December 2016

5.9 Loans

Legislative Authority

Section 7(3) of the Act.
Sections 13 and 54(1) of Regulation 134/98.

Audit Requirements

Random file reviews are completed to ensure that:

  • financial documents pertaining to loans have been visually verified;
  • the amount of the loan and the purpose have been visually verified; and
  • all visually verified documents have been documented in the Social Assistance Management System (SAMS)  or any other file system used by a First Nations delivery agent.

Application of Policy

In certain circumstances the Administrator may approve a loan or a portion of a loan to be exempt as income.
Loans considered exempt as income include those used for:

  • business;
  • medically necessary health-related expenses;
  • post-secondary education related costs;
  • the purchase of a motor vehicle;
  • first and last month's rent;
  • necessary house repairs; and
  • necessary household items.

Insurance payments received for loan repayments, and lines of credit used to pay credit card debt, are also considered exempt as income.

Business Loans

A loan used for the development and maintenance of a business is considered exempt as income if it is invested for the development and maintenance of the business. Any portion of a business loan that is not invested into the business is considered income (see Directive 5.11: Self-Employment Income for more information).

Loans for Medically Necessary Health-Related Expenses

In exceptional circumstances, and where no other government benefits are available, a loan or a portion of a loan used for medically necessary health-related expenses is considered exempt as income.

Medically necessary health-related expenses may include orthodontic care for dependent children, or any required medication that is not covered under the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) Program.

A loan provided on an ongoing basis to offset the cost of medically necessary health-related expenses, while a recipient is pending payment from the Trillium Drug Program or the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care's Special Drugs Program, is exempt as income.

Loans for Direct Post-Secondary Education Related Costs

A loan approved by the Administrator to be used for post-secondary education costs is considered exempt as income if it is used for education or training costs, including loans received from the Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP). All available income sources, including OSAP should be pursued when considering post-secondary education. Education or training costs include tuition, compulsory fees, books, instructional supplies, and costs for transportation.

If the amount of the loan for post-secondary education exceeds the amount of the approved education or training costs, the excess amount of the loan must be included as income and assets.

Attendance at the post-secondary institution should be monitored as part of the recipient's participation requirements. If the recipient transfers between post-secondary institutions or training programs, the loan continues to be exempt if the new post-secondary institution or training program is approved by the Administrator.

If the recipient stops attending the institution or training program, the remaining amount of the loan, as well as any refund received from the educational institution, is to be considered as income (see to Directive 3.8: Post-Secondary Students for more information).

Casual gifts and payments may also be exempt as income where they are provided for direct post secondary education costs such as tuition, books, transportation and compulsory fees (see Directive 5.7: Casual Gifts and Payments for more information).

Loans for the Purchase of a Motor Vehicle

The Administrator may exempt as income a loan used to purchase a motor vehicle if it is required by a participant to maintain employment or participate in employment assistance activities (see Directive 4.5: Motor Vehicles for more information).

Loans for First and Last Month's Rent

The Administrator may exempt as income a loan or a portion of a loan used for the payment of first and last month's rent that is required to secure accommodation for the benefit unit. Loans for first and last month's rent may also be used for utility start-up costs.

Loans or Grants from the Residential Rehabilitation Assistance Program

The federal Residential Rehabilitation Assistance Program (RRAP) offers aid to help low income homeowners make necessary repairs to their homes. These loans are considered exempt as income when used to make necessary repairs to homes.

Loans or Grants from Ontario Renovates under the Investment In Affordable Housing for Ontario program

Ontario Renovates provides funding assistance for home repairs, renovations and/or modifications for low and modest income households. These loans are considered exempt as income when used to make necessary repairs to homes or the creation of a new affordable rental unit within an existing single family home.

Loans for the Purchase of Necessary Items

The Administrator may exempt as income loans used for the purchase of household items necessary for the well-being of members of the benefit unit (e.g., furniture, basic appliances, food and clothing).

The types of loans that may be used to pay for these approved household items include cash advances, credit cards, a line of credit, lay-away arrangements, delayed payment agreements, and personal loans.

Insurance Payments for a Loan

Payments from a disability insurance policy obtained to ensure that loan repayments are made are considered exempt as income.

Line of Credit

A line of credit that is used to pay a debt to a credit card company is considered exempt as income.

décembre 2016

5.9 Prêts

Compétence législative

Paragraphe 7 (3) de la Loi.
Article 13 et paragraphe 54 (1) du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s'assurer de ce qui suit :

  • les documents financiers se rapportant aux prêts ont fait l'objet d'une confirmation visuelle;
  • le montant et l'objet du prêt ont fait l'objet d'une confirmation visuelle;
  • la confirmation des documents vérifiés a été consignée dans le Système automatisé de gestion de l'aide sociale (SAGAS) ou dans un autre système utilisé par les agents de prestation des services des Premières nations.

Application de la Directive

Dans certaines circonstances, l'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut approuver l'exemption de la totalité ou d'une partie d'un prêt comme revenu.

Les prêts considérés comme un revenu exempté sont ceux utilisés aux fins suivantes :

  • prêts affectés à l'exploitation d'une entreprise;
  • prêts pour frais médicaux nécessaires;
  • prêts pour les frais directement liés aux études postsecondaires;
  • prêts affectés à l'achat d'un véhicule;
  • prêts pour les premier et dernier mois de loyer;
  • prêts affectés aux réparations domiciliaires nécessaires;
  • prêts affectés à l'achat d'articles de ménage nécessaires.

