History of Developmental Services

Dr. Bernard T. McGhie was superintendent of the Ontario Hospital School, Orillia from 1927 - 1930.(1) He believed that education should not be limited to children with milder disabilities, and argued that "every child shall be trained to the maximum of his ability and of our teaching skill for independence in as many functions of life as possible".(2) He was hampered by a lack of space and money to create more classrooms and hire more teachers.

Instead, he devised a formal program of instruction to be carried out in the wards for children who would not otherwise have been given the opportunity to participate in classroom instruction. He encouraged and trained nurse-attendants and attendants to take on the role of teacher.

The ward school curriculum included:

  • industrial classes
  • play therapy
  • music, and
  • calisthenics.

Over the years, ward schooling, as it came to be known, replaced classroom instruction.

(1) The Huronia Regional Centre had several names over the course of its long history. When it opened in 1876, it was named the Orillia Asylum for Idiots. It was later renamed Ontario Hospital School, Orillia.

(2) CAMH Archives, Ontario Journal of Neuropsychiatry, September 1929, "The Education Programme in Orillia" by Professor E.D. MacPhee, University of Toronto, p. 61.

 

Learn more

Histoire des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

Le docteur Bernard T. McGhie était superintendant de l'Ontario Hospital School, Orillia de 1927 à 1930 (1). Il croyait que l'éducation ne devrait pas être limitée aux enfants dont les déficiences étaient plus bénignes, et il alléguait que « chaque enfant doit recevoir une formation qui tire le maximum de ses capacités et de nos aptitudes à enseigner l'autonomie dans le plus grand nombre possible d'activités de la vie » (2). Il était gêné par le manque d'espace et d'argent pour mettre sur pied davantage de salles de classe et embaucher plus d'enseignants.

Il conçut plutôt un programme formel d'enseignement à appliquer dans les salles communes pour les enfants auxquels on n'aurait pas autrement donné la possibilité de prendre part à un enseignement en salle de classe, et il incita et forma les infirmières, les infirmiers et les préposés aux soins à assumer le rôle d'enseignant.

Le programme d'enseignement en salle commune comprenait ce qui suit :

  • enseignement industriel
  • thérapie par le jeu
  • musique
  • callisthénie.

Au fil des ans, l'enseignement en salle commune, comme on finit par l'appeler, remplaç a l'enseignement en salle de classe.

(1) Le Centre régional de la Huronie a eu plusieurs noms au cours de sa longue histoire. Quand il ouvrit en 1876, on le nomma Orillia Asylum for Idiots. On l'a par la suite rebaptisé Ontario Hospital School, Orillia.

(2) Archives du CAMH, Ontario Journal of Neuropsychiatry, septembre 1929, The Education Programme in Orillia par le professeur E.D. MacPhee, Université de Toronto, p. 61.

 

Pour en savoir plus