previous page  |  table of contents  |  next page

4.0 Assessment of Support Needs

Applicable to: Application Entities
Legislative Authority for Policy Directive:
Section 7(2) 2ii
Function of the Application Entity under the Act:
Section 17 (1) (a)
Effective Date:
August 15, 2013

Purpose

Application Entities shall use a provincially-consistent assessment process for Ministry-funded adult developmental services and supports to:

  • improve the quality and responsiveness of Ministry-funded adult developmental services and supports: Using the Application Package, which comprises the Application for Developmental Services and Supports (ADSS) and the Supports Intensity Scale® (SIS®), to collect information on the support needs, priorities and circumstances of eligible applicants, will facilitate accurate assessments and inform the development of individual support plans directed by the needs of eligible applicants;
  • reduce the burden on persons with developmental disabilities and families: Having a standardized, valid and provincially-consistent assessment process for all Ministry-funded adult developmental services and supports will mean that applicants will not have to repeat their personal history when they apply for developmental services and support;
  • improve system fairness and sustainability: Adopting a provincially-consistent approach to needs assessment will support equitable service decisions so that persons with developmental disabilities with similar support needs and in similar circumstances will receive similar adult developmental services and supports, no matter where they live in the province; and
  • support better planning: Using a provincially-consistent approach to collect information on the support needs, priorities and circumstances of persons with developmental disabilities will provide valid and reliable information to inform individual service and support planning.  This approach will also provide a basis for conducting accurate, comparative statistical analyses of collected data, to be used for planning at the community and provincial levels (See Policy Directive 8 – Reporting to the Ministry).

Policy

Application Entities shall use a provincially-consistent method to assess the support needs of applicants eligible for Ministry-funded adult developmental services and supports to be provided in accordance with the Act.

Directive

The Application Entity shall use the Application Package, consisting of the Application for Developmental Services and Supports (ADSS) and the Supports Intensity Scale® (SIS®), as the provincially-consistent method to assess the support needs of applicants eligible for Ministry-funded adult developmental services and supports in accordance with the Act.

page précédente | table des matières | page suivante

4.0 Évaluation des besoins de soutien

Applicable aux : Entités d’examen des demandes
Cadre juridique :
Sous-disposition 7 (2) 2 ii. Fonctions des Entités d’examen des demandes aux termes de la Loi : articles 14, 15
Date d’entrée en vigueur :
Le 15 août 2013

Objet

Les Entités d’examen des demandes doivent suivre un processus uniforme à l’échelle de la province pour évaluer les services et soutiens aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, qui sont financés par le ministère :

  • Améliorer la qualité et la réactivité de ce type de services et soutiens : Utiliser la trousse de demande de services, qui comprend la demande de services et de soutiens et l’Échelle d’intensité de soutien (SIS-F), pour réunir des renseignements sur les besoins de soutien, l’ordre de priorité et la situation des auteurs de demande admissibles permettra de faire des évaluations plus approfondies et d’élaborer des plans de soutien individuels adaptés aux besoins des intéressés.
  • Alléger le fardeau des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et de leurs familles : Le fait de disposer d’un processus d’évaluation standard, valide et uniforme à l’échelle de la province pour ce type de services et soutiens évitera aux auteurs de demande d’avoir à fournir à nouveau leurs antécédents personnels lorsqu’ils demandent ces services et soutiens.
  • Améliorer l’équité et la viabilité du système : Adopter une approche uniforme à l’échelle de la province pour évaluer les besoins permettra de rendre des décisions justes et d’offrir aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, qui ont des besoins de soutien semblables et se trouvent dans des situations semblables, de recevoir les mêmes services et soutiens, où qu’elles habitent dans la province.
  • Améliorer la planification : Adopter une approche uniforme à l’échelle de la province pour réunir des renseignements sur les besoins de soutien, l’ordre de priorité et la situation des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle permettra de rassembler des données valides et fiables, et d’améliorer la planification des services et soutiens individuels. Cette approche permettra aussi de procéder à une analyse statistique précise et comparative des données recueillies, qui seront utilisées aux niveaux communautaire et provincial (voir la Directive 8 – Présentation de rapports au ministère).

Politique

Les Entités d’examen des demandes doivent utiliser une méthode uniforme à l’échelle de la province pour évaluer les besoins des auteurs de demande admissibles aux services et soutiens aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, qui sont financés par le Ministère conformément à la Loi.

Directive

Les Entités d’examen des demandes doivent utiliser la trousse de demande de services, qui comprend la demande de services et de soutiens et l’Échelle d’intensité de soutien (SIS-F), comme méthode uniforme à l’échelle de la province pour évaluer les besoins des auteurs de demande admissibles aux services et soutiens aux adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, qui sont financés par le ministère conformément à la Loi.