December 2016

9.7 Controlling Fraud

Legislative Authority

Sections 57, 58 and 79 of the Act.
Section 65 of the Ontario Works Regulation 134/98

Audit Requirements

Documentation is on file to support decisions resulting from eligibility investigations and appropriate calculation of reduced assistance.

Documentation and tracking of eligibility investigations is in accordance with provincial standards.

Random file reviews are completed to ensure that all requirements are met.

Application of Policy

No person should knowingly obtain or receive assistance, or aid or abet another person to obtain or receive assistance to which they are not entitled.

The Administrator determines if there are reasonable grounds to suspect that fraud may have occurred.

The Administrator may establish a local fraud control unit and may designate staff as Eligibility Review Officers (EROs) to assess and investigate an applicant or recipient's eligibility for assistance. Proper processes and procedures must be in place for staff to follow.

All allegations of fraud from internal or external referrals for investigation should be entered into the Social Assistance Management System (SAMS) according to local protocols. First Nations delivery agents should document referrals in the file system used by the delivery agent.

Assessment and Investigation

Eligibility complaints may be received from either external or internal sources. Complaints may include fraud allegations from the public (the public may contact 1-800-394-7867 for any allegations of fraud) or cases that have been referred by staff when apparent discrepancies have been discovered through activities such as data matching or file reviews.

The Administrator should designate staff to complete a preliminary review of the case within 30 calendar days of receiving a complaint.

The preliminary review involves:

  • verifying that the recipient is in the social assistance database;
  • ensuring the complaint is relevant to eligibility;
  • reviewing the recipient's file and, where appropriate, arranging an interview with the recipient; and
  • determining if the case warrants further investigation.

When a case is referred to an ERO, a comprehensive investigation must be conducted which includes the verification of information by obtaining original or certified copies of relevant documents that assist in making a decision regarding eligibility.

An ERO investigation should be completed within 6-months after it has been determined that the case warrants an ERO investigation.

The names of all complainants (where provided) are to be kept confidential and maintained in the ERO file. Complainants should be notified that their names may be released should the matter proceed for prosecution.

After the investigation is complete, the ERO should prepare a written report for review by the ERO Supervisor. The report should:

  • make recommendations concerning ongoing eligibility;
  • identify any overpayment or arrears; and
  • recommend whether the matter should be referred to the police for investigation of fraud.

A copy of the report must be kept on file. The ERO should maintain all notes, documents and information from the investigation as part of an ERO file for future reference. After reviewing the report in conjunction with the file, the ERO Supervisor must be satisfied that sufficient information has been obtained to support a decision on eligibility.

If the investigation confirms that a recipient has received financial assistance that they were not entitled to, financial assistance should be reduced or cancelled as appropriate, and an overpayment established.

If the Administrator or designate determines there is sufficient evidence to suspect intent to commit fraud, the case must be referred to the police for investigation under the Criminal Code (Canada) and possible criminal prosecution.

Part or all of the case file may be released to the police on the authorization of the Administrator. A record is kept for all cases authorized for police investigation. A duplicate file must be created for police investigation while maintaining the working file at the local Ontario Works office.

Investigations are completed by the police with jurisdiction in the area where the alleged offence occurred.

Search Warrants

EROs are able to apply for and act under a Provincial Offences Act (POA) search warrant. Action under a search warrant may be necessary where it is clear and convincing that information that is missing or concealed is critical to determining eligibility. Under no circumstances is an ERO authorized to apply for and act under a Criminal Code search warrant.
Search warrants are generally used where requests for information from a third party relating to an investigation have been, or are likely to be, refused. EROs might be refused access because the third party holding the information does not recognize the authority of the ERO to collect it, or does not accept the validity of the consent form signed by the recipient. Examples where search warrants may be used to access information might include financial institutions, employers or other third parties.

EROs may not enter a place that is being used as a dwelling without the consent of the occupier unless it is under the authority of a search warrant. Search warrants are not to be applied for in order to enter dwellings unless there are reasonable grounds to believe that the dwelling is being used as a place of business or other employment and there is evidence related to this activity that has a bearing on eligibility.

A search warrant can only be obtained from a Judge or Justice of the Peace. Before granting a search warrant, the Judge or Justice of the Peace should be satisfied that there are reasonable and probable grounds to believe that an offence may have been committed and that evidence relevant to the offence can be found at the location to be searched. Certain conditions and limitations are involved when applying for and acting under a POA search warrant.

