previous page  |  table of contents

 

9. Glossary of Terms

Adult

A person who is 18 years of age or older.

Case Management

Case management is a collaborative process to assess, plan, implement, coordinate, monitor and evaluate the options and services required to meet the individual’s service needs.

The process often uses a person-centred planning approach to develop, implement and maintain an individual service plan with and for the individual. The process promotes the concept of choice, individualized services and supports, and individual satisfaction.

Child/Children

A person under 18 years of age.

Developmental Disability

Under the Services and Supports to Promote the Social Inclusion of Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, 2008 and Regulation 276/10, a person has a developmental disability if the person has the prescribed significant limitations in cognitive functioning and adaptive functioning and those limitations:

  • Originated before the person reached 18 years of age.
  • Are likely to be life-long in nature.
  • Affect areas of major life activity, such as personal care, language skills, learning abilities, the capacity to live independently as an adult or any other prescribed activity.

Under Regulation 276/10, a person has significant limitations in cognitive functioning if the person meets one of the following criteria:

  • The person has an overall score of two standard deviations below the mean, plus or minus standard error measurement, on a standardized intelligence test, or
  • The person has a score of two standard deviations below the mean in two or more subscales on a standardized intelligence test and the person has a history of requiring habilitative suppor,; or
  • On the basis of a clinical determination made by a psychologist or a psychological associate, the person demonstrates significant limitations in cognitive functioning and the person has a history of requiring habilitative support.

A person has significant limitations in adaptive functioning if the person has a score of at least two standard deviations below the mean, plus or minus standard error measurement, in at least one of the areas of conceptual skills, social skills or practical skills, as measured on a standardized test of adaptive behaviour.

Family

Persons related by kinship as recognized in law including but not limited to: parents, siblings, grandparents, children, grandchildren, aunts, uncles and cousins, and including step-parents and step-siblings where there has been a settled intention to treat the individual as a member of the family.

Generic Supports and Services

Supports and services that are widely accepted and available for use by the general public. They are generally not designed for any particular group but are generic in nature such as community recreation programs, employment centres, or public libraries.

Developmental Services Ontario (referred to as Application Entity in the Act)

The single point of access to adult developmental services and supports. Each of the Ministry’s nine regions has a DSO organization.

On Their Own

Individuals living “on their own” may live independently in single occupancy housing, with a room-mate or partner, or with their children (or the children of their partner/room-mate). For purposes of the APSW program, individuals living on their own do NOT live in Ministry-funded developmental services residential settings.

Transformation of Developmental Services

In 2004, the Ministry announced it would transform the developmental services system into one that was more fair and equitable, accessible and sustainable for the future.

Individual Support Plain

A written document that is developed by a service agency with the adult with a developmental disability that identifies specific strategies that are to be undertaken to help the person with a developmental disability to achieve their goals, and the services and supports that are to be provided to the person.

page précédente  |  table des matières

 

9. Glossaire

Adulte

Personne âgée de dix-huit (18) ans ou plus.

Gestion de cas

La gestion de cas est un processus de collaboration visant à soupeser, à planifier, à coordonner, à surveiller et à évaluer les options et les services requis pour satisfaire les besoins en services de la clientèle.

Le processus a souvent recours à une méthode de planification centrée sur la personne pour élaborer, mettre en œuvre et tenir à jour un plan de services individualisé avec la personne et pour elle. Le processus favorise les concepts de choix, de services et soutiens personnalisés et de satisfaction de la personne.

Enfant

Personne âgée de moins de dix-huit (18) ans.

Déficience intellectuelle

En vertu de la Loi de 2008 sur les services et soutiens favorisant l'inclusion sociale des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et du Règlement 276/10, une personne a une déficience intellectuelle si elle présente des limitations substantielles prescrites dans son fonctionnement cognitif et son fonctionnement adaptatif et que ces limitations satisfont aux critères suivants :

  • elles se sont manifestées avant que la personne n’atteigne l’âge de 18 ans;
  • elles seront vraisemblablement permanentes;
  • elles touchent des activités importantes de la vie quotidienne, comme les soins personnels, le langage, la faculté d’apprentissage, la capacité à vivre en adulte autonome ou toute autre activité prescrite.

En vertu du Règlement 276/10, une personne présente des limitations substantielles du fonctionnement cognitif si elle remplit l’un des critères suivants :

  • Elle obtient un score total de deux écarts-types sous la moyenne, plus ou moins l’erreur-type de mesure, à un test d’intelligence standardisé; OU
  • Elle obtient un score de deux écarts-types sous la moyenne dans deux ou plusieurs sous-échelles à un test d’intelligence standardisé et a des antécédents de besoins en matière de soutiens à l’adaptation; OU
  • Selon une détermination clinique faite par un psychologue ou un associé en psychologie, elle présente des limitations substantielles du fonctionnement cognitif et a des antécédents de besoins en matière de soutiens à l’adaptation.

Une personne présente des limitations substantielles du fonctionnement adaptatif si elle obtient, à un test standardisé de comportement adaptatif, un score d’au moins deux écarts-types sous la moyenne, plus ou moins l’erreur-type de mesure, dans au moins un des domaines que sont les habiletés conceptuelles, sociales ou pratiques.

Famille

Personnes ayant un lien de parenté reconnu par la loi, y compris mais non exclusivement, les personnes suivantes : pères et mères, frères et sœurs, grands parents, enfants, petits-enfants, tantes, oncles, cousines et cousins, et incluant les beaux-parents, les demi-frères et demi-sœurs par alliance quand il y a eu une intention établie de traiter la personne comme un membre de la famille.

Soutiens et services generaux

Soutiens et services largement acceptés et offerts au grand public pour qu’il les utilise. En règle générale, ils ne sont pas conçus pour un groupe particulier, mais sont de nature générale, comme les programmes de loisirs communautaires, les centres d’emploi ou les bibliothèques publiques.

Services de l’Ontario pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle (appelé entité d’examen des demandes dans la Loi)

Seul point d'accès aux services et soutiens aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. Chacune des neuf régions du Ministère a un organisme SOPDI.

Personne que vivent seules

Les personnes qui vivent seules peuvent vivre de façon autonome dans un logement pour personnes seules, avec un colocataire ou un partenaire, ou avec ses enfants (ou les enfants du partenaire ou colocataire). Aux fins du PPA, les personnes qui vivent seules NE VIVENT PAS en milieu résidentiel avec services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle financé par le Ministère.

Transformation des services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle

En 2004, le Ministère a annoncé qu'il transformerait le système de services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle pour le rendre plus juste et équitable, accessible et viable dans l'avenir.

Plan de soutien individualisé

Document écrit élaboré par un organisme de service avec l'adulte ayant une déficience intellectuelle qui identifie les stratégies particulières à adopter pour aider la personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle à atteindre ses objectifs, ainsi que les services et soutiens qui lui seront fournis.