Services and supports are available to help people with a developmental disability participate fully as citizens in Ontario communities.

The Ministry of Community and Social Services funds these services and supports for adults with a developmental disability and their families so that they can live, work and participate in a wide range of activities in their communities.

Most of the services and supports available are delivered by community agencies.

Learn more

  • The Ontario Disability Support Program helps adults with disabilities and their families who are in financial need or who want to work but need some support. Find out more.

Third Party Providers of Developmental Services in Ontario

In addition to services and supports that are available from ministry-funded developmental service agencies, people with a developmental disability and their families may choose to seek services from a third party provider.

These private, or for-profit, providers are not funded by the government and therefore are not subject to the same strict ministry oversight, such as compliance inspections or service expectations that government-funded service providers must adhere to as part of their service contracts.

Information that is provided to individuals and their families about services and supports that may be offered by a third party service provider should not be constituted as an endorsement of those services.

People with developmental disabilities, and/or their family or caregiver should connect directly with the service provider to fully understand and assess what is being offered. The following factors should be considered when assessing a private/for-profit service provider:

  • The quality of the service;
  • The associated service policies (e.g. insurance coverage, hiring practices);
  • Any associated fees; and
  • Whether the service provider and service are acceptable to them and/or meets their personal needs.

Learn more

  • For information about whether a service provider is government-funded, speak with your local Developmental Service Ontario office and/or the service provider.

Les services et les soutiens sont disponibles pour aider les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle à être des citoyens à part entière dans les collectivités de l’Ontario.

Le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires finance ces services et soutiens accordés aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et à leur famille afin qu’ils puissent vivre, travailler dans leur collectivité et participer à toutes sortes d'activités.

La plupart des services et soutiens disponibles sont fournis par des organismes communautaires.

Pour en savoir plus

  • Le Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées aide les adultes ayant des déficiences ainsi que leur famille qui sont dans le besoin ou qui veulent travailler mais ont besoin de soutien. En savoir plus.

Tiers fournisseurs de services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle en Ontario

Outre les services et les soutiens disponibles auprès des organismes de services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui sont financés par le ministère, ces personnes et leurs familles peuvent choisir de demander des services à des fournisseurs tiers.

Ces fournisseurs de services privés ou à but lucratif ne sont pas financés par le gouvernement et, par conséquent, ne font pas l’objet de la même surveillance rigoureuse du ministère, incluant les inspections de conformité ou les attentes de services que les fournisseurs de services financés par le gouvernement sont tenus de respecter dans le cadre de leurs contrats de services.

L’information fournie aux personnes et aux familles au sujet des services et soutiens que peut offrir un fournisseur de services tiers ne doit pas être interprétée comme une approbation de ces services.  

Les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et (ou) leurs familles ou leurs aidants doivent contacter directement le fournisseur de services afin de bien comprendre et d’évaluer les services offerts. Pour évaluer un fournisseur de services privé ou à but lucratif, vous devez considérer les facteurs suivants :

  • La qualité du service;
  • Les politiques de service connexes (p. ex., assurance, pratiques de recrutement);
  • Tous frais associés aux services;
  • Si le fournisseur de services et le service vous conviennent et (ou) s’ils répondent à vos besoins personnels.

Pour en savoir plus