Search warrant powers must be authorized by the Director and are subject to certain criteria. EROs and/or their managers must successfully complete the provincial search warrant training course and appropriate local business protocols as outlined in the Search Warrant Manual.

Local Protocol

In order to process suspected social assistance fraud cases in an efficient manner, every Administrator should develop protocols and procedures with the local police services and the Crown Attorney's Office for the effective investigation and prosecution of cases of suspected social assistance fraud.

This protocol should outline the local practices of the social assistance delivery site, the police and the Crown Attorney for each stage of the investigation as it relates to the:

  • collection of information concerning the case;
  • process for referring a case to the police;
  • initial preparation and vetting of the ERO file with the police;
  • securing, documentation, storage and disposition of evidence; and/or
  • preparation of the Crown brief.

The protocol should also identify local contacts within the delivery site, the police agency and the local Crown's Office for the purpose of exchanging information and legal advice.

Responsibilities After Case Referred to Police

The ERO should monitor the referral and follow-up with the police concerning the outcome of the criminal investigation. If a charge is laid under the Criminal Code (Canada) or the Provincial Offences Act, the ERO will liaise with the investigating officer concerning such matters as court dates and disposition of the case.

At the conclusion of the court action, the Administrator or designate must ensure that the proper procedures are in place for the return of all original documents and cheques, and that the overpayment is dealt with appropriately and the results of the court action are promptly entered into SAMS  or First Nations file system where appropriate.

Where there has been a conviction for social assistance fraud, the ERO is responsible for obtaining a certified copy of the Certificate of Conviction from the court, placing it in the recipient's file and making the appropriate entries in the computer system.

Overpayments (see Directive 9.3: Recovery of Overpayments for more information)

In cases where there is a confirmed overpayment and the decision is not to refer the case to the police for criminal investigation, the applicant or recipient should be advised of the overpayment amount and reason. Recovery commences in accordance with procedures for the collection of overpayments in active and inactive cases.

In cases where there is a confirmed overpayment and the decision is to refer the case to the police for criminal investigation, the applicant or recipient is advised of the overpayment amount and reason. However, depending on the local protocol with the local authority, the overpayment may be deemed "temporarily uncollectable" pending the outcome of the criminal investigation.

Relocation of a Recipient under Investigation

If a recipient who is under investigation moves to a new location, and if information collected by an ERO is required at the new location to determine past and ongoing eligibility, copies of the file may be forwarded to the new location/delivery agent. The master file containing all original documents should be retained by the originating office.

Restitution Orders

In cases where there has been a conviction, the court may order restitution for part or all of the overpayments in question.

A restitution order differs from an overpayment, which is portable, in that the restitution order may specify that restitution is to a particular delivery agent. The delivery agent specified in the restitution order should monitor whether a recipient is making payments as per the terms of the restitution order.

If the recipient is not making payment, delivery agents may deduct a portion of the overpayment from the recipient's financial assistance.

Unfounded Allegations of Fraud

Allegations of fraud that are deemed to be unfounded or unsupported as a result of an assessment or investigation must be deleted/disposed from both electronic and paper files one year from the date that the assessment or investigation was completed (including documentation from police, crown and trial activities, where applicable). Any information pertaining to the eligibility complaint and results of the assessment or investigation should be destroyed.

This provision applies only to eligibility complaints that are unsupported and where no subsequent action on the case was taken (e.g., overpayment posted, case terminated, etc.) due to the complaint.

Other Instances of Fraud

If a third party (e.g., a vendor, child care provider, trustee, etc.) is suspected of fraud, a referral should be made to the appropriate authority that oversees the service contract and/or operations of the service provider.

Housing cases such as inappropriate receipt of rent-geared-to-income, or child care cases (e.g., operating a private home day care while claiming informal or formal childcare expenses) can be investigated by an ERO.

décembre 2016

9.7 Répression des fraudes

Compétence législative

Articles 57, 58 et 79 de la Loi.
Article 65 du Règlement 134/98.

Exigences de vérification

Les documents appuyant les décisions prises à la suite d'enquêtes sur l'admissibilité d'une personne et le calcul approprié de la réduction du montant de l'aide figurent au dossier.

