The Soldiers’ Aid Commission is committed to ensuring that it provides the best administering mechanism of applications for financial assistance requested by Veterans who enlisted in the Canadian armed forces, or served with one of the Allied forces overseas, or with the armed forces in Canada during the Second World War or the Korean War. This assistance is also extended to any dependent relative of any Veteran of these wars. Members of the Commission are dedicated to providing a relevant and useful service in the most effective and efficient way.

Executive Summary

In 2010-2011, the Ministry of Community and Social Services provided the Soldiers’ Aid Commission with funding in the amount of $253,200. The annual allotment included an additional $100,000, which was approved in November 2006 when the Commission’s mandate was expanded to include financial assistance to Veterans that served in the armed forces in Canada.

The work of the Commission does not generate revenue.

In 2014-2015 the Commission received 156 applications for financial assistance from Veterans or their dependent relatives. Assistance was provided to 141 applicants, which resulted in expenditures of $170,464.42

Mandate

The Soldiers’ Aid Commission is an Operational Service Agency, established in 1915, "to take care of and to find employment for members of the Canadian Expeditionary Force..."

The Soldiers’ Aid Commission receives its legislative authority from the Soldiers’ Aid Commission Act, R.S.O. 1960, and the Soldiers’ Aid Commission Amendment Act, 1970.

The Commission operates at arms length from government. The members are appointed by Order-in-Council and do not have fixed terms of appointment. It is stipulated in the legislation that, “The Lieutenant Governor in Council may add such persons from time to time as members of the Commission as he deems advisable or may appoint a member in place of any member dying or retiring or becoming incapable of acting”. The Commission selects candidates for Commissioners, recommends appointees to the Minister and elects its Chairperson. These members serve without remuneration but may claim out-of-pocket expenses.

The Ministry of Community and Social Services, Community and Developmental Services, Services and Supports Branch is responsible for the administration of the legislation under which the Commission operates.

A Memorandum of Understanding between the Commission and the ministry was signed on August 17, 2011 for a five-year term.

The mandate of the Soldiers’ Aid Commission is to administer applications for financial assistance made by Veterans and their dependent relatives. An eligible Veteran is a person in financial need who resides in Ontario, enlisted in the Canadian armed forces and served overseas or served with the armed forces in Canada during the First or Second World Wars or the Korean War.

An eligible dependent is the spouse of an eligible Veteran with whom the Veteran lived at the time of the Veteran’s death, or as a spouse in a common-law union of reasonable duration.

The Commission accepts applications for financial assistance made by Veterans in need or their dependents by way of the Royal Canadian Legion, the Department of Veterans’ Affairs and Navy Benevolent Funds. Officials in Veterans’ Affairs Canada offices, throughout Ontario, screen the appropriateness of the requests, after which they then make referrals to the Commission.

Financial assistance is available to resolve a specific situation when all other resources have been exhausted. Funding is provided on an individual basis and is not provided for long-term, ongoing assistance.

The Soldiers’ Aid Commission provides funds for the following:

  • Health-related items such as hearing aids, glasses, prescription and dental needs;
  • Home-related items such as rent, repairs, moving costs, furniture, replacement/repair of roof and furnace;
  • Specialized equipment such as assistive devices, wheelchairs and prosthetics, and
  • Personal items such as clothing and other specialized support services.

Organization

The Soldiers’ Aid Commission comprises a Chairperson and seven Commissioners.

As of August 2015, the current membership of the Commission is as follows:

  Position Member Name Tenure
1. Chair Rowe, R. Colin 18-Dec-2002
2 Member Stapleton, John 14-May-2003
3. Member Thomas, William Earle 25-Jun-2008
4. Member Harris, Alfred H. L. 25-Jun-2008
5. Member Brooks, Homer 09-Jul-2008
6. Vacant    
7. Vacant    
8. Vacant    

Two vacancies in the ranks of the Commission were created with the unexpected passing of Mr. William Seyers on December 28, 2012 and Mr. J. William Smith on January 1, 2015. An additional Commissioner will be added to maintain an adequate level of expertise on the Commission.

The Ministry provides the Commission with administrative support and a meeting room for its monthly meetings in Toronto.

Environmental Scan

Operating under its mandate, in 2013-2014 the Commission received 161 applications and approved 151 of these applications. Total financial assistance provided to Veterans in need was $164,835.38.

