History of Developmental Services

Knowledge about disabilities was very different back in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Other than physical disabilities, doctors did not differentiate between different kinds of intellectual or mental health conditions. Psychiatric, learning and developmental disabilities were often all lumped together. According to the medical establishment, a disability was a flaw in a person that needed to be corrected through appropriate training and modification, preferably in large hospital-like settings situated away from mainstream society.

Negative attitudes towards people with a developmental disability were also strengthened by the eugenics movement that was sweeping across Europe and North America at that time. Eugenics tried to control groups of people who were considered to be inferior. Supporters of the eugenics movement argued that people with a developmental disability were the cause of many social problems and needed to be removed from society.

Doctors advised families to put their family members into an institution. There, they would spend their lives being cared for and protected. Even if families wanted to keep their loved ones at home, there were few, if any services available in the community to help them. For the most part, institutions were the only public service available. This way of thinking continued well into the 1960s.

Institutions were deliberately built away from cities and towns in the belief that fresh air and open spaces would be good for the residents. This served to isolate people with disabilities even more.

People with disabilities were viewed as patients, not as residents.

Learn more

Histoire des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

Les connaissances sur les déficiences sont très différentes à la fin des années 1800 et au début des années 1900. à part les maladies physiques, les médecins ne font pas de distinction entre les différentes sortes de déficiences intellectuelles ou de maladies mentales. Les déficiences psychiques, ainsi que les troubles d'apprentissage et du développement sont souvent tous mis dans la même catégorie. Selon l'établissement médical, une déficience constitue une imperfection chez une personne qu'il faut corriger par une formation et une modification pertinentes, de préférence dans de vastes milieux résidentiels à l'image des hôpitaux loin de la société.

Les attitudes négatives envers les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle sont également renforcées par le mouvement eugénique qui balaie l'Europe et l'Amérique du Nord à cette époque. Les eugénistes tentent de contrôler les groupes de gens qui l'on considère inférieurs. Les tenants du mouvement soutiennent que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle sont la cause de nombreux problèmes sociaux et qu'il faut les retirer de la société.

Les médecins conseillent aux familles de mettre leurs membres dans une institution. Ils y passeront leur vie en étant soignés et protégés. Même si les familles veulent garder leurs proches chez elles, on offre peu de services dans la collectivité pour les aider, si tant est qu'il y en ait. En général, les institutions constituent le seul service public offert. Cette opinion prévaut jusqu'aux années 1960.

On construit délibérément les institutions loin des villes, car on pense que le grand air et les grands espaces seront bons pour les pensionnaires. Cela contribue à isoler encore davantage les personnes handicapées.

Les personnes handicapées sont considérées comme des patients, pas comme des pensionnaires.

 

Pour en savoir plus