Les documents relatifs aux enquêtes sur l'admissibilité et les méthodes de suivi pertinentes sont conformes aux normes provinciales.
On procède à des révisions au hasard des dossiers pour s'assurer que toutes les exigences sont respectées.

Application de la Politique

Nul ne doit sciemment obtenir ou recevoir une aide à laquelle il n'a pas droit ou aider ou encourager une autre personne à obtenir ou à recevoir une aide à laquelle cette personne n'a pas droit.

L'administratrice ou l'administrateur détermine s'il y a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner qu'une fraude pourrait avoir été commise.
L'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut constituer une unité locale de répression des fraudes et désigner des membres du personnel comme agents de révision de l'admissibilité. Ces agents ont pour mission d'évaluer si une personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire est effectivement admissible à l'aide demandée et de faire enquête à cet égard. Les méthodes et modalités appropriées doivent être en place pour que le personnel les suive.

Toutes les allégations de fraude provenant de sources internes ou externes et devant faire l'objet d'une enquête sont saisies dans le Système automatisé de gestion de l'aide sociale (SAGAS)conformément aux protocoles locaux. Les agents de prestation de services dans les Premières nations doivent documenter les renvois pour évaluation et enquête dans leur système de gestion des dossiers.

Évaluation et enquête

Les plaintes relatives à l'admissibilité d'une personne peuvent provenir de sources internes ou externes. Elles peuvent comprendre des allégations de fraude provenant du public (le public peut signaler les cas de fraude présumée au 1 800 394-7867) ou des cas signalés par le personnel quand une comparaison des données ou un examen d'un dossier met en lumière d'apparentes contradictions.
Dans les 30 jours civils suivant la réception d'une plainte, l'administratrice ou l'administrateur doit demander au personnel de mener à bien un examen préliminaire du dossier.

L'examen préliminaire comprend les étapes suivantes :

  • la vérification de la présence du nom de la personne bénéficiaire dans la base de données de l'aide sociale;
  • la vérification de la plainte pour s'assurer qu'elle concerne bien l'admissibilité de la personne;
  • l'examen du dossier de la personne bénéficiaire et, selon le cas, la préparation d'une entrevue avec cette personne;
  • la décision à savoir si le dossier justifie un examen approfondi.

Les cas signalés aux agents de révision de l'admissibilité doivent faire l'objet d'une enquête approfondie, qui comprend la vérification des renseignements grâce à l'obtention des originaux ou de copies certifiées conformes de tous les documents pertinents qui facilitent la prise d'une décision relativement à l'admissibilité d'une personne.

L’examen d’un agent de révision de l’admissibilité doit être mené à bien dans les six mois suivant la décision selon laquelle le dossier justifie un tel examen.

Le nom de tous les plaignants (quand ils sont connus) reste confidentiel et est conservé dans le dossier des agents de révision de l'admissibilité. Les personnes qui ont porté plainte doivent cependant savoir que leur nom risque d'être divulgué si l'affaire donne lieu à une poursuite judiciaire.

Une fois l'enquête terminée, les agents de révision de l'admissibilité dressent un rapport écrit à l'intention de leur superviseur. Ce rapport :

  • contient des recommandations sur l'admissibilité continue de la personne;
  • précise le montant de tout paiement excédentaire ou arriéré;
  • renferme des recommandations sur la question de savoir si l'affaire devrait être signalée à la police pour enquête sur fraude.

Une copie du rapport doit être versée au dossier. Les agents de révision de l'admissibilité conservent l'ensemble des notes, documents et renseignements relatifs à l'enquête dans le dossier pour référence ultérieure. Après examen du rapport et du dossier, le superviseur doit être convaincu que des renseignements suffisants appuient la décision prise concernant l'admissibilité de la personne.
Si l'enquête confirme que la personne bénéficiaire a reçu une aide financière à laquelle elle n'avait pas droit, cette aide financière doit être réduite ou annulée, selon ce qui est approprié, et un paiement excédentaire doit être établi.

Si l'administratrice ou l'administrateur ou la personne désignée à cette fin établit qu'il existe des preuves suffisantes pour soupçonner qu'il y a eu intention de commettre une fraude, le cas doit être renvoyé à la police pour qu'elle mène une enquête sous le régime du Code criminel et intente éventuellement une poursuite criminelle.

