History of Developmental Services

The institutions (or facilities, as they came to be called) had sensory training rooms to give the residents - both children and adults - a full range of sensory stimulation. The first sensory training department in Ontario's institutions was developed in 1926.

In the 1990s, the sensory training rooms in some of the remaining facilities evolved into Snoezelen rooms. First developed in Denmark in the 1970s, these Snoezelen rooms provided a range of sensory stimulation.

These were specially-built rooms that usually had the following features:

  • soft floors
  • cushions
  • music
  • lighting effects
  • gentle vibrations, and
  • tactile sensations.

Residents could explore and enjoy the relaxed environment. Some even featured waterbeds and trampolines.

Originally, sensory training rooms were intended to provide relaxation and leisure activities. Over time, the rooms were used to help individuals with severe and mild disabilities develop their fine motor skills. Eventually, some facilities developed structured programs to assess the progress of individuals.

The Snoezelen Room at the Rideau Regional Centre attracted visitors from across Canada and the United States, as well as England, Russia, Tahiti, Japan and the Netherlands.

 

Learn more

Histoire des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

Les institutions (ou établissements, comme on finit par les appeler) ont des salles d'éducation sensorielle pour donner aux pensionnaires - tant enfants qu'adultes - une gamme complète de stimulations sensorielles. Le premier service d'éducation sensorielle dans des institutions ontariennes est mis sur pied en 1926.

Dans les années 1990, les salles d'éducation sensorielle de certains des établissements restants sont transformées en salles Snoezelen. Initialement mises au point au Danemark dans les années 1970, ces salles offrent toute une gamme de stimulations sensorielles.

Il s'agit de salles spécialement construites et habituellement dotées des caractéristiques suivantes :

  • planchers mous
  • coussins
  • musique
  • effets lumineux
  • légères vibrations
  • sensations tactiles.

Les pensionnaires peuvent aller à la découverte et jouir d'un environnement incitant à la détente. Certaines salles ont même des lits d'eau et des trampolines.

À l'origine, les salles d'éducation sensorielle visent à offrir de la relaxation et des activités de loisirs. Avec le temps, on les utilise pour aider les personnes qui ont des déficiences légères à graves à perfectionner leur motricité fine; et certains établissements finissent par élaborer des programmes structurés pour évaluer les progrès accomplis.

La salle Snoezelen du Centre régional Rideau a attiré des visiteurs de partout au Canada et aux Ètats-Unis, ainsi que d'Angleterre, de Russie, de Tahiti, du Japon et des Pays-Bas.

 

Pour en savoir plus