Les paiements d'assurance utilisés pour rembourser des prêts et les marges de crédit utilisées pour payer une dette contractée auprès d’une compagnie émettrice de cartes de crédit constituent également des revenus exemptés.

Prêts affectés à l'exploitation d'une entreprise

Pour être exemptés, les prêts affectés à une entreprise doivent être réinvestis dans le développement et l'exploitation de l'entreprise. La partie d'un prêt affecté à l'exploitation d'une entreprise qui n'est pas investie dans l'entreprise est considérée comme un revenu (voir la Directive 5.13 : Revenu d'un travail indépendant pour un complément d'information).

Prêts pour frais médicaux nécessaires

Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles et lorsqu'aucune autre forme de prestations gouvernementales n'est disponible, la totalité ou une partie d'un prêt utilisée pour assumer des frais médicaux nécessaires constitue un revenu exempté.
Les frais médicaux nécessaires peuvent comprendre les soins orthodontiques d'enfants à charge ou les médicaments requis qui ne sont pas remboursés par le Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario (PMO).

Un prêt fourni sous forme de versements pour compenser les frais médicaux nécessaires pendant que la ou le bénéficiaire attend de recevoir l'aide du Programme de médicaments Trillium ou du Programme de médicaments spéciaux du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée constitue un revenu exempté.

Prêts pour les frais directement liés aux études postsecondaires

Un prêt que l'administratrice ou l'administrateur a approuvé et qui doit être utilisé pour les frais liés aux études postsecondaires constitue un revenu exempté s'il sert à assumer les coûts liés à l'éducation ou à la formation. Sont compris les prêts du RAFEO. Les personnes qui font une demande ou les bénéficiaires doivent s'employer à obtenir des fonds de toutes les sources de revenus disponibles, y compris le RAFEO, lorsqu'ils envisagent des études postsecondaires. Les coûts liés à l'éducation ou à la formation comprennent les droits de scolarité, les frais obligatoires, l'achat de livres, les fournitures scolaires et le transport.

Si le montant du prêt affecté aux études postsecondaires dépasse le montant des coûts approuvés liés à l'éducation ou à la formation, le montant excédentaire du prêt doit être compté dans les revenus et l'avoir.

La fréquentation de l'établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire doit être surveillée dans le cadre des exigences de participation de la ou du bénéficiaire. Si la ou le bénéficiaire change d'établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire ou passe d'un programme de formation à un autre, le prêt continue être exempté si l'administratrice ou l'administrateur approuve le nouvel établissement ou le nouveau programme de formation.

Si la ou le bénéficiaire cesse de fréquenter l'établissement ou de suivre le programme de formation, le solde du prêt et tout remboursement reçu de l'établissement doit être considéré comme un revenu (voir la Directive 3.8 : Étudiants au niveau postsecondaire pour un complément d'information).

Les cadeaux et les paiements occasionnels peuvent également constituer un revenu exempté lorsqu'ils sont offerts pour assumer les frais directement liés aux études postsecondaires comme les droits de scolarité, le coût des livres, les frais de transport et les frais obligatoires (voir la Directive 5.7 : Cadeaux et paiements occasionnels pour un complément d'information).

Prêts pour l'achat d'un véhicule

L'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut exempter un prêt utilisé pour acheter un véhicule automobile dont une personne qui participe au programme a besoin pour conserver un emploi ou participer à des activités d'aide à l'emploi (voir la Directive 4.5 : Véhicules automobiles pour un complément d'information).

Prêts pour les premier et dernier mois de loyer

L'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut exempter la totalité ou une partie d'un prêt utilisé pour le paiement des premier et dernier mois de loyer nécessaires pour obtenir un logement au groupe de prestataires. Les prêts pour les premier et dernier mois de loyer peuvent servir à assumer les frais de branchement des services publics.

Prêts ou subventions du Programme d'aide à la remise en état des logements (PAREL)

Le PAREL, un programme fédéral, aide les propriétaires à faible revenu à faire les réparations nécessaires à leur maison. Ces prêts constituent un revenu exempté lorsqu'ils sont utilisés à cette fin.

Prêts ou subventions du Programme d’investissement dans le logement abordable – volet Rénovations Ontario

Rénovations Ontario fournit une aide financière aux foyers à faible ou modeste revenu pour réparer, rénover et/ou transformer leur maison. Ces prêts constituent un revenu exempté lorsqu'ils sont utilisés pour effectuer des réparations nécessaires ou créer un nouveau logement locatif abordable dans une maison unifamiliale.

Prêts affectés à l'achat d'articles nécessaires

L'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut exempter les prêts utilisés pour l'achat d'articles de ménage nécessaires au bien-être des membres du groupe de prestataires (p. ex., des meubles, des appareils électroménagers de base, des aliments et des vêtements).

Le genre de prêt qui peut être utilisé à cette fin comprend les avances de fonds, les cartes de crédit, les marges de crédit, les mises de côté, les contrats visant le paiement différé d'articles et les prêts personnels.

Paiements d'assurance utilisés pour rembourser un prêt

Les versements reçus en vertu d'une police d'assurance-invalidité pour rembourser un prêt constituent un revenu exempté.

Marge de crédit

Une marge de crédit utilisée pour payer une dette contractée auprès d’une compagnie émettrice de cartes de crédit constitue un revenu exempté.