L'administratrice ou l'administrateur peut autoriser la divulgation du dossier, en tout ou en partie, à la police. On tient un relevé de tous les cas faisant l'objet d'une enquête policière. Un dossier en double doit être créé en cas d'enquête de la police afin qu'on puisse avoir un dossier de travail au bureau du programme Ontario au travail.

L'enquête est menée par le service de police qui a compétence dans la région où l'infraction présumée a été commise.

Mandats de perquisition

Les agents de révision de l'admissibilité peuvent demander un mandat de perquisition aux termes de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales et agir en vertu de ce mandat. L'utilisation d'un mandat de perquisition peut être envisagée s'il est clair et probant que l'information manquante ou dissimulée est essentielle à la détermination de l'admissibilité d'une personne. Les agents de révision de l'admissibilité ne sont jamais autorisés, sous aucune considération, à demander un mandat de perquisition en vertu du Code criminel et à agir en vertu d'un tel mandat.

Règle générale, le mandat de perquisition est utilisé quand une demande d'information d'une tierce partie dans le cadre d'une enquête a été refusée ou risque de l'être. Les agents de révision de l'admissibilité peuvent ne pas obtenir accès à certains renseignements parce que la tierce partie qui détient l'information pertinente ne reconnaît pas leur pouvoir de recueillir cette information ou n'admet pas la validité du formulaire de consentement signé par la personne bénéficiaire. Par exemple, un mandat de perquisition peut être utilisé pour obtenir des renseignements d'une institution financière, d'un employeur ou d'un autre tiers.

Il est interdit aux agents de révision de l'admissibilité de pénétrer dans un lieu qui sert de logement sans le consentement de l'occupant s'ils ne détiennent pas un mandat de perquisition. Ils peuvent demander un mandat de perquisition pour pénétrer dans un logement uniquement s'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire que le logement est utilisé comme lieu d'affaires ou d'emploi et qu'il existe une preuve relative à cette activité qui a des incidences sur l'admissibilité d'une personne.

Un mandat de perquisition ne peut être obtenu qu'auprès d'un juge ou d'un juge de paix. Avant de décerner un mandat de perquisition, le juge ou le juge de paix doit être convaincu qu'il existe des motifs raisonnables et probables de croire qu'une infraction peut avoir été commise et que la preuve pertinente relative à cette infraction se trouve dans le lieu visé par le mandat. Il faut respecter certaines conditions et limites lorsqu'on demande un mandat de perquisition aux termes de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales et qu'on agit en vertu d'un tel mandat.

Le pouvoir de demander un mandat de perquisition, qui est assujetti à certains critères, doit être autorisé par le directeur. Les agents d'évaluation de l'admissibilité et les chefs de service doivent suivre et réussir un cours de formation sur les mandats de perquisition décernés sous le régime des lois provinciales et connaître les protocoles applicables à l'échelle locale et expliqués dans le Search Warrant Manual (guide sur les mandats de perquisition).

Protocole local

Pour faciliter le traitement efficace des cas de fraude présumée de l'aide sociale, les administrateurs doivent élaborer, en collaboration avec les services de police locaux et le Bureau des procureurs de la Couronne, un protocole et des processus pour assurer la réalisation d'enquêtes efficaces et des poursuites dans les cas de fraude présumée de l'aide sociale.

Le protocole doit décrire les pratiques locales du bureau de prestation des services d'aide sociale, du service de police et du bureau des procureurs de la Couronne en ce qui concerne chaque étape d'une enquête applicable aux éléments suivants :

  • la collecte des renseignements propres au cas;
  • la procédure de renvoi du cas à la police;
  • la préparation et l'examen du dossier des agents de révision de l'admissibilité avec la police;
  • la sécurité, la documentation, la conservation et l'élimination des preuves;
  • la préparation du dossier de la Couronne.

Le protocole doit aussi mentionner les personnes-ressources au bureau local de prestation des services, au service de police et au bureau local des procureurs de la Couronne aux fins de l'échange de renseignements et de conseils juridiques.

Responsabilités après le renvoi du dossier à la police

Il convient que les agents de révision de l'admissibilité surveillent le processus de renvoi du dossier à la police et restent en contact avec la police pour connaître les résultats de l'enquête criminelle. Si une accusation est portée sous le régime du Code criminel ou de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales, les agents assurent la liaison avec l'agente ou l'agent responsable de l'enquête en ce qui concerne, par exemple, les dates de comparution en cour et la décision rendue dans l'affaire.

