History of Developmental Services

In 1791, the British Parliament passed the Constitutional Act creating Upper Canada (Ontario) and Lower Canada (Québec).

The legislation did not include a poor law. Neither the provincial government nor municipal governments were assigned responsibility for providing help for the poor. As a result, 19th century Ontario did not have a regular system of relief for destitute people.

In those days, society didn't differentiate between people with mental health issues and those with developmental disabilities. They were all deemed to be "insane". Families looked after them as best they could. But what if they had no one? In early Upper Canada, the only place for them to be placed was in the common jail.

County jails served as catch-all institutions for diverse categories of people. Under the pretext of vagrancy, the homeless, the destitute, the elderly and the "insane" were housed together with criminals.

Jails were crowded. Conditions were often appalling. In 1830, William Lyon Mackenzie investigated conditions in one jail where he found "three female lunatics confined ...in the cells below the ground floor ...lodged in locked up cribs, on straw, two in one crib, and the other by herself." Mackenzie deemed their situation to be "...severe beyond that of the most hardened criminal." (1)

Finally in 1839, after much lobbying by concerned citizens, Upper Canada passed legislation to establish the first provincial asylum. "An Act to Authorise the Erection of an Asylum within this Province for the Reception of Insane and/or Lunatic Persons" also made the provincial government directly responsible for the care of people with mental and intellectual disabilities, including developmental disabilities.

(1) Thomas E. Brown, The Origins of Asylum in Upper Canada, 1830-1839: Towards an interpretation

Learn more

Histoire des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

En 1791, le Parlement britannique adopte l'Acte constitutionnel qui crée le Haut Canada (Ontario) et le Bas-Canada (Québec).

Les dispositions législatives ne comprennent pas de loi sur les pauvres. Ni le gouvernement provincial ni les administrations municipales ne se voient assigner la responsabilité d'offrir de l'aide aux pauvres. En conséquence, l'Ontario du 19e siècle n'a pas de véritable système d'aide pour les démunis.

À l'époque, la société ne fait pas de différence entre les personnes qui ont des problèmes de santé mentale et celles qui ont des déficiences intellectuelles. Elles sont toutes censées être « folles ». Les familles s'en occupent du mieux qu'elles peuvent. Mais que se passe-t-il quand ces gens n'ont personne? Dans les premiers temps du Haut-Canada, la prison commune est le seul endroit où l'on peut les placer.

Les prisons de comtés font office d'institutions passe-partout pour diverses catégories de gens. Sous prétexte de vagabondage, les sans-abri, les démunis, les personnes âgées et les « aliénés » sont logés avec les criminels.

Les prisons sont bondées, et les conditions de vie souvent effroyables. En 1830, William Lyon Mackenzie enquête sur les conditions de vie dans une prison où il trouve « trois folles enfermées... dans les cellules souterraines... sous clé dans des lits à barreaux, sur la paille, deux dans un lit, et la troisième seule ». Mackenzie juge leur situation « ...plus grave que celle des criminels les plus endurcis. » (1)

Finalement, en 1839, après beaucoup de pressions politiques de la part de citoyens préoccupés par la question, le Haut-Canada adopte une loi pour fonder le premier asile provincial. La loi, intitulée An Act to Authorise the Erection of an Asylum within this Province for the Reception of Insane and/or Lunatic Persons, rend également le gouvernement provincial directement responsable des soins aux personnes ayant des déficiences mentales et intellectuelles, y compris des troubles du développement.

(1) Thomas E. BROWN, The Origins of Asylum in Upper Canada, 1830-1839 : Towards an interpretation.

 

Pour en savoir plus