History of Developmental Services

The years following the Second World War saw an evolution of new concepts and new attitudes towards people with disabilities.

Medical and technological advances to rehabilitate wounded war veterans eventually led to new programs for people with physical disabilities. By the late 1960s, programs were being developed to help people with other kinds of disabilities, including people with a developmental disability.

At this time, increasing public awareness of disabilities also promoted the need to develop additional treatment methods and services for individuals with a developmental disability, who were still seen as patients requiring medical care.

Ontario passed the Rehabilitative Services Act in 1955. This legislation, which was the first of its kind in Canada, provided for a full range of rehabilitation services to improve the quality of life for people with physical and/or developmental disabilities.

In the two decades that followed, leading up to the passing of the Developmental Services Act in 1974, more and more programs and services were developed in facilities to help residents with daily living. This shift set the stage for a new approach to services for people with a developmental disability, as they were no longer treated as patients, but rather were provided with residential care in order to enable them to maximize their potential.

Here are some examples of the services that were offered in facilities:

Clinical services: orthopaedics, immunology, optometry, laboratory services, pharmaceutical services, nutrition, psychiatry, neurology, dental, therapeutic seating systems, kinesiology, weight management

Leisure/recreational: aquatics program, camping, social therapy workshops, Special Olympics

Vocational/training: livestock program, training on the job, sheltered workshops, recycling programs, vegetable farm and greenhouse programs, general life skills

Other services: music therapy, adult learning centres, applied behavioural analysis, augmentative communication, quality of life leisure activities, sensory stimulation

Doctors and other health care professionals also received more training in the field of developmental disabilities.

Histoire des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

Les années qui suivent la Deuxième Guerre mondiale connaissent une évolution qui génère de nouveaux concepts et de nouvelles attitudes à l'égard des personnes handicapées.

Les progrès de la médecine et de la technologie pour la réadaptation des anciens combattants blessés aboutissent finalement à la création de nouveaux programmes pour les personnes ayant des déficiences physiques. À la fin des années 1960, on met au point des programmes pour aider les gens qui ont d'autres sortes de handicap, y compris les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

À ce moment-là, la sensibilisation croissante du public aux handicaps attire aussi l'attention sur la nécessité de mettre au point d'autres méthodes de traitement et services pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, que l'on considère toujours comme des patients nécessitant des soins médicaux.

L'Ontario adopte en 1955 la Rehabilitative Services Act. Cette loi, la première du genre au Canada, prévoit une gamme complète de services de réadaptation pour améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes ayant des déficiences physiques ou intellectuelles.

Au cours des deux décennies qui suivent et qui conduisent à l'adoption de la Loi sur les services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en 1974, on met au point de plus en plus de programmes et de services dans les établissements afin d'aider les pensionnaires dans leur vie quotidienne. Ce virage prépare le terrain pour une nouvelle approche en matière de services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, car on ne les traite plus comme des patients, mais on leur fournit plutôt des soins en établissement afin de leur permettre de tirer le maximum de leur potentiel.

Voici quelques exemples des services offerts dans les établissements :

Services cliniques : orthopédie, immunologie, optométrie, services de laboratoire, services pharmaceutiques, nutrition, psychiatrie, neurologie, soins dentaires, systèmes de sièges thérapeutiques, kinésiologie, gestion du poids.

Loisirs/activités récréatives : programme de sports nautiques, camping, ateliers de sociothérapie, Jeux Olympiques spéciaux.

Formation professionnelle/formation : programme pour le travail auprès du bétail, formation en cours d'emploi, ateliers protégés, programmes de recyclage, programmes pour le travail en ferme maraîchère et en serre, aptitudes générales à la vie quotidienne.

Autres services : musicothérapie, centres d'apprentissage des adultes, analyse comportementale appliquée, suppléance à la communication, qualité de la vie dans les activités de loisirs, stimulation sensorielle.

Les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé reçoivent également davantage de formation dans le domaine des déficiences intellectuelles.