À l'issue de la poursuite judiciaire, l'administratrice ou l'administrateur, ou la personne désignée à cette fin, doit voir à l'instauration des procédures nécessaires pour assurer le retour de tous les documents originaux et des chèques, et veiller à ce que, d'une part, la question des paiements excédentaires soit réglée de façon appropriée et, d'autre part, les résultats de l'action en justice soient rapidement saisis dans le SAGAS ou le système de gestion des dossiers des Premières nations, selon ce qui est approprié.
En cas de déclaration de culpabilité pour fraude de l'aide sociale, l'agent de révision de l'admissibilité doit obtenir une copie certifiée conforme du certificat de condamnation ou de déclaration de culpabilité émis par le tribunal, la verser au dossier de la personne bénéficiaire, et saisir les renseignements appropriés dans le système informatique.

Paiements excédentaires (voir la Directive 9.3 : Recouvrement des paiements excédentaires pour un complément d'information)
Si un paiement excédentaire est constaté et qu'on décide de ne pas renvoyer le dossier à la police pour enquête criminelle, la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire est informée du montant du paiement excédentaire et de la raison à son origine. Le recouvrement commence conformément au processus de recouvrement des paiements excédentaires établi à l'égard des dossiers actifs et inactifs.

Si un paiement excédentaire est constaté et qu'on décide de renvoyer le dossier à la police pour enquête criminelle, la personne qui fait une demande ou qui est bénéficiaire est informée du montant du paiement excédentaire et de la raison à son origine. Toutefois, compte tenu du protocole local conclu avec les responsables locaux, le paiement excédentaire peut être réputé « temporairement irrécouvrable » en attendant l'issue de l'enquête criminelle.

Déménagement de la personne bénéficiaire faisant l'objet d'une enquête

Si la personne bénéficiaire qui fait l'objet d'une enquête déménage et que les renseignements qu'ont recueillis les agents de révision de l'admissibilité sont nécessaires au nouvel endroit pour déterminer l'admissibilité antérieure et continue de la personne bénéficiaire, des copies de son dossier peuvent être communiquées au nouvel endroit ou au nouvel agent de prestation de services. Il convient que le bureau d’origine conserve le fichier maître comportant tous les documents d’origine.

Ordonnance de restitution

En cas de déclaration de culpabilité, le tribunal peut ordonner la restitution d'une partie ou de la totalité des paiements excédentaires en cause.

L'ordonnance de restitution diffère du paiement excédentaire, qui est transférable, en ce sens qu'elle peut préciser un agent donné de prestation de services. Cet agent doit alors s'assurer que la personne bénéficiaire fait les paiements prévus conformément aux modalités de l'ordonnance de restitution.

Si la personne bénéficiaire ne fait pas les paiements prévus, l'agent de prestation de services peut déduire une partie du paiement excédentaire de l'aide financière accordée à la personne bénéficiaire.

Allégations de fraude de l'aide sociale non fondées

Les allégations de fraude de l'aide sociale réputées non fondées à la suite d'une évaluation ou d'une enquête sont supprimées ou retirées des dossiers électronique et papier un an après la date de la fin de l'évaluation ou de l'enquête (y compris, s'il y a lieu, les documents relatifs, d'une part, aux activités des services de police et de la Couronne et, d'autre part, à l'instance judiciaire). Les renseignements se rapportant à la plainte en matière d'admissibilité et les résultats de l'évaluation ou de l'enquête sont détruits.

Cette disposition ne s'applique qu'aux plaintes en matière d'admissibilité sans fondement et si aucune mesure ultérieure n'a été prise à l'égard du cas (paiement excédentaire reporté, cas clos, etc.) par suite de la plainte.

Autres cas de fraude

Si une tierce partie (vendeur, fournisseur de services de garde d'enfants, fiduciaire, etc.) est soupçonnée de fraude, on peut signaler la fraude éventuelle à l'autorité pertinente qui supervise le contrat de service ou l'activité du fournisseur de services.

Les cas de fraude dans le domaine du logement comme l'octroi injustifié d'un logement dont le loyer est indexé sur le revenu ou une activité de garde d'enfants (prestation de services de garde d'enfants en résidence privée tout en réclamant des dépenses pour frais de services de garde d'enfants agréés ou non agréés) peuvent faire l'objet d'une enquête par les agents d'évaluation de l'admissibilité.