The fiscal year 2014-2015 saw a small decline in applications from 161 to 156. The total amount of financial assistance provided was $170,464.42

A restructuring of the Veterans Affairs offices and a centralization of their referral system is seen as one of the factors affecting the number of applications and the Commission will work with their counsellors to streamline the process.

The Commission is now approving assistance to eligible Merchant Navy and Allied Veterans, consistent with federal changes.

Over the past year the Commission experienced continued interest in its services from men and women of the Canadian armed forces who have served in peacekeeping roles throughout the world, such as Afghanistan. The Commission has been unable to provide financial services to these Veterans as they do not qualify within the Commission’s current mandate. However, statistical data pertaining to these Veterans are being maintained for future reference.

Strategic Directions

In the upcoming fiscal year, the Commission will again review the current eligibility rate and referral period to ensure that they adequately address the rising cost of living and the cost of devices that the aging applicants need to improve their quality of life.

The Commission will continue to follow the Ministry’s procedures operating in accordance with all administrative policies as established and specified in all Management Board and Treasury Board Directives and or Guidelines.

With the untimely passing of two Commissioners, the recruitment process is now underway to fill these vacancies; an additional Commissioner will be added for a full complement of seven Commissioners and a Chair. This recruitment strategy will help to maintain the level of expertise and knowledge on the Commission which was diminished with the passing of two long-serving Commissioners and also strengthen our links with stakeholders in the Veterans community.

Overview Of Commission’s Current And Forthcoming Programs

As noted, the Commission’s core business is the provision of financial assistance to eligible Veterans and their dependents in need.

The Commission provides financial assistance under two basic categories:

  • Minor Disbursement Assistance and
  • Major Disbursement Assistance.

Minor Disbursement Assistance:

Minor assistance includes items up to $300.00 in value. Any Commission member or designated employee may approve a request under $ 300.00.

On behalf of the Commission, counsellors in District Department of Veterans Affairs offices may grant up to $50.00 to eligible Veterans without prior authorization, and between $50.00 and $100.00 to eligible applicants with telephone authorization from the Commission. The Department of Veterans Affairs bills the Commission on a monthly basis for reimbursement of grants made on behalf of the Soldiers’ Aid Commission. These grants are then reviewed and approved at the Commission’s next meeting.

Major Disbursement Assistance:

Major assistance includes items and services above $300.00 to $1500.00 in value. The amount may be increased up to as much as $2000.00 at the discretion of the Commission to avoid unnecessary hardship. All applications for major assistance are reviewed at the Commission’s monthly meetings. Those which require urgent attention are approved in a timely fashion and then reviewed at the next scheduled Commission meeting. Financial assistance can only be granted once in any 12-month period.

In the event of an emergency application where funds are required immediately, two Commissioners, after considering the eligibility and urgency of the application, may review and approve the application. The application is then discussed at the next Soldiers’ Aid Commission meeting.

The Commission is not considering any changes to its core business in 2015-2016.

Resources Needed To Meet Goals And Objectives

The Commission is not requesting any additional financial or capital resources to continue its core services or to meet the proposed expansion of its mandate.

Financials: Proposed Operating Expenditures, Projected Revenues and Funding Requirements

In 2014-2015 the Commission requested $189,900.00 of its full allotment of $253,200.

In 2014-2015 assistance was provided to 141 applicants, which were 140 major and 1 minor disbursements.

This resulted in expenditures of $170,464.42.  As per the requirements of the Agency Establishment and Accountability Directive 2010, unused funding of $19,435.58 was returned to the Minister of Finance at the end of fiscal 2014-2015. For the 2015-2016 fiscal year, the Commission will receive quarterly transfer payments of $63,300.

In 2015-2016 the Commission expects to continue to operate within its funding base of $253,200. It is anticipated that financial assistance of approximately $200,000 will again be provided to approximately 200 eligible Veterans and/or dependent relatives.

The Commission does not receive revenue from any source other than government.

Financials: Proposed Capital Expenditures

In 2014-2015 the Commission did not have any capital expenditures and did not hold any capital assets. In the upcoming fiscal year the Commission does not project any new capital initiatives.

Summary Of Staff Numbers

Each Commissioner is appointed by an Order in Council and performs duties on a voluntary basis without remuneration.

The ministry provides the Commission with one FTE (Operations Clerk), who provides administrative support. The employee is a member of the Ontario Public Services Employee Union.

