoir marqué le début d'un virage vers les activités sportives et de culture physique structurées dans les établissements.

Avec le temps, la profession médicale commence à mieux comprendre comment les activités physiques peuvent améliorer les aptitudes perceptives, la motricité, la santé et la qualité de vie des gens. Après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les programmes de réadaptation mis au point pour les anciens combattants blessés sont élargis pour aider les personnes handicapées, y compris les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

Dans les années 1950 et 1960, le mouvement croissant d'intégration communautaire essaie d'imposer l'intégration des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle dans les programmes de loisirs municipaux et communautaires. À mesure que la recherche démontre les bienfaits de l'exercice physique sur la santé et le bien-être des pensionnaires, les programmes de loisirs font de plus en plus partie intégrante du fonctionnement des établissements.

En fait, dans les années 1970, l'expansion mondiale des Jeux Olympiques spéciaux parvient jusqu'aux établissements de l'Ontario. Peu après, certains pensionnaires des établissements ontariens concourent dans des épreuves telles que la natation, les quilles et l'athlétisme dans toute la province.

 

Pour en savoir plus