Here are some examples of scenarios you may encounter.

Remember: Do not deduct more than 50% of the payor’s net income. Even if the amount in the Support Deduction Notice is higher, only send us a maximum of 50% of the net income.

Scenarios Examples

Scenario 1

The ordered ongoing amount is less than 50 per cent of the payor’s net income. You will submit the ongoing amount.

Example:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. 50 per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. The ongoing amount is $300 per month and there are no arrears. In this case, you will send us $300 monthly.

Scenario 2

The ongoing amount is more than 50 per cent of the payor’s net income. You will submit 50 per cent of the payor’s income.

Example:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. Fifty per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. The ongoing amount in the Notice is $600 per month. You will send us only $500 per month (50 per cent of the payor’s net income) monthly. You must notify the Family Responsibility Office in writing (by fax or letter mail) when this is the case.

Scenario 3

The ongoing amount is less than 50 per cent of the payor’s net income. There are arrears (the amount of support that a payor has missed and owes to a recipient), with a set rate at which they are to be paid.

Example 1:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. Fifty per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. The ongoing amount is $300 per month. The arrears are to be paid at the rate of $150 per month. You will send us $450 monthly.

Example 2:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. Fifty per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. The ongoing amount is $300 per month. The arrears are to be paid at the rate of $250 per month. You will send us only $500 (50 per cent of the payor’s net income) monthly. You must notify the Family Responsibility Office in writing (by fax or letter) when this is the case.

Scenario 4

The ongoing amount is less than 50 per cent of the payor’s net income. There are arrears, but the rate at which arrears are to be paid is not specified.

Example:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. Fifty per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. The ongoing amount is $300 per month and there are arrears of $600 in total, but there is no arrears payment schedule. You will send us $500 (50 per cent of the payor’s net income) each month until the $600 in arrears has been repaid. After the arrears are paid, you will send us $300 monthly.

Scenario 5

The ongoing amount is exactly 50 per cent of the payor’s net income. There are arrears, with a set rate at which arrears are to be paid.

Example:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. Fifty per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. The ongoing amount is $500 per month. The arrears are to be paid at the rate of $200 per month. You should remit $500 monthly (that is, 50 per cent of the payor’s net income).

Scenario 6

There is no ongoing amount. The arrears are $5,000.

Example 1:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. Fifty per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. There is no arrears payment schedule. You should remit $500 monthly (that is, 50 per cent of the payor’s net income).

Example 2:

The payor’s net income is $1,000 per month. Fifty per cent of the payor’s net income is $500 per month. The Support Deduction Notice says arrears are to be paid at $300 per month. You should remit $300 monthly.

Voici quelques exemples de situations possibles.

Attention : Ne déduisez pas plus de 50 % du revenu net de l'employé(e). Même si le montant précisé par l'avis d'ordonnance de retenue des aliments dépasse ce plafond, le paiement à nous envoyer ne doit pas dépasser 50 %t du revenu net.

Scénarios Exemples

Scénario 1

Le montant permanent des pensions alimentaires est inférieur à 50 % du revenu net de l'employé. Vous enverrez ce montant.

Exemple:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. Le montant permanent est de 300 $ et il n'existe pas d'arriérés. Dans ce cas, vous nous enverrez 300 $ par mois.

Scénario 2

Le montant permanent des pensions alimentaires est supérieur à 50 % du revenu net de l'employé(e). Vous enverrez 50 % du revenu de l'employé(e).

Exemple:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. Le montant permanent indiqué dans l'avis est de 600 $. Vous nous enverrez seulement 500 $ par mois (50 % du revenu net du payeur). Dans ce cas de figure, vous devez avertir le Bureau des obligations familiales par écrit (télécopie ou lettre).

Scénario 3

Le montant permanent des pensions alimentaires est inférieur à 50 % du revenu net de l'employé. Il y a des arriérés (le montant de pensions alimentaires que le payeur n'a pas payé et qu'il doit au bénéficiaire), assortis d'un taux fixe pour le paiement.

Exemple 1:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. Le montant permanent est de 300 $ par mois. L'employé doit payer des arriérés à raison de 150 $ par mois. Vous nous enverrez 450 $ chaque mois.

Exemple 2:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. Le montant permanent est de 300 $ par mois. L'employé doit payer des arriérés à raison de 250 $ par mois. Vous nous enverrez seulement 500 $ (50 % du revenu net du payeur) chaque mois. Dans ce cas de figure, vous devez avertir le Bureau des obligations familiales par écrit (télécopie ou lettre).

Scénario 4

Le montant permanent des pensions alimentaires est inférieur à 50 % du revenu net de l'employé. Il y a des arriérés, mais le taux de paiement des arriérés n'est pas précisé.

Exemple:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. Le montant permanent est de 300 $ par mois. L'employé doit payer des arriérés d'un montant total de 600 $, mais il n'y a pas de calendrier de paiement des arriérés joint. Vous nous enverrez 500 $ chaque mois (50 % du revenu net du payeur) jusqu'à ce que la somme de 600 $ des arriérés ait été payée. Après que les arriérés sont payés, vous nous enverrez 300 $ par mois.

Scénario 5

Le montant permanent des pensions alimentaires équivaut exactement à 50 % du revenu net de l'employé. Il y a des arriérés, assortis d'un taux fixe pour le paiement.

Exemple:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. Le montant permanent est de 500 $ par mois. L'employé doit payer des arriérés à raison de 200 $ par mois. Vous nous enverrez 500 $ (50 % du revenu net du payeur) chaque mois.

Scénario 6

Aucun paiement permanent de pensions alimentaires n'est prévu. Il existe des arriérés d'un montant de 5 000 $.

Exemple 1:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. Il n'y a pas de calendrier de paiement des arriérés joint. Vous nous enverrez 500 $ (50 % du revenu net du payeur)

Exemple 2:

Le revenu net du payeur est de 1 000 $ par mois. 50 % du revenu net du payeur équivalent à 500 $ par mois. L'avis d'ordonnance de retenue des aliments indique que les arriérés doivent être payés à raison de 300 $ par mois. Vous nous enverrez 300 $ chaque mois.