Performance Measures And Targets

Core Business: Financial Assistance to Eligible Veterans

Goals: Performance Measures Targets Achievements
1. Receive and processing of approximately 200 applications for financial assistance.* # of Applications Received and approved 2014-2015
process 200 applications
156 applications received
141 applications approved.
As above 2015-2016
process approximately 200 applications
 
2. Renew Memorandum of Understanding As above 2016-2017
As above
 
New MOU was signed by Commission and Minister August 17, 2011 MOU signed

* The Commission is unable to accurately project the number of applications it will receive.

Risk Assessment And Management

In October 2014, a risk assessment was completed by the Commission and ministry staff. For 2015-2016 there are no risks identified that will potentially inhibit the Commission from fulfilling its mandate within the prescribed funding allotment.

La Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants s'engage à veiller à fournir le meilleur mécanisme d'administration de demandes d'aide financière faites par les anciens combattants qui se sont enrôlés dans les forces armées canadiennes, qui ont servi outre-mer sur fond de guerre ou qui ont servi dans les forces armées au Canada pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale ou la guerre de Corée. L'aide est également accordée aux membres de la famille qui sont à la charge d'un ancien combattant de telles guerres. Les membres de la Commission s'engagent à fournir un service pertinent et utile de la manière la plus économique et la plus efficace.

Résumé

En 2010-2011, le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires a fourni à la Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants un financement de 253 200 $. L'allocation annuelle comprenait une somme supplémentaire de 100 000 $, qui a été approuvée en novembre 2006, lorsque le mandat de la Commission a été étendu afin d'inclure l'aide financière accordée aux anciens combattants qui ont servi dans les forces armées au Canada.

Le travail de la Commission ne génère aucun revenu.

En 2014-2015, la Commission a reçu 156 demandes d'aide financière faites par d'anciens combattants ou les membres de leur famille qui sont à leur charge. L'aide a été accordée à 141 demandeurs, entraînant des dépenses de 170 464,42 $.

Mandat

La Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants est un organisme de services opérationnels établi en 1915, qui « avait alors pour mission de s'occuper des membres du Corps expéditionnaire canadien et de leur trouver un emploi ».

La Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants reçoit son autorisation législative de la Soldiers’ Aid Commission Act, L.R.O. 1960 et de la Soldiers' Aid Commission Amendment Act, L.R.O. 1970.

La Commission est exploitée de façon indépendante du gouvernement. Les membres sont nommés par décret et leur mandat n'a pas de durée fixe. La loi stipule que « [traduction] le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil peut ajouter comme membres de la Commissions les personnes qu'il juge appropriées de temps à autre, ou il peut nommer un membre pour remplacer un autre membre qui décède, qui prend sa retraite ou qui devient incapable d'agir ». La Commission choisit des candidats pour les postes de commissaires, recommande les personnes nommées au ministre et élit son président. Ces membres servent sans rémunération, mais peuvent demander le remboursement de leurs menues dépenses.

La Direction de la prestation des services et du soutien de la Direction des services communautaires et des politiques en matière de déficience intellectuelle du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires assume la responsabilité de l'administration des lois qui régissent l'exploitation de la Commission.

Un protocole entre la Commission et le Ministère, d'une durée de cinq ans, a été signé le 17 août 2011.

La Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants a pour mandat d'administrer les demandes d'aide financière faites par les anciens combattants et les membres de leur famille qui sont à leur charge. Un ancien combattant admissible est une personne qui réside en Ontario, qui s'est enrôlée dans les forces armées canadiennes et qui a servi outre-mer ou dans les forces armées au Canada pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, la Deuxième Guerre mondiale ou la guerre de Corée, et qui est dans le besoin, financièrement parlant.

Une personne à charge admissible est le conjoint (la conjointe) d'un(e) ancien(ne) combattant(e) admissible avec qui celui-ci (celle-ci) vivait au moment de son décès, ou comme conjoint(e) dans le cadre d'une union de fait d'une durée raisonnable.

La Commission accepte les demandes d'aide financière faites par les anciens combattants dans le besoin ou par les personnes à leur charge par l'entremise de la Légion royale canadienne, du ministère des Anciens Combattants ou des Fonds de bienfaisance de la Marine. Les fonctionnaires des bureaux d'Anciens Combattants Canada partout en Ontario vérifient le caractère approprié des demandes, après quoi ils font leurs recommandations à la Commission.

L'aide financière est disponible pour résoudre une situation spécifique, lorsque toutes les autres ressources ont été épuisées. Le financement est fourni au cas par cas et n'est pas fourni pour une aide continue à long terme.

La Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants fournit des fonds pour les besoins suivants :

  • Des articles relatifs à la santé, comme des aides auditives, des lunettes, des médicaments sur ordonnance et les besoins dentaires;
  • Des articles relatifs au domicile, comme le loyer, des réparations, les coûts d'un déménagement, le mobilier, la réparation ou le remplacement de la toiture ou de la fournaise;
  • L'équipement spécialisé, comme les appareils fonctionnels, les fauteuils roulants et les prothèses; et
  • Les articles personnels, comme les vêtements et d'autres services de soutien spécialisés.

Organisation

La Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants compte un président et sept commissaires.

En date du mois d'août 2015, les membres actuels de la Commission sont les suivants :

  Poste Nom Du Membre Mandat
1. Président Rowe, R. Colin 18 décembre 2002
2 Membre Stapleton, John 14 mai 2003
3. Membre Thomas, William Earle 25 juin 2008
4. Membre Harris, Alfred H. L. 25 juin 2008
5. Membre Brooks, Homer 9 juillet 2008
6. Vacant    
7. Vacant    
8. Vacant    

Deux postes sont à pourvoir dans les rangs de la Commission en raison des décès soudains de M. William Seyers, le 28 décembre 2012 et de M. J. William Smith, le 1er janvier 2015. Un commissaire sera ajouté afin de maintenir un niveau d'expertise approprié au sein de la Commission.

Le Ministère fournit à la Commission un soutien administratif et l'espace nécessaire pour ses réunions mensuelles, qui ont lieu à Toronto.

Situation Générale

Dans le cadre de son mandat, la Commission a reçu 161 demandes en 2013-2014 et en a approuvé 151. Le montant total de l'aide financière fournie aux anciens combattants dans le besoin s'élevait à 164 835,38 $.

Au cours de l'exercice financier 2014-2015, le nombre de demandes a légèrement baissé, passant de 161 à 156. Le montant total de l'aide financière fournie s'élevait à 170 464,42 $.

La restructuration des bureaux du ministère des Anciens Combattants et une centralisation de son système d'aiguillage sont considérées comme des facteurs qui ont affecté le nombre de demandes; la Commission travaillera donc avec ses conseillers pour simplifier le processus.

La Commission approuve désormais une aide aux anciens combattants ayant servi dans la marine marchande et aux anciens combattants alliés admissibles, conformément aux changements apportés au niveau fédéral.

Au cours de la dernière année, la Commission a observé un intérêt accru envers ses services de la part d'hommes et de femmes des forces canadiennes qui ont servi dans des rôles de maintien de la paix dans le monde entier, par exemple en Afghanistan. La Commission n'a pu fournir de services financiers à ces anciens combattants, car ils n'y sont pas admissibles dans le cadre de son mandat actuel.  Cependant, les données statistiques concernant ces anciens combattants sont conservées à des fins de consultation ultérieure.

Orientations Stratégiques

Au cours de l'exercice financier à venir, la Commission révisera de nouveau le taux d'admissibilité et la période d'attente en vigueur pour correspondre plus exactement à l'augmentation du coût de la vie et au coût des appareils dont ont besoin les demandeurs vieillissants pour améliorer leur qualité de vie.

La Commission continuera de suivre les procédures du Ministère afin de respecter toutes les politiques administratives établies et spécifiées dans toutes les directives ou lignes directrices du conseil de gestion et du conseil du Trésor.

En raison du décès inattendu de deux commissaires, le processus de recrutement est en cours afin de pourvoir ces postes; un commissaire supplémentaire sera ajouté pour combler l'effectif complet de sept commissaires et d'un président. La stratégie de recrutement contribuera à maintenir le niveau des compétences et des connaissances de la Commission qui s'en est trouvé réduit à la suite du décès de deux commissaires de longue date et à renforcer également nos liens avec les intervenants dans la communauté des anciens combattants.

Vue D'ensemble Des Programmes Actuels Et Futurs De La Commission

Comme noté, les principales activités de la Commission concernent la prestation d'une aide financière aux anciens combattants admissibles et à leurs personnes à charge dans le besoin.

La Commission fournit une aide financière dans deux catégories de base :

  • Aide aux petites allocations et
  • Aide aux allocations majeures.

Aide aux petites allocations

L'aide mineure couvre les articles d'une valeur de moins de 300 $. Tout membre de la Commission ou employé désigné peut approuver une demande de moins de 300 $.

Au nom de la Commission, les conseillers des bureaux de district du ministère des Anciens Combattants peuvent accorder un maximum de 50 $ aux anciens combattants admissibles sans autorisation préalable, et entre 50 et 100 $ aux demandeurs admissibles avec l'autorisation téléphonique de la Commission. Le ministère des Anciens Combattants facture le remboursement des subventions accordées au nom de la Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants une fois par mois à la Commission. Ces subventions sont alors examinées et approuvées lors de la réunion de la Commission.

Aide aux allocations majeures :

L'aide majeure inclut les articles et les services d'une valeur supérieure à 300 $ sans dépasser 1 500 $. Afin d'éviter des difficultés indues, ce montant peut être augmenté jusqu'à 2 000 $, à la discrétion de la Commission. Toutes les demandes d'aide majeure sont examinées lors des réunions mensuelles de la Commission. Celles qui sont urgentes sont approuvées dans les plus brefs délais, et sont examinées ensuite, lors de la prochaine réunion mensuelle prévue de la Commission. L'aide financière ne peut être accordée qu'une seule fois par période de 12 mois.

En cas de demande urgente, dans le cadre de laquelle les fonds sont requis immédiatement, deux commissaires peuvent examiner et approuver la demande, après avoir tenu compte de son caractère urgent et de son admissibilité. La demande fait ensuite l'objet d'une discussion lors de la prochaine réunion de la Commission d'aide aux anciens combattants.

La Commission n'envisage d'apporter aucun changement à ses activités de base en 2015-2016.

Ressources Requises Pour Atteindre Les Buts Et Les Objectifs

La Commission ne demande aucune ressource financière ou en capital supplémentaire pour maintenir ses services de base ou pour couvrir l'expansion proposée de son mandat.

Données Financières : dépenses d'exploitation proposées, revenus prévus et exigences en matière de financement

En 2014-2015, la Commission a demandé 189 900 $ de son allocation totale de 253 200 $.

En 2014-2015, 141 demandeurs ont obtenu de l'aide, constituée de 140 allocations majeures et de 1 allocation mineure.

Cela a entraîné des dépenses de 170 464,42 $. Conformément aux exigences de la Directive sur l'établissement et l'obligation de rendre compte des organismes 2010, le financement inutilisé de 19 435,58 $ a été retourné au ministre des Finances à la fin de l'exercice 2014-2015. Pour l'exercice financier 2015-2016, la Commission recevra des paiements de transfert de 63 600 $ par trimestre.

En 2015-2016, la Commission prévoit de continuer de fonctionner avec sa base de financement de 253 200 $. Il est prévu qu'une aide financière d'environ 200 000 $ sera accordée à environ 200 anciens combattants admissibles ou aux membres de leur famille à leur charge.

Les revenus de la Commission ne proviennent d'aucune source autre que le gouvernement.

Données Financières : dépenses en capital prévues

En 2014-2015, la Commission n'a engagé aucune dépense en capital et ne possédait pas d'actif immobilisé. Au cours du prochain exercice financier, la Commission ne prévoit aucune nouvelle initiative d'immobilisation.

Résumé Du Nombre D'employés

Chaque commissaire est nommé par décret et s'acquitte de ses fonctions sur une base bénévole, sans aucune rémunération.

Le Ministère fournit à la Commission un employé à temps plein (commis aux opérations) qui assure le soutien administratif. Cet employé est membre du Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

Mesures Du Rendement Et Objectifs

Principales activités : Aide financière fournie aux anciens combattants

Buts : Mesures du rendement Objectifs Réalisations
1. Réception et traitement d'environ 200 demandes d'aide financière. * Nombre de demandes reçues et approuvées 2014-2015
traitement de 200 demandes
156 demandes reçues
141 demandes approuvées
Comme ci-dessus 2015-2016
traitement d'environ 200 demandes
 
2. Renouvellement du protocole d'entente. Comme ci-dessus 2016-2017
Comme ci-dessus
 
Un nouveau protocole d'entente a été signé par la Commission et le Ministre 17 août 2011 Signature du protocole d'entente

*La Commission ne peut pas prévoir exactement le nombre de demandes qu'elle recevra.

Évaluation Et Gestion Du Risque

En octobre 2014, une évaluation du risque a été effectuée par la Commission et le personnel du Ministère. Pour 2015-2016, aucun risque n'a été reconnu qui pourrait empêcher la Commission de satisfaire son mandat en respectant le financement qui lui est alloué.